Bristol, TN 
Steele Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5
3 / 244ft.   4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wish There Were 18

5+    6/1/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: lammersk
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most wide open of the courses in the Kingsport-Johnson City-Bristol area. However, the baskets are placed so that you are not often just shooting across a straight grassy field. There are almost always trees or hills or rough close enough to make some control necessary. Still, it's the best place in the tri-cities area to go practice your long throws.

The blue and white tees provide enough variety to make the course worth playing once on each. On some few pins the blue is just a longer version of the white, but on many the blue and white provide very different angles and obstacles.

The pro shop is nice and carries a substantial number of discs from Innova and Discraft. I think they might have also had a few Prodigy discs last time I was in there.
Cons: This the best 9 pin course I've played, but it's still a nine pin course. There have been rumors for a while that the ball golf course will be shutting down and the disc golf extended to 18, but don't hold your breath.

Minor: The white tees are often harder than the blue; I consistently have a better round on the blue than the white. This is particularly true on 4. The blue is a straight, open shot. The white is technically shorter if you can shoot through the middle of a picket row of trees and over a depression on the other side of the trees. Nobody tries that shot; they shoot to the right (past the tree picket) and into the open field to the right (which blue starts shooting into). Personally, this does not bother me, but it might irritate some people.

Minor: There needs to be a sign from 2 to 3. The first time I played, I walked straight from 2 to 4. I had to have someone point out that 3 was across the road between the two roadways. However, the rest of the tees are easy to find.
Other Thoughts: I just came back to this review and removed half a point. The city is now charging $2 to access the park. $2 for 9 pins is a bit of a ding when there are good 18 pin disc golf courses with 30 minutes which are free.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9-holers I've seen

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steele Creek is the exception to the rule when it comes to 9-holers. Most are 9-holers for a reason, and not in a good way. I finished my round wanted to play nine more.
- Very good hole layout. Again, unlike most 9-holers, this course had a professional feel. It had solid, challenging holes, no gimmicky or way-too-easy holes. Every hole would be seen on any true 18-holer.
- Great use of the terrain. It starts with a tight fairway on #1 to the two long holes (#6 & 7) with strategically placed baskets behind trees; and a pair of nice downhill (#2) and uphill (#4) holes.
- Great tee signs. Some of the nicest I've seen. They have everything you need to know.
- Dual tee pads give a decent layout (2574) and challenging (3475) one.
- No easy birdies. Again, unlike most 9-holers in neighborhood parks, you have to throw well to score well here.
- Overall amazing park. I think it had everything from a golf course (the other golf) to big play area and even a train for kids. The park was absolutely packed on the Sunday afternoon I was there.
Cons: For a 9-hole course, this was as close to flawless as I've seen. I'll nitpick here, just to point out a few potential areas to be improved.
- There are no true wooded holes, or any other major obstacles. On most holes, baskets are strategically placed behind/near trees.
- Some people may not like because of the potential risk of hitting a car. There's a road on both sides of the fairway, so any shot that sails too far left or right could be in trouble. Granted, you'd have to be really far offline, but it's still worth pointing out.
- The two blandest holes are #8 & 9. After playing what I think are the course's two best holes, it's a little bit of a letdown to end on that note.
Other Thoughts: For a 9-holer, this is special. Still, it's only 9-holes, so it leaves something to be desired. This would be a great course if it were 18. If not, it would be nice to have more variety in the long and short tees to give each hole two different layouts. Look at Park Circle in North Charleston, SC as an example.
- As stated, most of the holes were enjoyable and well thought out. That should appeal to players of all levels. My two favorites were #6 & 7. #6 is a 466-footer with the basket behind a big tree, which forces you to play around the sides, instead of coming right at it. #7 is similar, only longer at 555 feet. Your first shot here is to a wide open field. Go too far to the left and you'll have a long second shot; too far to the right and this basket will be hidden by another big tree. Whether you play them as 3s or 4s, it'll take several solid shots for both of them.
- If this were a full 18, it'd be in the 3.5 - 4.0 range. I'm thinking it'd be very comparable to Wellspring in Burlington, NC or Bryan Park in Richmond, VA. That said it's only 9 holes, so the score will be lower.
- I don't know if there are plans to expand, or if there's even room, but I'd love to see it happen. At the very least, you should be leaving this course wanting more. And I think that's what every disc golf course should be aiming for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Manicured

2-4    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Fantastic looking signs, depicting the tees, basket, and distances.

Located in a beautiful multi-purpose park, with fantastic views of the neighbouring wooded hills. Very clean and well maintained grounds.

Clubhouse selling discs, drinks, candy; bathrooms available. Scorecards, but no map, available here, too. Relatively easy to navigate, even without a map.
Cons:
Only nine holes, two dirt teepads marked by blue or white PVC pipe.

Update 4/22/11: Tees are now top-quality concrete.
Other Thoughts:
Gently rolling landscape with mixture of large hardwood and evergreen trees. Some minor change of elevation on most holes. Mostly grip-n-rip, needing to avoid a large tree or two at some point during the flight. Some holes offer a couple different flightpath choices. Nothing over 400' from the whites, while the blues offer a few holes over 400'.

According the the gentleman in the clubhouse, concrete tees will be poured in July-09, and some time in the future the course will increase to 18-holes by expanding into the woods.

To find tee #1, make a left into the gravel lot just after passing the clubhouse. Tee #3 is across the road from #2/#4. When looking for blue tee #5, you might find #9, instead, and visa versa.

Beautiful course offering many opportunities to air it out with minimal chance to lose a disc. Looking forward to the improved tees and increase in holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.