Course Extinct
Bellingham, WA 
Mossy Roc DGC Share
Uploaded By: ChampViking Hole #24 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mossy Roc

5+    6/4/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: Randy528
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 10 minutes from freeway
- Course is used primarily by disc golfers
- Natural settings
- 26 holes
- Variety of hole distances
- Variety of shots required
- Mix of tight technical & Open bombs
- Locals are helpful
- Course has great flow
- Lots of Picnic Tables to take breaks though out game.
Cons: - Lack of tees
- Lack of Signs
- 2/3 of baskets are not PDGA Approved
- Parking can be an Issue on busy days
- No Bathrooms or Running Water
- No Garbage Cans
Other Thoughts: This Course is player funded and up kept by players. We are very close to being able to buy 7 more PDGA Baskets. Signs and Map are in Process, and soon to come. Pack it in Pack it out. Donations can be made in parking lot on North side of Building. Thursday Night Random Doubles start time is @ 5:30 at end of hole 26, $6 entry.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  From a local

5+    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: sak_attack
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Number of holes (26)
- Scenic Terrain
- Low player volume (usually)
- Peaceful & quiet
- Fun trails to hike around on
Cons: - Lack of signs
- No actual tee pads
- HIGH difficulty
Other Thoughts: If you plan on going here during the months of October-April, I would highly reccomend bringing your mud boots. Donations are accepted for course improvement. Thursday evenings they have random partner tourney's, a small fee to enter.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Brilliant Course!

1    1/6/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only thing keeping this from 5 is the lack of signage, though I must say they are trying. It looks like the course is in a bit of a transitional phase, but I bet it will be an easy 5 once its all said and done. Can't wait to go down and play this course again. Easily worth the trip from Vancouver. All of the holes are really well designed/thought out. The layout is a little bit awkward, and there are some long walks, but that's exactly what I love about disc golf. This is a true nature course, I even saw 4 small dear cross the road on my way out. Tucked away in the mountains, some great vistas, a small stream running through the course. Lots of elevation. This place has everything.
Cons: Its TOUGH! Long and technical course, this is not for beginners. You'd better bring your A game. Also, natural tees can be a con for some, though not for me. Also, as I said, lack of signage, and the baskets aren't #'d. Would help a great deal. A course map at the entrance would be nice too... Truly, navigating is very tough, but use your disc golf nose to sniff out where the tee pads baskets are and you should find em... I did, though it took me a while with some of then.... but hey, they're working on it.
Other Thoughts: This is easily one of the nicest courses in the Pacific Northwest, as far as I can tell. Beats Whistler for pure Disc golf, but not for location/views/incredible hike etc. You get the idea. Its a great disc golf course, go check it out.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mossy Roc

1    3/12/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of unused land for a disc golf course. Very nice terrain changes, many elevated tees and baskets. Great mix of holes from the most wooded to long more open drives that make the course quite a challenge for all. No other people use this piece of land other then the golfers which is a plus.
Cons: Twenty four holes of disc golf combined with elevation changes and no benches make for a long walk. Some of the brush needs to be taken care of. Mostly natural tee pads and the area was a little muddy when I played it so there was chances of slipping. Navigation is just horrible! They need next tee signs and maps really bad. Some of the baskets were stolen and not all of them have been replaced and the club needs more money.
Other Thoughts: There are not a lot of bad things you can say about this place and it will only get better with time and dedicated locals to make it better. As of now it is worth the trip here and make your way a couple exits North and play Cornwall as well, the disc golfers of Bellingham are lucky!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Bellingham

5+    1/17/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This beautiful course is located in the remote area of Sudden Valley (on the outskirts of Bellingham) on an old but campground that happens to be an amazing piece of land with mass potential. When playing it there is nothing else out there to distract you as you throw through an enchanting forest abundant with foliage, wildlife, and massive trees. Mossy Roc is 26 holes of pure enjoyment, bringing a new challenge around every corner.

The course requires you to throw quite accurately as there are plenty of low tunnel and narrow fairway shots. This course also allows for some of the bigger arm players to air it out using long hyzers and anhyzers. Elevation is present throughout the course, starting with hole one which is directly uphill through a series of trees as you wind in and out, up and down through the land. Pin placements are stratigically placed on each hole where some can be open but most are heavily guarded. With the exception of a few holes like #4 and #19 there are no real "gimmies" on this course, although it is possible to still miss the mando or overshoot the hole down into a ravine.

The baskets are improving all the time as five new discatchers have been added thanks to all the efforts of the monthly tournaments and hard work of the locals. This course will continue to improve as time goes on. The fairways are becomming more apparent as more people are playing the course and as players play through a few times and get their bearings it is fairly easy to follow. The course begins and ends right by the upper/lower parking lot area and the flow is smooth and well thought out. Just give this course some time and it will be a 4.0 or highter.
Cons:
This course is getting better all the time and with the continued support of locals the baskets will continue to improve. This course could really benefit from adding tee signs and arrows directing newbies around the course but once again that takes a lot of money that the club doesn't have at this point. Bathrooms are there but have never been opened, and I am not sure you would want them open considering they have not been renovated (so be ready to go ahead of time or utilize the great outdoors).
Other Thoughts:
This course is one of my favorites in the NW due to its remoteness. Some of the holes here are truely jaw dropping and their signature hole #25 (Mossy Roc) is epic. This hole is about 250-300 feet by the time you add the fact that it is located about 50-60 feet up on this massive rock with no wiggle room. You have to either park it underneath the basket or suffer its wrath as it spits you back down the hill and puts you behind a bunch of foliage and trees. I was fortunate enough to be playing in one of their wonderful tournaments when I threw a huge hyzer bomb around the massive tree directly hitting the basket getting my 5th basket ace, 1st on that course. It was truely an amazing feeling and better yet, accepting cash from the local pro's who were so gracious. Usually I am the one giving them my money.

This course is well worth the trip and if you can find a local I recommend it. Over time this course will be better for everyone, including first time players.

My hats off to guys like Sully and Big Mike for all their work and effort throughout the years. I know there are a lot more then just them out there doing a lot of the grunt work but you could not fine two nicer pro's who enjoy the game, a great course, and the ability to inspire others.

Once your done playing that course I recommend playing another great course down south a bit in Sedro Wooley. It too is wonderful, and like Mossy Roc...what disc golf is all about!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Potential But Very Rustic At Current Time

1    12/10/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is excellent ground on which to build a disc golf course. There is a variety of terrain here, everything from densely wooded forrests to some really thick underbrush. There is some wonderful elevation to work with. Hole # 1 starts you off with a minor workout in itself throwing pretty much straight up a small mountainside. The course will challenge all who come to play it. It can be fairly tight in places. Most of the basket placements are well though out and very challenging.
Cons: Like the title implies, this course is in it's infancy. There is currently very little signage and no permanent teepads. The baskets are oftentimes the flimsy temporary ones. A lot of brush can and will eventually be cleared. It's a workout and certainly not a course for the newbie. Luckily, Bellingham has a wonderful course a few exits north which is perfect for the beginner or family.
Other Thoughts: My current rating for this course probably should be a 2. My future rating when the improvements are finished could climb up to the 4 range. I'm giving it a 2.5 partly on it's current primitive state and partly on it's untapped potential. I'm sure I'll come back in the future and raise my rating. It's fairly easy to get to being not too far off the interstate and now gives Bellingham two nice courses, yet they're much different in difficulty.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.