Seven Springs, PA 
Seven Springs Mountain Resort Share
Uploaded By: crandellfamily Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 309ft.   3 / 483ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Vigorous Mountain Golf

1    9/26/2014   10/15/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seven Springs is a unique, vigorous experience that is just as much of a hike as it is a round of golf. The player gets a genuine taste of ski-slope golf here as you literally play down and around the mountains. Plenty of parking space is available behind the main lodge, just go around the main parking lot and past the tubing area. You make your payment for the ski lift at the Adventure Lodge, with the ski lift right out back. However, on the Friday I went, the lift was turned off so they had someone drive me up. I didn't have to pay, so this was a pro.

Course maps are very helpful, and I am happy I picked one up at the Adventure Lodge. There are three sets of tees, which distinctly change the look of a hole. Blues are usually very long holes, while the reds aren't too challenging.

Not to be cliche, but the highlight of the round for me were the incredible views. Holes 1, 3, 14, and 15 offer amazing scenery, some of the best views I have seen. Going off of this, another highlight of playing here is the ever-present opportunity to throw far. This is a bomber's course, with the course's constant elevation changes and wide open nature. From the blue tees, there are and five holes over 800 feet.

While most of the holes are wide open, you get to play through some tight woods (holes 6 and 7) and throw over two ponds (2 and 11). However, you come here to play the downhill bombs. The downhill shots are the most intense that I have seen, and you get plenty of chances to throw down the mountain.
Cons: Being a temporary course on a mountain, it only has so much potential. I appreciate when the course did play through trees, but most of the holes here are just simple, wide open shots. I imagine maintaining the course is insanely hard, which shows in some tall grassy fairways.

Navigation can be tricky and I urge you to bring a map. Sometimes, multiple baskets are in view. It was frustrating when I made the trek halfway down the mountain only to realize that I played at the wrong basket.

This course is NOT for the faint of heart and is exhausting to play. There are some very longs walks between holes (esp. 1-2) and a lot of walking in general. The terrain is often rough and uneven, so watching where you step is a must. There are no paths, just hiking around the mountain.

The tees are natural and are not comfortable to throw from, many are on uneven ground.

The tee signs don't have a general position in concordance with the tees, so sometimes it is confusing to figure out what direction your throw from.

The two 9 hole loops break up the course flow, and you either have to use a lift or get a ride to the top of the mountain. The ride up that they gave me took about 15 min, so don't come here unless you have plenty of time to play.

Costs $8 for a lift, though I don't see that being much of a con. The real con lies in the fact that the lift only runs -according to their website- on Saturdays and Sundays from 10-5. I'd call ahead of time to check availability.

While the design is simple, I wouldn't take a new player or someone who is out of shape to play here. They most likely will have a miserable time. I appreciate the effort made for a course here, but the temporary factors have lead it to be a lower priority of the resort. The designer is one of the best in the area, though, so you know that it is about as good as it can be with the land given. Just not much you can do with a pretty wide open mountainside that isn't fully maintained.

The baskets are rusted.
Other Thoughts: I definitely recommend a stop here if you like to have a strenuous hike/workout while playing your round and if you enjoy play ski-slope courses. I'd say it is worth paying the money to use the lift to play here once, or just come here during the week and they will drive you up to the mountain. The more people that play here, the more effort they are likely to put into maintaining the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just a side activity

1    8/31/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Tcarlile2563
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: View is incredible
Discs fly very far
The resort is very nice
Challenging course
Red, Blue and White tees
Mini-Discs are sold here
Cons: Very wet course and slipping will happen
Bug spray is needed
No tee boxes
Misleading signs
Un-cut grass
Confusing pins
Discs can be lost very easily
No paths to walk on
Course is on a mountain, lot's of unstable throws
Tee boxes are unkept and un clear
Holes out of place
Pro shop is bad
Distances from all tees are either very far, or very close.
Very tiring course
Steep hills
Navigation is rough with out map
Has water hazards
Costs $8 for lift tickets
Wildlife is abundant
Other Thoughts: -Disc Rentals are basic starter packs all DX plastic with 7 Springs logo
-Can't play course with out ski lift
-Hole 7 is hidden below
-Not for beginners

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't bother...

1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: shortbus
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The only thing nice was the view.
Cons: Everything about this course was bad.
1. Not well kept.
2. This course eats discs.
3. Too many people walking all over the place.
4. Did I mention your going to lose some discs.
5. Baskets look old and rusty.
6. Tee pads on slopes or have bad footing.
Other Thoughts: First time I have played this course, and it will be the last. Not worth it. It's like a novelty created by someone who doesn't understand the game. Sure its cool to be on a mountain and throw long drives down hill....only to lose your disc. I would not recommend playing here at all.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Acquired Taste

5+    7/27/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Three tee locations per hole, providing options for various skill levels.

+ Practice basket near tees 1 & 10.

+ Superb views, from holes 1, 3, and 15 in particular.

+ The map is quite useful in navigating the course - a must have.

+ Only 15~minutes off the Donegal exit of the PA turnpike

+ Extreme downhill numbers 3 & 15 give you plenty of opportunity to watch your disc fly
Cons:
- Tee locations are natural, typically grass, often at a slant - whatever the slope of the hill happens to be.

- Baskets showing their age - rusting chains, fading yellow bands.

- Costs $15 for a round, or $35 for a wristband which grants you access to the course, and other activities, all day. Disc golf-wise, the chairlift starts operating at 1000, and quits running at 1700, possibly longer hours on weekends.

- Flow is a bit choppy in places. After riding the lift to the top, holes 1 & 10 are up the path to the right, then walk back past the lift to find tees 2 & 11 to the left. It actually makes more sense to play number-1, re-trace your steps up the hill, then play number-10, which plays back towards the lift. This allows you to start at tee-11 the second portion of your round. Later, the most obvious teesign, to the left of basket-12, is white-14 - the tees for number-13 are to the back right, so after finishing number-13, turn back left to find the tees for number-14.

- Chance of disc loss is on the high side. Numbers 2 & 11 have large ponds near them/along flightpaths. Several baskets are set near/in the small pockets of trees that separate the ski slopes. Because the copses of trees aren't extremely dense, plenty of sunlight infiltrates them. This generates very thick undergrowth, which isn't mowed/cut, because it doesn't interfere with skiing, but it certainly makes finding discs very difficult!

- Extreme downhill numbers 3 & 15 give you plenty of opportunity to watch your disc fly ... far away into the sunset, or dense trees, or thick underbrush, or wherever they may eventually land (I think my Wraith on #15 is still flying, several weeks later). You then have a treacherous walk down the steep decline prior to initiating your search(es).
Other Thoughts:
* Two 9=hole loops, starting up and to the right of the lift exit, finishing to the left and slightly above the entry to the lift.

* Flightpaths on most holes were quite open, accommodating a wide variety of approaches, with a bit of left-turn bias. What obstacles (typically trees, occasionally a ski-related structure) a hole might have were most frequently near the basket - only a few times were there any obstacles near/mid flight.

* About half the holes had some loss in elevation, about half were flat/cross slope, and only a couple had any regaining of elevation.

* Favourite hole: #2. Water along the right side the first half, thick line of bushes and small trees the last half along the left side, one tree dead straight at the 2/3rds mark, and a few scattered trees near the basket to toughen the approach.

* Least favourite hole: #17. Low/mod 100s, up slope, wide open except for one large hardwood near the basket.

* Playing disc golf on a ski slope in general, at Seven Springs in particular, may not be for everyone, but it poses challenges different than what you'll find at a typical disc golf course - certainly give it a try at some point in your dg-career.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 You really should be here

5+    9/5/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best settings for disc golf in Pennsylvania. You get to ride the lift to the top of the mountain and play 9 holes back down to the bottom. Then ride the lift back up and play the back 9 back down to the bottom.

It really is a great course with many fun holes. You will get to throw your discs farther than you ever have before. A lot if fun holes. Hole 2 is a great hole over a pond to a protected basket about 600 feet away. A tough hole unless you are Tyler Horne and can throw the disc all the way to the basket from the long tee.

The views
The holes
The experience
Cons: The grass used to be pretty high here, but the resort is now cutting the grass and keeping it mowed nicely.

Signs have just been installed so it is easier to find your way around, but you will still need a map to find the next tee from the previous holes. I am sure this will be fixed in time. the course is still in the development stage.

The main lift is only open on the weekend, so if you come on a weekday you will either have to walk to hole 1 from the end of the smaller lift or play the alternate holes 1 and 10 that have been installed.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course for players who have a littlebit of skill. There are 3 sets of tees to make it enjoyable for everyone. But it really becomes a great course if you have some skills.

Goosebumps is a blast. 900 feet downhill that can be reached with a putter.

7 springs is one of my favorite courses to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Not Good!

1    8/13/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: lady player
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 29.6 Years
4 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The only thing I liked about this course was the ride up the ski lift!
Cons: After getting off the ski lift, the experience literally went downhill from there!
1st problem, signage was really bad- had a hard time finding tees, even with a map!
2nd problem- natural tees on the side of a ski mountain requires footing of a billy goat! Always throwing off balance and worried about twisting an ankle or falling down.
3rd problem- yeah, there were a couple of nice views, but for the most part the course was just plain ugly.
4th problem, lots of undergrowth and wind caused too many worries of the course eating the discs.
Other Thoughts: I've played a few courses over the past 25 years and have to say this one was just plain awful. Would not recommend.

4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Seven Springs = definitely one of the 7 wonders of Western PA disc golf!

1    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great amenities nearby with disc rentals, a handy map, refreshments, lodging, and other recreational opportunities.

- I really liked the spread on the red, white, and blue tees. All seemed reasonable for the respective skill levels, but still provided some challenges to make par

- Love the true par 4's and 5's!

- A great place to see your discs' full potential. Naturally, hole #15 (goosebumps) is an epic hole, but my favorite was #3, which is another steep elevation drop into a well-guarded grove of trees. Thus, taming your disc on its steep descent to the basket it only half the battle!

- The corkscrew hole (#6) is definitely one of the most unique holes I've encountered, with a switchback that would give most mountain bikers nightmares. Finding a shot appropriate for this hole is difficult, and makes it all the more exciting

- Best disc golf views in Western PA! You can see for miles on a good day! I can imagine this place being incredible in the autumn months.

- Water hazards! Hole #11 is very fun, as you have to deal with two bodies of water on either side of you. The key is a nice straight shot with a subtle right fade. Will the water mess with your head?

- Finally, there's no better feeling than seeing your disc soar downhill in a gorgeous S-pattern.
Cons: - I'm not sure if this is always the case, but the grass was very high (> 2 feet in some places) on the fairways -- kind of makes it hard find discs and throw rollers! Speaking of losing discs, I don't think I've ever spent so much time looking for discs. Between my two friends and I, we probably spent the excess of an hour looking for over 25 discs throughout the day. I think this partially due to the dense overgrowth off the fairway and the windy course's tendency to punish bad shots and make overstable discs seemingly understable. Oh, not to mention that you are throwing down some of the steepest holes in the mid-atlantic region! I suppose you're bound to lose track of some discs.

- Hole #14. Feel free to disagree, but I don't like this hole at all. You have to throw hundreds of feet down a blind hillside while trying to avoid the ski lifts. Then, the basket is narrowly placed in between very dense rough and a road that is out of bounds. This road, which is lined with condos, runs parallel to most of the fairway and just seems a little unfair and punitive. It just isn't a fun throw and pales in comparison to many of the other spectacular ones.

- I hate to list he $6 lift fee as a con, seeing as how it's incredibly beneficial to play the front and back nines.

- Missing basket on 12 (we decided to play safari and use a tree as a target)

- I found it a little tough to find the first time, but once I started playing, navigation was pretty intuitive.

- Holes are predominantly downhill and, with the exception of a trace number of holes, no technical challenges; I suppose this is standard for a ski hill course, and throwing uphill at this place would be suicide. Some variation in elevation, however, would make Seven Springs even better. Also, the shot selection seems to favor the south-paws, which I suppose is a pro if you're left-handed.
Other Thoughts: If you're having trouble looking for the course as a first-timer, go to the main area with the lodging and the lifts and look for the "Adventure Center" -- that's where you can get your lift pass, map, and rental discs if necessary. It's also where you can take the lift to the first hole.

Seven Springs is a great place to go in the winter for skiing/snowboarding, but I have to say that I enjoy the summer even better! This was my first time visiting in the warm months, and disc golf was only one of the reasons I enjoyed being here.

Despite what seems like a low rating for such a rave review, this course is top-notch. What differentiates it from say Moraine/Knob Hill/Deer Lakes is the shot selection, change in relief/terrain, and utter ego-breaking challenge provided. With that being said, this is certainly not your typical ski-hill course and it's characteristic of the superior caliber of the greater Pittsburgh-area courses. Make the visit and have a blast!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular Seven Springs

2-4    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A whole bunch of spectacular extreme shots. Well-designed Par 3s, Par 4s, and Par 5s that will make you giddy when you step to the tee. In addition to elevation, the course is designed to let you have a lot of fun with groves of trees at the tee and near the basket. There are 6 steep downhill holes, 2 long less steep downhill holes, and 10 more that play at the base or across Seven Spring's ski slopes. Riding the chairlift makes for a unique disc golf experience, and playing the holes on top of the mountain is a lot of fun.

The course actually is very satisfying in terms of rewarding good shotmaking. As strange as it sounds for a course built on the side of a mountain, throw good shots and you'll be looking at birdie putts. Shorter arms should still have opportunities for birdies on most Par 4s and Par 5s. There's also a fair balance between lefty and righty-favored holes.

The amount of air you get to play with on your tee shots makes this a phenomenal course that I'd even love to play on a regular basis.

The snack shack at the bottom of the hill was a nice bonus.
Cons: The holes decrease in memorability as you go from top to bottom of the hill. Also, it might have just been because the course had just opened for the winter, but it's hard to navigate without a map (which is accurate...follow it) and not all tees markers had been set up. Paths down the hill were not yet mowed in some places. Where they were mowed, the grass clumps could eat discs (I lost a bright orange putter thrown right down the middle of Hole 15 that landed somewhere between the ledge and the basket). Tees are just marked in the grass, which decreased driving distance but otherwise weren't too much a problem.

I think I'd prefer the blue tees to be a little more challenging, as shooting par would not really feel satisfying. Pros should tear this course apart. In particular, I'd like to see more difficult blue tee positions for some of the shorter Par 3's, especially 11 and 17 (and maybe 1, 5, 8, and 13).
Other Thoughts: It's a grueling course, especially if you're still learning to control your discs. Plan for intense hiking and being under the sun for a long time. I can't imagine playing this course over the course of an afternoon at the height of summer. I don't know if it's possible, but next time, I might try to arrive two hours earlier than the lift starts (10/11am), park at the top of the hill and try to be done by lunch.

The tees look to play at the PDGA Color Rating: 950 for blues, 900 for whites, and 850 for reds.

Find some reason to get to Seven Springs Resort, because it's worth the trip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: b13ecker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: By far my most favorite course played.

When you first begin you take a trip up the ski lift to the top of the mountain to play the first 9 which takes you to the bottom then you take the lift back up to complete the second nine

The two water holes make the golfer think on how to approach and utilize accuracy to make the good shot.

I dont recall using a distance driver one time because accuracy is needed on many fairways in order to stay out of the woods


On the front nine good mix between holes on flat terrain to the downhill holes.

Challenging but awesome standing on top of the mountain and being able to throw a shot 500 feet downhill.

Great course only costs 6 dollars a round
Cons: Better watch your disc.
Spotters almost completely necessary on a couple holes

If you shaft any shots it can be challenging to find. Two of us played and we searched about 4 times for discs which we found all of them but some of the wooded areas are hard to find your discs
Other Thoughts: Make sure you grab a map before you play at the desk incase you get lost or mixed up on a couple holes like we did

Great course worth the six dollar lift ticket fee AWESOME TIME

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the lift ticket price but not a huge challenge

1    7/1/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I should establish from the start - I'm a disc golf hacker. I know some expert skills and strategies, but can't really apply them. My son, daughter and I played this course from the whites.

The skilift is a great way to get the round started. Very well-designed routing to make use of the available space. The downhill walk wasn't nearly as bad as we had imagined it would be. Only two straight-down knee-aching descents. The 3rd and the 15th. The two water holes - 2nd and 11th - are good challenges. You can choose your tee area to limit the carry - it's a risk without making the holes impossible for novices. The tee boxes are very well-marked, always easy to find once you figure out the general direction. Excellent baskets.

Favorite holes:
The 2nd - Fair amount of space on the left to avoid the right-side pond. Basket is well-placed within trees, not too dense to ruin all hopes of a clear putt.
The 4th - Long sidehill fairway with a line of trees to shoot through at the halfway point.
The 7th - Very short and downhill with lanes of trees to navigate for the putt.
The 11th - Second water hole. Short enough to drive across for any skill level, with large evergreens to catch a shot that goes left.
The 15th - Massive open fairway, but the woods still come into play for drifting discs. Plenty of depth on the ledge to create a fair landing area at the basket.
The 16th - Easy relatively gradual downhill with a few ski lift buildings to help frame the fairway.
Cons: All natural tee areas, which is understandable. Several of them are too uneven to afford any kind of runup. It's not especially practical to get in a second round of 18. You'd have to pay for another set of lift tickets ($5 in our case). Long flying discs and thick treeline brush adds up to a lot of time hunting for discs, at least it did in our case. My son, daughter and I spent 4 hours for 18. Even with perfect aim and half that time another immediate round might be tough to justify.

There's not too much call for specialized shot-making. The key is to be straight, and limit the drift, on just about every hole. The 14th is the most extreme example of this situation. A long straight gradual downhill, with condos on the right, and thick woods on the left. Suffered our one lost disc on that hole. The 6th hole is maybe the one exception. But it's so serpentine that you can't really throw the perfect hyzer or s-curve without a fair amount of luck as well. The 17th, the one uphill, seems like a bit of a throwaway, especially from the whites.
Other Thoughts: You can see a long way from the top of the ski slopes. But with all the new condo construction at the top, and hotel lodges dominating the base, including some massive Holiday-Inn style boxes, it's not really a spectacular view.

The course plays fairly open and easy in spite of the length - several gradual downhills and open approaches make for birdie opportunities. You could conceivably lose a lot of distance with a wayward sidehill shot, but that wasn't a problem for us. The grass is thick and doesn't permit a lot of downhill rolling.

No signs to get you from one tee to the next. Follow the scorecard map and you'll be fine. Discs are available for rent at the adventure center. We were the only golfers on the course the day we played.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center