Arkadelphia, AR 
Ouachita Baptist University DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #12 (Taken 2/2011)
3 / 278ft.   3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Could be so much better

2-4    5/28/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: Joshwest
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - With the area just being a big open field, I'd say they did a good job with the layout. There are left and right doglegs when possible, long and short holes. The holes typically are much longer than you think and you have to get some really good throws to reach the baskets.
- The location is good relative to the school, I had to drive 15 mins to the nearest course at the college I went to.
- If you are a new player, it is a great course to test you arm strength, while having to keep some accuracy. And for the better players, it is a good course to shoot well.
Cons: - There are a lot of negatives about the course, but it is clear that the root cause of almost all of them, is that the course just isn't a priority for the school and it just isn't kept up with.
- Most of the tee boxes have grass starting to grow up on them. The baskets are old and there are ones that a disc can fall through the basket. And a lot of the tee signs are worn and faded where they aren't readable.
- The area is where they have cross country events, so the grass is cut to make the path for the runners. The holes somewhat follow this path, but is only 10 - 15ft wide and the grass can be very tall and have irritating brush. I get it doesn't make since for the school to keep the entire field cut down, but the fairways need to be wider.
- #3's teebox was completely surrounded by super tall grass, with no path cut to it. #2's basket area is cut down and even #3's basket area is cut, but it looks like they just didn't want to go near the teebox. At least make a path.
- The course parking and #1 is right next to the football indoor facility and the course is only a few hundred yards from the football stadium. You won't be able to park anywhere on game day, or if you come during practice hours or if there is intermural games going on.
- #2's teebox was moved due to a new building being built. You have to walk around it and there is only a tee sign, no concrete pad.
- #5 is a really nice, long dogleg left. However, there is a practice basket right in the middle of the fairway. If you don't know better you will throw right to it. I don't understand why it's there, it is probably one of the farthest points from the start.
Other Thoughts: - The course is near the River and has several small creeks near it, so mosquitoes, gnats, and ticks are plentiful. Be prepared.
- I mentioned that there are a lot of chances that there could be a ton of people near the course, but if you come when school is out there is a good chance no one will be out there and you will have the course to yourself.
- It's clearly not as nice as the other courses nearby, but it is not horrible and can be a nice place to be depending on the amount of bugs and people around.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 OBU course

1    6/29/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: benwilly
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Long holes to test the arm
2. flat course
3. nice green Forrest course without to many trees to get in the way
Cons: 1. High grass so a disc could be lost
2. hole 2 is a little hard to find
Other Thoughts: pretty good 18 hole course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 so-so

2-4    4/1/2011   11/2/2012
Review By: Matty Ice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very long and a good place to test the arm for sure. The holes are not put in bad places. No hills to climb makes it easy to get around on the course.
Cons: Low level land can be a swamp after rain. Dense thicket can catch you off guard and make a disc impossible to find on one hole.
Other Thoughts: Good course, but it can get tedious after so many long drive throws.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad at all.

1    10/26/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 57  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost every tree was used in the design. The length is what makes this course challenging to most of us. The shot selection was not bad considering the terrain given. Good signage and is easy to navigate. Well maintained as it is a college open style course. You will most likely have the course to yourself and can play as slow or throw as many shots as you wish. There are a nice variety of distances that range from about 700 -250. For a city park/college type course, it is pretty long. The course plays around the outskirts of a soccer field and most shots are in a lightly/moderately wooded area. It only has about 3 or 4 open field type shots, but they are all long.
Cons: Soccer thugs and band practice!! Bad timing on my part. I am sure that they are not there a majority if the time. Not a lot of cons for what it is and the land given. There is a wooded area on the schools property, I guess they didn't want to mess with any tree removal.
Other Thoughts: A good course, just nothing special. Worth playing if you are in the area or are a student. It was not wet when I played it. Good timing on that at least. Enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was on a trip down to Dallas and decided to hit this course up not really knowing what to expect, and I was pleasantly surprised. Tee pads and signs (with a few exceptions) are present on each hole. There is an above average amount of shot variety.

The strongest aspect of the course was the upkeep. All of the fairways were freshly mowed, no garbage was present anywhere on the course, and the trees and tall grass lining the fairways provide a picturesque setting for a round of disc golf.

#9 was the signature hole for me. The shot requires you to throw straight down a narrow fairway with two mature trees about 5 yards apart and 5 yards in front of the tee box requiring you to get off a clean, straight release.

As I mentioned, tall grass lines most of the fairways, which creates a challenging OB, and makes this course very tough. New players who don't have a 175+ straight shot will struggle here.

Alternate pin locations exist, and from what I could tell they rotate the pins although there was no indication of how often, but this would be cool for locals who play this course often.
Cons: When I played, the ground was saturated, and I know it had not rained for at least the past 2 days. The course was playable, but especially on the first three holes, pretty much all of the OB and a lot of the fairways were soaked.

A few holes were missing signs (although the shots were easy to figure out). The basket for #5 was mangled and crooked, but still playable.

While enjoyable, the course starts to get a little repetitive with a lot of straight/dogleg shots around 300ft down a tall grass lined fairway. The land doesn't really provide for anything other than this, and it's not a huge drawback, just something this course inherently lacks.
Other Thoughts: The course has its limitations as far as the land provided, but it is a fantastic place to play DG and from the course map on this site, it looks to be the only course in this area.

I could tell a lot of care is given to this course and I give kudos to the university or whomever is responsible for the upkeep of this area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your Muck Boots :D

1    2/2/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: vtsquid
Played: 21  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has alot to offer any player. Great to just go and play a few holes or all 18. There are many distance holes to challenge any power thrower or to see what discs do when tossed. There is really no where to loose a disc, and the course is out of the way enough that no one will really bother you! The signs are helpful and well places as well as the pins. The t pads are concrete and large and the area around each pin is nice and clear. There is really no wooded area, but large trees do make obstacles. There are many distance throws, so power throwers have something to look forward to, as well as people looking to see what their discs can do and what they will do!
Cons: wet wet wet! After any rain fall it is really wet, but if you come with your muck boots, you should be fine!

There are some pins and sings missing from their places, (#12 sign is by the dirt pile between 16 tee and pin)

Other Thoughts: This course has alot to offer and has the potential to be a great course! If you go looking to have fun and know that the ground is wet and soft, then you will have a great time. If you go looking for a 5 star course, you will leave mad and asking why they built it. It has great lay out, some one took some time and put alot of thought into it. I hope some one will take the time and keep the course up and cleaned out and that the signs and pins stay where they are suppose to stay (drunk college kids like to take them as trophies)

all in all, a course that is fun and has huge potential!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wear your mud boots

1    11/25/2009   1/26/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 259  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 28.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Real tee pads.

Ok use of land given

does have a few memorable holes.
#4 is a GREAT hole and the best on the course.
Cons: #2 was pretty much unplayable, it is a major marsh. You can get around it if you don't come up short, but I would just skip this hole.

#3 was a pretty good hole, but the ground was pretty mushy

Many of the holes were straight forward no trees in the way type holes. If I was not so tired when I played here I would have shot 10 under.
Other Thoughts: I don't think I will be stopping here to play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/23/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: Mark Kelley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the only course around too close to a college town. It had a variety of holes.

Cons: When it raines it gets flooded. very wet unless it has not rained for a while. Needs to be mowed wider instead of just a ten foot path.

Other Thoughts: A great use of land that would otherwise have no chance of being used. It is on a flood plain that is underwater more then anybody would hope. Great for where it is though

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: Pitch
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete T Pads,Alternate Pin Placements,(Signs are on the way)
5,400 short pinsPar 54 8,000 long Par 59
The Front 9 and Back 9 play from the parking lot(Best way to lay one out if you can)Discs available at the Campus Book Store.
Cons: Water is gonna stand here due to the low lying land and construction near holes 1 2 and 3(This will be addressed)Just wear your hiking boots and make sure they're waterproof.For now at least.
Other Thoughts: I designed this course with the Beginner and Pros' in mind,A Beginner can have fun and the Pro can Air it out.The land isn't the best Arkansas has to offer but I did what I could to give everybody a challenging course to play.Look for some serious golfers to come from this area in the future.A great place to breed champions.For course design info contact me at tommypitchfordjr@yahoo.com as well as any ideas for the course in the future.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.