Appling, GA 
IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Stop reading… just come here and play!

1    12/25/2011   3/3/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 212  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2013
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: To condense this review, I'll just say:
Basics nailed: great signage, wonderful teepads, good baskets, superbly maintained course. This course comes with all the wonderful atmosphere and splendid amenities that are part and parcel with the IDGC complex. They're not trivial and certainly factor into my rating, but I chose to focus solely on the discing for this review. If you're looking for more depth about the amenities themselves, or the complex as a whole, they're well documented in several of the other reviews, as well as my review of the Steady Ed Headrick Memorial.

• Perhaps the best topography of all three courses here; it is well utilized over most of the course to keep things interesting.
• Nice mix of fairway shapes and distances: straight, left, right, some sharp bends, some gradual, and check out the variety of distances on the score card/course map.
• The view from the tees makes you think and execute. Rather than lots of holes with multiple lines, it seemed most holes had one more obvious line that made me think about how to attack it to set myself up well for the next shot.
• Many wonderful holes: I really liked 12, 14, & 16, but your game might favor others.
• Not a lot of nasty underbrush to lose discs in, but the position and density of trees lining the fairways certainly makes recovering from a bad shot tougher than on the Headrick course.
• Dual pads on many holes for different challenges and skill levels.
• Lake comes into view on a couple of holes, and the stream winds through a few more. The water on this course does more in terms of eye appeal than it does in terms of play, and presents no threat of losing discs. Nonetheless, if the level's up, a misplaced (or more likely, bounced) tee shot it could cost someone a penatly stroke.
• Some may think the walk from 9 to 10 is a bit of a flow killer, but I like that it comes back to the complex should you need to refuel or take a bathroom break.
Cons: Take these with a grain of salt - perhaps more "observations" than actual cons, they certainly didn't enhance my experience.
• I'm not hatin', but after playing the other two courses with their flagged/blue DGA baskets and yellow chastity belts, you realize just how much harder it is to see plain 'ol Chainstars from a distance... in the woods. I sometimes found myself looking right through them wonderering, "Where's the basket?" This course is bound to get a constant flow of first timers, as well as people who haven't played here for a long time. Being able to see exactly what you're aiming for isn't a bad thing. Perhaps Discraft should have colored these Chainstars (if nothing else but to keep up with the Dunipace's, so to speak).
• Some of the blind baskets really have you walking back and forth to get a solid idea of where you're throwing.
• Course flow is pretty decent for the most part, but because it's a bit disjointed at times. Warner could really benefit from the next pin navigational aids employed on the Headrick course.
• You have to cross the road to get to 2nd hole, and a few holes play along or near park roads. Perhaps it's because the park's so pleasant and pristine, roads just don't do a thing for me during a round, and kind of dampen that "away from it all" vibe by sticking civilization right in my face.
• A few benches would have been nice. I don't need them at every hole, but it wouldn't cost to steal a few from the Headrick course and scatter them every 3rd or 4th hole. There's a good chance this is likely to be one of three rounds people play on any given day; help them pace themselves.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course that could stand on its own anywhere - only enhances, and is enhanced by, the IDGC complex. Wonderful terrain, woods and balance of distance as well as L-R fairways make The Warner course interesting and fun to play, but don't mistake this for an easy round - if you aren't up for a challenge, this can be a frustrating course. 15 might have been the most demoralizing 690 feet I've ever played. Perhaps because it was my 3rd round that day, or maybe I was tired of all the rain that day, but it the way it bends out to the right and just... seems... to... keep... going... uphill... just kicked my ass.

The well wooded, rolling, terrain in this section of the park is pervasive, and gives the course its personality. Specifically for that reason, some may think Warner feels a bit repetitive. Perhaps if this was a stand-alone course, I might buy that argument, and list that as a con. However, The Warner Memorial was destined to be a member of this family from the moment of its conception. The variety comes more into play among the courses, than perhaps it does within them. Like children, each of the IDGC courses has its own personality:

Ed's the friendly, outgoing kid, who's easier to play with (at least to the short baskets, didn't get to see the long pins).

W.R. is the serious child, with longer, more open fairways that require good placement to set up the next shot, tougher recoveries, and pretty much only features elevation on shorter holes to add challenge with a risk/reward variable.

Jim's the unpredictable kid that demands your attention, with continuously variable terrain, tight woods and mix of distances requires you to be attentive to what it's doing to stay out of trouble.

It's only when you look at the family portrait (i.e. play all three) that all their similarities and differences come clearly into focus. While I stopped short of giving Warner a 5.0, I'd have to give IDGC a 5.0+ as destination and experience.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Warner by Kenner

1    2/13/2012   2/29/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 7.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Incredible practice area with all of the types of baskets represented as well as plenty of angles and approaches to be thrown. I didn't warm up (because I already played Lake Olmstead and had to make sure I was able to finish all 3 courses) but if I was playing a tourney this would be greatly appreciated.
2) Pavillion and picnic tables are available along with a soda machine outside. There are restrooms inside the IDGA and a couch to sit down on too. Check out the pro-shop while you are there and help support the PDGA through other ways than just your annual dues. Check out the history of the sport and our founder Steady Ed Headrick in the Disc Golf Hall of Fame
3) Scorecards and maps available in the pro shop . . .always a bonus on a world class course that you have not played before. There also is a small mailbox on the course map at the entrance to the course) that usually would have maps and scorecards in there too in case the pro shop isn't open.
4) Nice big sign and map along with sponsors and contributors to the course listed on another sign. I love the entrance gate that you walk through to get to the course.
5) Excellent use of distance variation as a design element. There are all sorts of different distances although not quite as extreme as WR Jackson . . . the distance is a big factor in what you want to throw off the tee here.
6) Very clean woods . . . meaning Jason works very hard to keep the peripheral areas free of fallen limbs and debris. It is pretty rare that you see something that is in play off the fairway and that is greatly appreciated and it helps make the course look just that much better.
7) Excellent variety in shot shaping on this course. There were a lot of different shots off the tee but your recovery shots bring even more shots into play . . . I love throwing different shots all day . . . it keeps things from feeling boring.
8) .Very nice grippy trapezoidal concrete just like on Steady Ed and WR Jackson.
9) Chainstars are my favorite chain configuration . . . could that with the yellow band of the discatcher and you have my ideal basket . . .I just love the way these tend to catch. Make the chainstars more visible and you have my ideal basket.
10) The greens here are probably what elevate this course above the others in my mind.
11) This course also comes back to the parking lot after 9 holes making it easier for those who want to only play 9 (losers) or those that need the bathroom or refreshments (losers).
12) This is simply my kind of course . . . I love wooded courses and I love having fun, which is certainly going to happen for me here. I loved the other courses but for different reasons . . . this course is simplydesigned for my tastes.
Cons: 1) Blind baskets are all over this course making your drive more difficult to figure out. It would help if there was an Innova Dicatcher chastity belt on the baskets but even still there are a lot of baskets that would be tough to find.
2) This course seemed to be the worst of the courses in terms of brush in the peripheral areas. I assume this is partly because it is the most extreme portion of the terrain and tougher to get to with a cart and machinery. It is far from horrible and I have played so many courses that were worse than this so it is possible I just ended up in the worst of the areas on the course (my fault I guess).
Other Thoughts: This course was designed by Jim Kenner . . . who I have to apologize but I have never heard of. Granted, I have only been around the sport for 3.5 years so take that with a grain of salt . . .(as I head off to research who exactly Jim Kenner is for my own frame of reference). Oh . . . what's that you say . . . he is founder of Discraft . . . no wonder why I have never heard of him because Innova got their hooks in me early on and I have not let go since. You can read my blog entry about how Innova won me over if you want by clicking here http://www.thediscgolfexperience.com/?p=69 . . . they did it all with their disc flight rating system so please do not take this as a criticism of Discraft. . . it is simply how I learned what discs did what and it was consistent so I stuck with it.
I know a lot of this courses pros were basically the same as Steady Ed and WR Jackson reviews, but there were also a lot of other things I noticed too . . . so if the review sounds familiar it is because I used the same wording to accomplish the same thing for this course, but there should be plenty of other useful info from my review too.
I would rank this course 1st of the three courses because of the intense elevation changes and some of the more extreme basket and fairway locations. This seems to be the most balanced and most diverse property at the IDGC location. Perhaps this is because I was tired from playing Steady Ed and WR Jackson, but I felt like this course had more variety and was simply more fun to throw than the other two (and take that with a grain of salt because I loved throwing the other two courses). This course is definitely more accessible to beginners because the length is not ridiculous but the challenge is every present to keep the intermediate, advanced, and pro level players interested.
Part of the reason this course is my favorite of the three is because it is heavily wooded but it also features more elevation and extreme basket positions than the other two. It is the most suited to my game so apparently that has a lot to do with how I have rated courses to this date.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Time to Be Had!

1    12/20/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: KGB84
Played: 292  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large Tee Pads
-Nice benches
-Great tee signs with picture & distances
-Very nice Chainstar baskets
-Good flow to course(You have a chance to stop at your car half way through the round)
-Fairways are just that Fair, yet very challenging still.
-Next tee signs
-Elevation(Ups & Downs & in between)
-IDGC clubhouse/Pro shop on site
-Pavillion to sit under
-Drink vending machine
-Amazing warm-up area behind clubhouse
-IDGC staff is very welcoming
-DG Hall of Fame on site
-The area is completely dedicated to the courses.
Cons: -Pay to Play
-It was raining while I was there
-It's located in a park that is pretty secluded
Other Thoughts: This was my favorite of the 3 courses on the IDGC complex. Stresses all shots in the bag. Believe me, there is a chance to use every shot you have at your disposal. I thought the total length was perfect. Slightly tired at the end of the round.
If you are planning a disc golf vacation this is one spot you def need to investigate. You will not be disappointed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The core of Appling

1    6/15/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 372  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 37.6 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
I highly enjoyed this course because it has tons going for it!

Design
*Elevation changes- 9 Up/ 7 D/ 2 F. Many very big elevation changes, especially on the back 9. Holes 10-15 offer these elevation differentials: -40, +33, -35, +40, -20, +36 ft.
*Terrain- excellent! But I really enjoy woods courses. 17 Woods/ 1 Mixed
*Beauty- a beautiful wooded area with ravines, lots of hills, and some water.
*Fairway shape variety- Excellent balance! 4 Lt/ 4 R/ 3 S/ 7 St
*Length variety- it's hard to imagine a better spread of holes. 7<299/ 2 of 335/ 3 of 405-475/ 4 of 500-585/ 2 of 615-690. (OK, if you wanted to be ultra picky there could be a couple less in the 200-299 ft range and a few more of 300-399 ft.)
*Water- a stream or finger of the lake is in play on 5 holes and in view on 4 more holes.
*Greens- challenging and well designed. I liked the back 9 greens a little more than the front.

Basics
*Tees- quite long, raked concrete trapezoids
*Chainstars- one of my favorites! These were fantastic!
*Tee signs- colorful, sturdy Houck signs with detailed maps. These are ideal and couldn't be better.
*Rough- even though it's a woods course the rough is "just right". It's not too thick, but it does punish errant shots, as it should. The only places to lose a disc were a few spots near the lake.
*Beauty of surrounding area- the serene drive out in the country builds your anticipation to be out in nature and away from it all.

Amenities
*Warm up baskets- the largest area I've ever seen. About half a dozen various baskets in back of the IDGC.
*Map- colorful and detailed; its ideal. Online.
*Next Tee markers- an arrow on a ring at the base of the pole
*IDGC- pro shop, museum, PDGA headquarters. Everything one could ask for!
*Restrooms in the IDGC.
*Benches- quite a few on the course.
Cons:
Not very much...
-Navigation to blind baskets: you can't see the basket on 12 holes (1, 3, 5-13, 15) so having a map is essential.
-Markers for the current basket position would help, especially on the long holes.
-Navigation to next tee: tee 2 was across the street and kind of hard to find; tee 5 was a long walk and rather to find; tee 10 was a long walk back to the parking lot of the IDGC.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

~Pay to play. $5 to play at the IDGC, plus $3 to enter the park.

This is a majestic course on fantastic terrain! But just in case that's not enough then there are also two more top tier courses on the property. A fantastic weekend would be to camp at the park and play all 3 courses until you drop-- then play glow golf! This park is a true disc golf destination; it's worth at least a 250 mile drive. Appling is appealing. Make every effort to play this course!

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Warner's Warning

2-4    7/20/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 296  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 13.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jim Warner Memorial disc golf course at the International Disc Golf Center is a challenging and fun course. Like other courses at the complex, each hole is equipped with very nice concrete tees, benches, and good signs with maps. Shorter red tee pads are being added on some of the holes. The red boxes are rubber mats which are well leveled and firm. The Chainstar baskets are also all in great condition. Look for the rings at the base of the poles for the arrow that indicates direction to the next tee. As for the layout of the course, expect holes with many trees and often there is considerable elevation change. Combine this with length and/or water at the lake's edge, and you have a nice mix of very tough holes. There are a couple of chances to put a 2 on your scorecard, but just making pars is an accomplishment in my opinion. There are a few very memorable holes also. I like number 6, a long RHBH hyzer shot through the trees, where the fairway slopes down and climbs up again to the pin location. It is reachable for birdies and great fun to watch a well placed drive. Hole 11 is a wild fairway that tees downhill with a right bend, then starts back uphill and turns back left as you approach the basket. Hole 14 is a very nice look from the tee pad, and hole 18 is very cool too. 18 is a long fairway with the basket taunting you at the top of the hill far, far away.
Cons: Too me, there is little downside to this course. Some of the rough can be quite ROUGH. The high degree of difficulty will frustrate good players, and may be too much for inexperienced players or those who have a hard time hiking up and down the hillsides. Some transitions from hole to hole are longish walks, specifically crossing the road after hole 1 and crossing the parking lot between 9 and 10. Of course scorecards and maps are available to help in the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: Jim Warner Memorial DGC is a maddeningly beautiful course. This course requires skill and consistency to stay close to par. Good power and accuracy will be helpful in many spots also. Sometimes even a great drive does not guarantee you will be rewarded with an easier second shot. Eat your Wheaties before you play this bad boy, and don't say I didn't warn you.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Jim Warner

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 239  Reviewed: 229  Exp: 13.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jim Warner course is the more hilly and treed brother to the other two courses on site. When the Steady Ed course has more holes in their long basket positions this course is actually the shortest of the three but is the most wooded and has the toughest rough to deal with. While I enjoyed the front nine I actually think the large majority of my favorite holes are in the back nine and more specifically in holes 14 through 18. That stretch of holes is also where the underbrush dies down a little and getting out of trouble becomes slightly easier.

Hole # 14 is 350 feet or so across a ravine with a slightly elevated tee pad and trees on either side of the fairway forcing you to throw a very straight shot without too much hyzer at the end. A strange kick off a tree here could make your disc splash down into the lake water located off of the left of the tee pad here, putting you out of bounds and losing a disc. Even though it's a longer distance par three with the elevated tee pad an advanced or pro level player will be more than likely be throwing putters on this hole for a straighter, more controlled flight and less hyzer at the end.

Another one of my favorites is hole #18, the par four finisher. This is another fun elevated tee pad with a downhill, open drive (more open than normal here anyway) to a landing zone that is going uphill. From there you have a large left to right throw uphill to a guarded basket location on the top of the hill, near the street. Getting a three here takes distance, accuracy, and smart play.
Cons: Like some of my fellow previous reviewers have stated the rough is a bit nastier than the rest of the courses here and sometimes it can be a little tough to distinguish between fairway and rough. Also some of the lines are a little on the strange side and could use a couple of alternate routes opened to create a few more options. This course just seemed to not have the creativity that the other two courses had. This is the last of three courses to be built and it seems like space was an issue with the design of this course and it has more of the longer walkouts than the other two courses here. Holes 10 through 13 are less quality than some of the other holes on this course and do remind me of some Steady Ed holes but with a little less magic. All of these cons though are getting pretty nit picky.
Other Thoughts: I don't feel right as I write this review as I feel as though I am trashing this course even with the high rating I am giving. If this course were by itself in the middle of nowhere I would still go and play it and it would still be a magical place but I think with the other two courses here to compare it to it gets overshadowed and looked down upon unfairly and more often than it should. Overall this course is a pretty darn amazing place to play!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    4/21/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through dense woods with rolling elevation changes. Many holes take advantage of the hills available to add challenge and interest, and the end of the course uses a steeper hill to make some tough uphills and fun downhills. The fairways are tight, but fair, and offer plenty of good punishment for errant drives. Recovery shots are possible, but difficult with lots of trees and some underbrush. This course isn't quite as long as the Jackson course, but plays tighter so it feels similar in terms of overall difficulty.

There is a really nice mix of hole shapes as on the other courses here, you'll need a full complement of shots to score well. The distances are mixed up throughout the course, with long multi-shot holes and ace runs with plenty of variety between. The signage is good, and even where the flow isn't obvious there are plenty of next tee signs to help. The tees are nice concrete pads with plenty of room. Many holes offer alternate tees that take off quite a bit of distance without sacrificing the interesting lines.
Cons: The end of the course plays like the beginning of the Steady Ed course, with several holes going straight up and down the same hill, it gets just a little repetitive. This course is the newest, and it shows, with some fairways still needing just a little cleaning and clearing. There are some long walks between holes that break up the flow, not a huge deal at all though with good signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic disc golf destination, with camping and three great courses onsite, and a large putting area. Make sure you check out the museum for some cool disc golf history. This course has short tees that make it a little more approachable for beginners, though it's still pretty tight and punishing. Experienced players will find plenty of challenge and variety to test all parts of their game here. It was my least favorite out of the three, but it's still a great course that would be worth going out of your way for on it's own.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Jim Warner and the IDGC

2-4    3/29/2016   5/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 265  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2016
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [The Jim Warner Course]- The front 9 is a little like Jackson, and the back is a little like Ed, except that I felt it was much tougher with narrow fairways and tighter lines throughout. Carefully shaping and placing shots off the tee to set up your approach is tested on the front, and the ability to throw straight and controlled distances is tested on the back. Not all the holes are par 3's, as there are legit par 4's, and 1 (or 2) par 5's. The back has some beautiful views of the lake cove, however the lake really only comes into play on a couple of shots. A small creek makes up the other water hazards. Warner (like Jackson, unlike Ed) comes back to the parking lot after 9. In fact, the start of the front and back loops are on complete opposite sides of the parking lot.

Having played here 5 years ago in 2011 and then again in 2016, the course has matured nicely. Many holes now have 2 sets of tees to accommodate varied skill levels.

[The IDGC Complex]- The IDGC is just a short 30 minute drive north of Augusta. You know you about to have a special experience upon entrance of the large and beautiful park and you see big signs pointing the way to the disc golf area. The courses are in an area of the park that is dedicated solely to disc golf- no other activities come close to interfering. The clubhouse here includes scorecards, maps, merchandise, restrooms, and of course the Museum and Hall of Fame (so plan some time to spend inside as you take a break between the courses). Inside there are places to sit and relax and watch disc golf DVD's if you want, and during certain times there appears to be a snack bar. I recommend bringing a lunch in case the snack bar is closed and relaxing at one of the picnic tables at the tournament pavilion. There are several restaurant options just a few miles back south on the highway to the IDGC as well.

Behind the clubhouse is the largest putting practice area I have ever seen. It had about half a dozen baskets of all types spread out (reminded me of a putting green for ball golf). The 3 amazing courses here all begin and end at the same parking lot, so once you park your car it is literally just a few steps to everything. The start of each course is clearly marked with a decorated entrance way and a large color commemorative sign inviting you to play it. Concrete tees and detailed color tee signs are on every hole. I love that each course here is extremely well-designed and well-maintained, yet each has its own personality. Each course uses a different style/color of basket to differentiate it from the others (and to give some representation to multiple companies.) Every hole was completely fair as the fairways were mature and well-defined (which is amazing and shows how much work has been done here since these courses are not that old.)
Cons: [The Course]- There was a stretch where it played up and down the same hill just one too many times becoming a little redundant (challenging your physical fitness at the same time). Not as many memorable/signature holes on this one, as a lot of the holes are kind of similar.

[The Complex]- You do have to pay to enter park and then pay to play courses, but this is such a nice place and it has so much to offer that it will easily be worth it for most people. As others said, the hole distances did not seem accurate at all, and there was a lot of discrepancy between the scorecard, tee sign, and course map. I think they are currently trying to improve this however, as a place like this doesn't need something simple like hole distance to detract from its greatness.
Other Thoughts: [The Course]- This was my least favorite (and I use the term only in comparison) of the 3 IDGC courses, but it is still a great course. This being the last to be built, the designer had to work with what was likely the "leftover" (least-desirable) of the available land.

I felt that it was the hardest of the 3 because of the elevation involved, the skinny fairways, and the tricky basket placements on the slopes. For me it did not have as many memorable holes as the other two (although other reviewers thought just the opposite, so you need to come find out for yourself and let the debate continue as to which is the hardest, best, most fun, etc...!)

[The Complex]- I was exhausted when I finished all 3 courses, but I thoroughly enjoyed my day here. You can play them all in one day or plan on spending a couple of days here. The courses are open all day, but the clubhouse is only open certain hours (from 9-5 usually). During off-hours there is place to pay on the honor system. I highly recommend the IDGC as a national disc golf destination. (I liked it better than the complexes at Lemon Lake, Mason County, and yes even Highbridge.)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 668  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 17.5 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the three courses available at the International Disc Golf Center, the Jim Warner course may have some of the most memorable holes for the car trip home. Several shots over long ravines both excite and challenge the player to throw downhill shots that land flat rather than fade - a difficult shot indeed! Similar to the other two courses at the International Disc Golf Center, the designers have done a fantastic job of creating holes which are challenging both skill-wise and for course management. You'll need a well rounded bag to score well here and you'll need to really learn the shorter par three holes to make up for the inevitable bad drive or two along the way. Poorly executed drives are punished with effective 'rough' and good drives are usually rewarded with either proximity to the pin or with great position on the fairway, setting up easier approaches for birdie 3's and 4's.
Cons: The main con that I had about this course had to do with a few of the shorter par 3 holes which seemed slightly repetitive, requiring a short to medium right-hand forehand shot. This course is a bit newer and showed a little bit of roughness around the edges in certain places where the shule was a little close to the fairway. I'm sure this will beat-in with time so I'm not going to hold it against the rating for the course currently, but do know that if you visit the course in the next few months, you may encounter a little bit of extra rough. Likewise, the course flow is a little jumbled compared with the other two courses. My guess is that this designer had to work with a bit of the leftovers from the Steady Ed and WR Jackson courses and had to manage with more restrictions than these other two. While a little bit interrupted, the routing still works plenty good enough although a few more signs would be beneficial in helping first-timers find their way around.
Other Thoughts: Out of the three courses at IDGC, this course was my least favorite mostly due to a tiny bit of repetitiveness on the birdie holes and the back-and-forth nature of the skill level required BUT that is getting really nit-picky because the Jim Warner course is still awesome! Also, as you can see from other reviewers, there is a lot of debate about which course is the fan favorite - I think this speaks a lot to the overall high quality and design of all three of the International Disc Golf Center courses.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Technical course in woods

5+    9/6/2010   2/6/2011
Review By: filobedo
Played: 225  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2013
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Fantastic course that starts with a challenging first hole and 6 of the first 7 holes are good birdie chances if you play smart but you could also bogey or worse if not patient. Long and technical from the back tees and the short tees are just as challenging. #8 can be a beast from the long tee if you do not play smart and keep it in the fairway and #9 can also challenge bad tee shots if not in the right position to approach the uphill basket. #10-#14 are fun holes that go up and down the hills of the IDGC and birdieable. #15 is a very difficult teeshot and I have never been able to get the teeshot in a position on flat land other than throwing a short shot before the creek but you have chances for birdie on #16 and #17. Very challenging for all.
Cons: #8's fairway severely needs more fill dirt or wood chips due to the lack of footing from moisture and rain. This was brutally evident during the 2013 HOF Tourney when it was very slippery and major puddling was evident.
Other Thoughts: Stay in the fairways on all holes if possible. Plan to spend a few days in the area. The campground is great and close by. Worth the daily park fee.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.