Federal Heights (Denver), CO 
Camenisch Park - Blair Witch Project DGC Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #2 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket: Basket is in a wooded depression out of sight from the tee pad.



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It has potential

5+    7/26/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Provides a great contrast to the Badlands course with tight wooded shots that require technical prowess as opposed to needing raw power. It is usually less crowded than Badlands, so if the wait time is too long you can cut back here. You can weave back to Blair Witch after playing hole #12 of Badlands, then rejoin Badlands after finishing Blair Witch, that gives you a 26 hole course (it would be 27, but hole #4 of Blair Witch has been missing a basket for months). A chance for the non-arms to keep up with their big arm playing mates.
Cons: Just like playing Badlands, be prepared to lose a disc here. It is overgrown to the point where you really need to send out a spotter before throwing a disc, it is just too easy to lose them here. My buddy lost a disc just today in a tree that was so densely overgrown you could not see into the branches above 7-feet. Speaking of the interesting characters you run into on Badlands, back in Blair Witch you run into people that make the Badlands characters uncomfortable, I wouldn't play this course alone, personally.
Other Thoughts: This course has a ton of potential, but there needs to be a major clean up effort and some careful pruning of trees and bushes to make the course more of a planned tight forest course, and less of an overgrown mess that just happens to have some baskets scattered about. Also, I think it's time for concrete tees, the holes are established. And please put a basket back on hole #4!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Secret 9

1    12/19/2013   1/9/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unlike the Badlands course, Blair Witch Project is quite technical and has an array of different shots. It is much more difficult to shoot a 27 here than it is to shoot 54 a the other course. The length may not be here like it is at the other course but there is not a single hole that is the same here. Starting at Hole 1 which is a tight 6 foot gap downhill shot with the basket strategically placed. In my opinion Hole 1 is the best hole out of any of the 27 holes on site, because of it's uniqueness and the skill level is greater to succeed.

The gravel tee pads were not terrible; they could benefit from concrete but it is not terrible. Water can be a factor on holes 4-5 if the lake is full. It would not be a difficult task to clear the water but it does add some treachery on the course.

The fact that this course is much tougher than it's counterpart makes this course less played, but at the same time it makes the player want more and to succeed here.
Cons: I did not find navigation too terrible, however it could be drastically improved. The PVC tee signs do not say what hole it is, which is a problem since the land that the course is on is so small, making some holes play close to others. None of the baskets are numbered so shooting at a wrong basket is quite possible. Bring a map; if you bring a map than the course is much easier to navigate.

Speaking of baskets, some need a little bit of work. There was a random array of baskets throughout the course and the majority were single chained disasters. Hole 9 baskets hangs from a tree, which I never enjoy gimmick baskets like this especially if it is as free standing and swaying as this one was. There are better ways I've seen hanging baskets done, but it does add a little bit of character to the course. Hole 4 is a silly hole over the water and down a huge 30 foot hill that sits at about 70 degrees. There was not much thought in that hole and a twisted ankle could be a serious issue there.
Other Thoughts: Blair Witch Project combined with Badlands makes for a great day of golf with plenty of different shots. BWP adds variety and technicality as Badlands adds length. The course is rough but being patient and following a map or a guide can equal a pleasant extra 9 holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

First impressions.....

1    7/18/2013   7/21/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2013
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Forces you to learn new ways to throw and be more creative. Shorter distances and guarded basket locations levels the playing field for all skill levels. My arm couldn't keep up with the group on the badlands, but found some tee box honors on Blair.
Cons: We don't need no stinking signs, if your not with someone that knows the course you will struggle to find your way, can't see most of the baskets from tee box, mid summer growth makes it very difficult to find your disc , even if you hit your line you won't see it land and have a hard time finding it.
Other Thoughts: I am a beginner and find this course to be overwhelming . I played this course with an intermediate player that had experience on this course and par was rare, but lost discs were not. I will try this course again in the fall.....played again with large group and had a blast! More people made spotting discs easier

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Dark Continent!

1    7/17/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Luckily, we followed a couple of locals as they veered off the Badlands course at # 12, played Blair Witch 2-9, and then jumped back on to the Badlands course making for a round of 25?, 26? I'm not sure how many Blair Witch holes we played and whether 4 & 5 were there or not. The signage is so old and decrepit and the underbrush so thick, not much sunlight reaches down there, and we had forgotten our torches, so we were basically lost without a map. I do know that are some extremely tight, technical lines there waiting to be hit. Birdies can quickly become bogies and double bogies. There are ACE runs coupled with totally blind throws. We had to walk ahead on many to find a basket tucked into some thicket somewhere.

#1 is a great little ACE run and the hanging basket on # 9 is a great fit on this course. The hanging basket is well done and a course like this is allowed one gimmicky basket.
Cons: The baskets are remarkably ugly. They are some kind of domed models but the domes are missing on many leaving kind of an ugly skeleton. I guess they fit the vibe of the course. My playing partner from Michigan called them "ghetto chains." In midday July we saw no evidence of any misquitos and the creek was nearly empty.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice contrast to the sprawling big bad Badlands 18. And adding 2-9 to make the aforementioned 26 hole day certainly makes for a full day of discing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 You're Lost, You're Angry in the Woods, and No One is Here To Help You.

5+    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: h0pe
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A tight, tight 9 hole technical course adjacent to Badlands DGC hole #12.

Lots of tree love in the woods- dense growth that demands straight controlled precision and severely punishes everything else.

Each hole is memorable and each shot is unique. This course is worth it just for Hole 9s hanging basket.

Wonderfully creative hole placement. Almost none of the baskets are visible from the dirt T-pads and require cunning control from drive to putt.

Seasonality changes this course dramatically. In the winter the fairways open up with dead undergrowth and bare branches. In the summer the trees limit driving lanes and the bushes swallow visibility.
Cons: Blair Witch is so technical that it can be immensely frustrating. This is not a course for beginners.

The signage has pretty much disappeared. The T-pads may be marked by smooth dirt and a couple of logs but unless you have a guide, the baskets are buried deep in the overgrowth and can be hard to find. You really are on your own in the woods here.

The creek that winds through the course is polluted and nasty. Trash from Federal Heights is strewn throughout it and stagnant water breeds a pretty hefty mosquito population in the summer. Lots of desiccating trash and foul smelling mud make for an extra penalty on those missed shots.

As of June 2012, Baskets #4 and #5 have been pulled probably because of their proximity to WaterWorld. This is a 7-hole course. (Loss of a half point)

Little upkeep on this course has allowed vegetation to obstruct some of the shot windows. This has made a couple of the holes (like 1 and 7) very narrow.

It's possible to lose a disc here to the dense foliage. Bring a slingshot to get discs out of trees and use a spotter on the obstructed throws. Water isn't a hazard here (although you might not want to use your disc again if it goes in the pools) but brightly colored discs are highly recommended!

WaterWorld and some of the local citizens detract greatly from the ambience of Blair Witch. The picnic benches are a popular hang-out for local teenagers and some shady characters.
Other Thoughts: Blair Witch feels like a really cool 9-hole course, but it also throws the gauntlet down. If you can come out of the woods even you can brag to your friends. One errant throw and you could be hacking through the shrubbery for the next three shots.

The loss of baskets #4 and #5 (as of June 2012) detract greatly from this course, robbing us of a couple of fun shots and confusing the already convoluted flow of Blair Witch. Unless you know where you're going, the trip from #3 to #6 is a long one…

The aging (and in many place ruined) signage makes finding the baskets very difficult.

And yet the uniqueness of every hole creates a disc golf experience that is quite memorable. I'll never forget the first time I threaded the needle on #2 and dropped my drive into the shady nook by the basket. Or the first time I putted into the hanging basket on #9!

Definitely worth the 1 hour 15 min play-through!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Blair Witch Project

1    5/27/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really fun, fully wooded, short nine. This one is great practice for accuracy...there are very few great shots possible, so you have to work to hit them. Tees were natural, but nice. Lots of blind shots. Beautiful area in the corner of the park. Some holes were very special.
Cons: The creek is a monster...my buddy lost a couple. One time we didn't even know the creek was there. Needs signage; the pvc pipes don't cut it. The giant dirt pile on 4 takes away from the hole. Pretty difficult to follow at times.
Other Thoughts: If you play Badlands (the other course in this park), you have to play these 9, just to experience the diversity between the two. I wouldn't recommend this one if you are new or if you are unlucky. It is really fun for those that have played for a while, and luck definately helps.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So...where's the pin?

2-4    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very technical 9 holes that plays shorter than the regular 18 at the Badlands. Great change of pace in the middle of the round. Heavily wooded that offers a lot of shade and tough drives. All nine holes now have baskets. Mostly, though, this little course is just fun! you don't often find tree-heavy courses in CO, unless you are in the mountains. There is nothing really quite like it in the Denver area.
Cons: Dirt tees, PVC & sharpie tee signs and not all baskets are regulation. Hard to find your way the 1st time through. The lanes are tricky with a lot of brambles and could use some more trimming to really define the driving lanes. We have already seen a lot of work on this course this year and hopefully it will only get better with time.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to review this course without comparing it to the standard 18 at Badlands. I recommend playing all 27 holes in one outing to get the full experience. The entrance is right after hole #12, on the way to #13, so you can just plop this nine in the middle of the round. You really get a full day of disc golf in if you play the full 27 with a variety of terrain in which to play. It really is a whole new experience from the regular 18. You walk out of the woods, back to #13, and you wish there were a few more holes back there. All-in-all, it's a great addition to an already good 18 holes. Technical, fun and frustrating. It will leave you wanting a couple more mulligans and planning your shots for the "next time" you throw this add-on. With some continued work, this "back nine" as they call it, might be a major draw for players who just want to play this one twice for a full round.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.