Des Moines, IA 
Crivaro Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Crivaro Park

2-4    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5
Pros: It is a well maintained course with cement pads and baskets in good condition. The grounds are in great condition with a mature trees to work throws around. A great course for for people to develop their disc golf skills or work on their midrange game.
Cons: The course is on the shorter end with several holes that you can give solid ace runs at. However, it isn't as challenging as other nearby courses for serious disc golfers.

pretty lame filler

5+    4/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: blkwizardsonny
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Only nine holes so takes 30 mins .ace runs ,thats it ,fun winter course i guess
Cons: Short,holes are kinda the same, no elevation,quite open lots of park users in the summer
Other Thoughts: This course is just one you play to knock off your list

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/24/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: steady1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice maintained course. It was winter but the lawn was mowed and limbs cleared. Easy to park and access the park. I went on a Wednesday and no players were there. Trees gave some concern but no under brush to worry about. DGA baskets are good quality.
Cons: Bathrooms closed on off season. This is a basketball and water park. Tee distance course details could be better delineated. A new road is being constructed on #1 so it was out of play. Needs new teebox.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course as I visited the town and wanted some disc golf time out. Easy to find. Shot -1 par for the 2 games I played.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ace of Spades

5+    1/13/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: ChubbyChad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you are looking to work on your short game or want the adrenaline rush of possible aces this is the course. Short holes, Cement tee pads. Nice flow. Good basket placement. 9 holes. We usually play 27 holes in an hour.
Cons: The park can get crowded on the weekends, especially in the summer. If the brothas are playing basketball and you hook the tee off on hole 4 it might get interesting. I had a disc skip right through a basketball game one day. I lived.. somehow..
Other Thoughts: I love this place. I have yet to get an ace, but I've hit the basket a few times. This place keeps pulling me back because it is close to home and the possibility of an ace on many of the holes. Love this place.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite 9 hole courses in the area

2-4    8/22/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.2 Years
Pros: Nice baskets and tee pads, well maintained, nearly impossible to lose a disc (unless the river is up), restrooms, generally shady, quick nine holes, feel good about your score card, have a decent chance at an Ace on at least half the course
Cons: No signs, baskets do have numbers above them so once you've played it 1-2 times you'll be fine on the layout, a couple shots can put you in danger of hitting people around the basketball court, pretty short runs on most of the course, not every basket has a long tee even though there is ample room to provide one to lengthen some of the ridiculously short shots (Hole 9 especially)
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course b/c it's quick and easy, sometimes use it as a warm-up on my way to an 18 hole course, great place for beginners or taking the girlfriend a long, also the ideal place to try out new discs or practice specific techniques b/c so short

 quickie

1    3/13/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 95  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: nice concrete pads, and new baskets... very east to follow. i used a driver, a mid and a putter, only threw the driver once. quick round was easy and fun. this would be a great course to introduce someone to the game.
Cons: not not really
Other Thoughts: found this course by accident when i was driving across town to johnston from pickard. took 20 minutes to play it and felt like it was decent for a 9 hole course

  2 consecutive aces

2-4    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: TroyChurch
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for mid-range drives and putting practice.
Cons: If I wasn't with someone who knew where they were going, it might have been difficult to navigate the course. Signs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Jon Krieg aced consecutive holes (#1 and #2) during our second game today. There were 3 witnesses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good small park disc golf

2-4    5/19/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: dustbuster232000
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete boxes, good average distance as well as many birdie chances. Well kept and maintained.
Cons: Can be overly busy on the weekend and local "Atmosphere" can be some what hostile at times. If your taking younger players aim for a weekday to avoid this.
Other Thoughts: Proximity of the playground means stray shots are a no no. Clipping a kid with a heavy disc can ruin their and your day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

5+    4/6/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: bobo262
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for working on mid-short range
Good for beginners to disc golf
Able to golf course in a short time 30-45 min
Cons: Only 9 holes
Very short like a mini golf course
Basketball court in center of course
Other Thoughts:
Near Des Moines river lots of mosquitoes

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a peek

5+    10/28/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: arowan21
Played: 48  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course. Good to work on midrange game. Most of the 9 holes are under 300 feet, and most are short enough to reach with a putter. There are 2 longer holes that are a rip to get a deuce on. Bathrooms and open air shelters are near the course, but don't come into play. It is a good course for night golf as 14th street and park lights illuminate most of the course.
Cons: Often there are people on the course that are having picnics and make holes unplayable. It is a popular place during the summer. There is also a basketball court near one pin. There really isn't a lot of challenge to the course.
Other Thoughts: Ewing Park is a short drive from the course. Go there if you want a enjoyable round at a first class disc golf course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.