Roscoe, IL 
Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: teebird Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Long and open, stay out of the trees on the left

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

5+    10/9/2016   10/10/2016
Review By: huskerfan
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Summer of '16 course has expanded to 12 holes, plus a practice basket.
-Nice mix of left-hand and right-hand fairways. With three fairways 350' plus in the long position, making it a challenging par 3.
-New, easy to follow and easy to read tee pad signs, distance, pin location, par, etc.
-All fairways have 2-4 pin locations.
-Nice cement pads.
-DGA Mk III baskets.
-Well maintained, mowed grass and garbage cans on every pad.
Cons: Not much for a 'technical' type wooded course, this is a course a beginner can play. Many of the holes are open shots, with very little risk/reward.
Can get kind of crowded at times in the summer, but hopefully with expansion it will help.
Other Thoughts: 4.0+Excellent, Although it will never compare to the larger 18 hole courses, It's one of the nicer 'park type' courses around and consider it well above your average 9 hole park course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/22/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: thejetmechanic
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Nice new tee pads only about a year old.
* Hole layout signs are descriptive and accurate
*Beginner friendly, but also can add some challenge
*Pars are perfect for the course
*Baskets are in good condition and chains grab well
*Course layout is easy to follow, impossible to get turned around
*Portable bathrooms usually located near hole 2-3 next to the bridge
*Trash cans at nearly every tee, and no trash on the course from my experiences
*Large gravel parking lot with plenty of parking spaces
*Gorgeous park in a nice neighborhood setting
Cons: *I wont mark Porter down in points for this because it is great for the sport, but this place is usually pretty busy every weekend and in the summer when the kids are out of school. I would suggest playing Porter early in the morning or evenings. These seem to be down times in traffic for the course.

*I think a large factor holding this course back from a higher rating from me is the height of the rough on hole 1 and the rough/field that holes 9, 8, and 7 border. I understand having hazards and rough, but the grass rough on this course is way too tall and I've seen it swallow multiple discs including a few of my own. The rough only needs to be a few inches taller than the fairway grass height, not feet taller!

*Park gets a little crowded in the summer by the baseball field due to summer leagues, but not really an issue with any of the holes

*Some holes are just too bland. Could use some creative basket placement to spice things up a bit

*Par 5 on hole 1 is a bit overkill. A par 4 would suffice
Other Thoughts: *Definitely one of the better 9 hole courses in the state line.
*Great course for beginners or a quick round, with some challenge on a few holes.
*A bit crowded for my liking during peak times, but I always play this place once a week on my way to work
*If you live in or happen to be in the area, I would suggest fitting a round in at this place, but I would not travel to it.
*Numerous chances at an ace for a skilled player

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than expected

1    6/1/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 232  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are real nice chainstars that are in great shape and catch nicely. The tees are all concrete. They are level and grip nicely. The tee signs are pretty basic but serve their purpose just fine. They have the hole #, distance, par and a basic hole layout. The course is set in a beautiful little park with the disc golf separate from any other park activities for the most part. The flow of the course was easy to figure out.
Cons: Not much for cons here. This is on the upper end of city park 9 holers I've played. There's nothing real exciting, but nothing really terrible either. The distances are all similar minus hole 1 which is a tad longer.
Other Thoughts: This is better than many city park 9's I've played, however there's nothing to go out of your way to play here. If you're in the area though, this is worth a round or two for sure. Just nothing that'll blow you away.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best, but certainly underrated.

5+    6/25/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: rikomenzies
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park terrain lends a lot to variation. There is a good blend of open fields, wooded areas, and elevation changes so that you're never throwing the same shot on every hole.

Hole 1 is a 350' Par 5 on an open field. As an intermediate player I can easily get birdies and eagles on this hole, so even I would say that Par 5 is a bit much.

Hole 2 is still fairly open but has you throwing around a tree almost directly in front of the tee pad. There is a creek to the right of the fairway (with Hole 3 on the other side). RHBH players should be careful with grip-locking here as you can wind up on the Hole 3 fairway or worse, creek your disc.

Hole 3 calls for an uphill shot at the end of the fairway, with two water hazards on each side--a swamp at the far left corner, and the aforementioned creek to your right. There is no clear line of sight to the basket here, though you can get a peek at it through a hole in the tree line above the swamp. Beware the swamp.

Hole 4 is a hard hook towards the right into a wooded area. LHBH and RHFH players should feel more at home here. Otherwise, you'll need to be able to turn your shot fairly well. You also don't want to overthrow the basket and lose your disc at the dropoff. I suggest that you put your high-speed drivers away for this one.

Hole 5 starts you at the top of the hill with the basket just out of sight behind the tree line to your left. The fairway is wide open so feel free to crush it. The tree line to the left is heavily wooded, but not so that you can't venture in if you lose a disc in there. Beware of thorns, though. There is also a barbed wire fence that had been knocked down but was left unattended, so watch your step.

Hole 6 calls for a straight shot down the fairway atop a hill. It looks easier than it actually is--wind up off the fairway and you'll have yourself an ugly uphill shot. It's very easy to overthrow the basket here and the angle is very deceiving. If you do turn off the fairway, track your disc. Plenty get lost here.

Hole 7, like Hole 5, is another shot from atop a hill with the tree line to your right. Wide open, and close to Hole 6 so watch for the tall grass.

Hole 8 is a straight shot to the basket, with the tree line to your right and the brush to the left. Not a demanding hole.

Hole 9 will have you shooting around a straight line of trees into a wide open field. Most will shoot to the right of the trees with a hyzer, which will work fine. The trees are *very* easy to hit here. Be careful of griplocking as the creek, while far to your right, is well within range.

A well-mixed course, good for all skill levels (which is why the 350' Par 5 is a little understandable). More challenging than its length suggests.
Cons: The complaint this course receives the most is that it's short, which is really more a matter of taste.

The park is also multi-use. There is a baseball diamond between Hole 5 and 6 that, while out of the way, its guests sometimes aren't. Hole 2's basket is also by the multi-purpose cabin that frequently gets rented out to parties, so expect casual parkgoers to be in the area.

The tee pads are rubber, and have definitely seen a lot of wear and tear. They're also a bit on the small side. Poor erosion management around the pads and baskets, too.

The biggest problem with this course is that it's just not well-maintained. There's very little in the way of funds allocated to maintaining the course, and a big reason for this is inconsiderate guests and players who leave their trash all over the course and vandalize the property. If it weren't for that, it's likely that we'd see bigger improvements to the course.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, I feel it's often underrated as it is a fairly challenging course for being a 9-holer, while still being beginner-friendly. Definitely worth a try if you're up for a quick game (though feel free to play a couple of rounds).
There is a Walgreens down the road if you want to pick up some discs before you go.

This is my course of choice as I work close by, so I make it a point to stop by on my way home and play a round or two.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 porter review

5+    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Hinduannex
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: course has a decent mix.
water on play on 3 or so holes.
some nice hyzers required here.
Cons: Poor use of land
after the first hole not long at all
course tends get trashed with beer cans

Other Thoughts: definately not a course to go out of your way for

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/30/2010   2/25/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Majority of hole are very wide open. One hole you shoot down a raised up hill that's about 250' straight ahead, but if you go down the hill it's a difficult shot back up, especially with the typical headwind.
Cons: Hole #4 was a very poorly designed hole and if it ever gets over grown it will be completely necessary.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course while walking my dog, but wouldn't play it by choice.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Little Course.

5+    5/30/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: Brado
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A good layout for the amount of land dedicated for disc golf.
A fun course to play. A couple water hazards if you slip up.

Cons: Vandalism by kids in the nearby subdivision.
Other Thoughts: I'd play this course again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ok 9

1    4/8/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice multi-use park, though for the most part the course stays clear of other park uses. There is a mix of open grassy fields with some minor elevation changes and more densely wooded areas with a creek running through. The creek and a tiny pond come into play on one hole adding some risk to your shot. The little bit of elevation available is used well to include a downhill shot on one hole, and a shot that needs to stay on the top of a levy to keep from having a long uphill putt with a roll away possibility.

There is surprising variety here for a little 9 hole course in a multi-use park, from longer open shots, to grassy fairways through trees, to a tightly wooded hole that's aceable if you hit a tight little line.

There are nice rubber tee pads that were installed very well. They were all level and well packed underneath so they provided a nice tee surface. The tee signs were basic, but were adequate for navigating the course. The baskets were in good shape. The flow of the course is good enough that it's not hard to get from one hole to the next your first time through.
Cons: There are some odd spots with long walks between holes, and a couple places where you have to walk back up the fairway you just played some to get to the next hole. These don't affect navigation, but they do take away from the flow of the course. The course doesn't provide a whole lot of challenge, even for a mediocre player like me, especially on the really open holes. Pretty much every hole is just drive and putt unless you screw up, and even then there's not a ton of risk of taking a bogey.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course, it's just pretty short and not all that challenging. That said, it's got some fun holes and good variety, so it's worth a stop if you're in the area. Newer players will be challenged, but within reason. More experienced players will enjoy a few of the holes, but won't find much difficulty or risk/reward decisions.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little 9 holes!

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 902  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly for the most part because there arent too many wooded shots the water is hardly in play, but it will still challenege a beginner. Wind will be a factor on a couple holes.

2) Rubber teepads are the best (rubber) I have seen. #1 is the only one that wasn't prefectly level, but only at the edges.

3) Nice new baskets catch great and are installed properly.

4) Teeposts have small but very nice signs. They indicate the hole layout which is nice, even though you can see the basket from every tee. It helps give perspective.

5) Well designed for this property. I am not sure if there is room anywhere else to put more holes, and the design incorporated all of the assets of the property. A stream on two holes, a small little pond, a nice long row of trees on #9, the ridge that protects the rest of the park from flooding is even an asset. One short wooded hole is a tough shot but well designed.

6) Challenging course because of the variety in shots, but all holes are duecable with a well exectued throw (except maybe #1 unless you are a long bomber).

7) Turf in the park is in good shape and it looks to be very well groomed.

8) Clubhouse and garbage cans in parking lot and by ball field are helpful to keep this course and park clean. Vending machine has sodas and water available too which is nice to have on a course.
Cons: 1) Some of the holes are long walks between basket and the next tee. #4 basket to 5 is strange you go out the way you went into 4 basket and then over a wire fence and backtrack up a hill which is about half of the fairway for #5. #5 to #6 is long bu is absolutely necessary to avoid the ball field and bleachers where observers would be standing.

3) Mostly a short course so it won't challenge the better players.
Other Thoughts: All in all I realy enjoyed this course. There were some good holes and not a single throwaway hole (although #1 was somewhat boring straight and open albeit longer than most holes). I would rather have seen #1 moved elsewhere on the property to better take advantage of some of the other land. The baskets are nice the teepads are nice, and the teesigns are adequate and descriptive. There is water, a couple of tighter wooded holes, some open rippers, a fair double dogleg hole (#8) where you have to stay left initially and then want the disc to cut back to the right to get near the basket. The long row of trees on #9 is something I have not seen before, where you have to stay outside that treeline for most of the flight.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Porter Park

5+    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is close to my house, so I go here a lot. Porter Park is pretty open, so if you like throwing for distance this course might be up your alley. One hole that I love to hate is #3 which is relatively wooded with a creek running to the right and a swamp to the left. If you have a strong enough arm you maybe able to make it around the trees and up the hill near the basket. Your throw better be good however, because I would avoid going into that swamp at all costs.
Cons: Can be considered pretty easy for the pars they put on some of the holes. Some of the par fours can be easily birdied. More experienced golfers may play each hole as a par 3 to create more of a challenge, which I usually do and makes the course much more enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course is great to learn on. The course rarely has many other people using it, which is nice and leaves little waiting time while playing. I would suggest it over Belvidere's course which is heavily crowded with people picnicking in the middle of the park. If you are more experienced I would probably suggest driving the extra 25 min and heading over to Anna Page in Rockford.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.