Roscoe, IL 
Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: huskerfan Hole #8 (Taken 9/2016)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 C- = below average 9-holer

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  My new home course

5+    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: teebird
Played: 177  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is pretty open, but has some good obstacles on some of the holes that require a variety of throws to get through it. Water comes into play on a couple holes and very dense trees on number 4. Part of the course is visible from the road and I believe a lot of new people are trying it out because of this.
Cons: Only 9 holes and there is a long walk between some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I have talked to some of the Roscoe village council and told them that there is a lot of interest in the course. If we show a lot of use of the course and keep it clean, they may be willing to add 9 more holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: duain
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the baskets and rubber tee pads are nice. decent mixture of shots.
Cons: could have had better pin placements for some shots. the flow from pin to tee pad sucks on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: lots of potential just needs the proper course design to utilize the land better.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Porter park review

1    3/16/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. All the holes are long and take up a huge area of space for only being a 9 hole course. I also really love the location. Has a bit of a mix of open shots as well as holes with trees to dodge.
Cons: Considering the fact that it's only a 9 hole course, I really can't think of many cons because this is my kinda course. There is very little elevation change. Also, the vending machine was all sold out :(
Other Thoughts: Big arms will like this course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.