Alton, IL 
Rock Spring Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #14 (Taken 9/2009)
4 / 512ft.   4 / 622ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Tricky Tricky Pin Positions

1    5/12/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good concrete tee-pads for the main tee-pads
-Good mix of distance on the holes. There were some holes right around or slightly below 300, all the way up to a few holes that were over 600 feet long.
-The pin positions near the baskets were awesome on this course. A lot of them were on side-hills, uphills, or downhills, or with some thicker brush near the basket. This course really puts a premium on placement near the basket and making sure you hit your putt, because you don't you could have long come back or be stuck in some brush. This course definitely has quite a bit of risk/reward to putting.
-Great use of elevation on this course. Many of the holes incorporate either uphills, downhills of side-hills, sometimes near the baskets and other times the whole course incorporates it. Hole 16 was fun downhill, open at first then through a wooded corridor, then the hole opens up after that leading to a throw up-hill. Hole 18 was also a fun elevation hole that was quite a bit up-hill. Over this course makes good use of the elevation that this park has.
-There is a good variety of holes types too. There are tighter wooded holes that force specific shots, some more wide open holes that allow you to be a little more creative, and then some holes in between those. I also felt like there was a good mix of straight shots, and doglegs left and right.
-The course uses the foliage well to punish for bad shots. A lot of the holes have some thick foliage on them, and it will definitely punish you for throwing into the foliage.
-With the exception of one or two baskets, most of the baskets were in good shape and caught well.
-There was a lot of creativity to these holes and the holes on this course very rarely feel similar to each other.
Cons: -There are multiple tee-pads on this course, but the longer ones are really hard to find because they are a brownish rubber that blends really well into the ground and the long tee-pads don't have tee-signs at them.
-A couple of the holes, especially holes 4 and 9 play a little too close to the park road and could cause some safety issues and conflicts with other park users. Hole 4 was the worse case. It is a blind side-hill shot and if you overthrow the basket, you could easily go into the road.
-Only one pin-position per hole, which is a shame because I feel many of these holes could have some really fun alternate pin positions.
-The tee-signs were somewhat confusing. They didn't always seem to give an accurate representation of the fairway, and I found myself walking the fairways several times to figure out how the hole actually played.
-First tee-pad is a little hard to find from the park road. They need signs inside the park pointing to the course from the park road.
-The rough is thick enough that you could easily lose a disc. It was getting quite thick in May so I can imagine this course might get a little overgrown in the summer, but it wasn't terrible in May.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a really fun and memorable course with fun pin positions and some really fun and well-designed holes. While it is a little ways outside of St. Louis, it was well worth the drive and probably my second favorite course I played while visiting the St. Louis area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

This place Rocks in the Spring

1    4/20/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Start with wonderful landscape and terrain that inherently allows for great variety; plenty of elevation of all sorts, but still some sections that are flat. Lots of woods, but still a few places open enough to unleash a nice drive.

Add a solid design that combines these elements in various ways and you get a course where no two holes feel the same and all of them give you something to think about. Quite complete and well balanced.

• Discplay:
+ Elevation used in every way, plays uphill/downhill/flat/gulley/rollaway.
+ Holes that allow for a variety of lines.
+ Holes that force a specific line.
+ Holes range from lightly to very well wooded.
+ Nice range of hole lengths.
+ Pin placements w/pucker factor.
+ Well-guarded or tucked pins.
+ Places a premium on shot shaping.
+ Challenge: yep
+ Risk/Reward: mm-hmm
+ Various combinations of all the above...

• Equipment: Nothing special, but it's all in decent condition. Dual tees (short=concrete, long=natural or flypad). Signs show hole#, distance, shape, pin location and aid helpful navigation - didn't see any graffiti. Baskets were old, but not an issue.

• Aesthetics: hills, woods, touches of green space, nice sight lines… what's not to like? (see cons)
Cons:
• Neighborhood seemed kinda sketchy and downtrodden - wouldn't wanna live here.
• Hard to tell where long tees are, signs only present at concrete (short) tees.
• Routing/Nav: More a heads-up than a con: I really can't say it's bad. Everything was pretty easy with the map, but the way it takes you over roads, walk trails and wraps around all over the place, I'd have been screwed without it.
• While the course itself fairly scenic, there were some places where I saw a decent amount of litter buried in the brush off the fairway, particularly the nasty "not quite a creek" at the bottom of #15, where I saw an old tire and some other debris… a bit of a buzzkill.
• Risk of disc loss: I visited before things had a chance to grow thick, but I can easily see leaving some fairways resulting humping through thick vegetation and lost discs.
• A few holes play too close to the park road for my taste - possible non DG interaction with walking trails and roads. Not all that bad on the whole as most holes are routed nicely away from them, but definitely a concern in a few spots.
Other Thoughts: Designers had a nice head start with this property, and they did good job creating some interesting fairways and a course with splendid variety… really enjoyed playing here. Yes, I listed a lot of cons, but I found many of them easy to overlook. Pretty sure I was able to get away with more because of the time of year - no doubt bad tee shots will hurt more in a few months, but you gotta know when to step on the gas and when back off if you don't wanna end up in the wall.

Layout traverses all over the place and playing here is a hike, so be prepared for some heavy duty walking - lots of hills, and a few decent hikes between holes.

Not what I'd call beginner friendly. Roll-a-ways and thick brush likely to be very frustrating for newcomers.

Came here after Sioux Passage - the two complement each other very well: Sioux's about airing it out, Rock Springs is about staying in the fairway and playing within yourself. Both are a ton of fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    3/11/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: Aysizhi
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation changes and challenging pin placements. This course will make you use all of your tools.
Cons: Poison Ivy and a few blind drives that could lose you some discs.
Other Thoughts: I'm very happy that there is a great course in my hometown. Every time I'm back to visit family, I get a round or two in with my Uncle and cousins.
Alton born... represent!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth playing

1    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: rstevens77
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic, remote felling, challenging course. This course really makes you think, especially because you can't see the baskets from the tee pad on most of the holes. Tough shots, at times, and some fun open shots at others.
Cons: Because of some of the narrow alleys you're throwing through, there is opportunity to loose discs fairly easily (I lost a Champion Monarch today). ;( A few of the tee pads are a little hidden so you have to search a little, but not too bad at all.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course. I'm from the NW and out here for work. I'm hoping to play this again before I head back home.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 MOSQUITOES!

1    5/10/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: giddyup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. It's smack in the middle of an Alton park but feels pretty remote and rugged. Lot's of trees and elevation especially on the front 9. Most of the time, you can't even see the basket from the tee. Good mix of short and long holes. There are a few interesting holes where the basket is teetering on the edge of a hill and one stoke would be the difference between a 3 and a 9. Pads are concrete and there is good signage with A and B locations clearly marked.
Cons: The mosquitoes were horrible. I got at least 15 bites. And the grounds we're poorly kept. The grass was almost waist high on a few holes. Didn't see a lot of poison ivy, though.
Other Thoughts: Fast Eddies is only a few blocks away. This classic American dive is one of the best eating establishments you'll ever eat at! Make sure you play disc golf AND eat here when you go to Alton

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Romantic Three-Dimensional Specifications

1    3/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1149  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An enjoyable round of DG in a large wooded city park with lots of elevation in play.

Amenities. Large relatively undeveloped city park with trails, minimal parking, shelters, and bathrooms.

Variety. Great variety of shots with many technical lines of different shapes, elevation comes into play on many holes with several VERY fast greens and some hilltop bombs.

Length. The holes vary from a few ace runs, to short technical lines, to more open 500+ foot holes. It felt like a great balance of length and technical challenge.

Local Scene. Sunday leagues were posted as well as local tournaments, would be a great course to participate in local happenings. The locals I ran into were all friendly and helpful.

Well Maintained. Some fairways were a touch muddy, one of the baskets was bent up, and there was a bit of trash scattered about. Minor cons for what was overall a clean well manicured course.

Tees. 1 set of concrete that were level and in good shape. The dual pads were rubber and were not in as good of shape though usable.

Navigation. Easy to follow, in areas where it might get confusing there were signs to point the way.

Map/Scorecard. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt here in that the empty box will typically be filled, it would probably be nice to have a map though not entirely necessary, if it is never kept full, we'll call it a minor con.

Links. 2 9 hole loops if you only have time for 9.

Access. Near St. Louis, not far off of a main highway, easy to get to for travelers and locals alike.

Scenic. Nice wooded course.
Cons: *some minor cons mentioned in the pro section above.

Other users. Walking trails and roads come into play in a few areas, not a huge deal - I only had to wait for a few moments on occasion. Could possibly be a problem on blind holes, check to see where you're throwing.

Not necessarily beginner friendly. This would be a fine place to learn and practice the game - so don't let me scare you away. Some long technical holes and extremely fast greens could get frustrating for even some more advanced level players though, just go in expecting that.

Long tees. The rubber pads were often uneven and covered in debris, usable but not the best.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the stop if in the area, I'd make this one a priority.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Morning Round

1    4/8/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very nice course. A buddy and I made a trip to play a few courses up near St. Louis and we decided to hit this one and I am glad we did.

Starting out you can see this course is going to have some elevation and the distances are going to play with your mind. I like that you know a hole is 280' away but you need to throw a teebird to get there. They had great signs at every teepad that showed a route and distance. Since it was our first time I still walked up to see the basket due to the elevation you could not see many of the baskets which was cool. You have your wide variety of short holes and long holes then a couple bomb holes which I loved. A few high lights for me was hole 4, 6 and 7 I really liked where the pin was located. It was on the edge of no return (hill). You had to make the decision to go for it or lay up.

Hole 4 was a huge up hill then back down hill to the basket being about 25'-30' away from OB.

Hole 6 and 7 were short straight forward holes but the pin placement is what gave it its touch.

Hole 9, 12, 14, 18 were nice bomb holes through mature trees that you had to hit your line or you would be getting knocked down by a limb or two.

Hole 9 and 14 were throwing downhill a good distance and hole 12 and 18 the tee was lower and throwing up hill which was a nice change.

My favorite hole was hole 15. It was a pretty short hole but was laid out nice. The tee was elevated and you had to throw a perfect straight low shot to get through the tunnel then get a skip up to the basket. I nailed it while my buddy hit the tunnel.

I really enjoyed this course and if I am ever back in the area would stop by and play it again.
Cons: A few things that I always look for is if the courses have trash cans and places for people to sit. This had no places to sit (my knees are old for how old I am) and maybe two trash cans (that were over flowing) on the whole course.
Other Thoughts: I did notice that they were trying to add longer teepads but they seemed a little sketch so we decided to play from the concrete pads.

I think is course is a great place and think if they got the longer pads installed and a few other these other things in it will be a super course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging but Fun Course

5+    3/19/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: drwmatt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played this course to many times to count and it is a challenge every time I play it. No matter what your style of throwing is or your experience level, this place will keep you on your toes. Most of the holes play very well with the lay of the land. There is also a nice practice basket by Hole 1.
There are very nice signs for every hole with distance and maps.Alll Red tees also have red concrete tee pads.
Cons: Definitely could use multiple pin placements, playing from the pro tees just doesn't do it for me. Other than that there is not much I would change.
Other Thoughts: There is more than enough room to fit in another 9 holes. I know there is more than enough work right now to fix up what we have, but maybe a thought for the future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 its all about shot selection

5+    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: joy4all
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course will challange the best of players with shot selections. tons of mature trees on every hole. hills on every hole. a true beauty when it comes to nature. nice stone pads, good markers.
Cons: Poison ivy is the con so wear pants. this course needs to upgrade to multiple pin placements to make it an elite course.
Other Thoughts: deep woods so in warm weather bring OFF

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical course

1    9/6/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large hilly park that is nicely wooded. Nearly every hole uses some kind of elevation change, many with elevation on the drive and around the green to add difficulty and variety to multiple parts of the hole. Most of the holes play through the woods with tighter fairways and thick rough ready to punish an errant drive, with a few holes that give you a break and play a little more open. Ravines throughout the course lurk waiting for you to catch the wrong skip, and can easily cost you multiple strokes for going off the fairway in the wrong spot.

There is a really good variety of shots from either set of tees, they play balanced for right and left handed players. You'll need lots of different shot shaping skills to score well here, even from the shorter set of tees. There is also a fun variety of distances, with some shorter holes you can take an ace run at, and some longer ones that tempt you to throw big if you can stay out of trouble.

The red tees have nice concrete tees (with a reddish/pink color, you know which set you're throwing from). There are decent signs that make the course pretty easy to follow, and give enough information that you usually know where to throw. The baskets are still pretty new and catch great.
Cons: The blue tees looked like they added another level of challenge and offered different shots on many holes, but they were poorly marked with no signage. They don't have concrete pads, so they weren't in the best shape and weren't always easy to find. There are too many holes along park roads, it takes away from the feeling of seclusion and could be a safety issue on a busier day.

The course still feels pretty new, so there are still some small stumps that need removed and a little work left on trails between holes. Really minor issue that seems on it's way to being resolved.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course in a really nice park. Beginners might find even the red tees pretty unforgiving, with some longer holes and lots of punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will find fun variety and some nice challenges from the reds, and sore real tests from the blues. This is a course to hit while you're in the area, and it pairs really nicely with nearby Sioux Passage.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center