Lima, OH 
Ottawa Park @ Lima Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 344ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Launching in Lima

1    3/22/2015   3/25/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 107  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) Some interesting hole shapes from long tees
3) Technical holes (front 9) and open bomber holes from longs
4) good signage
5) long tees
6) Highlight holes: 12 long, 18 long
Cons: 1) Tee boxes too small for run ups
2) No benches
3) Short tees - too easy
4) Saw a lot of litter esp on front 9
5) Long walk from 9 to 10.
Other Thoughts: Scenery: 3/5
Difficulty v Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 3/5
Tees: 2/5
Signage: 4/5
Navigation: 2.5/5
_______________
Total: 2.9/5

I played this course expecting to play the shorts, but quickly surmised that the shorts were just way too easy. If you are a beginner, then by all means play the shorts; but, if you are intermediate or above, the longs are where it's at. My review is of the longs only, as I've never played the shorts.

The course starts off in the open, but quickly dives into the woods. Holes 2-8 play in mature woods. The fairways are well defined for the most part, but a couple of the holes had some weird angles (hole 4, for example). These holes are more about the angles than they are the obstacles. There are virtually no trees in the fairways, but the fairways are lined with trees and brush on either side.

Hole 9 is completely in the open again and the rest of the holes are in the open. Hole 12 is a monster and is very challenging. Two water hazards are in play and the OB road as well. The basket sits protected amongst a grouping of pine trees. Very pro-style hole. Hole 18's tee sits atop a huge hill and you get an awesome view of the park and the target. It's a "top of the world" hole.

The signage is excellent. Every sign has the footage, par, and a hole map and hole number. The signs are steel and very sturdy. Although the signs were nice, I did have some navigation problems at times.There's no arrows or next tee signs to direct you to the next hole. There is a very long walk from hole 9 to 10. Bring a map with you.

The tee boxes are adequate, but not really large enough for the run up needed for some of the long holes. I didn't see any benches, so bring a stool if you want to rest.

I thought the course was fun to play overall, but very challenging. I scored a +5 shooting par 3s, but I feel as though if I played it more, I could shave it down to about even, which is the mark of a good course IMO.

I would come back to play this course again if I'm in the area. I wouldn't recommend driving a great distance just to play this course, but combine it with ONU and it'll be a fun day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    5/14/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Steffner
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy flow
Great directions
Pretty surroundings
Easy to get to
Cons: Front 9 was like a swamp from rain.
Most of the course was water logged, but it rained for about a week straight until the day before I played. Still worth it though.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  new holes

1    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: erik hughes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New concrete tees. New tee markers. 18 holes good contrast. Front nine is wooded and great for some technical shots. The back nine is open area and has a water hazard. The back nine was fun to play.
Cons: Easy to loose a disk here. The woods and ruff are thick
Other Thoughts: Try this course. Its a good time

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Park Course

1    10/30/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy flow, can't get lost.
Very good baskets.
Plenty of trees.
Fun course.
Good parking and simple signs at each hole.
Cons: No tee pads, just a post. Gets muddy.
Tall grass, potential to loose discs.
Holes all short, don't correspond to the pars.
Other Thoughts: Great course for a quick 9 and practicing those more technical shots. If your a grip it and rip it player this is not the course for you. All the holes are short but technical requiring placement more than length. Overall a fun course, good place for beginners to learn those more technical aspects of the game.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    10/14/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: jhilvers19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging holes.
Very fun.
Never a crowd.
Can always find a disc or two.
Cons: Very easy to lose a disc.
Bugs can get really annoying.
Can be overgrown at times.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, even though its only a 9 hole, the holes are very challenging, shooting through trees, and around some pretty tough corners. All the holes are marked and it's easy to find your way around. Never even seen another group of people while out playing. It is very easy to lose a disc, because of how heavily wooded the area is that your playing in, but that's also a bonus because you can find multiple discs on one outing. It's always a staple that my brother and I go and play this course every time I come home.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/10/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice park
-set off to the side, no park related obstacles
-good mix of open and wooded holes
-never crowded
-near the highway
Cons: -can get over grown
-bugs can get bad
Other Thoughts: there is an upcoming tournament to help raise funds to turn this 9 hole course into a full 18.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun -- until you find something new

5+    6/25/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tight tunnel fairways help beginners practice meshing power with accuracy. Pro tees are much more challenging.
Cons: The open fairways aren't challenging enough. Tees are impossible to throw from when wet. Woods are overgrown.
Other Thoughts: The course is much like neighboring city, Lima: It's convenient, but poorly kept and mostly underwhelming.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

8/4/2007   8/4/2007
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 171  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: easy to play, great for learning control shots
Cons: overgrown and easy

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center