Bristol, TN 
Steele Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2
-- / --   3 / 302ft.   4 / 390ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A 9-Hole course you should stop and play!

1    10/5/2014   10/5/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 69  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is among the best, if not THE best 9-hole course I've ever played. It's not the most challenging, or even the most well-rounded, but there's something about it that just exudes excellence!

First off, you'll arrive at the gate of a VERY well maintained state park. This also means you'll pay $2 for entrance, but it's for the day and trust me, you won't regret it.

The parking lot for the disc golf course is straight ahead from the entrance to the park on the left. You'll see a practice basket from the lot.

Immediately, you'll notice how nice the signs are. They are quite possibly the very best signs I've seen on a disc golf course. The only signs I've seen to rival these are the same CNC'd type up the road at VHCC. All dg courses should try to have signs this nice!

There are two tee pads for each hole, which creates a little bit of extra challenge for the advanced/open players, while still remaining fun and approachable for the novice.

All 18 tee's are concrete with an easy to find stake in the ground depicting the tee color.

Baskets are top of the line DISCatchers and are in excellent shape.

There really is a chance to open up a big arm on this 9-holer! In fact, I'd say the majority of holes will allow you to open up and let them fly!

One of the best things about this park is the sheer beauty of the place. It's tucked in between the rolling hills and some picturesque water at the back of the park. I was in awe when I walked up to hole 2 and from there it only got better.

You'll have literally ZERO chance to lose a disc. If you do happen to manage that somehow, I'm sorry.

The other ammenities at the park are excellent as well. I noticed plenty of picnic tables, other sports fields/courts, etc...It's a place your significant other or family could hang out without problems while you play your round. There is even a large field near the practice basket where you could warm up your drives before your round.
Cons: Several of the tee signs are at the white tee, while others are at the blue tee. Seemed kinda strange at the time, but in retrospect they were probably staggered in order to not be in the way of certain shots. Only a minor con.

There isn't any water involved. I saw a large body of water at the back of the park and I sure hope they intend to incorporate that in the upcoming 18 hole rendition of Steele Creek!

There isn't any truly wooded shots. They're mostly open field with a few tree patches or larger trees to navigate. Nothing that says tunnel shot at all except for maybe hole 1 (which also has a hyzer route)

No benches or trashcans, but the current 9-hole course isn't long or exhausting enough that you'll really need them. Only a con because once they add 9 holes, they'll be a necessity.

Shot variety was kinda lacking. Yea I know, it was only a 9-holer, but nearly every shot was straight ahead for the most part, no real dog-legs to speak of. This led to the course feeling a touch repetitive and not as challenging as I would have liked.
Other Thoughts: I started off my round hot by hitting the yellow band on the top of the basket! Riding the high from that near ace was fun for the rest of the round, but that's not what made this course awesome.

It really is one of the best 9-hole hole courses I've every played, if not THE best. Sure, it may not be challenging enough for some really advanced players, but certainly more so than most other 9-hole courses and toss in the overall feeling of the place and everyone is certain to have a great experience!

This is a wonderful 45 minute break when you're driving on 81 and is even a course worthy of driving to play, whether for a tourney or a casual round. Trust me, you'll have fun. It received the highest rating I ever give a 9-hole course and for good reason. When they take it to 18, I hope they can include water, some more variety and wooded shots and they will really have something special in the tri-state area!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 open course

5+    3/30/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: jgrubb22
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: fun open course for people that dont like long shots and no trees in the way..
Cons: could have fit 18 here pretty easy. very open course with not a lot of trees in the way..
Other Thoughts: i like playing this course cause it def gives u practice throwing in the wind due to lack of trees..

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising for a 9 hole course

1    7/12/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful tee signs for each hole
Concrete tee pads, baskets in good shape,
beautiful park and the course uses the land well.
Cons: Only 9 holes
lots of duck poop on the course
Other Thoughts: This is a very surprisingly good course! I was travelling through the area and found this along my route. The course played pretty quickly, 45 minutes or less for three of us. Decent distance on the holes which allows for decent drives and a good use of each category of discs. The Blue tees add a bit of distance to the course but not any additional challenge other than distance. The park is a beautiful landscape, well maintained and manicured. These is a lot of forgiveness to your throws on most holes but the yardage proves to add a challenge to do well. Like the cons stated, other than this course only having 9 holes, and a good amount of duck poop on the course(thus having to clean your discs of such), this is a very nice course. Great place to learn and grow with the game. My 8 year old and 12 year old did well out here today as well so a confidence booster for them. Definitely worth the time to play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/14/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all the park is AMAZING. The views in the park are great. Although this is a nine hole course the alternate tee pads completely change the feel of each hole, and the hole don't feel like "putt putt" disc golf holes. They are legit challenging holes. Anybody who enjoys long drives will love this course because it has many holes that let you bomb it. Plus the sings are the best i've ever seen!
Cons: Not many. The only things I can think of would be more benches (I can't remember there being any), and if possible it would be cool if it were an 18+ hole course (this is definately not necessary but would be nice)
Other Thoughts: If they did put more holes in they could add a little more challenge. It's really easy to go way under par at this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    9/2/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: morpheus_tn
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well kept course. Nice layout and use of land. Multiple pads with different angles make it feel like 18. Pro Shop accross the street with a nice selection on disc golf accessories.
Cons: 9 hole course. Has room for expansion

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My homecourse

5+    8/18/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is a very nice cousre that is well maintained and has 2 different sets of concrete teepads for each hole.
-Very open course and you can really air it out on a few.
-Great signage and 0chance of getting lost from hole to hole.
-Great proshop with great prices on discs. Open most of day since it also doubles for proshop of the ball golf course.
Great course for beginners and blue tees make it a little challenging for experienced players.
Cons: - Biggest con, only 9 holes!? There is talk of making 9 more but not sure if its true or not.
- Not to many technical holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great site that is begging for 9 more holes. If they do add 9 more this could be a 4.5 rated course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Clean Course

5+    12/28/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: waruss
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 38.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park
Well maintained
Nice pro shop
Good people
Cons: My game
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course to play. Tees are now concrete for both white and blue. The white tees offer a different view on 7 of the 9 holes and it can be fun to play it twice alternating white then blue and you end up with a neat eighteen holes in about an hour and a half.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.