Course Extinct
Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Blair Witch Project DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheBrownZombie Hole #9 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
New layout

1    6/13/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: 00greenwj
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Much larger area

New baskets

Didn't play all of the course but it seemed 18ish
Cons: new holes don't have tee pads

lots of old baskets removed which sucks since they weren't reused.
Other Thoughts: Wish they would have expanded w/o removing the old baskets. Hopefully they put the baskets back since some off them were really fun holes Be nice if/when tee pads go in.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't let the silly name scare you.

1    4/6/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
> A fun and challenging course with personality.
-
> A decent mix of shot types and throws to keep things interesting.
-
> More focus on accuracy, placement and creativity than on raw distance (which makes this course a good contrast to the Badlands course here at Camenisch Park).
-
> Very good use of the space. I liked the way the trees, brush, creek and terrain played to create thoughtful obstacles.
-
> I had locals tell me that the course was a heavily wooded, brutally tight and dense course that would leave me begging for mercy... but I found the challenge level of the course to be just right and much more like the courses I am used to playing. I'd much rather be forced to develop a strategy for getting to the basket in fewer strokes than just throwing a long drive as close to the basket as possible and then tossing a short putt in. I used a much wider variety of discs and styles on this 9 holer than on the entire 18 hole in the other half of the park.
-
> While the tees were natural, they were all level and mostly flat... unlike those on the Badlands course :P
-
> A satisfying addition to create 27 holes in the park and a great break from the sun mid-game.
...
Cons:
> The tee signs are abysmal. They are hard to see, some have no number on them and they just don't really serve much purpose at this point.
-
> The baskets are a hodge-podge of different makes and are all pretty lousy. The chains on them barely catch. They are all rusty and practically impossible to locate from a distance.
-
> Two missing baskets have been replaced by make-shift tone poles.
-
> There are a couple of safety issues for players - where tees are placed too close to the previous basket. I just found too much risk of a drive hitting a player on the next tee in the back of the head. I sure feel like this could have been prevented and would be easy enough to correct.
-
> There's a definte litter problem. This course needs trash cans and a good cleaning.
-
> Needs some TLC and basic maintenance... but it's not in bad shape yet.
...
Other Thoughts:
> Again, I'd much rather play a course like this, where I'm required to think, focus and work for my par (or birdie)... and this did a much better job of that than the Badlands course. It's not as tight or brutal as I'd been led to believe.
-
> I sincerely believe that, with a bit of moderate effort, this course could be really special.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

a separate course? no so much

1    8/13/2013   9/28/2014
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 220  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -variety of shots required due to the tight woods
-pond in play on hole 4, creek in play on holes 5, 7, 8
-elevations changes but not as drastic as Badlands
-the best part of this course is that it's nothing like Badlands
Cons: -very poor tees and baskets, no signs
-the woods are thick and unmaintained
-ground can be marshy around holes 4 and 5
Other Thoughts: These 9 holes are really more like bonus holes for the Badlands course. And thank goodness for them because it is exactly the change of pace needed from the wide open holes on Badlands. The woods are tight and the lines are challenging but sometimes awkward. The pond and creek that come into play make for some cool risk/reward options.

The drawback is that the course equipment is in awful shape. The tees are poor, the baskets are old and beat up, and there are no signs. The trees are also pretty overgrown in places, leaving a shot over the trees your only option in a spot or two.

It would be really great to see this course cleaned up and integrated with Badlands into one 27 hole layout with new signs. I can't imagine anyone plays this course without playing Badlands and if anyone wants to skip these 9 and play just 18 they can feel free. But a 27 hole layout with new signs would address some of the problems with each individual course.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I AM SO SCARED RIGHT NOW!!!!

1    9/10/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 226  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This nine hole secret course takes off from the 'Badlands' course and is a lot different not only from the "Badlands' but the rest of the Denver metro area. This course plays through tight woods and over a body of water with many obstacles, funky basket locations and awkward throws throughout the area.

Wooded courses have always been more fun to me and the open, longer holes have always been super boring to me so I had a much better time here, if tight woods are your thing than this is the best and only option in town for you.
Cons: Just like the movie you get lost in the woods, scared and scarred for the rest of your life. Navigating this course is very difficult even with following the flags everywhere finding tee pads is atrocious and you must walk almost every hole on the course before you throw it.

This course needs some TLC in the worst way and could be a really fun short, woods course but right now it's about half work and half fun. It is apparent that the local homeless population are camping out in this area of the park and vandalism and litter is everywhere. The basket for hole two was broken and unplayable when I was there , it looks like someone attempted to take the basket and gave up half way through, never the less the chains were all out and hanging down to the ground with yellow caution tape around the lower basket. I wouldn't play this course alone, bring a group, there are some shady characters lurking around in the bushes out there and they might be more harmful than the wicked witch of the east!
Other Thoughts: Others have spoken about combining the two courses into one making it a 27 hole course. That could make more traffic in the Blair Witch section and possibly drive out some of the scary lurkers in here as well as cut down some of the underbrush and lines in the fairway. Although the lines are fun, short and require you to hit a very, very small window some may argue that there is too much "luck" on the course. I don't agree with that which is why I mention it in the 'other thoughts' category. This course is much more unique and interesting (IMO) than any other course in town and is worth checking out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

It has potential

5+    7/26/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Provides a great contrast to the Badlands course with tight wooded shots that require technical prowess as opposed to needing raw power. It is usually less crowded than Badlands, so if the wait time is too long you can cut back here. You can weave back to Blair Witch after playing hole #12 of Badlands, then rejoin Badlands after finishing Blair Witch, that gives you a 26 hole course (it would be 27, but hole #4 of Blair Witch has been missing a basket for months). A chance for the non-arms to keep up with their big arm playing mates.
Cons: Just like playing Badlands, be prepared to lose a disc here. It is overgrown to the point where you really need to send out a spotter before throwing a disc, it is just too easy to lose them here. My buddy lost a disc just today in a tree that was so densely overgrown you could not see into the branches above 7-feet. Speaking of the interesting characters you run into on Badlands, back in Blair Witch you run into people that make the Badlands characters uncomfortable, I wouldn't play this course alone, personally.
Other Thoughts: This course has a ton of potential, but there needs to be a major clean up effort and some careful pruning of trees and bushes to make the course more of a planned tight forest course, and less of an overgrown mess that just happens to have some baskets scattered about. Also, I think it's time for concrete tees, the holes are established. And please put a basket back on hole #4!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Adequate Course Name

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course was unique and certainly had character. It was aptly named.
-Surprisingly high fun factor for me. There were some tight holes, some with elevation, some risk/reward with the creek.
-The mando on 8 makes you throw a high shot which can be interesting.
-Is usually played in conjunction with another fairly fun course- Badlands. You get to this course after hole 12 from that course and after hole 9 you hop right back into Badlands.
-Friendly locals let me play through a few times and guided me around the course on other times.
-3 practice baskets located at the start of Badlands.
Cons: -0 signage. Tees were marked with a white PVC tube on top of a metal post. At least 1 or 2 of these were missing.
-Baskets are in poor shape and are not uniform at all. Many are quite old.
-It is apparent that homeless people live here.
-Saw a broken car window in the parking lot, not the best neighborhood.
-Some fairways are a little too tight, a few trimmings and this course would be good to go. Not any major work needs to be done in this regard. A little bit would go a long way.
-Navigation is difficult. There are blind shots and no signage. I followed a friendly local around- Thanks Derek!
Other Thoughts: -If this site were to combine Badlands and Blair Witch (they should IMO, does anybody ever play just this course???) and there was some work done on the park (new baskets and tees for BW at least, signage) this park could be a very solid 4.0 or even better. There is a lot of potential at Camenisch Park.
-Despite it's shortcomings, this is one of the better courses in the Denver Metro area. This course also is tighter than most courses around here, a refreshing change of pace from the flat and open courses.
-Lock your doors and don't leave anything valuable in sight. Not the best neighborhood.
-You could drop the kids off at water world and play a few rounds here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 tight, short, fun

5+    3/28/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: alejobir
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -technical holes
-shade and low wind
-not too busy

Cons: -muddy in spots
-poorly marked
I don't know what else to say. not many cons
Other Thoughts: great technical course, since the removal of Johnny Roberts, this has become my new favorite

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good quick clean course

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Teepads 2
Tee signs 0
Baskets 2
Flow 2
Difficulty 3.5
This course had some of what i like risk reward on downhill shots and elevation changes. the practice basket set up was legit
Cons: Several pins are blind some a marker as to where you are throwing would be good. Hole 4 seems a bit dangerous. You are almost encouraged to shoot big over the mound. Well there is a fence with barbed wire just to the left of the pin anything that gets up in the air could go over and you are screwed
Other Thoughts: I met some extremely nice folks here and had a chance to chat. I always feel pleasantly greeted by locals here in denver.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Secret 9

1    12/19/2013   1/9/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 151  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unlike the Badlands course, Blair Witch Project is quite technical and has an array of different shots. It is much more difficult to shoot a 27 here than it is to shoot 54 a the other course. The length may not be here like it is at the other course but there is not a single hole that is the same here. Starting at Hole 1 which is a tight 6 foot gap downhill shot with the basket strategically placed. In my opinion Hole 1 is the best hole out of any of the 27 holes on site, because of it's uniqueness and the skill level is greater to succeed.

The gravel tee pads were not terrible; they could benefit from concrete but it is not terrible. Water can be a factor on holes 4-5 if the lake is full. It would not be a difficult task to clear the water but it does add some treachery on the course.

The fact that this course is much tougher than it's counterpart makes this course less played, but at the same time it makes the player want more and to succeed here.
Cons: I did not find navigation too terrible, however it could be drastically improved. The PVC tee signs do not say what hole it is, which is a problem since the land that the course is on is so small, making some holes play close to others. None of the baskets are numbered so shooting at a wrong basket is quite possible. Bring a map; if you bring a map than the course is much easier to navigate.

Speaking of baskets, some need a little bit of work. There was a random array of baskets throughout the course and the majority were single chained disasters. Hole 9 baskets hangs from a tree, which I never enjoy gimmick baskets like this especially if it is as free standing and swaying as this one was. There are better ways I've seen hanging baskets done, but it does add a little bit of character to the course. Hole 4 is a silly hole over the water and down a huge 30 foot hill that sits at about 70 degrees. There was not much thought in that hole and a twisted ankle could be a serious issue there.
Other Thoughts: Blair Witch Project combined with Badlands makes for a great day of golf with plenty of different shots. BWP adds variety and technicality as Badlands adds length. The course is rough but being patient and following a map or a guide can equal a pleasant extra 9 holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

First impressions.....

1    7/18/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Forces you to learn new ways to throw and be more creative. Shorter distances and guarded basket locations levels the playing field for all skill levels. My arm couldn't keep up with the group on the badlands, but found some tee box honors on Blair.
Cons: We don't need no stinking signs, if your not with someone that knows the course you will struggle to find your way, can't see most of the baskets from tee box, mid summer growth makes it very difficult to find your disc , even if you hit your line you won't see it land and have a hard time finding it.
Other Thoughts: I am a beginner and find this course to be overwhelming . I played this course with an intermediate player that had experience on this course and par was rare, but lost discs were not. I will try this course again in the fall.....played again with large group and had a blast! More people made spotting discs easier

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.