Disc Golf Store
Hopkinsville, KY 
North Drive DGC Share
Uploaded By: mreynolds24 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2011)
4 / 417ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Solid 9er

5+    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Bobs DG 12
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course can be deceivingly difficult, but as far as 9 hole courses go this one is pretty solid. There are a few open holes that allow you to let a few shots go as well as some holes that require solid technical shots. The par 4 on this course is a nice bonus allowing for scoring when a well placed drive is thrown, but if the drive is errant this can easily become a bogey. The fifth hole is probably the most difficult on the course requiring two solid shots for a chance at par. All Around this course will test you and give you a few easy holes as well.
Cons: There can be a few irrigation issues especially on hole 8 but work is being done on it to solve these issues but often in the summer this is no longer an issue as the ground's are mostly dry.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I especially enjoy the large practice putting area at the start.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/2/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: DGTyler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: It's a nice 9 hole disc golf course, with concrete tee pads. This course is very beginner friendly. It is very open, so feel free to launch your disc. Very easy to navigate, and doesn't take very long to play a quick 18.
Cons: On hole 8 there is usually standing water whenever it rains, but the grounds crew has done the best they could do to fix the problem. Its a fairly short course and not a challenge to experienced players. The only "tough" holes are 4 and 5. All par 3's except 4. Kids from the play ground tend to wander on the course and "play" right in the middle of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course just to bring a few friends and chuck some plastic.

We Need An 18 Hole Course

Hometown Course

5+    11/11/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 22  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole small town course. Great for beginners. They have done a lot to fix the irrigation and I can now go out the day it rains and only need to avoid one spot on hole 8. A few good holes (2,4,5,7). Nice teepads, baskets and signs up. Easy to navigate. It requires all the shots too, I throw normal backhands on 1,3,4,9 a forehand on 5,7, a thumber on 6, a roller on 2, and a spike hyzer backhand on 8. It's nice to come to a small course but need so many shots. HB Clark did good with what he had to work with.
Cons: on holes 1,3,6,9 it feels like i am just throwing. I have no strategy on those holes just aiming for a spot. Also, people get in your way all the time, especially along the creek and on the bridges. After a while, it becomes annoying.
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course for a 9 holer in a small town, it's my hometown but if I was driving by I would stop and play it and be satisfied. It does just what is needed for a town developing in this game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Couple Great Holes

1    2/22/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- A Couple Great Holes. The middle of this course had some really great shots. Holes 3, 4, 5, 7 were good enough to be on any city park course and not be "filler". Hole 4 was especially nice: a 400+ foot, slightly downhill, trouble right, creek mid-fairway, etc… Nice Hole!
- That it's There. Hokinsville seems like a small town in the middle of nowhere (don't hate me for saying that if you're form Hopkinsville)… and therefore, it's a great thing that they have a course there. I hear from a local that I played with that they have a great crowd of players and are trying to get another 18 hole course somewhere else in town.
Cons:
- That it's only 9 Holes. This course was pretty fun… too bad it was only 9 holes. I could have played 9 more similar holes and been happy with it… as it was, I wasn't mad at it.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. North Drive Park DGC was a really fun 9 hole course. Probably one of the better 9 hole courses I have ever played, especially due to the strong run of holes in the middle of the course. The course was complete with great concrete tee-pads, good tee-signs, DGA Baskets, a detailed kiosk and great design. The course made exceptional use of the natural features (creeks and elevation) and was a really fun time.
- My Disc Score. I had to give this course a 2.5 based on where the course rates against my other courses played and reviewed list. Although, it's funner than that.
My Score: -5

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 his is why DG is growing

2-4    1/31/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: KMorgan
Played: 68  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I gave this course a little higher because it is a very new course that was planted in an area that never had a course. It is a usual HB Clark course that takes a once pointless piece of land and turns it into a place for both exercise and and an asset to the park. There is a lot to appreciate on this simple 9-holer. Any course with at least one 400+ footer should not be shrugged off as unworthy of any advanced+ player. Yes, anyone wantingto learn the sport will greatly enjoy coming here. Some minor water hazards and a few trees make for some very definable risk/benefit scenarios. Don't pass it up if you actually enjoy playing and aren't just trying to pass judgement on a course that will allow for all ages to learn the game. Practice putting area too.
Cons: Yes, irrigation is a problem. I found several spots that were saturated, but most of the definable fairways are not part of those spots. the course could use a couple more bridges because there are several creeks/streams that mustbe crossed if you want the most direct route to a basket.
Other Thoughts: The game is what you make it. I'm not just giving this course a little better score because I have any bias. Not from the area. Only here for a short while, and really glad I got to enjoy a few hours out on a nearby course.

New courses like this are not built for hardcore competition. They are built to provide opportunity for interest in the game. If you cannot appreciate that, then it is like saying that you don't like the local basketball court because the backboards are not glass and there is a puddle on the sideline after it rains. Anyone can still play on it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better thans it average rating

1    2/23/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads for every hole

Tee signs were on every hole.

Easy to follow layout.

Several holes are very good.

Good use of the land given.

Rec center at hole 1 has indoor pluming :o)
Cons: The holes that are not good are run of the mill.
Other Thoughts: you can't expect much from a 9 hole course. With that in mind I actually enjoyed this little 9'r.

Holes 4 and 5 are the best holes on the course, but several of the other holes are not all that bad.

Sure I was putting for 2 on every hole, but I really did enjoy my round and if I had time, I would have played it again.

I will be playing this course again next time I am in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Learning

2-4    12/30/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: Corbie
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: This is a fun course to learn how to play on. Mostly straight forward design with few trees and nice water hazzards on 5 of the holes. The Creek that is in play is easy to retrieve a disk from, however the pond on hole 5 a disk is probably a goner. The few times I have been there it was not very crowded, maybe one or two other groups. There is a small parking lot next to hole one and the comunitty center, and a large parking lot after hole two. There is a Port-a-potty by the large parking lot.
Cons: Water every where!! Not just the good obstical kind of water, but Marsh like bog water. Bring good waterproof shoes.
Other Thoughts: This course is not too busy, and can be played in very little time. It is a fun course with little trees mostly open and some fun water hazzards.

 limited and lame

1    9/12/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: Jenn
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its contains baskets for throwing a disc at.
Cons: Its designed for someone that could care less about the concept of discgolf. There are only 9 holes and its totally open and completley lame.
Other Thoughts: waste of time and a huge dissapointment.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/18/2010   1/21/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely designed 9 hole course in city park. Concrete tees, tee signs, and large color map at the kiosk are very good. For the most part the land used for the course is solely for the course. There is a decent variety from hole to hole (each hole is unique, no repetition. Although it is mostly open, there are isolated trees protecting many of the baskets. There are also a decent number of water hazards to avoid. There is a pond on hole #5, and a couple of small creeks running throughout the course coming into play on 6 holes. (Discs in the middle of the murky pond will most likely be gone, discs in the creeks are easy retrievals.) There is also an area of boggy, marshy rough between #7 and #8 fairways you will want to try and avoid.

This a great course for newer players, families, etc. Most holes have plenty of open space to work with for those that have trouble threading needles or for those wanting to work on distance. (This is a nice contrast to the other course in the area, War Memorial, that is mostly wooded.) The overall distances will be generally long for most newer players (and short arms like me!) However, hole #6 does provide a good chance to get a birdie or maybe an ace.

Plenty of parking is available at the community center near #1's tee and the kiosk. Hole #9 finishes back at the parking lot.
Cons: The biggest con of this course is the soggy ground. I played the day after a good rain, and the course was still playable, but there were several spots where I had to make detours to avoid soaking my shoes. Other reviewers have said the course is almost always wet, but the good news is that even after a good rain it was not to the point where it was impossible to play. Just be prepared to get your shoes and socks wet.

Small navigation issue- after teeing off on #5 (pond hole), unless you want to walk through the marsh and jump the creek you have to back track to the bridge on hole #4 (which is in the line of fire off #4's tee), so watch out if the course is busy.

Hole #9 is just open with no obstacles. Too bad the finishing hole is the one of the weakest/least interesting holes on the course.

A mini-con is the concrete walking trail on holes 2 and 3 that could be a factor if people were using them, but they also double as a nice path you can use to avoid some of the mud (kind of like a cart path in golf).
Other Thoughts: As far as 9 hole courses go, this one will provide much enjoyment for many people in this area. This is a terrific course for less experienced players to have fun while providing ample challenges to improve your game. More experienced players should be able to score well, but there a couple of pretty nice, memorable holes in the middle of the round that can lead to bogeys.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun...and sometimes muddy

5+    9/3/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great little 9 holer hidden in a great little town here in KY...Course is always in great shape and the parks staff is doing a great job of making this course better and better...course is great for beginners and holes 4 and 5 will challenge just about anyone...holes 3, 8,9 are wide open and hole six is always a possible ace run. Tee pads, signs, and baskets always in excellent condition.
Cons: Built on a drainage field..hole 7 be sure to not go left that's all I have to say or you will be walking into a bog to find what you threw...course needs trash cans but i know that the park is working on this...course gets very muddy after rain so you have been warned.
Other Thoughts: I recently started a league here that plays on Thrusday night and is getting ready to wrap up...I am looking into putting together a random doubles payout meet every sunday night at 4pm and playing two rounds...teams will be decided by putting names into a draw and it will be a best shot format with 100 percent payout each night...if you are interested feel free to email me at spcbohl101st@yahoo.com or giving me a call at 270-498-5454...i would like to get started on this in the next few weeks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.