Bolivar, MO 
Bearcat DGC @ SW Baptist University Share
Uploaded By: dudiablo Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 270ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee (Course has been renumbered)



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent course

5+    7/24/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: grantbenson
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: Disclaimer: This is my home course, and I play it almost every day.

- Good use of the available land and trees.
- There are tee signs now, so you can ignore the previously mentioned issue about the tees being difficult to find.
- Pretty good beginner course. There aren't a ton of trees, the only water hazard is a small creek that discs can easily be retrieved from, and most of the holes can be pretty forgiving of less than accurate throws.
- The baskets are new-ish Innova Discatchers with enough chains that it's rare for a good putt to be ejected.
- The tee signs are nice.
Cons: - Dirt tee pads are starting to get too worn in. It would be really nice to get some concrete or even rubber ones put in.
- The longest hole is only 330 ft.
- The variety of holes is just okay. There's really only one hole (9) that a RHBH hyzer isn't a good option.
- See point in the pro section about the course being beginner friendly.
- Because there are only 9 holes, a lot of people have made up their own alternates, and they sometimes get in the way of each other. Not a big deal, but it can be a little chaotic on busier days.
Other Thoughts: There are hand-written notes on the back of each tee sign explaining 9 alternate holes. My friends and I have been playing a different back nine for longer than those have been labeled (I sound like a hipster), and ours is less obtrusive to people playing the original holes, in my opinion. Both sets are fun to play, though.

Watch out for the bush just past 8's basket. It has thorns, and getting disc out of it can be a major pain.

 Fun, and pretty simple!

5+    6/13/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Medium length, not too long, and not too short either. There are some holes with definite birdie opportunities, and few that can definitely get you in some trouble with the creek! Signs do a good job of laying out the course.
Cons: It's pretty wide, which for pros won't seem like much of a challenge. The holes are positioned so that there is at least one obstacle to overcome to get to each basket though. No concrete pads, but rumor has it those are going in.
Other Thoughts: Entrance near Gott Hall. Over by the sand volleyball court. I play this course almost everyday, and it is a really fun time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SBU DGC

1    8/19/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 128  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: Nice layout on land available. Very nice college setting with out other distractions. A straight shot is rewarded on most holes. A short course that is great for a quick round or for beginners. Good baskets. Very nice brick tee pads with map of hole. Our 10 year old son had a blast.
Cons: Dirt tee pads were a bit hard to find. Must cross creek to get to parking without a long walk around.
Other Thoughts: First tee is just over the creek along E. Aldrich Rd. very near the driveway entrance to Gott Hall. You will see a sand volley ball court close to hole 1. You need to be closer to the road for Tee 1.

  home course

5+    10/21/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: farrisdarren
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being that I work at SBU, this is my home course. Not too much land to deal with, but I worked for 4 years on getting the administration to put it in. Requires hyzers and anhyzers. Some elevation changes. Creek along 4 of 9 holes. Good layout for what we had to deal with. Brand new baskets.
Cons: Unfortunately due to land restraints, it is fairly short. Great starter course, but challenges are pretty limited.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I like the course. The disc golf monkey from Springfield, MO did a great job on the layout for what he had to work with. Not the toughest course out there by any means, but we would love to have you come play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/4/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: cpulley1
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is the only one around Bolivar. Holes average 290ft. Small labled bricks at each tee off with the map and distance of each hole. It is fairly easy to navigate once you find hole 1 by the driveway.
Cons: Big open spaces with few obsticals. The course doesn't often require a more obvious/difficult path to the basket. Most amatures can land a drive within 25 feet of most of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: They did the best with the land they have. This course was a great confidence booster.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.