North Plains, OR 
Horning's Hideout - Highland Course Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #12 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Hornings Hideout

2-4    2/8/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: topdawgy58
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A really fun course to play. Lots of trees and a little bit of water. Not to hard to hike and flows well. Not to crowdedand plays fast. Good chances at some Aces.
Cons: They are still cleaning up the course and there is alot of down branches and the course can get real muddy.
Other Thoughts: I really nice place to play. I must for Disc Golfers. Its The next Best Northwest course around.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, easy short course

2-4    11/26/2008   11/28/2008
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Great for beginners & families, but not ridiculously easy
- Nice use of elevation & trees
- Very open fairways and minimal underbrush (no poison oak and few blackberries), even in the woods
- Excellent homemade baskets (with solar LED lights for night golf)
- Good flow, impossible to get lost
- Another (longer) course on-site
Cons:
- Most holes are a little too easy for experienced players
Other Thoughts:
This is a tough one to review. If it were the only course at Horning's Hideout, I'd rate it a point lower; I probably wouldn't drive all the way out there to just play this course. But you have to keep in mind that with an average hole length of 170', it's a "pitch 'n' putt" course designed primarily with families and beginners in mind, and it's meant as a complement to the original, longer course at HH (and the future third course, which may be even longer).

And as far as pitch 'n' putts go, it's fantastic. A lot of holes go uphill or downhill enough to make you think about it (especially #12 and #18, which are severe downhills), and there are a number of slight doglegs to be negotiated. The bright yellow homemade baskets have plenty of chains and catch everything; they've even mounted solar-powered lights on both the tee signs and baskets for those who want to give after-dark glow golf a try. It'd be a perfect course for an "Ace Race" tournament.

The only problem is that most holes are a little bit TOO easy; on my second time around, I got thirteen deuces. You almost have to think of each hole as a Par 2; a three feels disappointing. Again, I realize that it's meant as a short course -- and I don't think anything should be changed -- but I just don't feel like I can give four stars to a course where I'm almost guaranteed a score of -9 or better!

(By the way, I disagree with a number of points that the previous reviewer made: the 40 feet of water on #5 is not much of an obstacle; it's not very easy to lose discs here; and the condition of the gravel teepads isn't much of an issue because there are only two holes where you need to do more than a one-step windup.)

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 great addition to to make 36!!!

2-4    1/14/2009   11/26/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely wonderful course!!! It starts out in a field makes its way up and down terrain wise. Hole #5 you drive off across a pond, after hole #7 then the fun begins!!! After Hole #14 you make your way back out onto the field again.

Advanced players should par every hole and there is plenty of ace and defiantly birdies opportunities. Hole maps/guides offer elevation and length info and direction to walk to next tee pad.

Short challenging holes w/ custom made baskets w/ huge #'s painted on them that work very well. Each tee pad and basket has a solar powered light allowing night time playability. The course flows very well.

Trash/recycle bins offered every 4 to 5 holes and one porta toilet is located after hole #14.

awesome gong sound that is totally different from any other basket... it catches discs extremely well!!!
Cons: Gravel tee boxes that can get muddy.

Hole map/guides are vague and not very informative navigation wise.

Lots of beer cans people were just leaving them around sometimes inside the baskets!!!

Can be slippery when wet

Some challenging holes for beginner players ( if you are one my advice would be play #5 safely or skip it as you drive over a pond)

The potential to loose discs is very high!!! (it may be a safe idea to use a friend as a spotter.)
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course that was not crowded when I went (3rd day being open). I drink but I was very disappointed in seeing all the beer cans. There were at least 1-3 on every hole some even laying inside the baskets. Take the time to dispose of your trash/recycle in the provided bins. In my opinion the course was only open for 3 days (11-26-08) and it felt as though it had been played for years w/ all the cans. Please do us all a favor and take care of this course. ( I spent time on every hole picking up these cans) Other than that a truly great addition and compliments the adjacent 18 hole course that has been built on the same land. I highly recommend playing this!!!

COURSE photos w/ yellow arrows were shot by Richard Dixon and edited and uploaded by me... contact me if you have any questions or suggestions.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.