Appling, GA 
IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
IDGC - Jim Warner Memorial

1    11/16/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 87  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads with notches carved across

Has benches throughout the course

Has tee signs

Some holes have alternate basket placements

Has next tee signs posted throughout

Mostly wooded than open fairways with doglegs and significant elevations

Challenging, long course with variety of pars

Water comes into play on a few of the holes where there are opportunities to lose discs but the current drought has significantly reduced the water levels of the lake and creeks for that not to be a concern

Has two loops of the front and back nines

Well-maintained

Has practice baskets from different manufacturers
Cons:
Chainstar baskets are difficult to locate on most holes

Course layout felt repetitive especially playing the back nine - going downhill and going uphill, repeat and then playing across the gully for a few holes

Pay to play but worth it
Other Thoughts:
This is the second of the three challenging scenic courses at IDGC that I enjoyed playing. This course is the one that I enjoyed the least as the layout seems repetitive especially playing the back nine - going downhill and going uphill, repeat and then playing across the gully for a few holes. The course is also less forgiving with its narrow fairways if you make any errant shots and emphasizes on control to shoot a low score. Like the Steady Ed course, this course also takes advantage of its hilly terrain to make it challenging. The Chainstar baskets were in nice condition but they are hard to locate on most holes. It would be nice if IDGC could paint the baskets a color that's easy to spot. I did notice that they painted the tee sign holders and posts orange so maybe they will apply that same color to the baskets someday. All in all, very challenging to play this course after playing Steady Ed on the same day. The pay to play can dissuade some from playing but I have paid more to play a less enjoyable course before. $3 to enter the park and $3 for a PDGA member to play all day is a bargain! In the clubhouse, the pro shop sells discs from many manufacturers as well as issue out course maps and scorecards with the highlighted current pin positions. Along with the pro shop, there is a snack machine, breakroom, restrooms, and the Hall of Fame all inside the clubhouse operating from 9am-5pm. A soda machine is located outside the clubhouse underneath the pavilion nearby. Playing this course and one of the other two on the same day makes a nice day trip.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Challenging but fair

1    3/6/2016   3/6/2016
Review By: Moose33
Played: 53  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the three excellent courses at the IDGC and possibly my favorite.

The teepads are very highly textured both on the long black tees and the shorter red tees.

Baskets are chainstars and they are fine, balanced well and catch nicely, most have a flag on the top which makes the all silver bakset easier to find on a wooded course.

Maintenance is meticulous, pads were clear paths were safe. There is work done here.

There are two pin placements for a total of 4 possible configurations of the course.

Really nice mix of elevation and heavily woods a little water and overall some great golf out there.

Course is medium long but the mix is good and fair, so newer players would find it hard but not punishing. Experienced players would have a challenge but one you can handle.
Cons: Long walk between 9-10 stood out.

If the flags weren't on the baskets it's hard to see them.

Really heavily wooded and there is not one open hole so it can get slightly repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This one might have been my IDGC MVP. Really want to get back and play it again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Solid course.

1    7/25/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: prerube
Played: 241  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge variety. I started out thinking this is a simple par 3 pitch and putt and it changed quickly. The course lulls you into a false sense of security with 2 simple holes before each difficult hole.

This course is definately the step child of the other 2 courses. It does not have the fun factor that the Headrick course had or the challenge of W.R Jackson. But if this course were located in your neighborhood park it would probably rate between 3.5-4 stars. Once you add in the pro shop, museum, other 2 courses on premises, powerade vending machine, paper map and score card given, and other amenities offered, this course deserves the 4.5 rating.
Cons: There was a little confusion from hole 9 to hole 10

Lots of blind baskets.

paying to enter and paying to play is a con, but the fee is modest and worth it.

Other Thoughts: It kind of felt like a normal course plugged in between 2 giants.

If this course did not have the IDGC amenities, It would still be great, but closer to a 4 star course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Third Sister

1    4/2/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 166  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 4.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is considered the "middle" course at IDGC. It doesn't have the epic length of the Jackson course, nor the water carries and "fun" holes of the Steady Ed Course. So I found it to be the most typical of the three courses, and that is not a bad thing at all.

I was told at the Pro Shop that this was the hilly course, but after nine holes I wasn't convinced. I played this course last and wasn't finding it to be significantly more hilly than the other two. Until Hole 10.

Hole 10 begins a string of holes that plays down and back up a large hill that runs down to the lake. The elevation difference is significant and makes the holes play much shorter or longer than their stated distance.

Hole lengths vary from 231' to the 690'. Hole 15 plays longer than 690' because it is significantly uphill and and it is the sole par 5 on this course.

Only Hole 14 brings the lake into play by requiring a drive across a shallow cove. The carry is modest, but trees on the far bank are ready to knock your drive back into the water. This happened to me, but the water is clear and I was able to easily recover the disc with my Golden Retriever.

Two tees per hole. I played from the longs and enjoyed the excellent concrete tee pads. Tee signs were the usual quality Houck signs with excellent graphics and hole information. Baskets were in good shape and caught well. Numerous next tee indicators and well worn paths make navigation simple.

The course is set up as two nine-hole loops so a return to the parking lot mid-round is easy.
Cons: This is a very solid course, but it lacks the uniqueness that would make it a 5 for me. In many other places this course would stand out as the best, but at IDGC it has some fierce competition.
Other Thoughts: Great pro shop on site, along with the PDGA museum and hall of fame. The location itself (Wildwood Park) is a great place to camp. We spent four nights here and enjoyed ourselves.

The modest fee to play ($3 a day for PDGA members) is more than fair, considering how nice these courses are.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The IDGC's Third Tenor

1    8/5/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 226  Reviewed: 220  Exp: 12.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jim Warner is the 'other' course at the IDGC. While Jackson is the 'epic' course and Steady Ed is the 'fun' course, Warner, in Seinfeld-ese, is the third tenor.
- With all regards to Ed Headrick, Warner is actually the steadiest of the three courses. It's not flashy, just consistently excellent throughout. I wasn't blown away by any amazing hole layouts, but was deeply impressed with how good-to-great each hole is designed.
- Accuracy is crucial at J-Dub. The fairways are a little tighter than at Jackson (and the rough seemed a little tougher as well) and the holes are longer than at Steady Ed. If you can't keep your disc in the fairway here, you're really going to struggle. If you can throw 350 feet and straight, you'll be in great shape. If not, it's probably better to throw 275 and straight than 350 and be deep in the woods.
- Great use of terrain. I really enjoyed the elevation these holes had to offer. #10 was a great, long downhill par 4, at 477 feet. It's somewhat similar to #1 at Steady Ed (long basket location). Great way to begin the back 9. #15 and 18 were the closest to this course's 'epic' holes. Both are long, uphill layouts, #15 at 690 feet and 18 at 617 feet, which obviously play much longer. You're either thankful they saved these beasts until the end of the round, or are already totally exhausted by this point, and dread having to attempt surviving them.
- Warner forces you to take advantage of the easier holes. There are five holes (from the long tees), shorter than 300 feet, and all are birdie-able, especially by IDGC standards. Or, like me, you're just pleased to finally get an easy 3 in order to slow the bleeding.
- Very solid variety throughout the course. I mentioned the elevation, which Warner seemed to take best advantage of. This is most wooded of the three courses, so, other than #8, good luck finding the green stuff. There's a great blend of layouts, challenges and lengths. Even with the 5 'shorter' holes, the average hole length is still 413 feet from the longs. The shorter tees come in at just under 352 feet, and can take a bite off some of the more challenging holes. Also, at a par 63, you get your mix of par 3s, 4s and 5s.
- The course rewards smart shot making. The risk/reward scale tilts heavily towards the risk side, so throughout your round, playing conservatively is the right choice. You get a taste of that on back-to-back holes - #8 & 9. Both are 550 feet plus, with #8 playing long and straight for 80% and then having a sharp dogleg to an opening in the woods to the left. You can be aggressive and try to get to the basket with your second shot. If you miss it, however, you could be deep in the woods and taking several shots to get out. On #9, you have a narrow gap to shoot through partway down the fairway. Clear it with a smart, well-placed shot, and you're doing well. Miss the gap, and you're wasting strokes to get back to the fairway.
Cons: The grind here is brutal, both physically and mentally. Jackson plays longer, but has more forgiving fairways, giving you a little margin for error. Warner makes you be on your game, which can wear a player down. Regardless, whatever course you play last, you'll be hurting by the end.
- This course seemed to have the least amount of variety of the three IDGC layouts. For a wooded course, it's great variety, which is why I listed that as a pro. Compared to Jackson and Steady Ed, which featured great variety with open and beach holes, Jackson is "only" a wooded course. Now, if you want an exclusively heavily wooded course, you'll probably like this one best. I'm sure also playing this course last, when I was running on fumes also contributed to the course handing me my lunch.
- There's a definite 'lost disc' factor here. Throwing long shots on heavily wooded holes means you'll probably get a horrible kick off a tree, deep into the woods. Along those lines, this could be a tricky course to play in the fall, right after the leaves are off the trees, making the 'lost disc' factor really shoot up.
- This is going to be a copy and paste comment for all three IDGC courses. The overall difficult of the courses, terrain and elements are going to be a negative for some players. Basically, if you're not a good enough player, you should not play here. Know what you're getting into before you tackle this three-headed monster.
- Another copy and paste note. These courses probably present a higher than normal 'lost disc' factor. For errant throws, be prepared to spend considerable time searching or be prepared that you might lose a disc or two while playing.
- Final copy and paste note. Be prepared when playing. Pack plenty of food, water, bug spray and other essentials. You can purchase some items inside the center. Besides that there's one gas station a mile from the park. After that, it's another 15 minutes back towards Augusta and restaurants, gas stations, etc.
Other Thoughts: Jim Warner feels like the course that gets the most overlooked. It feels like it suffers from middle-child syndrome. Jackson is the oldest child, the overachiever. Steady Ed is the youngest, the wild child. Then you have Warner right there in the middle, trying to create its own identity without having any of the flair of the others. Take Warner out of the IDGC and place it somewhere else, and it'd be a 'must play.'
- Warner does get increasingly tough throughout the round. The front nine is overall 'easier' with the back end just being brutal. In that regard, the course reminded me of a layout you'd see at a golf tournament, especially at the U.S. Open, when you see the top players hanging on for dear life in the closing holes. At least Warner does give you two shorter holes on #16 & 17, between the two killers.
- The course does offer a number of holes with shorter tees. Really thought, what fun is that? Taking your beating like a man. At least then, you can convince yourself your round could have been better if you played the shorts.
- The back nine feels like you're going up and down hills on every hole. #10 is a great downhill, 11 is a long uphill gauntlet, 12 is back downhill, and so it continues on. As if it weren't tough enough already.
- This was the only course I felt I had played in some regards before. I kept thinking Nevin in Charlotte when I played this course. Granted Warner did have more elevation, but Nevin makes up for that with tighter fairways. And maybe because Warner had a comp, it didn't wow me as much as the others, both of which felt truly unique.
- All that said, this is still a great course. It just so happens two more elite courses are on the same property. And that's a great thing for the disc golf community.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Jim Warner

2-4    4/30/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 133  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2016
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging with many long S shots. Lots of elevation to bomb a sky roller, thumber or any trick shot you have. I had my best round ever on my most recent trip. However, Jim Warner is just so huge, long and steep it can wear you down. The fairways on some of the long holes seem plenty wide and I had some great long throws & hit intended landing spots and I would feel great about myself but by the time I would climb up the steep hills to my next shot I found myself missing putts that I should make. The courses at IDGC are just known for zapping the strength & concentration right out of you. Even the short holes place baskets on steep fast greens forcing the perfect shot to match the angle of the hill to stick. Manage that and you still have to find the perfect putting stance on a knife edge and stick a putt. You better have all the putting stances on you bag.

Cons: Very thick tick infested woods in some spots. Thin on next tee signs in some areas.
Other Thoughts: Often reviews say you have to throw every disc in your bag. I carried 20 discs and for what seems like the first time I actually used every single disc I brought. Not only that, I used every shot in my skill set.

Make sure your dog's tick meds are up to date if you bring Fido. We brought our dog who is on tick meds and were picking them him after the round. Found one in his paw when we got home. Who knows how many are in my car & bag? I did rate a 4. However, could easy be a 4.5 in winter when bugs are down and lines are more visible.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 An Up and Down Charmer

1    12/26/2013   12/29/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If there is one hole that I will remember from the entire IDGC, it is 14 on Warner. The fairway runs downward through a narrow tunnel but the throw needs to stay level as to land high on the other side of the valley. In the middle, a wide stretch of shallow water. If there is stretch of holes that I enjoyed the most at the complex, it's 14-18 here. With the exception of 17, that's four holes that cross the stream, dry creek bed or inlet. 18 is an uphill slog that makes a great finish to the course and for me a great finish to the day.

I think in the end that Jim Warner was my favorite of the three courses, and the reason is entirely the elevation. Most of the hills are strongly uphill or downhill and some, like 14, have a heaping portion of both. There's not as much length as WR Jackson, and it doesn't have as much water as Steady Ed, but it has a little of both and it sets it all against a hilly backdrop. In some ways, it's not as flashy, and perhaps it doesn't have as much challenge, but it's undeniably a solid, solid course that knows what it wants to be and comes closer to the goal than either of the other two.

I can see this course being overlooked at the complex. It was an afterthought for me. An if-I-have-time course at the end of a long day. It's the lowest rated and on paper it seems so standard. For someone familiar with Carolina courses, it looks in pictures to be a standard woods course. And it is that, but it's just really well done throughout. The fairways hit that balance of tough and fair perfectly. The shape of the holes is varied and frequently clever. And with the hills, this is just a real solid play. It's the type of course that I'm glad I traveled to play, but also one I could play on a regular basis.
Cons: It doesn't "go for" as much as the other two courses on site. It doesn't have the multiple paths to the basket that WR Jackson has. It doesn't have the length. It's not quite as challenging. And though there is the stream in play, there's only the one actual carry. It's not championship-caliber the way that Jackson is and the way that Headrick might be to the long pins.

The baskets are inferior to those on the other courses on-site. After playing to the blue baskets on Headrick and the towards the yellow bands of the Jackson course, it can be really tough to spot the plain grey baskets among the trees and branches.
Other Thoughts: All three of the IDGC courses are top notch. Picking a favorite is tough. They all have their own unique qualities and each excel at something. But forced to choose, I think Jim Warner is the course I'd be most anxious to play again.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 the Middle Brother

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 88  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As most people have said this course along with all the other courses on this land have the basics plus. Great Signs, Lots of benches, huge practice area, pro shop, grills before the course, maps/scorecards for all the courses and a power aid vending machine.

But lets get to this course itself.

If the three of these courses were a family, I think this would be the middle brother. It's kind of long, but not too long. Has the best elevation of all the courses, but seems to be a bit similar to both of the courses.

Two sets of tee pads(on most holes) which makes it nice. We place a lot of the shorts and a few of the longs to not get to beat up this weekend.

in the middle of the round you get a chance to get back to the parking lot, makes it nice as you may need to fill up water or anything else.


Cons: For a gold Caliber course, there were no trash cans on the course.

Some people may not like all the up and down of the course,

I think this had the least amount of seating around the park of the three courses.
Other Thoughts: The other two courses at IDGC is the biggest flaw to this course as this is just kind of the MEH of the three of them, that being said it's still a great course.

I came down here for a camping trip in the park and a meet up and it was well worth it to fly from Michigan and play this.

A small issue for some is that there is no drinking on the course, which isn't horrible, but needs to be known.

The Pro Shop is great, but for some people may make you spend more money then you need too.

The whole course is for sure a huge destination to come to all three of these, and depending where you come in, there are plenty of nice courses within a few hours.

______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me a PM on what I can improve. Thanks!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 (Though my aching legs would give it a 2.0)

2-4    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 124  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 21.4 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It goes without saying but, being at the IDGC with all the amenities and other stellar courses on site, is a big plus before you ever start.

The Warner course has the most elevation of the three. Holes that throw down huge hills. Holes that go back up big hills. And holes that do both. (The first two level holes are just to sucker you in).

It also has very clearly defined fairways. Not as tight, threading through trees as many are on the neighboring Headrick course.

The two nine-hole loops get you back to the parking lot midway through the round, or allow you to mix-&-match with the two loops of the Jackson course, or the closest 9 holes on the Headrick course.

The holes are consistently good. Not a bad or filler hole in the bunch. And, with perhaps 1 or 2 exceptions, they're so varied that you don't get to a hole and think, "This reminds me of...."

And the Warner course is perhaps the most scenic of the 3, set among towering deciduous trees instead of the upland pine forest.
Cons: Perhaps the uphill & downhill is a little too much of a good thing. There comes a time when you wish a few shots had run along the grade or angled down, forcing you to land on a hill sloped from side to side.

The routing, while not hard to follow, is a little peculiar. Hole 1 is across the street from the rest of the course, and a few times you walk right by one tee on your way to the next one.
Other Thoughts: I finally got to play the Warner, after playing the other two IDGC courses multiple times and playing the front-9 once. It was a great joy. I was a bit surprised because, just glancing at it, it looked very similar to the Headrick course, but playing it, it has its own, rather different personality.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/9/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: cox3
Played: 392  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Distance, accuracy, and versatility are all required.

Signage was great.

Very significant elevation change.
Cons: No real great aesthetic features.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads were okay.

The course was mostly fair.

The entire IDGC experience was great. I recommend it.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.