Lava Hot Springs, ID 
Lava Hot Springs DGC Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #5 (Taken 11/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/18/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: Danomite1984
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Could not find anything good about this course
Cons: No indication of where to start, no tee pads or flags or anything. Holes were short, at least 1 basket was damaged and unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Do not waste your time getting your discs out of your car. Spend some time at the hot springs and forget about disc golf if you visit this town.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great for First Timers

2-4    10/13/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: Salki12
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: Great beginner course, I taught two people how to play on this course, one of which bought his own discs in the local store after I showed him. Good baskets. Mix of long and short holes.
Cons: No tee pads, without a map, it's very hard to know where to play the first time through. Found out I was playing hole 1 completely wrong.
Other Thoughts: With at least hole signs signifying where to start a hole, the course would be an almost perfect short beginner course. I was here camping, and I really enjoyed this open course to practice on. If you are ever in town or just passing by, give it a try!

Good course for beginners

5+    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: Alan01
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
This review was updated on 7/19/2013
Pros: This course is very forgiving, except for one hole (hole #9 - that runs along the Portneuf River). Most holes are surrounded by lots of open fields. Excellent place for beginners to get started playing. Double-chained baskets are top-notch. The grass and fields are well-maintained.
Cons: Tee boxes are not well marked. They are indicated either by small red flags stuck in the ground or white paint sprayed on the grass. I had to play the course three times before I finally was able to figure out the correct matching of tee boxes and holes.
Other Thoughts: This is largely a non-technical course. There are a few ups and downs, but nothing really worth mentioning. There are two blind holes (#3 and #8) and watch out for the pool on Hole #8.

 not a neutral party, again

5+    8/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: fiya79
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun, variety, decent elevation. few blind shots. some risky holes, some water, some bomber shots and some touch shots around obstacles. "pool course" is on an old pitch and putt golf course. "lion" course has cool lava cliffs, good river potential and is never crowded. tough to lose a disc both places unless in the river.
Cons: The local group that bought the baskets and pushed for the courses seems to have stalled in terms of development. Still not tee boxes, posts, signs or easy ways to navigate the courses without a local in tow.
Other Thoughts: There are 2 distinct courses. you really need a map to navigate. More locals need to play and push for the last pahse of development. I'd give it a 4- except for the lack of pads and signs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eh...

1    8/3/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: blakeob
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Cons: There were no signs and no tee pads. We had a couple of locals working their way through the course ahead of us, but otherwise we have had no way of knowing where to start on each hole.
Other Thoughts: The course looks promising. I like the area and the pin locations look like they could make for a fun course. Unfortunately, until they get signs up and pads to start from, this course is more frustrating than anything.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2 separate courses...

2-4    2/11/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: English101
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Between the two separate 9 hole courses there is a nice variety. A fairly good mix of holes, mostly open. Ocassionally the river comes into play adding to the scenic nature of the courses. New catchers...Hole 4 (Lava Pool Course) should be the signature hole with an elevated green and mountains behind. Best place I have ever seen for an "Ice Bowl" event, throw discs in the snow and soak in the hot springs after. What a great way to spend a day.
Cons: Still some work to be done on both courses. No permanent signs or tee-pads yet, locals seem to be working on this. Without local help it is a bit tough to work your way around the two courses. Additionally in the summer, the last couple of holes around the pool can be quite crowded with people floating the river. (At the same time this means that bikini sightings are always possible)
Other Thoughts: I think it is important to note that there are actually two separate courses here: the 9 hole "Lava Lions Club Park" which has a lot more elevation change, is less "domesticated", long grass, brush etc., and plays a lot more with the river. (Hole 9 on this course is incredibly fun to bomb down from the hill to the catcher backed by the river)

The Lava City or Lava Pool Park course is on the grassy areas surrounding the pool and waterslides mostly open, and more family friendly than the other course.

I should also mention that while you can see one course while playing on the other, there is no way to walk between the courses.

Both are absolutely worth playing if you are stopping to soak or just passing through.

When teepads and signs are in, the rating will go up! Lots of fun...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lava Love

1    2/7/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: Justin H
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As if the town of Lava Hot Springs wasn't fun enough! There are actually two nine hole courses sepertated by a few blocks. Most of the holes have some sort of elevation change. A good mixture of long and short holes, but mostly on the shorter side. Quality baskets and a great atmosphere. This is just a great addition to an awsome town. oh don't forget the bikinis.
Cons: The course still needs a few finnishing touches, but it was very new when I was there.
Other Thoughts: Camp on the river, float your tube down the river and then play some disc golf. Check this place out!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.