Des Moines, IA 
Crivaro Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #2 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
If Only The Neighbor's Would Keep Spike Chained Up!

1    8/11/2016   8/14/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crivaro Park, named after the former mayor of Des Moines, the Honorable Pete Crivaro, is a fairly good sized city park, which sits right on the very busy 14th Street. Crivaro features all the amenities that most city parks have, picnic areas, a nice children's pool and splash area and playground. The area where the disc golf course has lovely green grass, is flat and has just the right scattering of mature trees.

The course is an excellent beginner/recreational course. The holes are a nice combination of short pitch and putt lengths (140-185') and recreation distances of 240-335'. The scattered trees provide just enough challenge and diversity to keep things interesting. As a previous reviewer stated, you would almost have to try to lose a disc here. Newbs, wives, children and one disc wonders will enjoy this course and avoid many of the frustrations such as hunting for their discs in deep rough.

The course features these pretty royal blue DGA baskets with the red number plate on top. The concrete tee pads are trapezoid shaped. The metal tee signs are basic and give you the basic information. Be aware that the tee signs on # 1 and # 3 are set facing the opposite direction of the basket. Pars listed are consistent with this type of course such as # 8's being a par 4 at 300'. Ignore them or embrace them and go for that eagle. This is America and the choice is yours to make.
Cons: Lots of noise from 14th Street.

Lack of challenge for most players.

Not a destination course, just a course that would like as a warm up or on your way home. The central Des Moines location makes this course so convenient to reach.
Other Thoughts: On about hole 7 as I was rushing trying to beat the threatening skies, a crazed pit bull type pup came charging up on my blind side. For the last three holes, this demon dog had a wonderful time charging up on me, time and time again. I tried everything, yelling, waving my bag, pretending to throw my disc at him. I would have loved to fling some good throwing rocks at him but Crivaro Park is spotless, not as much as a pebble or a small stick to throw at him. Had I been packing heat, I couldv'e have wasted him. No warning shots from me. Everything I did just added to his glee. I'm not a dog person and I don't always differentiate between a vicious attack dog and a frolicking pup. What I do know, was this was most annoying as I attempted to finish the last three holes before the skies opened up. And open up they did as I finished on 9. At least as I was rushing over to get into my car, it finally gave me relief from the demon attack pup of Crivaro Park!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short and close to Ewing

1    6/5/2016   6/14/2016
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 80  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are great, tees are concrete and large enough for how short the course is. 10/10

You would have to really try hard to lose a disc. 10/10

Several holes have multiple gaps you can throw through with paths to the basket. Decisionmaking 8/10

The obstacles on this course are used well for the most part. Holes 1 and 9 are short and pretty open and boring, but the rest have at least some obstacles to provide a mild challenge. 7/10

Course was well mowed. There aren't really tee signs showing the holes, but there are posts showing hole numbers and distances. No benches or trash cans. Course Maintenance 7/10

Tee posts help help to find the next tee and the course is pretty intuitive for the most part, especially because of how small it is. Navigation between holes 7/10

Baskets have numbers on the top to help with navigation. Tee pads generally point toward the basket. No hole maps to assist with navigation and on most tees you can see multiple baskets because of how close together the entire course is. Navigation on holes 6/10
Cons: No alternate pin positions, though there are a couple of alternate tees on holes 5 and 7. The alternates also do little to change the holes other than adding 30 to 50 feet of distance. 1/10

The course is pretty flat for the most part. There are a couple of ridges that are utilized on holes 2, 6, and 9. 2/10 on elevation

There's not a huge variety of shot paths required on this course, Hole 3 favors a right to left shot, while hole 6 favors a left to right. A few holes have options for either a left to right or right to left (see decisionmaking in pros). Shot paths 3/10

Many holes are either right around 300' (4, 5, 7, and 8) or right around 180 ft' (1, 2, 6, 9). The 3rd hole is significantly longer than the rest. 3/10 on variety of distances.

This is a good beginner course because of its lack of length, its park setting, and lack of hazards. However, the course will provide little challenge to intermediate or advanced players other than the third hole. 3/10 on challenging all levels
Other Thoughts: Challenge of the course: 1/10

Hole 3 is sweet, but there's nothing special about the rest. This course is good for a quick nine or a warmup before playing Ewing, but it is certainly not the destination course that many in the Des Moines area are.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Something for everyone

5+    12/8/2015   12/27/2015
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 63  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Centralized location. Set near the State Capitol building off of the main hub of 14th Street in Des Moines, Crivaro is very much an "on the way" course. If you're done with your round at Grandview and want to get in another at Ewing (or vice-versa), Crivaro is smack dab in the middle of your route. Plenty of amenities nearby to fill up on gas, fast food, smokes, drinks, and if you know the right people, some black tar heroin. (Kidding about that last, but the location does kind of strike me as a little sketchy.)

- Good equipment. 9 Mach III baskets are peppered throughout the course, even painted exactly like they are on the Steady Ed Memorial course at the International Disc Golf Center in Appling, Georgia. They catch pretty well, the concrete teepads are grippy and level, and there's plenty of parking. The grass is well maintained in the warmer months as well, making Crivaro somewhat of an oasis among the concrete and blacktop you'll see along the way to and from the better courses in Des Moines.

- Starter course. If you have someone you're trying to introduce to the game, Crivaro is a great place to do it. Holes are short enough (and many have alternate tees) so beginners won't get frustrated, while those newbies who have some Frisbee skills are provided a few holes to air it out without feeling like they're playing on the bunny slopes. A starter DX set from any manufacturer is more than enough for a rank beginner to shoot par on this course. More experienced players will find many ace runs at Crivaro from both the long and short tees. The length of the course and its proximity to a major road with streetlights also makes it a great course for glow during the seasons with shorter days.

- Other activities available. If you want to bring the family and have a cookout, there's a pavilion with restrooms as well as grills available to burn your meat. There's also plenty for the non-golfers to do in the form of a basketball court, swing sets and jungle gyms while you breeze through the 9 or 18 holes. Your round won't take long on this short pitch and putt.
Cons:
- Loud. As I said, 14th Street is a major thoroughfare in Des Moines so traffic is apt to be pretty crazy on that street during your round, regardless of what time you play. 18-wheelers, horns, and bumper-to-bumper traffic can be heard fairly loudly on every hole, so if you like to listen to music while you play your Bluetooth speaker probably won't be enough to drown it out. Better to bring headphones. Suffice it to say that Crivaro is not the course to expect a peaceful round to get one with nature.

- No benches. Though it isn't a long course, its proximity to everything else in the city makes Crivaro a fairly popular park so it can get busy. Its length and location draws beginners and (bless their hearts) bored people sitting around who say to each other, "Hey, wouldn't it be hilarious if we went Frisbee golfing?!" That said, playing here you may end up waiting on people who are trying out the sport with their 40g Met Life Frisbees and grandma's pie tins. Just saying it'd be nice to have something to sit on while you wait your turn watching an eight and 80-year old take 15 minutes to take a 9 on the 110 foot par 3.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
All in all, Crivaro is a passable on-the-way course that every town in America needs and can most certainly afford. It gets plenty of usage and is a quick, painless place to introduce new players to the game...especially those on the fence about it who are hesitant to even give disc golf a try. It's a quick 9 (or however many you want to play) that offers a little something for players of all levels, but it's most definitely not a destination course. With Ewing, Grandview, Walnut Ridge, Big Creek and Pickard all being within 20 minutes or so you're better off heading there, but when you have little time and are jonesing for a game this course will scratch that itch. In short, Crivaro is the fat girl at the club at 2am: You wouldn't even consider her if you had time to work the cheerleaders, but when last call comes around your powers of positive thinking start to kick in and all of the sudden the fat girl doesn't look too bad.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Crivaro Park

2-4    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a well maintained course with cement pads and baskets in good condition. The grounds are in great condition with a mature trees to work throws around. A great course for for people to develop their disc golf skills or work on their midrange game.
Cons: The course is on the shorter end with several holes that you can give solid ace runs at. However, it isn't as challenging as other nearby courses for serious disc golfers.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 pretty lame filler

5+    4/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: blkwizardsonny
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Only nine holes so takes 30 mins .ace runs ,thats it ,fun winter course i guess
Cons: Short,holes are kinda the same, no elevation,quite open lots of park users in the summer
Other Thoughts: This course is just one you play to knock off your list

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/24/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: steady1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really nice maintained course. It was winter but the lawn was mowed and limbs cleared. Easy to park and access the park. I went on a Wednesday and no players were there. Trees gave some concern but no under brush to worry about. DGA baskets are good quality.
Cons: Bathrooms closed on off season. This is a basketball and water park. Tee distance course details could be better delineated. A new road is being constructed on #1 so it was out of play. Needs new teebox.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course as I visited the town and wanted some disc golf time out. Easy to find. Shot -1 par for the 2 games I played.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace of Spades

5+    1/13/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: ChubbyChad
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you are looking to work on your short game or want the adrenaline rush of possible aces this is the course. Short holes, Cement tee pads. Nice flow. Good basket placement. 9 holes. We usually play 27 holes in an hour.
Cons: The park can get crowded on the weekends, especially in the summer. If the brothas are playing basketball and you hook the tee off on hole 4 it might get interesting. I had a disc skip right through a basketball game one day. I lived.. somehow..
Other Thoughts: I love this place. I have yet to get an ace, but I've hit the basket a few times. This place keeps pulling me back because it is close to home and the possibility of an ace on many of the holes. Love this place.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite 9 hole courses in the area

2-4    8/22/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and tee pads, well maintained, nearly impossible to lose a disc (unless the river is up), restrooms, generally shady, quick nine holes, feel good about your score card, have a decent chance at an Ace on at least half the course
Cons: No signs, baskets do have numbers above them so once you've played it 1-2 times you'll be fine on the layout, a couple shots can put you in danger of hitting people around the basketball court, pretty short runs on most of the course, not every basket has a long tee even though there is ample room to provide one to lengthen some of the ridiculously short shots (Hole 9 especially)
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course b/c it's quick and easy, sometimes use it as a warm-up on my way to an 18 hole course, great place for beginners or taking the girlfriend a long, also the ideal place to try out new discs or practice specific techniques b/c so short

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 quickie

1    3/13/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice concrete pads, and new baskets... very east to follow. i used a driver, a mid and a putter, only threw the driver once. quick round was easy and fun. this would be a great course to introduce someone to the game.
Cons: not not really
Other Thoughts: found this course by accident when i was driving across town to johnston from pickard. took 20 minutes to play it and felt like it was decent for a 9 hole course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  2 consecutive aces

2-4    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: TroyChurch
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for mid-range drives and putting practice.
Cons: If I wasn't with someone who knew where they were going, it might have been difficult to navigate the course. Signs would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Jon Krieg aced consecutive holes (#1 and #2) during our second game today. There were 3 witnesses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.