Appling, GA 
IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 312ft.   3 / 446ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Jim Warner

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jim Warner course is the more hilly and treed brother to the other two courses on site. When the Steady Ed course has more holes in their long basket positions this course is actually the shortest of the three but is the most wooded and has the toughest rough to deal with. While I enjoyed the front nine I actually think the large majority of my favorite holes are in the back nine and more specifically in holes 14 through 18. That stretch of holes is also where the underbrush dies down a little and getting out of trouble becomes slightly easier.

Hole # 14 is 350 feet or so across a ravine with a slightly elevated tee pad and trees on either side of the fairway forcing you to throw a very straight shot without too much hyzer at the end. A strange kick off a tree here could make your disc splash down into the lake water located off of the left of the tee pad here, putting you out of bounds and losing a disc. Even though it's a longer distance par three with the elevated tee pad an advanced or pro level player will be more than likely be throwing putters on this hole for a straighter, more controlled flight and less hyzer at the end.

Another one of my favorites is hole #18, the par four finisher. This is another fun elevated tee pad with a downhill, open drive (more open than normal here anyway) to a landing zone that is going uphill. From there you have a large left to right throw uphill to a guarded basket location on the top of the hill, near the street. Getting a three here takes distance, accuracy, and smart play.
Cons: Like some of my fellow previous reviewers have stated the rough is a bit nastier than the rest of the courses here and sometimes it can be a little tough to distinguish between fairway and rough. Also some of the lines are a little on the strange side and could use a couple of alternate routes opened to create a few more options. This course just seemed to not have the creativity that the other two courses had. This is the last of three courses to be built and it seems like space was an issue with the design of this course and it has more of the longer walkouts than the other two courses here. Holes 10 through 13 are less quality than some of the other holes on this course and do remind me of some Steady Ed holes but with a little less magic. All of these cons though are getting pretty nit picky.
Other Thoughts: I don't feel right as I write this review as I feel as though I am trashing this course even with the high rating I am giving. If this course were by itself in the middle of nowhere I would still go and play it and it would still be a magical place but I think with the other two courses here to compare it to it gets overshadowed and looked down upon unfairly and more often than it should. Overall this course is a pretty darn amazing place to play!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

1    4/21/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through dense woods with rolling elevation changes. Many holes take advantage of the hills available to add challenge and interest, and the end of the course uses a steeper hill to make some tough uphills and fun downhills. The fairways are tight, but fair, and offer plenty of good punishment for errant drives. Recovery shots are possible, but difficult with lots of trees and some underbrush. This course isn't quite as long as the Jackson course, but plays tighter so it feels similar in terms of overall difficulty.

There is a really nice mix of hole shapes as on the other courses here, you'll need a full complement of shots to score well. The distances are mixed up throughout the course, with long multi-shot holes and ace runs with plenty of variety between. The signage is good, and even where the flow isn't obvious there are plenty of next tee signs to help. The tees are nice concrete pads with plenty of room. Many holes offer alternate tees that take off quite a bit of distance without sacrificing the interesting lines.
Cons: The end of the course plays like the beginning of the Steady Ed course, with several holes going straight up and down the same hill, it gets just a little repetitive. This course is the newest, and it shows, with some fairways still needing just a little cleaning and clearing. There are some long walks between holes that break up the flow, not a huge deal at all though with good signage.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic disc golf destination, with camping and three great courses onsite, and a large putting area. Make sure you check out the museum for some cool disc golf history. This course has short tees that make it a little more approachable for beginners, though it's still pretty tight and punishing. Experienced players will find plenty of challenge and variety to test all parts of their game here. It was my least favorite out of the three, but it's still a great course that would be worth going out of your way for on it's own.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Jim Warner and the IDGC

1    3/21/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [The IDGC Complex]- The IDGC is just a short 30 minute drive north of Augusta. You know you about to have a special experience upon entrance of the large and beautiful park and you see big signs pointing the way to the disc golf area. The courses are in an area of the park that is dedicated solely to disc golf- no other activities come close to interfering. The clubhouse here includes scorecards, maps, merchandise, restrooms, and of course the Museum and Hall of Fame (so plan some time to spend inside as you take a break between the courses). Inside there are places to sit and relax and watch disc golf DVD's if you want, and during certain times there appears to be a snack bar. I recommend bringing a lunch in case the snack bar is closed and relaxing at one of the picnic tables at the tournament pavilion. There are several restaurant options just a few miles back south on the highway to the IDGC as well.

Behind the clubhouse is the largest putting practice area I have ever seen. It had about half a dozen baskets of all types spread out (reminded me of a putting green for ball golf). The 3 amazing courses here all begin and end at the same parking lot, so once you park your car it is literally just a few steps to everything. The start of each course is clearly marked with a decorated entrance way and a large color commemorative sign inviting you to play it. Concrete tees and detailed color tee signs are on every hole. I love that each course here is extremely well-designed and well-maintained, yet each has its own personality. Each course uses a different style/color of basket to differentiate it from the others (and to give some representation to multiple companies.) Every hole was completely fair as the fairways were mature and well-defined (which is amazing and shows how much work has been done here since these courses are not that old.)

[The Jim Warner Course]- The front 9 is a little like Jackson, and the back is a little like Ed, except that I felt it was much tougher with narrow fairways and tighter lines throughout. Carefully shaping and placing shots off the tee to set up your approach is tested on the front, and the ability to throw straight and controlled distances is tested on the back. Not all the holes are par 3's, as there are legit par 4's, and 1 (or 2) par 5's. The back has some beautiful views of the lake cove, however the lake really only comes into play on a couple of shots. A small creek makes up the other water hazards. Warner (like Jackson, unlike Ed) comes back to the parking lot after 9. In fact, the start of the front and back loops are on complete opposite sides of the parking lot.
Cons: [The Course]- There was a stretch where it played up and down the same hill just one too many times. And it being the newest had yet to achieve that completely mature look. Only some of the holes had alternate tees, and some of them were not concrete or just weren't there like the map showed (maybe it is a work in progress?) The flow may not have been as natural as the other courses, but with the map there were no problems for us.

[The Complex]- You do have to pay to enter park and then pay to play courses, but this is such a nice place and it has so much to offer that it will easily be worth it for most people. As others said, the hole distances did not seem accurate at all, and there was a lot of discrepancy between the scorecard, tee sign, and course map. I think they are currently trying to improve this however, as a place like this doesn't need something simple like hole distance to detract from its greatness.
Other Thoughts: [The Course]- This was my least favorite (and I use the term only in comparison) of the 3 IDGC courses, but it is still a great course. This being the last to be built, the designer had to work with what was obviously the "leftover" (least-desirable) land.

I felt that it was the hardest of the 3 because of the elevation involved, the skinny fairways, and the tricky basket placements on the slopes. For me it did not have as many memorable holes as the other two (although other reviewers thought just the opposite, so you need to come find out for yourself and let the debate continue as to which is the hardest, best, most fun, etc…!)

[The Complex]- I was exhausted when I finished all 3 courses, but I thoroughly enjoyed my day here. You can play them all in one day or plan on spending a couple of days here. The courses are open all day, but the clubhouse is only open certain hours (from 9-5 I think). During off-hours there is place to pay on the honor system. I highly recommend the IDGC as a national disc golf destination. (I liked it better than the complexes at Lemon Lake, Mason County, and yes even Highbridge.)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Out of the three courses available at the International Disc Golf Center, the Jim Warner course may have some of the most memorable holes for the car trip home. Several shots over long ravines both excite and challenge the player to throw downhill shots that land flat rather than fade - a difficult shot indeed! Similar to the other two courses at the International Disc Golf Center, the designers have done a fantastic job of creating holes which are challenging both skill-wise and for course management. You'll need a well rounded bag to score well here and you'll need to really learn the shorter par three holes to make up for the inevitable bad drive or two along the way. Poorly executed drives are punished with effective 'rough' and good drives are usually rewarded with either proximity to the pin or with great position on the fairway, setting up easier approaches for birdie 3's and 4's.
Cons: The main con that I had about this course had to do with a few of the shorter par 3 holes which seemed slightly repetitive, requiring a short to medium right-hand forehand shot. This course is a bit newer and showed a little bit of roughness around the edges in certain places where the shule was a little close to the fairway. I'm sure this will beat-in with time so I'm not going to hold it against the rating for the course currently, but do know that if you visit the course in the next few months, you may encounter a little bit of extra rough. Likewise, the course flow is a little jumbled compared with the other two courses. My guess is that this designer had to work with a bit of the leftovers from the Steady Ed and WR Jackson courses and had to manage with more restrictions than these other two. While a little bit interrupted, the routing still works plenty good enough although a few more signs would be beneficial in helping first-timers find their way around.
Other Thoughts: Out of the three courses at IDGC, this course was my least favorite mostly due to a tiny bit of repetitiveness on the birdie holes and the back-and-forth nature of the skill level required BUT that is getting really nit-picky because the Jim Warner course is still awesome! Also, as you can see from other reviewers, there is a lot of debate about which course is the fan favorite - I think this speaks a lot to the overall high quality and design of all three of the International Disc Golf Center courses.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Technical course in woods

5+    9/6/2010   2/6/2011
Review By: filobedo
Played: 168  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2013
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Fantastic course that starts with a challenging first hole and 6 of the first 7 holes are good birdie chances if you play smart but you could also bogey or worse if not patient. Long and technical from the back tees and the short tees are just as challenging. #8 can be a beast from the long tee if you do not play smart and keep it in the fairway and #9 can also challenge bad tee shots if not in the right position to approach the uphill basket. #10-#14 are fun holes that go up and down the hills of the IDGC and birdieable. #15 is a very difficult teeshot and I have never been able to get the teeshot in a position on flat land other than throwing a short shot before the creek but you have chances for birdie on #16 and #17. Very challenging for all.
Cons: #8's fairway severely needs more fill dirt or wood chips due to the lack of footing from moisture and rain. This was brutally evident during the 2013 HOF Tourney when it was very slippery and major puddling was evident.
Other Thoughts: Stay in the fairways on all holes if possible. Plan to spend a few days in the area. The campground is great and close by. Worth the daily park fee.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A mix of the other 2 courses

2-4    11/20/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the 3 courses here this is my favorite and a mixture of the other 2. It has the tight technical holes of Ed and some long fairways like those found on the Jackson course.

I played both the longs and the shorts. The longs have the ability to challenge pro players with their many obstacles and distances. The shorts lighten it up enough to enable an am a tough challenge without taking away from distinctiveness of the course.

There are water hazards on 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, and 18. On 10 and 12 the hazard is behind the basket and an overthrow or if a disc gets up and rolls you will end up in the water. On the others it is a stream, down in a gulch, you have to throw over.

There is a nice mixture of left, right, straight, and even an 's' fairway to make sure no one has an undue advantage.

The tee pads are great. They have the trapezoid shape I really like. They also have grooves in them to aid in grip.

The putting areas are great. Room to putt but your approach better be on or you will have a fight on your hands to get there.

Tee signs are here and up to date but are temporary.

Something I always like is when 9 brings you back to the clubhouse on your way too 10 and it does that here.
Cons: Two is along the entry to the IDGC and an errant throw could be a problem. On 9 the basket is by the road and an overthrow could tag a car.

No benches, trashcans, or decent directional signs to aid you in getting to the next basket.

The shule here is tougher than the other 2. I think this due to the newness of the course and it will get better with use.

The flow to this course does not seem to be as smooth as the other 2. Take a map or you will have a hard time.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course here at the IDGC. With its mixture of tight farways and some chances at a long bomb on a wide fairway it gives you a good mix.

It does have some steep elevation but not like Ed. For a guy with a bum leg this is nice.

The atmosphere here is outstanding. With IDGC which has a pro store, The DG Hall of Fame and Museum. Picnic areas and camping make this a destination place to visit.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sucks you in and beats you down

1    10/16/2010   10/17/2010
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing use of land. When you consider that the IDGC is using a couple hundred acres of roughly the same terrain and there are 3 courses with completely different character is quite a feat.
The front 9 works you into the back 9, it is relatively easy and then the back 9 is an act brutality.
Clean shots are the most important aspect of the course, staying on the well defined fairways is not only a good idea, there should be some kind of law against going off them...oh wait there is...the law of triple bogey.
Great tees, signs and baskets as well as bridges and other necessities.
Cons: Next tee signs really need to note the course as Warner and Jackson run along each other in places.
Baskets were very hard to see in the woods, powder coating in a vivid color or flags would add so much value with so many long and blind holes.
Heavy lefty or RHFH biased.
Other Thoughts: Another gorgeous course out at the IDGC. This one with a completely different character than the Ed. A very long course with some serious elevation on the back 9. I would love to see some way to make the baskets more visible and the course would easily rate a 4.5.
This is a very tough course but one that will make you proud if you can accept small victories (par here, even a bogey her and there).
Highly recommended. Spend a day or two here...you cannot go wrong.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best course at the IDGC

2-4    5/2/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 241  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The IDGC is a disc golf exclusive facility. There is a well stocked on-site pro shop, disc golf museum and an awesome practice area. I would give the entire facility a solid 5. The Jim Warner Course was the fairest of the three courses at the IDGC and my favorite. I played this course twice from the long tees and twice from the short tees.

I enjoyed the fact that this course (like the Jackson course) is made as two nine hole loops. You get a chance to come back to the IDGC center and refill water or use the facilities. There are textured concrete tee pads on both the long and short tees. All the long tees had benches and well made signs. There is evidence of hundreds of hours of work on this course. It did not seem rough to me. There is sufficient signage guiding players to the next tee. NOTE: watch out on the walk from Hole 4 to Hole 5 as you walk right by the tee for Hole 8. Just keep going!


I liked that the baskets on this course had highly visible orange decals on the poles. They were easy to spot, even in the shade and through the thickest of woods. The fairways on this course were actually fair. They were wide enough and the hole lengths long enough to allow drivers to be thrown on most holes. There were not many random trees left in the fairways or "guardian" trees blocking routes to the baskets.

Again, I give the facility a 5.0. I would rate the long tees on this course as a 4.5 and the short tees a 4.25. I think it is by far the most fun and the fairest of the three courses at IDGC (from either set of tees).

Cons: Some of the short tee pad locations seemed like afterthoughts. One would think short tees would be meant for less skilled players. However, both of the short tees on Holes 2 and 10 have a group of trees directly in front of the tee requiring some finesse play. Also, there were only eight holes with short tees. Hole 13 did not need a short placement and there were not short tees for Hole 11 or Hole 15 (the longest hole on the course).

Only Hole 14 played over the lake where it would be easy to lose a disc to the water. (When lake level is normal.) There are several small creeks (more like water filled ditches) on the course, so it is possible to take an extra stroke or perhaps lose a disc in the murky water.

I do not care for the trapezoid tee pads (as found on all tees at IDGC). They are six feet wide at the rear and taper down to only four feet wide on the front. It seems counter-intuitive to shorten the width of the front of the tee when there is plenty of room to make traditional 6 x 12 tees. I am afraid players will leave this facility thinking these tee pads are what they should put on their home courses.
Other Thoughts: If you only have time to play one course at the IDGC, play this one from the short or long tees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Somewhere Between The Ed and Jackson!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 677  Reviewed: 607  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the three courses here at the PDGA International Disc Golf Center. This course isn't as picturesque as the Ed Headrick Memorial Course. And also it's not quite as developed as this time. With that being said, it's actually more of a Gold level course. It's a bear! It's long with narrow fairways, enough elevation to tire you out and wear you down. Like previous reviewers have said, holes that are listed as par 4's really play more like 5's to most of the disc golfing world. Currently, there are only one set of marked concrete tees. A second set appears to being set in place but currently aren't signed or anything. Baskets are top notch like the other three courses.
Cons: There are currently no benches and this course is a marathon. Only one current set of teepads. Navigation was confusing without a map. Defintely not for the recreational or weak armed player.
Other Thoughts: I'd rate the Jim Warner course in the middle of three as far as challenge. If you are a big armed player with great accuracy, then by all means, come here and test yourself on a true Gold level course. If you're a recreational player looking to bag a course, skip this one, play the Ed, and then move on to somone more forgiving.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive, Heavily Wooded Course

1    7/2/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jim Warner Memorial course is on the grounds of the PDGA International Disc Golf Center with two other 18 -hole gold courses. As you would expect, the course is very well taken care of and the tee pads, signs and baskets are the finest. It has lots of topography and forces you to compensate for elevation differences. There are lots of trees (and shade), but, the course is so well maintained that a disc from even a very errant shot can still be located. In my opinion, water is a non-issue and is only in the form of little streams (i.e., you won't loose the disc but you might loose a stroke).
Cons: The only real complaint I have about Jim Warner Memorial course is that it could be better marked to get you from hole to hole and the numbering is a little odd. They just changed the holes around and the signs are a little confusing. I left the basket on hole 4 and spent solid 20 minutes trying to find the tee pad for hole 5 (oddly enough hole 8 is between holes 4 & 5). If it were not this it would be a 5 star in my opinion (as something has the separate the best of the best and 5 star is perfect). However, after you have played Jim Warner Memorial a couple of times, this wouldn't even be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Jim Warner Memorial is fairly long course that is heavily wooded. From the short tees you are looking at a course length of around 6,740 (as of July 2, 2009). So, the average hole is 374' and fairly heavily wooded. It sets up well for the finesse player that still has a pretty big arm (i.e., 350'+ drives). If you don't stay in the fairways, your score will suffer. Hole 15 is a particularly brutal hole that is meandering, heavily-wooded, and 680' long--almost all uphill. However, the course is very fair and very well designed; you just have to hit your gaps. Jim Warner Memorial is a must play course if you are anywhere near it, and is worth traveling a little for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.