Appling, GA 
IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Blue Tee

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Best course at the IDGC

2-4    5/2/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 286  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 19.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The IDGC is a disc golf exclusive facility. There is a well stocked on-site pro shop, disc golf museum and an awesome practice area. I would give the entire facility a solid 5. The Jim Warner Course was the fairest of the three courses at the IDGC and my favorite. I played this course twice from the long tees and twice from the short tees.

I enjoyed the fact that this course (like the Jackson course) is made as two nine hole loops. You get a chance to come back to the IDGC center and refill water or use the facilities. There are textured concrete tee pads on both the long and short tees. All the long tees had benches and well made signs. There is evidence of hundreds of hours of work on this course. It did not seem rough to me. There is sufficient signage guiding players to the next tee. NOTE: watch out on the walk from Hole 4 to Hole 5 as you walk right by the tee for Hole 8. Just keep going!

I liked that the baskets on this course had highly visible orange decals on the poles. They were easy to spot, even in the shade and through the thickest of woods. The fairways on this course were actually fair. They were wide enough and the hole lengths long enough to allow drivers to be thrown on most holes. There were not many random trees left in the fairways or "guardian" trees blocking routes to the baskets.

Again, I give the facility a 5.0. I would rate the long tees on this course as a 4.5 and the short tees a 4.25. I think it is by far the most fun and the fairest of the three courses at IDGC (from either set of tees).

Cons: Some of the short tee pad locations seemed like afterthoughts. One would think short tees would be meant for less skilled players. However, both of the short tees on Holes 2 and 10 have a group of trees directly in front of the tee requiring some finesse play. Also, there were only eight holes with short tees. Hole 13 did not need a short placement and there were not short tees for Hole 11 or Hole 15 (the longest hole on the course).

Only Hole 14 played over the lake where it would be easy to lose a disc to the water. (When lake level is normal.) There are several small creeks (more like water filled ditches) on the course, so it is possible to take an extra stroke or perhaps lose a disc in the murky water.

I do not care for the trapezoid tee pads (as found on all tees at IDGC). They are six feet wide at the rear and taper down to only four feet wide on the front. It seems counter-intuitive to shorten the width of the front of the tee when there is plenty of room to make traditional 6 x 12 tees. I am afraid players will leave this facility thinking these tee pads are what they should put on their home courses.
Other Thoughts: If you only have time to play one course at the IDGC, play this one from the short or long tees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Somewhere Between The Ed and Jackson!

1    7/15/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the three courses here at the PDGA International Disc Golf Center. This course isn't as picturesque as the Ed Headrick Memorial Course. And also it's not quite as developed as this time. With that being said, it's actually more of a Gold level course. It's a bear! It's long with narrow fairways, enough elevation to tire you out and wear you down. Like previous reviewers have said, holes that are listed as par 4's really play more like 5's to most of the disc golfing world. Currently, there are only one set of marked concrete tees. A second set appears to being set in place but currently aren't signed or anything. Baskets are top notch like the other three courses.
Cons: There are currently no benches and this course is a marathon. Only one current set of teepads. Navigation was confusing without a map. Defintely not for the recreational or weak armed player.
Other Thoughts: I'd rate the Jim Warner course in the middle of three as far as challenge. If you are a big armed player with great accuracy, then by all means, come here and test yourself on a true Gold level course. If you're a recreational player looking to bag a course, skip this one, play the Ed, and then move on to somone more forgiving.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Impressive, Heavily Wooded Course

1    7/2/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Jim Warner Memorial course is on the grounds of the PDGA International Disc Golf Center with two other 18 -hole gold courses. As you would expect, the course is very well taken care of and the tee pads, signs and baskets are the finest. It has lots of topography and forces you to compensate for elevation differences. There are lots of trees (and shade), but, the course is so well maintained that a disc from even a very errant shot can still be located. In my opinion, water is a non-issue and is only in the form of little streams (i.e., you won't loose the disc but you might loose a stroke).
Cons: The only real complaint I have about Jim Warner Memorial course is that it could be better marked to get you from hole to hole and the numbering is a little odd. They just changed the holes around and the signs are a little confusing. I left the basket on hole 4 and spent solid 20 minutes trying to find the tee pad for hole 5 (oddly enough hole 8 is between holes 4 & 5). If it were not this it would be a 5 star in my opinion (as something has the separate the best of the best and 5 star is perfect). However, after you have played Jim Warner Memorial a couple of times, this wouldn't even be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Jim Warner Memorial is fairly long course that is heavily wooded. From the short tees you are looking at a course length of around 6,740 (as of July 2, 2009). So, the average hole is 374' and fairly heavily wooded. It sets up well for the finesse player that still has a pretty big arm (i.e., 350'+ drives). If you don't stay in the fairways, your score will suffer. Hole 15 is a particularly brutal hole that is meandering, heavily-wooded, and 680' long--almost all uphill. However, the course is very fair and very well designed; you just have to hit your gaps. Jim Warner Memorial is a must play course if you are anywhere near it, and is worth traveling a little for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The IDGC is an absolute must-visit, disc golf destination.

2-4    4/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great test of golf and a very enjoyable walk through the woods to boot.

The course doesn't require quite as much power as the Houck course, but has tighter routes. Placement is important and bad shots are punished appropriately.

There are a couple "postcard" holes that are very good. #15 stands out as an outstanding 680 ft. par 5 (even though the tee sign says par 4, it's very much a challenging par 5) That hole features a downhill left to right tee shot across a ravine. From there an accurate shot of about 250 ft. sets up a tight uphill shot of 200 ft. or so to make a birdie 4.

Another sweet hole is the finishing par 4. A big drive downhill to the bottom of a giant ravine will set up a 250 ft.-ish shot back up a steep grade. A birdie 3 on that hole feels great to end the round.
Cons: Like the other courses at the center, this course needs additional tees to provide an appropriate challenge to a greater range of skill levels.

In a 4 hole stretch there are two holes that are virtually identical: 470ish ft. par "4's", straight down big hills towards the lake. While each of these are very "fun", they both fall squarely in the 3.5 "tweaner" par range. Also, it seems odd to have such repetition on the course.

I don't recall the hole number, but one hole is 320ish straight up a huge hill with a blind basket over the crest. It's extremely boring to throw straight up a hill to a blind basket. Only big, big arms have any chance of reaching the basket and most of the bogeys on the hole will happen when a weird bounce upon landing causes a disc to roll a ways down the hill.

For some, the steep hills are a bit tough.
Other Thoughts: The IDGC is a fantastic facility. The park is beautiful, the courses are awesome, and the PDGA staff is very hospitable.

It's highly recommended that everyone who's able make the trip to Appling to visit the crown jewel of our sport.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Maybe the best of the three

2-4    5/29/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course...Possibly the better of the three that are currently at the IDGC. While it doesn't quite have the views of the Steady Ed course the shot making of all the holes and the consistency of the holes played IMO give it a slight edge. There are now concrete pads and durable tee signs that make the course more of a joy to play.
Cons: Does not currently have benches to sit down on, which means BYOChair...but I'm sure theyll be there in the future.

Some people might have difficulty walking the terrain of this course-several hills.

A couple of the par 4's play closer to 5's--->Holes 11 and 15, I think.

Other Thoughts: If I was able to play only one course at the IDGC it would be this one.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 shot placement

2-4    11/22/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: krazybronco
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: the course can be played by anyone you dont have to be able to throw far to shoot well but it does help to shoot really well the last time i played i didnt even throw a distance driver but once or twice and that was for a forhand shot
Cons: only one or two holes that seem to be just put there becuase they needed 18 holes
Other Thoughts: come out to the IDGC and play the courses and take a full day to do it

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.