Chattanooga, TN 
Shepherd Rec. Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short course

1    6/3/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: RICKY BOBBY
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's free.
It's not crowded.
A variety of shots needed to ace the holes.
Ample parking.
Cons: It's 9 holes.
No place to practice really.
Other Thoughts: Just a basic course. I wish they'd add another 9 holes, but overall, a decent place to play if you're in the area. I wouldn't drive more than a half hour to play it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Sink's little sister

1    3/26/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice, predominantly wooded nine hole course. Concrete tees, signs and newer baskets are all here. Besides being very short, there is a great mix of holes with left, right, and strait shots. The woods and some drop offs beyond the fairway added to the challenge. A little elevation also comes into play as well. Overall, with the exception of hole 7, the course requires a fair amount of accuracy and finesse. There are abundant ace and birdie opportunities as well. The course flows well and is easy to navigate.

The course is pretty clean and I felt pretty safe although the recreation center was empty when I visited.
Cons: The signs are disappointing. What I mean is that someone spent a lot of time and money for them but instead of actually mapping out the individual fairways, it just has the same old picture of a tee pad, trees, and a basket. After playing a few holes you realize that the fairways are not mapped at all. It's just a generic design repeated on every sign. Hole distance and numbers are there and they seemed accurate though. The baskets were hard to spot in the woods and could use some flags.

Those who dislike short holes will be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable little course in the metro Chattanooga area. I was surprised at how much I liked this course. I just expected another boring nine hole course. Don't let the shortness fool you, the twos are not all gimmie's. However, I do think if you are a local or play here often enough it would be easily mastered though.. Some alt pin positions could be used to help solve burnout as far as that goes.

I believe it is worth a trip to play while you're in the area. It's like the Sink's little sister. It makes a good warm up course if you are trying to hit both of them in one trip. Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Concrete tees are in!

1    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole wooded course. Defined fairways, elevation in play if you throw wayward drives. Many birdie opportunities. Mulch/woodchip fairways are nice. Each hole is unique and challenging in its own way. This is easily one of the better 9-hole courses out there.

The concrete tees have finally been poured and are fabulous.
Cons: There are no tee signs yet, although navigation is pretty easy. You might have to walk down the fairway to see the basket though.
Other Thoughts: This could actually be a pretty good 9 hole course, they finally have added tee pads, now when they get some signs up this will be a solid course.

#1- dogleg left
#2- dogleg left (steep drop off right side of fairway)
#3- dogleg right
#4- sharp dogleg left
#5- along fence uphill, straightish
#6- anhyzer downhill
#7- out into the open
#8- short dogleg left
#9- follow walking trail, hyzer

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice In Progress Course

2-4    1/11/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the sidehill and terrain. Some ups and some downs, some lefts some rights. Nice woodchips throughout all fairways, however down in the low area, they are going to be washed away.

Cons: Very short course overall. Tee boxes are spotted and frames set, but no concrete laid. No signage telling you where the next hole is, or for that matter even the first hole. I suppose they are working on playability first. #8 is goofy because you throw out across a road, but it isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think its a course with some potential. When things get completed I will certainly like to play it again. Its my first 9 hole course, but going up and down all the hills it sure felt like I had just walked 18. My calves were feeling it after (2) 9 hole rounds.

Overall this is an average course with potential.

I highly recommend to the builders to make sure to slope the soil around the teeing areas when the concrete gets poured or you will suffer from concrete heaving. The drainage around the concrete pads is just as important as the pad, so that no erosion ocurrs.

WATCH OUT FOR THE SIDEHILL HOLES. YOUR DISCS CAN ROLL A LONG WAY DOWN HILL!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.