Alton, IL
Rock Spring Park Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #12
3 / 391ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Blue Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Well worth playing

1    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: rstevens77
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very scenic, remote felling, challenging course. This course really makes you think, especially because you can't see the baskets from the tee pad on most of the holes. Tough shots, at times, and some fun open shots at others.
Cons: Because of some of the narrow alleys you're throwing through, there is opportunity to loose discs fairly easily (I lost a Champion Monarch today). ;( A few of the tee pads are a little hidden so you have to search a little, but not too bad at all.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course. I'm from the NW and out here for work. I'm hoping to play this again before I head back home.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 MOSQUITOES!

1    5/10/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: giddyup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. It's smack in the middle of an Alton park but feels pretty remote and rugged. Lot's of trees and elevation especially on the front 9. Most of the time, you can't even see the basket from the tee. Good mix of short and long holes. There are a few interesting holes where the basket is teetering on the edge of a hill and one stoke would be the difference between a 3 and a 9. Pads are concrete and there is good signage with A and B locations clearly marked.
Cons: The mosquitoes were horrible. I got at least 15 bites. And the grounds we're poorly kept. The grass was almost waist high on a few holes. Didn't see a lot of poison ivy, though.
Other Thoughts: Fast Eddies is only a few blocks away. This classic American dive is one of the best eating establishments you'll ever eat at! Make sure you play disc golf AND eat here when you go to Alton

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Romantic Three-Dimensional Specifications

1    3/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1128  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An enjoyable round of DG in a large wooded city park with lots of elevation in play.

Amenities. Large relatively undeveloped city park with trails, minimal parking, shelters, and bathrooms.

Variety. Great variety of shots with many technical lines of different shapes, elevation comes into play on many holes with several VERY fast greens and some hilltop bombs.

Length. The holes vary from a few ace runs, to short technical lines, to more open 500+ foot holes. It felt like a great balance of length and technical challenge.

Local Scene. Sunday leagues were posted as well as local tournaments, would be a great course to participate in local happenings. The locals I ran into were all friendly and helpful.

Well Maintained. Some fairways were a touch muddy, one of the baskets was bent up, and there was a bit of trash scattered about. Minor cons for what was overall a clean well manicured course.

Tees. 1 set of concrete that were level and in good shape. The dual pads were rubber and were not in as good of shape though usable.

Navigation. Easy to follow, in areas where it might get confusing there were signs to point the way.

Map/Scorecard. I'll give them the benefit of the doubt here in that the empty box will typically be filled, it would probably be nice to have a map though not entirely necessary, if it is never kept full, we'll call it a minor con.

Links. 2 9 hole loops if you only have time for 9.

Access. Near St. Louis, not far off of a main highway, easy to get to for travelers and locals alike.

Scenic. Nice wooded course.
Cons: *some minor cons mentioned in the pro section above.

Other users. Walking trails and roads come into play in a few areas, not a huge deal - I only had to wait for a few moments on occasion. Could possibly be a problem on blind holes, check to see where you're throwing.

Not necessarily beginner friendly. This would be a fine place to learn and practice the game - so don't let me scare you away. Some long technical holes and extremely fast greens could get frustrating for even some more advanced level players though, just go in expecting that.

Long tees. The rubber pads were often uneven and covered in debris, usable but not the best.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the stop if in the area, I'd make this one a priority.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Morning Round

1    4/8/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very nice course. A buddy and I made a trip to play a few courses up near St. Louis and we decided to hit this one and I am glad we did.

Starting out you can see this course is going to have some elevation and the distances are going to play with your mind. I like that you know a hole is 280' away but you need to throw a teebird to get there. They had great signs at every teepad that showed a route and distance. Since it was our first time I still walked up to see the basket due to the elevation you could not see many of the baskets which was cool. You have your wide variety of short holes and long holes then a couple bomb holes which I loved. A few high lights for me was hole 4, 6 and 7 I really liked where the pin was located. It was on the edge of no return (hill). You had to make the decision to go for it or lay up.

Hole 4 was a huge up hill then back down hill to the basket being about 25'-30' away from OB.

Hole 6 and 7 were short straight forward holes but the pin placement is what gave it its touch.

Hole 9, 12, 14, 18 were nice bomb holes through mature trees that you had to hit your line or you would be getting knocked down by a limb or two.

Hole 9 and 14 were throwing downhill a good distance and hole 12 and 18 the tee was lower and throwing up hill which was a nice change.

My favorite hole was hole 15. It was a pretty short hole but was laid out nice. The tee was elevated and you had to throw a perfect straight low shot to get through the tunnel then get a skip up to the basket. I nailed it while my buddy hit the tunnel.

I really enjoyed this course and if I am ever back in the area would stop by and play it again.
Cons: A few things that I always look for is if the courses have trash cans and places for people to sit. This had no places to sit (my knees are old for how old I am) and maybe two trash cans (that were over flowing) on the whole course.
Other Thoughts: I did notice that they were trying to add longer teepads but they seemed a little sketch so we decided to play from the concrete pads.

I think is course is a great place and think if they got the longer pads installed and a few other these other things in it will be a super course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging but Fun Course

5+    3/19/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: drwmatt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I have played this course to many times to count and it is a challenge every time I play it. No matter what your style of throwing is or your experience level, this place will keep you on your toes. Most of the holes play very well with the lay of the land. There is also a nice practice basket by Hole 1.
There are very nice signs for every hole with distance and maps.Alll Red tees also have red concrete tee pads.
Cons: Definitely could use multiple pin placements, playing from the pro tees just doesn't do it for me. Other than that there is not much I would change.
Other Thoughts: There is more than enough room to fit in another 9 holes. I know there is more than enough work right now to fix up what we have, but maybe a thought for the future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 its all about shot selection

5+    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: joy4all
Played: 58  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course will challange the best of players with shot selections. tons of mature trees on every hole. hills on every hole. a true beauty when it comes to nature. nice stone pads, good markers.
Cons: Poison ivy is the con so wear pants. this course needs to upgrade to multiple pin placements to make it an elite course.
Other Thoughts: deep woods so in warm weather bring OFF

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great

5+    9/18/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: ilmcgee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenging course with mixture of woods, hills, and somewhat open holes. Has nice signs and concrete tees.
Cons: Doesn't flow well on front 9. Not much trash, but will only get worse since there are few trash cans on course.
Other Thoughts: If you bring a cooler of beer, put the emptys back in and keep courses clean.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical course

1    9/6/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large hilly park that is nicely wooded. Nearly every hole uses some kind of elevation change, many with elevation on the drive and around the green to add difficulty and variety to multiple parts of the hole. Most of the holes play through the woods with tighter fairways and thick rough ready to punish an errant drive, with a few holes that give you a break and play a little more open. Ravines throughout the course lurk waiting for you to catch the wrong skip, and can easily cost you multiple strokes for going off the fairway in the wrong spot.

There is a really good variety of shots from either set of tees, they play balanced for right and left handed players. You'll need lots of different shot shaping skills to score well here, even from the shorter set of tees. There is also a fun variety of distances, with some shorter holes you can take an ace run at, and some longer ones that tempt you to throw big if you can stay out of trouble.

The red tees have nice concrete tees (with a reddish/pink color, you know which set you're throwing from). There are decent signs that make the course pretty easy to follow, and give enough information that you usually know where to throw. The baskets are still pretty new and catch great.
Cons: The blue tees looked like they added another level of challenge and offered different shots on many holes, but they were poorly marked with no signage. They don't have concrete pads, so they weren't in the best shape and weren't always easy to find. There are too many holes along park roads, it takes away from the feeling of seclusion and could be a safety issue on a busier day.

The course still feels pretty new, so there are still some small stumps that need removed and a little work left on trails between holes. Really minor issue that seems on it's way to being resolved.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course in a really nice park. Beginners might find even the red tees pretty unforgiving, with some longer holes and lots of punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will find fun variety and some nice challenges from the reds, and sore real tests from the blues. This is a course to hit while you're in the area, and it pairs really nicely with nearby Sioux Passage.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course plays through an old park with lots of rugged terrain. Majority of the holes are through pretty densely wooded areas with tight fairways and numerous trees. Lots of line shaping is needed on almost every shot from start to finish, in all different directions. Great use of trees in the fairways in the holes out of the forest as well; there is always something to look out for.
- Lots of hills are present from start to finish. Some great holes that play over small hills, with sharp finishes to the basket. Plenty of gently sloping holes mixed in as well. The wide variety of hills and forested fairways helps to keep each shot different and enjoyable.
- A large number of holes have treacherous slopes off the fairway and near the baskets to demand accurate shots with accurate results. Putting the disc right where you want is only half the battle; it must sit down or an even more difficult approach shot awaits.
- Wide variety of hole lengths, on both sets of tees. Very enjoyable shorter holes (not that short though), lots of tricky medium length holes, and a few over 500' for those who can let it rip.
- Great teepads, baskets, and tee signs.
Cons: - This course, in general, heavily favors accuracy over raw distance. Some might find the course a little short at times, especially from the reds.
- Lots of places with pavement, and a good number of holes that play next to the entrance road.
Other Thoughts: - Overall a very enjoyable course with lots of different shots throughout, thanks to the good mix of forest, trees, hills, and sloped areas. Lots of protected baskets and steep greens add an additional challenge in many places. I was more than happy to pull out the midrange on many teeboxes, thanks to the unique hole layouts. Good course for all skill levels, though newer players may find some parts a bit challenging.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course in the St. Louis area...

1    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 45  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was so much fun to play. I had high expectations going in to playing it and I was not let down. The park is in a nice remote feeling setting...seemed very secluded from the rest of the park and the surrounding city (even though it is in the middle of town). We played on a Monday night and there were only a couple other groups out there...so not crowded. And the groups that were out there were very friendly and helpful (even stopping to help us look for a lost disc for 10-15 minutes at one point.) This course has a great balance of very challenging, yet fair, holes and shots. The greens are very interesting with several of them having severe danger (drop-offs) within 5-10 feet of them...as previous reviewers have noted. The course had nice concrete teepads and nice innova baskets in good condition. Very easy to navigate with great signage both at the teeboxes AND at baskets pointing you to the next hole where necessary. This is a course with some of the richest variety of shots that I have ever played. I threw a lot of backhand and forehand...a lot of hyzer and anhyzer...any shot you can think of...I had to throw it out there.
Cons: I have very few complaints here. We played after a good week of heavy rain and the grass hadn't been mowed. A little frustrating looking for a disc for 30 minutes in the middle of the fairway because of the knee high grass. But it was understandable with the recent rain (you would have severely rutted the course mowing with the ground that saturated). A couple of the holes teepads seemed a little short for my liking.
Other Thoughts: Great course...highly recommended. My favorite course in the St. Louis area (and that is saying something cause there are some great courses in the area). I am surprised I haven't heard more people talk about it in the same breath as Sioux Passage, Jefferson Barracks, and Endicott.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.