Appling, GA 
IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 10/2011)
5 / 690ft.   5 / 690ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Jim Warner

2-4    4/30/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging with many long S shots. Lots of elevation to bomb a sky roller, thumber or any trick shot you have.
Cons: Very thick tick infested woods. Lots of signs down or missing on Red tees. Thin on next tee signs in some areas & we got lost for a while looking for 2. Thought we had map on us & we did not. Be sure you have it.
Other Thoughts: Make sure dog's tick meds are up to date. We brought our dog who is on tick meds and were picking them off an most every hole. Found one in his paw when we got home. Who knows how many are in my car & bag? I did rate a 4. However, could easy be a 4.5 in winter when bugs are down or with the signs fixed.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Up and Down Charmer

1    12/26/2013   12/29/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If there is one hole that I will remember from the entire IDGC, it is 14 on Warner. The fairway runs downward through a narrow tunnel but the throw needs to stay level as to land high on the other side of the valley. In the middle, a wide stretch of shallow water. If there is stretch of holes that I enjoyed the most at the complex, it's 14-18 here. With the exception of 17, that's four holes that cross the stream, dry creek bed or inlet. 18 is an uphill slog that makes a great finish to the course and for me a great finish to the day.

I think in the end that Jim Warner was my favorite of the three courses, and the reason is entirely the elevation. Most of the hills are strongly uphill or downhill and some, like 14, have a heaping portion of both. There's not as much length as WR Jackson, and it doesn't have as much water as Steady Ed, but it has a little of both and it sets it all against a hilly backdrop. In some ways, it's not as flashy, and perhaps it doesn't have as much challenge, but it's undeniably a solid, solid course that knows what it wants to be and comes closer to the goal than either of the other two.

I can see this course being overlooked at the complex. It was an afterthought for me. An if-I-have-time course at the end of a long day. It's the lowest rated and on paper it seems so standard. For someone familiar with Carolina courses, it looks in pictures to be a standard woods course. And it is that, but it's just really well done throughout. The fairways hit that balance of tough and fair perfectly. The shape of the holes is varied and frequently clever. And with the hills, this is just a real solid play. It's the type of course that I'm glad I traveled to play, but also one I could play on a regular basis.
Cons: It doesn't "go for" as much as the other two courses on site. It doesn't have the multiple paths to the basket that WR Jackson has. It doesn't have the length. It's not quite as challenging. And though there is the stream in play, there's only the one actual carry. It's not championship-caliber the way that Jackson is and the way that Headrick might be to the long pins.

The baskets are inferior to those on the other courses on-site. After playing to the blue baskets on Headrick and the towards the yellow bands of the Jackson course, it can be really tough to spot the plain grey baskets among the trees and branches.
Other Thoughts: All three of the IDGC courses are top notch. Picking a favorite is tough. They all have their own unique qualities and each excel at something. But forced to choose, I think Jim Warner is the course I'd be most anxious to play again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

the Middle Brother

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As most people have said this course along with all the other courses on this land have the basics plus. Great Signs, Lots of benches, huge practice area, pro shop, grills before the course, maps/scorecards for all the courses and a power aid vending machine.

But lets get to this course itself.

If the three of these courses were a family, I think this would be the middle brother. It's kind of long, but not too long. Has the best elevation of all the courses, but seems to be a bit similar to both of the courses.

Two sets of tee pads(on most holes) which makes it nice. We place a lot of the shorts and a few of the longs to not get to beat up this weekend.

in the middle of the round you get a chance to get back to the parking lot, makes it nice as you may need to fill up water or anything else.


Cons: For a gold Caliber course, there were no trash cans on the course.

Some people may not like all the up and down of the course,

I think this had the least amount of seating around the park of the three courses.
Other Thoughts: The other two courses at IDGC is the biggest flaw to this course as this is just kind of the MEH of the three of them, that being said it's still a great course.

I came down here for a camping trip in the park and a meet up and it was well worth it to fly from Michigan and play this.

A small issue for some is that there is no drinking on the course, which isn't horrible, but needs to be known.

The Pro Shop is great, but for some people may make you spend more money then you need too.

The whole course is for sure a huge destination to come to all three of these, and depending where you come in, there are plenty of nice courses within a few hours.

______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me a PM on what I can improve. Thanks!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

(Though my aching legs would give it a 2.0)

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It goes without saying but, being at the IDGC with all the amenities and other stellar courses on site, is a big plus before you ever start.

The Warner course has the most elevation of the three. Holes that throw down huge hills. Holes that go back up big hills. And holes that do both. (The first two level holes are just to sucker you in).

It also has very clearly defined fairways. Not as tight, threading through trees as many are on the neighboring Headrick course.

The two nine-hole loops get you back to the parking lot midway through the round, or allow you to mix-&-match with the two loops of the Jackson course, or the closest 9 holes on the Headrick course.

The holes are consistently good. Not a bad or filler hole in the bunch. And, with perhaps 1 or 2 exceptions, they're so varied that you don't get to a hole and think, "This reminds me of...."

And the Warner course is perhaps the most scenic of the 3, set among towering deciduous trees instead of the upland pine forest.
Cons: Perhaps the uphill & downhill is a little too much of a good thing. There comes a time when you wish a few shots had run along the grade or angled down, forcing you to land on a hill sloped from side to side.

The routing, while not hard to follow, is a little peculiar. Hole 1 is across the street from the rest of the course, and a few times you walk right by one tee on your way to the next one.
Other Thoughts: I finally got to play the Warner, after playing the other two IDGC courses multiple times and playing the front-9 once. It was a great joy. I was a bit surprised because, just glancing at it, it looked very similar to the Headrick course, but playing it, it has its own, rather different personality.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: cox3
Played: 239  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Distance, accuracy, and versatility are all required.

Signage was great.

Very significant elevation change.
Cons: No real great aesthetic features.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads were okay.

The course was mostly fair.

The entire IDGC experience was great. I recommend it.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Warner's Warning

2-4    7/20/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jim Warner Memorial disc golf course at the International Disc Golf Center is a challenging and fun course. Like other courses at the complex, each hole is equipped with very nice concrete tees, benches, and good signs with maps. Shorter red tee pads are being added on some of the holes. The red boxes are rubber mats which are well leveled and firm. The Chainstar baskets are also all in great condition. Look for the rings at the base of the poles for the arrow that indicates direction to the next tee. As for the layout of the course, expect holes with many trees and often there is considerable elevation change. Combine this with length and/or water at the lake's edge, and you have a nice mix of very tough holes. There are a couple of chances to put a 2 on your scorecard, but just making pars is an accomplishment in my opinion. There are a few very memorable holes also. I like number 6, a long RHBH hyzer shot through the trees, where the fairway slopes down and climbs up again to the pin location. It is reachable for birdies and great fun to watch a well placed drive. Hole 11 is a wild fairway that tees downhill with a right bend, then starts back uphill and turns back left as you approach the basket. Hole 14 is a very nice look from the tee pad, and hole 18 is very cool too. 18 is a long fairway with the basket taunting you at the top of the hill far, far away.
Cons: Too me, there is little downside to this course. Some of the rough can be quite ROUGH. The high degree of difficulty will frustrate good players, and may be too much for inexperienced players or those who have a hard time hiking up and down the hillsides. Some transitions from hole to hole are longish walks, specifically crossing the road after hole 1 and crossing the parking lot between 9 and 10. Of course scorecards and maps are available to help in the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: Jim Warner Memorial DGC is a maddeningly beautiful course. This course requires skill and consistency to stay close to par. Good power and accuracy will be helpful in many spots also. Sometimes even a great drive does not guarantee you will be rewarded with an easier second shot. Eat your Wheaties before you play this bad boy, and don't say I didn't warn you.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    4/21/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through dense woods with rolling elevation changes. Many holes take advantage of the hills available to add challenge and interest, and the end of the course uses a steeper hill to make some tough uphills and fun downhills. The fairways are tight, but fair, and offer plenty of good punishment for errant drives. Recovery shots are possible, but difficult with lots of trees and some underbrush. This course isn't quite as long as the Jackson course, but plays tighter so it feels similar in terms of overall difficulty.

There is a really nice mix of hole shapes as on the other courses here, you'll need a full complement of shots to score well. The distances are mixed up throughout the course, with long multi-shot holes and ace runs with plenty of variety between. The signage is good, and even where the flow isn't obvious there are plenty of next tee signs to help. The tees are nice concrete pads with plenty of room. Many holes offer alternate tees that take off quite a bit of distance without sacrificing the interesting lines.
Cons: The end of the course plays like the beginning of the Steady Ed course, with several holes going straight up and down the same hill, it gets just a little repetitive. This course is the newest, and it shows, with some fairways still needing just a little cleaning and clearing. There are some long walks between holes that break up the flow, not a huge deal at all though with good signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic disc golf destination, with camping and three great courses onsite, and a large putting area. Make sure you check out the museum for some cool disc golf history. This course has short tees that make it a little more approachable for beginners, though it's still pretty tight and punishing. Experienced players will find plenty of challenge and variety to test all parts of their game here. It was my least favorite out of the three, but it's still a great course that would be worth going out of your way for on it's own.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Jim Warner and the IDGC

1    3/21/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [The IDGC Complex]- The IDGC is just a short 30 minute drive north of Augusta. You know you about to have a special experience upon entrance of the large and beautiful park and you see big signs pointing the way to the disc golf area. The courses are in an area of the park that is dedicated solely to disc golf- no other activities come close to interfering. The clubhouse here includes scorecards, maps, merchandise, restrooms, and of course the Museum and Hall of Fame (so plan some time to spend inside as you take a break between the courses). Inside there are places to sit and relax and watch disc golf DVD's if you want, and during certain times there appears to be a snack bar. I recommend bringing a lunch in case the snack bar is closed and relaxing at one of the picnic tables at the tournament pavilion. There are several restaurant options just a few miles back south on the highway to the IDGC as well.

Behind the clubhouse is the largest putting practice area I have ever seen. It had about half a dozen baskets of all types spread out (reminded me of a putting green for ball golf). The 3 amazing courses here all begin and end at the same parking lot, so once you park your car it is literally just a few steps to everything. The start of each course is clearly marked with a decorated entrance way and a large color commemorative sign inviting you to play it. Concrete tees and detailed color tee signs are on every hole. I love that each course here is extremely well-designed and well-maintained, yet each has its own personality. Each course uses a different style/color of basket to differentiate it from the others (and to give some representation to multiple companies.) Every hole was completely fair as the fairways were mature and well-defined (which is amazing and shows how much work has been done here since these courses are not that old.)

[The Jim Warner Course]- The front 9 is a little like Jackson, and the back is a little like Ed, except that I felt it was much tougher with narrow fairways and tighter lines throughout. Carefully shaping and placing shots off the tee to set up your approach is tested on the front, and the ability to throw straight and controlled distances is tested on the back. Not all the holes are par 3's, as there are legit par 4's, and 1 (or 2) par 5's. The back has some beautiful views of the lake cove, however the lake really only comes into play on a couple of shots. A small creek makes up the other water hazards. Warner (like Jackson, unlike Ed) comes back to the parking lot after 9. In fact, the start of the front and back loops are on complete opposite sides of the parking lot.
Cons: [The Course]- There was a stretch where it played up and down the same hill just one too many times. And it being the newest had yet to achieve that completely mature look. Only some of the holes had alternate tees, and some of them were not concrete or just weren't there like the map showed (maybe it is a work in progress?) The flow may not have been as natural as the other courses, but with the map there were no problems for us.

[The Complex]- You do have to pay to enter park and then pay to play courses, but this is such a nice place and it has so much to offer that it will easily be worth it for most people. As others said, the hole distances did not seem accurate at all, and there was a lot of discrepancy between the scorecard, tee sign, and course map. I think they are currently trying to improve this however, as a place like this doesn't need something simple like hole distance to detract from its greatness.
Other Thoughts: [The Course]- This was my least favorite (and I use the term only in comparison) of the 3 IDGC courses, but it is still a great course. This being the last to be built, the designer had to work with what was obviously the "leftover" (least-desirable) land.

I felt that it was the hardest of the 3 because of the elevation involved, the skinny fairways, and the tricky basket placements on the slopes. For me it did not have as many memorable holes as the other two (although other reviewers thought just the opposite, so you need to come find out for yourself and let the debate continue as to which is the hardest, best, most fun, etc…!)

[The Complex]- I was exhausted when I finished all 3 courses, but I thoroughly enjoyed my day here. You can play them all in one day or plan on spending a couple of days here. The courses are open all day, but the clubhouse is only open certain hours (from 9-5 I think). During off-hours there is place to pay on the honor system. I highly recommend the IDGC as a national disc golf destination. (I liked it better than the complexes at Lemon Lake, Mason County, and yes even Highbridge.)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A mix of the other 2 courses

2-4    11/20/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the 3 courses here this is my favorite and a mixture of the other 2. It has the tight technical holes of Ed and some long fairways like those found on the Jackson course.

I played both the longs and the shorts. The longs have the ability to challenge pro players with their many obstacles and distances. The shorts lighten it up enough to enable an am a tough challenge without taking away from distinctiveness of the course.

There are water hazards on 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, and 18. On 10 and 12 the hazard is behind the basket and an overthrow or if a disc gets up and rolls you will end up in the water. On the others it is a stream, down in a gulch, you have to throw over.

There is a nice mixture of left, right, straight, and even an 's' fairway to make sure no one has an undue advantage.

The tee pads are great. They have the trapezoid shape I really like. They also have grooves in them to aid in grip.

The putting areas are great. Room to putt but your approach better be on or you will have a fight on your hands to get there.

Tee signs are here and up to date but are temporary.

Something I always like is when 9 brings you back to the clubhouse on your way too 10 and it does that here.
Cons: Two is along the entry to the IDGC and an errant throw could be a problem. On 9 the basket is by the road and an overthrow could tag a car.

No benches, trashcans, or decent directional signs to aid you in getting to the next basket.

The shule here is tougher than the other 2. I think this due to the newness of the course and it will get better with use.

The flow to this course does not seem to be as smooth as the other 2. Take a map or you will have a hard time.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course here at the IDGC. With its mixture of tight farways and some chances at a long bomb on a wide fairway it gives you a good mix.

It does have some steep elevation but not like Ed. For a guy with a bum leg this is nice.

The atmosphere here is outstanding. With IDGC which has a pro store, The DG Hall of Fame and Museum. Picnic areas and camping make this a destination place to visit.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sucks you in and beats you down

1    10/16/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing use of land. When you consider that the IDGC is using a couple hundred acres of roughly the same terrain and there are 3 courses with completely different character is quite a feat.
The front 9 works you into the back 9, it is relatively easy and then the back 9 is an act brutality.
Clean shots are the most important aspect of the course, staying on the well defined fairways is not only a good idea, there should be some kind of law against going off them...oh wait there is...the law of triple bogey.
Great tees, signs and baskets as well as bridges and other necessities.
Cons: Next tee signs really need to note the course as Warner and Jackson run along each other in places.
Baskets were very hard to see in the woods, powder coating in a vivid color or flags would add so much value with so many long and blind holes.
Heavy lefty or RHFH biased.
Other Thoughts: Another gorgeous course out at the IDGC. This one with a completely different character than the Ed. A very long course with some serious elevation on the back 9. I would love to see some way to make the baskets more visible and the course would easily rate a 4.5.
This is a very tough course but one that will make you proud if you can accept small victories (par here, even a bogey her and there).
Highly recommended. Spend a day or two here...you cannot go wrong.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.