Chattanooga, TN 
Shepherd Rec. Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #7 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Intimidating, but Worth It!

1    9/18/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 22  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
- Tee boxes and baskets are in good condition.
- There is a sign at every hole (excluding #5) that displays yardage, which is helpful, but... *
- Most holes are short, but require very technical shots; it is not difficult to wind up off the fairway and behind a row of trees.
- Although the course is heavily wooded, which can be intimidating, there is little to no underbrush, making it very difficult to lose a disc.
- Course has a good flow to it. Fairways never cross and you will loop back around to the parking lot at hole #1.
- This course WILL make you get better. With tight fairways, a mix of uphill and downhill shots, and tough putting, it's very easy to learn here.
- All in all, a fun course for the intermediate/expert disc golfer, but... **
- *... the picture displayed on each hole sign is always the same, showing a straight shot to the basket. This is not the case, so do not go off the picture on the signs.
- I am no expert on plants by any means, but there is a solid chance there may be some poison oak/ivy back in the woods in spots. Just be weary if you notice the tell tell signs.
- No benches or trash bins present on the course, but since it's only 9 holes, maybe not the biggest issue.
- No true variety of shots, I got away with a mostly par round driving only RHB.
- **... the beginning player may have difficulty playing this course, which frankly can take a lot of fun out of a round. If you are a beginning player, or have a beginner with you, in the Chattanooga area I recommend Jack Mattox Rec. Complex in Ringgold, GA.
Other Thoughts: I have been waiting a long time to play this course. The "Heavily Wooded" symbol is nervewracking, so I put off playing here until a friend told me more about the course. It is not nearly as intimidating as the pictures make it seem; although the fairways are narrow, the holes are short, so it is easy to dig yourself out of a bad drive or approach. Also, as aforementioned, the trees may be many, but it is difficult to lose a disc here, there is little to no underbrush. I am slowly approaching the intermediate level of a disc golfer, and I walked away with 3 and then 4 over par after two round. A true intermediate player should throw just above par, and the expert might be able to walk away a couple under. I certainly recommend this course for anybody in Chattanooga who has yet to give it a try, you may be just as surprised as I was!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch, Putt, Good times

5+    2/24/2011   2/27/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 51  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in great condition for being here a few years. All Innova discatchers I believe. Tee pads (only 1 per hole), are all concrete and are of normal size. None are cracked and all are level. Signs are there but only give distances.

All fairways are extremely well groomed with mulch. The brush on the sides, are kept to a minimum. The 9 holes make a great loop and you end up where you started at.

Even though this is a short course (average 216' holes) elevation comes into play on every one. Holes 1 and 2 play uphill and make for longer shots than they appear. Hyzers and anhyzers are required to do extremely well on this course. Trees come into play as well on every hole.

A few holes have mandatories which makes this short course a bit more challenging.

Plenty of parking is available here 50+ spots, not that I have ever seen it have more than 10 cars there. It is at a youth recreation center so most traffic will be in and out of the building. A playground is on site so bring the family.
Cons: The signs are a bit lacking as others have said. Too much money was spent for them to be so generic. No benches are out there either. Occasionally a large group of people will be out there but not too often
Other Thoughts: This is known as "The Sinks" little sister course. I play this 2 times a week usually so I claim this to be my home course.

Signature hole: Probably Hole #8. Straight from the tee, downhill 210', between 2 mandos and into a grove of mature trees. Plenty of ace opportunity here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat good variety, with mix of straights, slight doglegs, and one or two larger doglegs, in each direction. They also appear to be doing strategic thinning of brush and small trees, which is a good thing (both that they're doing it, and they're not doing too much of it).
Cons: Maybe a little small and compact, though this is probably due to space constraints.
Other Thoughts: A nice little course that works well with the space they have. The signage could be better, wasn't always clear where the pins were from the tees, and the uphill/downhill variety meant that you couldn't always see them from the tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/16/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: TreeBurner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mulch throughout keeps the course dry even after a recent rain. Some work has been done to the course recently and now all the teepads are concrete. Putting is challenging at Shepard because most of the baskets are on some sort of slope. There are a few nice ace runs on this course too! #7, in particular, will have a beginner thinking they're about to bang the chains.
Cons: Not a very scenic course because of the nearby rec center and roads. Only 9 holes. Extremely hilly.
Other Thoughts: There is a shiny new fence next to the tee on #5 that nearly castrated me during an attempt to rescue a bad drive, so beware.


2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 We have concrete

2-4    6/18/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the land available!!! For just being a 9 hole course they did a great job.
Concrete tees. Variety of throws technical enough to make up for the short course. nice baskets. Clean
Cons: length
9 holes
Other Thoughts: As everyone I love a course that truly works every throw in your bag but for a 9 hole short course this was great. Must play if you live in the area. Or like me I work up here once a month.....its great.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course with potential

1    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 196  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Develiping course with, as others have noted, no tee pads poured yet. Easy to find your way through and though it's not long, it challenges even the more experienced player.
Cons: Not finished yet and a little shorter than other courses. #4 appears to double back on itself in order to get to the tee for 5.
Other Thoughts: I love the inclusion of the "next tee" arrows to the pole holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Will be a Good Course

1    1/31/2009   1/31/2009
Review By: zensuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 2/19/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice use of the terrain. You can take an ace run on 2/3 of the holes but you can pay for the gamble. I had a chance to play this this is an update. Because the holes play longer uphill this is a great place to work on a forehand or any shot you use to get quick elevation. Good place to practice putting stances. I haven't been there when it's crowded yet so it's always a great way to get in 9 holes when Sinks is backed up.
Cons: Still kind of short and Chattanooga really needs a course with some wide open long holes. Maybe they'll add 9 out in that cool graveyard! It really is time to pour the concrete for the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see it made into an 18 holer...

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.