Bristol, TN 
Steele Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  
Course Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/14/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all the park is AMAZING. The views in the park are great. Although this is a nine hole course the alternate tee pads completely change the feel of each hole, and the hole don't feel like "putt putt" disc golf holes. They are legit challenging holes. Anybody who enjoys long drives will love this course because it has many holes that let you bomb it. Plus the sings are the best i've ever seen!
Cons: Not many. The only things I can think of would be more benches (I can't remember there being any), and if possible it would be cool if it were an 18+ hole course (this is definately not necessary but would be nice)
Other Thoughts: If they did put more holes in they could add a little more challenge. It's really easy to go way under par at this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9-holers I've seen

1    5/29/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steele Creek is the exception to the rule when it comes to 9-holers. Most are 9-holers for a reason, and not in a good way. I finished my round wanted to play nine more.
- Very good hole layout. Again, unlike most 9-holers, this course had a professional feel. It had solid, challenging holes, no gimmicky or way-too-easy holes. Every hole would be seen on any true 18-holer.
- Great use of the terrain. It starts with a tight fairway on #1 to the two long holes (#6 & 7) with strategically placed baskets behind trees; and a pair of nice downhill (#2) and uphill (#4) holes.
- Great tee signs. Some of the nicest I've seen. They have everything you need to know.
- Dual tee pads give a decent layout (2574) and challenging (3475) one.
- No easy birdies. Again, unlike most 9-holers in neighborhood parks, you have to throw well to score well here.
- Overall amazing park. I think it had everything from a golf course (the other golf) to big play area and even a train for kids. The park was absolutely packed on the Sunday afternoon I was there.
Cons: For a 9-hole course, this was as close to flawless as I've seen. I'll nitpick here, just to point out a few potential areas to be improved.
- There are no true wooded holes, or any other major obstacles. On most holes, baskets are strategically placed behind/near trees.
- Some people may not like because of the potential risk of hitting a car. There's a road on both sides of the fairway, so any shot that sails too far left or right could be in trouble. Granted, you'd have to be really far offline, but it's still worth pointing out.
- The two blandest holes are #8 & 9. After playing what I think are the course's two best holes, it's a little bit of a letdown to end on that note.
Other Thoughts: For a 9-holer, this is special. Still, it's only 9-holes, so it leaves something to be desired. This would be a great course if it were 18. If not, it would be nice to have more variety in the long and short tees to give each hole two different layouts. Look at Park Circle in North Charleston, SC as an example.
- As stated, most of the holes were enjoyable and well thought out. That should appeal to players of all levels. My two favorites were #6 & 7. #6 is a 466-footer with the basket behind a big tree, which forces you to play around the sides, instead of coming right at it. #7 is similar, only longer at 555 feet. Your first shot here is to a wide open field. Go too far to the left and you'll have a long second shot; too far to the right and this basket will be hidden by another big tree. Whether you play them as 3s or 4s, it'll take several solid shots for both of them.
- If this were a full 18, it'd be in the 3.5 - 4.0 range. I'm thinking it'd be very comparable to Wellspring in Burlington, NC or Bryan Park in Richmond, VA. That said it's only 9 holes, so the score will be lower.
- I don't know if there are plans to expand, or if there's even room, but I'd love to see it happen. At the very least, you should be leaving this course wanting more. And I think that's what every disc golf course should be aiming for.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best 9-holers I’ve played

1    7/25/2009   2/6/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really, really good 9-hole course set in a very nice city park. The holes are your usual city park style, mostly open lush grassy fairways with large mature trees to navigate around and for the most part little-to-no undergrowth. Elevation is a big factor here and adds to the difficulty. The land itself is very nice (I think it used to be a ball golf course, so it is nice for a change to see a disc golf course put on good land often reserved for ball golf courses!)

There are two tees per hole so you could make it 18 holes as the 2 tees are quite a bit different in length and many play from a completely different angle. The length of the course is much longer than your average 9-hole park course. The longer blue tees are great for those that like to throw long bombs as they average close to 400' with the longest at 555'- many 18 hole courses don't have that kind of distance. The white tees are perfect for the distance-challenge and the casual player to make the round more enjoyable.

There are concrete tees for the blue and the white tees which are clearly marked with colored PVC. The signs are excellent- detailed, informative, and in color. The baskets were in terrific shape. The park and course were very clean. There was a lot of parking available by hole #1.
Cons: Not too many. There are only 9 holes where there might be room in the park for 18. The 9 holes are unique enough from each other, but there are no woods-style technical holes here. Also, because it is nice and caters to everyone, I could see at certain times this course getting crowded with lots of recreational players, which could be a con for some people.
Other Thoughts: As others have said, for this only having 9 holes it is an excellent course and one of the best 9-hole courses I have played. A plus is that it has appeal to players of all skill levels. The city of Bristol is lucky to have this course and they seem to be proud of it and take good care of it. It is also not too far from a couple other solid courses: Warrior's Path and Winged Deer.

*Despite the name of Steele Creek, there is no water in play here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    9/2/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: morpheus_tn
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well kept course. Nice layout and use of land. Multiple pads with different angles make it feel like 18. Pro Shop accross the street with a nice selection on disc golf accessories.
Cons: 9 hole course. Has room for expansion

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/8/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course. I've played it many times, but it never gets old. The layout makes great use of the space. Many of the holes appear open, but they close up tight when you step up to throw. Excellent Signage and the course flows well.
Cons: It's only 9 holes. There are multiple tee positions, so you can make 18 out of it. However some of the tee boxes are just longer. There isn't that big of a difference on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course in a beautiful park. Be sure to check out the pro-shop (over by the "ball" golf course as you come in). They have some of the best prices in town - only Innova though.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My homecourse

5+    8/18/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is a very nice cousre that is well maintained and has 2 different sets of concrete teepads for each hole.
-Very open course and you can really air it out on a few.
-Great signage and 0chance of getting lost from hole to hole.
-Great proshop with great prices on discs. Open most of day since it also doubles for proshop of the ball golf course.
Great course for beginners and blue tees make it a little challenging for experienced players.
Cons: - Biggest con, only 9 holes!? There is talk of making 9 more but not sure if its true or not.
- Not to many technical holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great site that is begging for 9 more holes. If they do add 9 more this could be a 4.5 rated course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple tees for ever hole. Concrete tee pads. Beautiful scenery. Secondary tees don't just change the distance of the hole, but completely change the way it is played.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely stunning course, really beautiful park. Great pro shop at the beginning. The white tees are fun for advanced players and challenging for new players. The blue tees will give advanced players a little bit of a challenge. Playing both gives you a nice 18. If it had 9 more holes the quality of the first 9, this would definitely be a 5 out of 5. Great pads, great diagrams at each tee. great course, I will be back.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Might be the best 9 Holer I ever Played!

2-4    7/30/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- 2 Sets of Tees. Not only does having two sets of tees let people chose the game that's right for them, it also allows this course to be played as an 18 (kinda sorta). Both sets are different enough to make the holes unique (kinda sorta).
- Ball Golf Feel. Because the course is on an old "ball golf" course, it feels like Golf. Rolling terrain, manicured grass, use of available trees, use of elevation, use of available opportunities for punishment… Fun Times!
- Air it Out. With a few holes being over 400' and one over 550', and with the terrain being mostly open, you really get to air it out at Steele Creek.
Cons:
- Only 9… Bummer. This course is pretty cool as is, but if they had an additional 9, it would be elevated to a whole new level.
- Labeled Par. I appreciate that they didn't try to go "Pro-Par", but, they were a few questionably labeled Pars out there. I had 3 realistic "eagle" putts… and that's probably a little unrealistic. Two of the 4's should be 3's and the 5 should be a 4.
Other Thoughts:
- Best 9 Holer? As my review title states, this might be the best 9 hole disc golf course I have ever played (out of 20 nine-holers played in six states). The "ball golf" atmosphere, rolling terrain, manicured grass, elevation use, "Par 4's and 5", and dual tee-pads make this 9 Holer stand out.
- Other Nearby Courses. This area in north east Tennessee is a hot bed for GREAT disc golf. My Rankings: Harmon Hills (and I haven't even played the whole thing yet), Winged Deer, Warrior's Path, Fossil Hill, Steele Creek.
- My Score: Depends on what you call "Par". I would consider it a -1 (28).

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nine more, please.

2-4    4/26/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Mando
Played: 100  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Situated in a humongous city park that was formerly a state park (before the state shifted it over to Warriors Path). Gorgeous property with a lake, ball golf and disc golf. The DG course is actually on the old ball golf site and is open,rolling with scattered trees. The design fully utilizes all the trees for an interesting layout. Two separate tee pads gives you 18 holes. Fantastic signs.
Nice bike path.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: If the city adds 9 more holes in the woods, this could be an elite course...one of the best in TN. Please treat this place with respect to enhance the chances of 9 more.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

5+    2/8/2010   2/11/2010
Review By: G-money
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Open course with strategic basket locations; Very well marked; good pro shop; good scenery, (lakeside holes).
Cons: None apparent, except more holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is where I started seven months ago; good beginner's course. Not too long, and achievable pars, even for the novice. Builds confidence level.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.