Chattanooga, TN
Shepherd Rec. Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 We have concrete

2-4    6/18/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the land available!!! For just being a 9 hole course they did a great job.
Concrete tees. Variety of throws technical enough to make up for the short course. nice baskets. Clean
Cons: length
9 holes
Other Thoughts: As everyone I love a course that truly works every throw in your bag but for a 9 hole short course this was great. Must play if you live in the area. Or like me I work up here once a month.....its great.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shepherd Rec Center

5+    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course to add to the Chattanooga flying disc scene. Great use of the land and lots of elevation changes. The course has a very wooded and technical feel. Although it's only 9 holes, you feel like you've played more because of the distance and all of the hills. All of the baskets are in great condition and it looks like the developers are going to lay concrete in the tee box areas soon. I really liked that I got to throw up hills, down hills, and a few flat and open shots. Variation is key.
Cons: Although things look ready for concrete to be poured, the task has yet to be done. This makes it very inconvenient when the best spot to tee of from for each hole is virtually unusable. I either had to shorten my run up or throw side arm. Also, the are no signs so I had to walk ahead of each hole to see what direction the hole was in. The course also crosses a walking path on a few holes. This isn't a huge problem because there usually aren't that many people out, but it is something to be aware of. I also found the course to be a little difficult to find from the directions posted. The first tee is located near the road to the far left of the Rec Center.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, just another course to add to the bag of courses popping up around Chattanooga. Not as good as The Sinks, but a good technically challenging course none the less. Very similar to The Sinks, in that most holes have a tight fairway with trees on either side. Hole 6 is a great opportunity to let your mid range coast down a large hill.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course with potential

1    3/11/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 193  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Develiping course with, as others have noted, no tee pads poured yet. Easy to find your way through and though it's not long, it challenges even the more experienced player.
Cons: Not finished yet and a little shorter than other courses. #4 appears to double back on itself in order to get to the tee for 5.
Other Thoughts: I love the inclusion of the "next tee" arrows to the pole holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course in Progress

5+    2/25/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good technical course that will test your best shots. Short and through the woods. Hosts a number of good challenges that will make the best golfer even better.
Cons: Well, the course is still in development and the tee pads have not been poured yet. They are marked and staked but no concrete yet. It has been rainy and cold the past couple months, so no real chance to pave them yet. Some holes have out of bounds and mando's but aren't clearly marked and there are no signs or any markers... you have to just look for the next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course to play and will be even better once the tee pads are poured and they get signs up. Hopefully they will also be expanding as well, as I have heard rumoured whilst playing at "The Sinks". Definitely a course to experience.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not for the feint hearted!

2-4    2/26/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: discchik
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great woodsy outdoor setting. Very challenging
Cons: No tee pads, No tee pads and no tee pads. Very easy to lose a disc if you happen to fall into the "I'm not quite as accurate as Dave Feldberg" category. All holes are wooded.
Other Thoughts: Ignore the random groups of kids from the Recreation Center who run through the fairways. Less than perfect throws are punished...sevenfold!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Sinks Part II

2-4    2/3/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: disccrazy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice use of terrain, Plenty of hills to climb to work on that cardio!
Cons: Bad location, unruly kids who yell racial comments at you from the rec. center. NO TEE PADS.
Other Thoughts: I wish that there could have been some holes at Shepherd that WEREN'T on the side of a steep hill. There seems to be plenty of land and room for a course that could have it all. Instead there was an obvious attempt to recreate the Sinks. The best courses that I have played on in Texas, Colorado and other states have a good mixture of both open holes and ones that are surrounded by trees. There have been numerous consecutive days that were warm enough to pour the concrete to get the tee pads ready yet still... no tee pads~!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Concrete tees are in!

1    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole wooded course. Defined fairways, elevation in play if you throw wayward drives. Many birdie opportunities. Mulch/woodchip fairways are nice. Each hole is unique and challenging in its own way. This is easily one of the better 9-hole courses out there.

The concrete tees have finally been poured and are fabulous.
Cons: There are no tee signs yet, although navigation is pretty easy. You might have to walk down the fairway to see the basket though.
Other Thoughts: This could actually be a pretty good 9 hole course, they finally have added tee pads, now when they get some signs up this will be a solid course.

#1- dogleg left
#2- dogleg left (steep drop off right side of fairway)
#3- dogleg right
#4- sharp dogleg left
#5- along fence uphill, straightish
#6- anhyzer downhill
#7- out into the open
#8- short dogleg left
#9- follow walking trail, hyzer

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Will be a Good Course

1    1/31/2009   1/31/2009
Review By: zensuit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 2/19/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice use of the terrain. You can take an ace run on 2/3 of the holes but you can pay for the gamble. I had a chance to play this again...so this is an update. Because the holes play longer uphill this is a great place to work on a forehand or any shot you use to get quick elevation. Good place to practice putting stances. I haven't been there when it's crowded yet so it's always a great way to get in 9 holes when Sinks is backed up.
Cons: Still kind of short and Chattanooga really needs a course with some wide open long holes. Maybe they'll add 9 out in that cool graveyard! It really is time to pour the concrete for the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I'd like to see it made into an 18 holer...

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice In Progress Course

2-4    1/11/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/3/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the sidehill and terrain. Some ups and some downs, some lefts some rights. Nice woodchips throughout all fairways, however down in the low area, they are going to be washed away.

Cons: Very short course overall. Tee boxes are spotted and frames set, but no concrete laid. No signage telling you where the next hole is, or for that matter even the first hole. I suppose they are working on playability first. #8 is goofy because you throw out across a road, but it isn't a big deal.
Other Thoughts: All in all I think its a course with some potential. When things get completed I will certainly like to play it again. Its my first 9 hole course, but going up and down all the hills it sure felt like I had just walked 18. My calves were feeling it after (2) 9 hole rounds.

Overall this is an average course with potential.

I highly recommend to the builders to make sure to slope the soil around the teeing areas when the concrete gets poured or you will suffer from concrete heaving. The drainage around the concrete pads is just as important as the pad, so that no erosion ocurrs.

WATCH OUT FOR THE SIDEHILL HOLES. YOUR DISCS CAN ROLL A LONG WAY DOWN HILL!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Taking a hike

2-4    12/19/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This nine-hole course in the woods will ensure you get some exercise, as several of the holes are located on the side of a hill.

The diversity of holes is decent.

The fairways / pin placements favor a right-handed player.

The traffic is low -- you might be the only one at the course.
Cons: There are no tee pads yet.

The "tee boxes" are marked with a couple pieces of wood spray-painted orange -- they may be difficult to locate.

Hole #9 is full of trees -- there really isn't a fairway on the final hole.
Other Thoughts: If your shots tend to stray from the fairway like mine do, wearing long pants is a good idea to combat the woods and brush.

The holes aren't that long -- good players will find plenty of birdie opportunities if they can avoid the many trees.

Hole #1 begins near the road -- my group searched for a couple minutes before finding the first tee.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.