Course Extinct
Hemet, CA
Echo Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: JonnyHyzer Hole #5
4 / 590ft.   4 / 660ft.   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Nice while it lasted.

1    8/8/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: rbeech
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course shut down the disc golf operation. Just wanted to warn anyone before they made the trip...like I did.
Cons: No disc golf in the area.
Other Thoughts: The gentleman at the clubhouse said the majority of disc golfers could not follow the rules. The ball golfers complained and it was not a profitable venture for them. It was nice for me since it was only 30 miles from home. Now the closest courses are at least 50mi away.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/14/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: hightide n nerd
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: GOLF CARTS!!! Wide open shots... very good to work on your drives. Try to avoid the early/mid morning and evening golf crowd.
Cons: Ball Golfers, grumpy old men that don't know what you're doing and don't want to respect you as a fellow golfer.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the pond!!!! Bring a floater just in case!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 At least it's a course

1    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course with minimal traffic. Club house with discs and course map/scorecard.If you happen to be out in the middle of nowhere(Hemet) you can get in a round of disc golf.
Cons: Hot in summer even fall. Play early.
There are not many obstacles on ANY of the holes. I can throw 400' + consistantly and I still think 700 fters were wide open and boring. The water isn't a hazard and never comes into play. The design of this course would not encourage new players to pick up a disc. Being the only course in Hemet, why have 4 or 5 wide open 700 ft's?
Other Thoughts: If you can play Emerald Isle in Oceanside instead;DO IT! Emerald Isle is a well designed course on a ball course. I know the designe and he must of been limited to using the same Tee posistions as the ball course. This limited the use of the few trees that were here and contributed to the open hole after open hole. Following the ball tees also made the flow of the layout weak.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: Lhana
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course had a variety of obstacles. The carts were fun and fast :) Had a limited selection of discs for sale. $4 to rent a driver and putter if you don't have any. $8 for walking. $15 w/ cart.
Cons: The club house can see you no matter where they are and they have a loud speaker, so stay on the cart trails (there are not many). The man that helped me was a little rude and seemed not to know what he was doing, over charged us and had to refund our party.
Other Thoughts: The course was overall OK. Its close to streets so watch out for the wind.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pleasantly suprised

1    8/8/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.8 Years
Pros: Fairly uncrowded- played on Saturday midday with only a few ball golfers on the course and no trouble sharing tee pads. Water truly comes into play. Course condition not bad for middle of summer. Good use of trees to mix up approach shots.$8 well worth it. Course map is very easy to follow
Cons: A little repetitive- break out your roller for most of the longer holes. A little too open for my liking but more forgiving with the wind. If you lose your disc, there are no sticks near the water- but my partner was able to find one across the course.
Other Thoughts: With new courses popping up around the country, there are few new additions to So Cal. It is nice to see more of these ball courses opening up to disc golfers. If you're in the area, it's worth a try.

 golfball course

1    6/21/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: i liked the short and long baskets for each hole, some water shots, golf cart hahaha, course map,
Cons: price, not to many obstacles, dead grass
Other Thoughts: it was fun for a golfball course, you have some hole options if you dont follow the map

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well maintained 9 hole ball golf course. Ball golf tee boxes are used for drives, they make for a great surfaces to tee off from.
-Staff at the clubhouse was very eager to help and get feedback on the course.
-Maps specifically for Disc golf were available and very easy to follow.
-Holes alternate between long and short. 2 baskets on each ball golf fairway.
-water comes into play on 4 different holes and I lost my putter on the first hole. Make sure to bring your Dragon.
-Headwinds can be tough. Wide open tee shots that I thought would go 400' were knocked down to 300'.
Cons: -$8-$12 is a lot to pay for disc golf.
-Had to negotiate around ball golfers, but they were interested and eager to let me play through.
-Some of the holes didn't flow together very well.
-Hemet can be hot. Course needs more drinking fountains.
-Some of the holes are pretty long and straight.
-Big Pine trees gobble up discs. Keep your shots low. The course could use some long retreival sticks, especially considering the fees.
Other Thoughts: I would certainly play here again. Losing 2 discs was not very fun, but the course was challenging.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Echo Hills

1    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Marshall M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained course.
On ball golf course, a fun challenge, Literally throw the same exact holes the ball golfers are playing.
Greens and sand traps are ob, making for some different challenges.
Cons: On ball golf gourse, best to have a consistent 300'+ drive. I was throwing about 360'-375' and had a lot of fun.
Other Thoughts: Way different than I expected. It is a 9 hole ball golf course. Each hole has two baskets, with a long basket around the green and a short placement, somewhere in the trees about half way down the fairway. You tee from the regular golf tees (red or white). And walk the entire 9 ball golf holes for the front 9, then walk the entire 9 again throwing at the other baskets.
I showed up by myself and started playing the layout around ball golfers, but quickly found myself waiting at the next tee with the same group. So I joined the ball golfers and threw exclusively at the long basket on every hole. I had a blast, the best ball golfer and I were head to head for scores and both finished +4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Echo Hills

1    1/18/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: trey-619-
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very hospitable staff. Long open holes, great for roller practice. A couple of nice water shots. Beautiful course situated below the San Jacinto Mountains.
Cons: Not very creative layout. Fairly well used ball golf course.
Other Thoughts: Another good course to go out and practice long bomb golf shots.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Echo Hills

1    3/13/2009   3/13/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 89  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On a nicely maintained ball golf course. 18 holes (3 baskets used twice) and 2 sets of tees for every hole (white and red). Lots of elevated tees. 7 par 4s (the shortest is 590' and the longest is 825')! 3 holes play over water. Nice views of snow-capped mountains. Good map available at office. Most of the ball golfers were friendly and interested in disc golf.
Cons: Very crowded with ball golfers even on a weekday. $9 for 18 holes. Not many trees or obstacles come into play. Not good for beginners because of so many very long holes. No signs.
Other Thoughts: The disc course is designed so that on most holes you can play at the same time as the ball golfers and then play through, but it takes away from the game if you are constantly rushing on every single hole. Check it out if you are in the area, but don't worry if you miss this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.