Chattanooga, TN 
Shepherd Rec. Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket straight ahead.



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
great technical course

2-4    7/27/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: ahanley89
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Small 9 hole course, very technical.. One of my favorite courses in the area, conveniently located off of HWY 153, right off the exit. Love the shaded woods. Played this course twice for the first time on Sunday 7/29/14..Great for the kids as well as they have the best playground i've seen around this area
Cons: Only downfall I would say is the Hole Information signs, there is no correct description of the sign. Example: Basket is around the corner to the left.. Sign still shows the basket is on the right. This should be fixed, no other complaints
Other Thoughts: Was less than 5 feet from Ace'ing Hole 8 and Hole 9.. Flicked hole 8 forehand style with my StarTern(171 weight) and Tomahawk'd Hole 9 with my Champion Mamba(166 weight) and should've ace'd them both.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    5/15/2013   5/16/2013
Review By: xbn1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I love this little course. It is somewhat technical in spots, and has some great open shots.There are a couple holes that you aren't spoon fed a birdie. There are hills for your disc to roll down, but I find it fun and an added challenge, despite some reviews.
Cons: I can not think of a con. The pads are concrete and I have no problem with them. The signs are not anything great, but I always walk the course to see where the trees are anyway, so it isn't even a small deal to me. As far as scenery, there are mosquitoes as large as teradatul and a ton of turkeys.
Other Thoughts: I have to disagree with all the reviews on this page, because I love this little course. It is fast and fun and gives you a variety of shots for a small 9 hole. You have straight, left, right, impossible, uphill, and downhill.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 good course that is located near i75

5+    7/19/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Convientally located of i75, no more than 5 miles. The course is set up at a rec center so there is playground for children and basketball goal in parkinglot. Also bathrooms located inside the building. The course has 9 holes, with a mixture of shots. The course also has a few mandos making it a little difficult to birdie every hole, like hole 4. Also they have been working on clearing some of the holes out like hole 3. Concrete teepads on all the holes. Excelent 9 hole course.
Cons: The signs at each hole are generic. They do not always tell the location of the basket correctly. Only having 9 holes is also a con, but I do not think there is room to add more holes.
Other Thoughts: This a a fairly easy course but does have its challenges. Like the few mandos and hole one, up the hill and to the left. Not difficult but does need some skill to end with a negative game.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Camping fun

1    3/19/2011   3/19/2011
Review By: vidyogamer
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great utilization of the land available. Amazing mix of shots and elevation. Concrete tee pads on every hole with well defined fairways.
Cons: Other park amenities in close proximity to fairways. Little bit of a litter problem on the back side of the rec. center building.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch, Putt, Good times

5+    2/24/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great condition for being here a few years. All Innova discatchers I believe. Tee pads (only 1 per hole), are all concrete and are of normal size. None are cracked and all are level. Signs are there but only give distances.

All fairways are extremely well groomed with mulch. The brush on the sides, are kept to a minimum. The 9 holes make a great loop and you end up where you started at.

Even though this is a short course (average 216' holes) elevation comes into play on every one. Holes 1 and 2 play uphill and make for longer shots than they appear. Hyzers and anhyzers are required to do extremely well on this course. Trees come into play as well on every hole.

A few holes have mandatories which makes this short course a bit more challenging.

Plenty of parking is available here 50+ spots, not that I have ever seen it have more than 10 cars there. It is at a youth recreation center so most traffic will be in and out of the building. A playground is on site so bring the family.
Cons: The signs are a bit lacking as others have said. Too much money was spent for them to be so generic. No benches are out there either. Occasionally a large group of people will be out there but not too often
Other Thoughts: This is known as "The Sinks" little sister course. I play this 2 times a week usually so I claim this to be my home course.

Signature hole: Probably Hole #8. Straight from the tee, downhill 210', between 2 mandos and into a grove of mature trees. Plenty of ace opportunity here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great little used course

5+    1/3/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: JohnnyWang
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: love this course(and hate as always;) )good variety of throws needed, nice hills, good double chain baskets, free, concrete tees, a few holes need accuracy, fear of radiation is always a good thing....close to highway, mulch on the trails, have NEVER had to wait on a group and have played countless times! plenty of parking except on election day.and most importantly-no sinks snobs! you see more gentle hippies and city dwellers if you catch my drift

chatt town's less known basket haven
Cons: no long holes......

...only nine baskets? not too much bad to say about it other than the signs leave some to be desires and the trash on the holes the rec center users are on or nearby.
Other Thoughts: bring the baskets from carver over here and make it an 18!

please! if there is room up the hill there....or we could always commandeer one of the cemeterys

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat good variety, with mix of straights, slight doglegs, and one or two larger doglegs, in each direction. They also appear to be doing strategic thinning of brush and small trees, which is a good thing (both that they're doing it, and they're not doing too much of it).
Cons: Maybe a little small and compact, though this is probably due to space constraints.
Other Thoughts: A nice little course that works well with the space they have. The signage could be better, wasn't always clear where the pins were from the tees, and the uphill/downhill variety meant that you couldn't always see them from the tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

1    6/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: RICKY BOBBY
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's free.
It's not crowded.
A variety of shots needed to ace the holes.
Ample parking.
Cons: It's 9 holes.
No place to practice really.
Other Thoughts: Just a basic course. I wish they'd add another 9 holes, but overall, a decent place to play if you're in the area. I wouldn't drive more than a half hour to play it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Improved

5+    2/16/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mulch throughout keeps the course dry even after a recent rain. Some work has been done to the course recently and now all the teepads are concrete. Putting is challenging at Shepard because most of the baskets are on some sort of slope. There are a few nice ace runs on this course too! #7, in particular, will have a beginner thinking they're about to bang the chains.
Cons: Not a very scenic course because of the nearby rec center and roads. Only 9 holes. Extremely hilly.
Other Thoughts: There is a shiny new fence next to the tee on #5 that nearly castrated me during an attempt to rescue a bad drive, so beware.

Trees!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Sink's little sister

1    3/26/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice, predominantly wooded nine hole course. Concrete tees, signs and newer baskets are all here. Besides being very short, there is a great mix of holes with left, right, and strait shots. The woods and some drop offs beyond the fairway added to the challenge. A little elevation also comes into play as well. Overall, with the exception of hole 7, the course requires a fair amount of accuracy and finesse. There are abundant ace and birdie opportunities as well. The course flows well and is easy to navigate.

The course is pretty clean and I felt pretty safe although the recreation center was empty when I visited.
Cons: The signs are disappointing. What I mean is that someone spent a lot of time and money for them but instead of actually mapping out the individual fairways, it just has the same old picture of a tee pad, trees, and a basket. After playing a few holes you realize that the fairways are not mapped at all. It's just a generic design repeated on every sign. Hole distance and numbers are there and they seemed accurate though. The baskets were hard to spot in the woods and could use some flags.

Those who dislike short holes will be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable little course in the metro Chattanooga area. I was surprised at how much I liked this course. I just expected another boring nine hole course. Don't let the shortness fool you, the twos are not all gimmie's. However, I do think if you are a local or play here often enough it would be easily mastered though.. Some alt pin positions could be used to help solve burnout as far as that goes.

I believe it is worth a trip to play while you're in the area. It's like the Sink's little sister. It makes a good warm up course if you are trying to hit both of them in one trip. Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.