Roscoe, IL 
Porter Park Share
Uploaded By: teebird Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 253ft.   3 / 253ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Hyzer around some trees with a creek on the right



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not the best, but certainly underrated.

5+    6/25/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: rikomenzies
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park terrain lends a lot to variation. There is a good blend of open fields, wooded areas, and elevation changes so that you're never throwing the same shot on every hole.

Hole 1 is a 350' Par 5 on an open field. As an intermediate player I can easily get birdies and eagles on this hole, so even I would say that Par 5 is a bit much.

Hole 2 is still fairly open but has you throwing around a tree almost directly in front of the tee pad. There is a creek to the right of the fairway (with Hole 3 on the other side). RHBH players should be careful with grip-locking here as you can wind up on the Hole 3 fairway or worse, creek your disc.

Hole 3 calls for an uphill shot at the end of the fairway, with two water hazards on each side--a swamp at the far left corner, and the aforementioned creek to your right. There is no clear line of sight to the basket here, though you can get a peek at it through a hole in the tree line above the swamp. Beware the swamp.

Hole 4 is a hard hook towards the right into a wooded area. LHBH and RHFH players should feel more at home here. Otherwise, you'll need to be able to turn your shot fairly well. You also don't want to overthrow the basket and lose your disc at the dropoff. I suggest that you put your high-speed drivers away for this one.

Hole 5 starts you at the top of the hill with the basket just out of sight behind the tree line to your left. The fairway is wide open so feel free to crush it. The tree line to the left is heavily wooded, but not so that you can't venture in if you lose a disc in there. Beware of thorns, though. There is also a barbed wire fence that had been knocked down but was left unattended, so watch your step.

Hole 6 calls for a straight shot down the fairway atop a hill. It looks easier than it actually is--wind up off the fairway and you'll have yourself an ugly uphill shot. It's very easy to overthrow the basket here and the angle is very deceiving. If you do turn off the fairway, track your disc. Plenty get lost here.

Hole 7, like Hole 5, is another shot from atop a hill with the tree line to your right. Wide open, and close to Hole 6 so watch for the tall grass.

Hole 8 is a straight shot to the basket, with the tree line to your right and the brush to the left. Not a demanding hole.

Hole 9 will have you shooting around a straight line of trees into a wide open field. Most will shoot to the right of the trees with a hyzer, which will work fine. The trees are *very* easy to hit here. Be careful of griplocking as the creek, while far to your right, is well within range.

A well-mixed course, good for all skill levels (which is why the 350' Par 5 is a little understandable). More challenging than its length suggests.
Cons: The complaint this course receives the most is that it's short, which is really more a matter of taste.

The park is also multi-use. There is a baseball diamond between Hole 5 and 6 that, while out of the way, its guests sometimes aren't. Hole 2's basket is also by the multi-purpose cabin that frequently gets rented out to parties, so expect casual parkgoers to be in the area.

The tee pads are rubber, and have definitely seen a lot of wear and tear. They're also a bit on the small side. Poor erosion management around the pads and baskets, too.

The biggest problem with this course is that it's just not well-maintained. There's very little in the way of funds allocated to maintaining the course, and a big reason for this is inconsiderate guests and players who leave their trash all over the course and vandalize the property. If it weren't for that, it's likely that we'd see bigger improvements to the course.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, I feel it's often underrated as it is a fairly challenging course for being a 9-holer, while still being beginner-friendly. Definitely worth a try if you're up for a quick game (though feel free to play a couple of rounds).
There is a Walgreens down the road if you want to pick up some discs before you go.

This is my course of choice as I work close by, so I make it a point to stop by on my way home and play a round or two.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 porter review

5+    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Hinduannex
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: course has a decent mix.
water on play on 3 or so holes.
some nice hyzers required here.
Cons: Poor use of land
after the first hole not long at all
course tends get trashed with beer cans

Other Thoughts: definately not a course to go out of your way for

 

5+    12/30/2010   2/25/2011
Review By: Dahlemj24
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Majority of hole are very wide open. One hole you shoot down a raised up hill that's about 250' straight ahead, but if you go down the hill it's a difficult shot back up, especially with the typical headwind.
Cons: Hole #4 was a very poorly designed hole and if it ever gets over grown it will be completely necessary.
Other Thoughts: I love playing this course while walking my dog, but wouldn't play it by choice.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Little Course.

5+    5/30/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: Brado
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good layout for the amount of land dedicated for disc golf.
A fun course to play. A couple water hazards if you slip up.

Cons: Vandalism by kids in the nearby subdivision.
Other Thoughts: I'd play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ok 9

1    4/8/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice multi-use park, though for the most part the course stays clear of other park uses. There is a mix of open grassy fields with some minor elevation changes and more densely wooded areas with a creek running through. The creek and a tiny pond come into play on one hole adding some risk to your shot. The little bit of elevation available is used well to include a downhill shot on one hole, and a shot that needs to stay on the top of a levy to keep from having a long uphill putt with a roll away possibility.

There is surprising variety here for a little 9 hole course in a multi-use park, from longer open shots, to grassy fairways through trees, to a tightly wooded hole that's aceable if you hit a tight little line.

There are nice rubber tee pads that were installed very well. They were all level and well packed underneath so they provided a nice tee surface. The tee signs were basic, but were adequate for navigating the course. The baskets were in good shape. The flow of the course is good enough that it's not hard to get from one hole to the next your first time through.
Cons: There are some odd spots with long walks between holes, and a couple places where you have to walk back up the fairway you just played some to get to the next hole. These don't affect navigation, but they do take away from the flow of the course. The course doesn't provide a whole lot of challenge, even for a mediocre player like me, especially on the really open holes. Pretty much every hole is just drive and putt unless you screw up, and even then there's not a ton of risk of taking a bogey.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course, it's just pretty short and not all that challenging. That said, it's got some fun holes and good variety, so it's worth a stop if you're in the area. Newer players will be challenged, but within reason. More experienced players will enjoy a few of the holes, but won't find much difficulty or risk/reward decisions.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little 9 holes!

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly for the most part because there arent too many wooded shots the water is hardly in play, but it will still challenege a beginner. Wind will be a factor on a couple holes.

2) Rubber teepads are the best (rubber) I have seen. #1 is the only one that wasn't prefectly level, but only at the edges.

3) Nice new baskets catch great and are installed properly.

4) Teeposts have small but very nice signs. They indicate the hole layout which is nice, even though you can see the basket from every tee. It helps give perspective.

5) Well designed for this property. I am not sure if there is room anywhere else to put more holes, and the design incorporated all of the assets of the property. A stream on two holes, a small little pond, a nice long row of trees on #9, the ridge that protects the rest of the park from flooding is even an asset. One short wooded hole is a tough shot but well designed.

6) Challenging course because of the variety in shots, but all holes are duecable with a well exectued throw (except maybe #1 unless you are a long bomber).

7) Turf in the park is in good shape and it looks to be very well groomed.

8) Clubhouse and garbage cans in parking lot and by ball field are helpful to keep this course and park clean. Vending machine has sodas and water available too which is nice to have on a course.
Cons: 1) Some of the holes are long walks between basket and the next tee. #4 basket to 5 is strange you go out the way you went into 4 basket and then over a wire fence and backtrack up a hill which is about half of the fairway for #5. #5 to #6 is long bu is absolutely necessary to avoid the ball field and bleachers where observers would be standing.

3) Mostly a short course so it won't challenge the better players.
Other Thoughts: All in all I realy enjoyed this course. There were some good holes and not a single throwaway hole (although #1 was somewhat boring straight and open albeit longer than most holes). I would rather have seen #1 moved elsewhere on the property to better take advantage of some of the other land. The baskets are nice the teepads are nice, and the teesigns are adequate and descriptive. There is water, a couple of tighter wooded holes, some open rippers, a fair double dogleg hole (#8) where you have to stay left initially and then want the disc to cut back to the right to get near the basket. The long row of trees on #9 is something I have not seen before, where you have to stay outside that treeline for most of the flight.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Porter Park

5+    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is close to my house, so I go here a lot. Porter Park is pretty open, so if you like throwing for distance this course might be up your alley. One hole that I love to hate is #3 which is relatively wooded with a creek running to the right and a swamp to the left. If you have a strong enough arm you maybe able to make it around the trees and up the hill near the basket. Your throw better be good however, because I would avoid going into that swamp at all costs.
Cons: Can be considered pretty easy for the pars they put on some of the holes. Some of the par fours can be easily birdied. More experienced golfers may play each hole as a par 3 to create more of a challenge, which I usually do and makes the course much more enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course is great to learn on. The course rarely has many other people using it, which is nice and leaves little waiting time while playing. I would suggest it over Belvidere's course which is heavily crowded with people picnicking in the middle of the park. If you are more experienced I would probably suggest driving the extra 25 min and heading over to Anna Page in Rockford.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 C- = below average 9-holer

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B-
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My new home course

5+    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: teebird
Played: 161  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is pretty open, but has some good obstacles on some of the holes that require a variety of throws to get through it. Water comes into play on a couple holes and very dense trees on number 4. Part of the course is visible from the road and I believe a lot of new people are trying it out because of this.
Cons: Only 9 holes and there is a long walk between some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I have talked to some of the Roscoe village council and told them that there is a lot of interest in the course. If we show a lot of use of the course and keep it clean, they may be willing to add 9 more holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

alright

1    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: duain
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the baskets and rubber tee pads are nice. decent mixture of shots.
Cons: could have had better pin placements for some shots. the flow from pin to tee pad sucks on a couple holes.
Other Thoughts: lots of potential just needs the proper course design to utilize the land better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.