Disc Golf Store
Chattanooga, TN
Shepherd Rec. Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket straight ahead.



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Shepherd Rec Center

5+    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course to add to the Chattanooga flying disc scene. Great use of the land and lots of elevation changes. The course has a very wooded and technical feel. Although it's only 9 holes, you feel like you've played more because of the distance and all of the hills. All of the baskets are in great condition and it looks like the developers are going to lay concrete in the tee box areas soon. I really liked that I got to throw up hills, down hills, and a few flat and open shots. Variation is key.
Cons: Although things look ready for concrete to be poured, the task has yet to be done. This makes it very inconvenient when the best spot to tee of from for each hole is virtually unusable. I either had to shorten my run up or throw side arm. Also, the are no signs so I had to walk ahead of each hole to see what direction the hole was in. The course also crosses a walking path on a few holes. This isn't a huge problem because there usually aren't that many people out, but it is something to be aware of. I also found the course to be a little difficult to find from the directions posted. The first tee is located near the road to the far left of the Rec Center.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, just another course to add to the bag of courses popping up around Chattanooga. Not as good as The Sinks, but a good technically challenging course none the less. Very similar to The Sinks, in that most holes have a tight fairway with trees on either side. Hole 6 is a great opportunity to let your mid range coast down a large hill.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the feint hearted!

2-4    2/26/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: discchik
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great woodsy outdoor setting. Very challenging
Cons: No tee pads, No tee pads and no tee pads. Very easy to lose a disc if you happen to fall into the "I'm not quite as accurate as Dave Feldberg" category. All holes are wooded.
Other Thoughts: Ignore the random groups of kids from the Recreation Center who run through the fairways. Less than perfect throws are punished...sevenfold!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Sinks Part II

2-4    2/3/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: disccrazy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice use of terrain, Plenty of hills to climb to work on that cardio!
Cons: Bad location, unruly kids who yell racial comments at you from the rec. center. NO TEE PADS.
Other Thoughts: I wish that there could have been some holes at Shepherd that WEREN'T on the side of a steep hill. There seems to be plenty of land and room for a course that could have it all. Instead there was an obvious attempt to recreate the Sinks. The best courses that I have played on in Texas, Colorado and other states have a good mixture of both open holes and ones that are surrounded by trees. There have been numerous consecutive days that were warm enough to pour the concrete to get the tee pads ready yet still... no tee pads~!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Taking a hike

2-4    12/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This nine-hole course in the woods will ensure you get some exercise, as several of the holes are located on the side of a hill.

The diversity of holes is decent.

The fairways / pin placements favor a right-handed player.

The traffic is low -- you might be the only one at the course.
Cons: There are no tee pads yet.

The "tee boxes" are marked with a couple pieces of wood spray-painted orange -- they may be difficult to locate.

Hole #9 is full of trees -- there really isn't a fairway on the final hole.
Other Thoughts: If your shots tend to stray from the fairway like mine do, wearing long pants is a good idea to combat the woods and brush.

The holes aren't that long -- good players will find plenty of birdie opportunities if they can avoid the many trees.

Hole #1 begins near the road -- my group searched for a couple minutes before finding the first tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.