Alton, IL 
Rock Spring Park Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 163ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket (steep drop-offs and difficult shule directly past basket in every direction)



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun technical course

1    9/6/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large hilly park that is nicely wooded. Nearly every hole uses some kind of elevation change, many with elevation on the drive and around the green to add difficulty and variety to multiple parts of the hole. Most of the holes play through the woods with tighter fairways and thick rough ready to punish an errant drive, with a few holes that give you a break and play a little more open. Ravines throughout the course lurk waiting for you to catch the wrong skip, and can easily cost you multiple strokes for going off the fairway in the wrong spot.

There is a really good variety of shots from either set of tees, they play balanced for right and left handed players. You'll need lots of different shot shaping skills to score well here, even from the shorter set of tees. There is also a fun variety of distances, with some shorter holes you can take an ace run at, and some longer ones that tempt you to throw big if you can stay out of trouble.

The red tees have nice concrete tees (with a reddish/pink color, you know which set you're throwing from). There are decent signs that make the course pretty easy to follow, and give enough information that you usually know where to throw. The baskets are still pretty new and catch great.
Cons: The blue tees looked like they added another level of challenge and offered different shots on many holes, but they were poorly marked with no signage. They don't have concrete pads, so they weren't in the best shape and weren't always easy to find. There are too many holes along park roads, it takes away from the feeling of seclusion and could be a safety issue on a busier day.

The course still feels pretty new, so there are still some small stumps that need removed and a little work left on trails between holes. Really minor issue that seems on it's way to being resolved.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course in a really nice park. Beginners might find even the red tees pretty unforgiving, with some longer holes and lots of punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will find fun variety and some nice challenges from the reds, and sore real tests from the blues. This is a course to hit while you're in the area, and it pairs really nicely with nearby Sioux Passage.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course plays through an old park with lots of rugged terrain. Majority of the holes are through pretty densely wooded areas with tight fairways and numerous trees. Lots of line shaping is needed on almost every shot from start to finish, in all different directions. Great use of trees in the fairways in the holes out of the forest as well; there is always something to look out for.
- Lots of hills are present from start to finish. Some great holes that play over small hills, with sharp finishes to the basket. Plenty of gently sloping holes mixed in as well. The wide variety of hills and forested fairways helps to keep each shot different and enjoyable.
- A large number of holes have treacherous slopes off the fairway and near the baskets to demand accurate shots with accurate results. Putting the disc right where you want is only half the battle; it must sit down or an even more difficult approach shot awaits.
- Wide variety of hole lengths, on both sets of tees. Very enjoyable shorter holes (not that short though), lots of tricky medium length holes, and a few over 500' for those who can let it rip.
- Great teepads, baskets, and tee signs.
Cons: - This course, in general, heavily favors accuracy over raw distance. Some might find the course a little short at times, especially from the reds.
- Lots of places with pavement, and a good number of holes that play next to the entrance road.
Other Thoughts: - Overall a very enjoyable course with lots of different shots throughout, thanks to the good mix of forest, trees, hills, and sloped areas. Lots of protected baskets and steep greens add an additional challenge in many places. I was more than happy to pull out the midrange on many teeboxes, thanks to the unique hole layouts. Good course for all skill levels, though newer players may find some parts a bit challenging.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course in the St. Louis area...

1    5/25/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was so much fun to play. I had high expectations going in to playing it and I was not let down. The park is in a nice remote feeling setting...seemed very secluded from the rest of the park and the surrounding city (even though it is in the middle of town). We played on a Monday night and there were only a couple other groups out there...so not crowded. And the groups that were out there were very friendly and helpful (even stopping to help us look for a lost disc for 10-15 minutes at one point.) This course has a great balance of very challenging, yet fair, holes and shots. The greens are very interesting with several of them having severe danger (drop-offs) within 5-10 feet of them...as previous reviewers have noted. The course had nice concrete teepads and nice innova baskets in good condition. Very easy to navigate with great signage both at the teeboxes AND at baskets pointing you to the next hole where necessary. This is a course with some of the richest variety of shots that I have ever played. I threw a lot of backhand and forehand...a lot of hyzer and anhyzer...any shot you can think of...I had to throw it out there.
Cons: I have very few complaints here. We played after a good week of heavy rain and the grass hadn't been mowed. A little frustrating looking for a disc for 30 minutes in the middle of the fairway because of the knee high grass. But it was understandable with the recent rain (you would have severely rutted the course mowing with the ground that saturated). A couple of the holes teepads seemed a little short for my liking.
Other Thoughts: Great course...highly recommended. My favorite course in the St. Louis area (and that is saying something cause there are some great courses in the area). I am surprised I haven't heard more people talk about it in the same breath as Sioux Passage, Jefferson Barracks, and Endicott.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 unique, hilly course

2-4    5/2/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 361  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -fast/dangerous greens galore here-1-7, 9-13, and 18 all are either fast, dangerous (going OB possible) and most are a combination of both.
-good mix of short, technical, and long technical. left, right There are no wide open fairways.
-Great use of elevation, most holes have a change in elevation involved, and those that don't have elevation changes near the basket.
-A lot of OB on the course, several holes with ob by the basket, but also alot where it comes into play off the tee, or the second shot.
-Nice concrete teepads for shorts, longs are rubber pads as of 4/25/10.
-Long tees at this course are sick! They make the course both longer and way more technical and the elevation becomes more extreme.
Cons: -Close parking can be an issue if it is busy.
--Only 1 portajohn at the course, no water available.
--Bugs and poison ivy and thick rough everywhere (not really a con for the latter two, just stay in the fairway and it'll be fine) but the bugs are terrible.
--Blue tees are tough to find for the first timer here, if you want a ridiculously more challenging course though, I'd recommend playing those. Also the pads for blues aren't real grippy, they're short and some are uneven.
Only one or 2 par fours on the course. The rest is tough par three golf.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this course is probably the toughest 54 par golf in the STL area. And hands down the toughest from the blues. I'd recommend this brutal course to any dg masochist.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Alton is Awesome

2-4    7/26/2009   1/5/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is from the short tees.

This park is pefect for disc golf. It is very scenic with lots of hills. There is a good mix of holes and every shot will be tested. It is definitely a difficult course from the short tees and I imagine the blue tees will challenge the best players in the world.

I have not played too many courses where every hole is unique. This course has it all. Downhill, uphill, short, long, open, and tight. No hole is the same. Several green areas are super tough and super fast. #6 and #7 have some of the toughest green areas i've ever seen. There are several great par 4's such as 9, 12, & 14, 18.
Cons: The only knock I had against the course was the lack of cement tee pads. Since I last played there cements tee pads have been added to the reds. I have not played the Blue tees since they were very hard to find. I plan to play the Blues in the future. This course has potential to get a 4.5 to 5 rating with cement long tees, tee signs for the blues, and some arrows to aid in navigation.
Other Thoughts: This course is semi decent hike with many up and down hill walks. There are a few areas where there are steep ravines and heavy rough. You have to be in decent shape to play this course.

I printed a map and had very few issues with navigation. If you don't have a map there are several holes that may be difficult to find.

I have played many of the courses in the STL area and I like it more than any of them. This course is my top 10 in Illinois. It's a great course.

Check out my Illinois Top 10 list.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

Check out the statue of the World's Tallest Man. It's right down the road from the park.
http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2086

If you are in the area you should play Woodland Park, Collinsville, IL
Endicott,(St. John) St Louis, MO
Sioux Passage, (Florissant) St. Lous MO
All 3 are great courses too.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Toughest in St. Louis Area

1    8/31/2009   1/4/2010
Review By: Jorge
Played: 65  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very long difficult course. Comparable to Cliff Dr in KC.

Wide variety of holes, uphill, downhill, wooded, long, medium (not too many short)
Cons: Hard to find your way from one hole to the next. Good thing we had someone who had played there before.

There are a few shots along the road. Without playing the course before or walking it first, you may not realize where you are throwing or what you are throwing at. Lots of blind shots.
Other Thoughts: We played this course the week before they put in the concrete tee pads, so I really want to get back out there to play it again. Even though I have a short arm, this course rewards accurate shots on the long fairways.

Toughest course I've played in St. Louis by far. Pros will love it, rookies will hate it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Dang Tough

1    9/26/2009   9/26/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really interesting course...with a large variety of holes. It is extremely difficult but extremely fair. There were essentially no wide open shots. The course varies from densely wooded to park like setting holes. There are very few easy shots and errant tee shots are brutally penalized at times. With the exception of the tee for hole 8, I had no trouble navigating the course without a map. It flowed very well to me. I loved the varied topography. On top of there being very few open shots (if any), there are very few flat shots. The terrain is quite hilly which ups the degree of difficulty even more. There were multiple times where I felt like I threw a good shot...but didn't throw it high enough to clear a hill and as a result it killed my drive. The main tee pads are very nice concrete tees and they have added rubber mats for the pro tees which makes finding them MUCH easier.
Cons: Hole number 3 throws right at cars coming through the park (potentially) and it is a very narrow fairway. Would have liked a few more open shots to really air it out...but that is not a big deal. The grass was up to my knees tall which is very unfortunate. There are multiple blind tee shots and we spent quite a while looking for a few discs in the middle of the fairway because of the jungle like fairway conditions.
Other Thoughts: Great course...it is probably one of my favorites that I have played. I would actually vote this as my favorite in the St. Louis area...especially if they get out and mow because that was a huge pain. The variety and difficulty of this course is unmatched in the area. Would recommend it to ANYONE in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: smclean09
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: good course with good usage of hills. realy sweet hole placements and challenging fairways.
Cons: trees laying down all over the fairways and course from storm some holes hard to find. alternate tees are impossible to find, really needs to have more directions to tees and to the start itself.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATE

5+    9/8/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: GALLOW1217
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2009
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: New concrete tee pads. Paths getting worn down for better navagation. Maps available in box on pavillion. All trees that fell during bad storm are removed.
Cons: Signage and better directions on the way.
Other Thoughts: The new tee pads are great!!! Kiosk, and benches also to follow. PROGRESS AS PROMISED.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Nice!

1    1/9/2009   1/9/2009
Review By: japetus
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice tough to very tough course. LOTS of hills. Good location for disc golf! As said before, a overthrown putt on a LOT of holes can result in your frustration as it will roll down a 60 ft drop!
Cons: ***UPDATE Sept 4th,2009****
There are now red concrete tee pads!


No tee pads made it nearly unplayable today. If it's muddy, get ready to slip and slide! Gets kind of confusing sometimes as to where you are supposed to go next.
Other Thoughts: It's a young course, and will develop with time. Everyone needs to pitch in, once some trails get worn and some brush is cleared, leaves raked...I have a feeling this will mature into a nice 18 hole course! It will challenge you!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.