Bloomington, MN 
Hyland Ski & Snowboard Area - 18 Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 425ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Love this course

5+    7/14/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: professorkevlar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long arms will have an advantage here. The course is relatively open, except # 4 and #6. It is nice that it's a pay to play, which keeps the traffic down. The clubhouse sells dics, food and has a great beer selection. The elevation changes and mixture of short, long and very long holes, keeps it interesting everytime.
Cons: Don't really have any except, #14 is such a long uphill hole. It's not a negative, just can wear somebody out.
Other Thoughts: Get the season pass, it will pay for itself (especially if you play Elm Creek and Bryant Lake). The guys in the clubhouse are helpful and very friendly.
2 Things: 1) When playing #18, a 720' downhill hole, empty the bag and let em' fly!
2) After a round, I like to get a cold beverage and play "pig" at the practice basket. A great way to unwind and also practice your putting. Good luck and have fun!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hyland is great

2-4    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: Jedi-D85
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a great course to start.
The maps are great areal view to help out instead of the drawings most have.
The clubhouse is wonderful to get food and drink, before, during and after your round(s).
The pay to play is great as it keeps this clean and well maintained with benches in the area and really no trash to speak of.
Everyone from the golfers, to us disc golfers and the runners are all very careful of each other and friendly.
Good mix of elevation and wooded tunnel shots.
Most of the holes are open holes but do require shot placement and different techniques which I like as you can work on your drives and big shot placement. The shorter tunnel shots are wonderfully designed and give you an extra level of technique usage.
The tee boxes are concrete and have great length on them as some of holes need some power on them.
The scorecards are very nice and area a great feature.
Wind flags are very nice and help your shot decision helps your shot as well as see the baskets.
Cons: The holes could use some next tee pins/arrows from the baskets to the next pin.

Be prepared to walk up and down but you should expect this as it's a ski resort.

I would like a water hole, but I understand why there isn't one.
Other Thoughts: Very nice, clean, and enjoyable with other activities in the area. get the season pass...you'll be back!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Thoughts

5+    9/1/2011   4/5/2012
Review By: AWine44
Played: 77  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The elevation and the mix of long/medium/short holes is great. Part of the 3 Rivers DG courses (Hyland, Elm Creek, Bryant Lake) so a season pass is available. Course traffic is never an issue.
Cons: Only open from around April to early Oct.
Other Thoughts: There is a ton of reviews already. But I love this course and wanted to give my two cents. I play it a ton every year and it never lets me down.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun elevation

1    10/1/2011   1/15/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a ski hill, with elevation as the major factor on many holes. Most holes play on the ski runs, with tree lines and ski lifts coming into play as obstacles. A handful of holes play more technical with more trees and brush in play forcing you to hit tighter lines. You'll really need to focus on shot placement here, with rollaway potential on most holes and a dearth of flat landing zones. There is an excellent mix of uphill and downhill holes, along with some tricky shots across the slopes where it's easy to fade or roll down the hill if your shot doesn't do exactly what you intend. The finishing hole is an excellent top of the world shot: open enough to air it out but a few obstacles to keep you honest including a tree line to the left where RHBH shots could potentially fade out. On a day where the course isn't crowded you'll definitely want to empty your bag.

I was pleasantly surprised by the conditions here. Most ski hill courses end up overgrown, this one was nicely mowed and the wooded areas were fairly clear of brush and dead sticks etc. on the fairways. There are nice roomy concrete pads, another big plus you don't often see on this type of course. The chalet has nice bathrooms, and you can get snacks, discs and drinks at the little shop inside. The course loops back to the bottom halfway through.
Cons: Navigation is an issue at times, even with the course map provided at the ski shop. There are some long walks that aren't really obvious, a handful of next tee signs would go a long way. The tee signs aren't always that descriptive, you might have to walk ahead to look at the few blind shots.

I love elevation shots, but as fun as they are this course still gets a bit repetitive. Too many of the holes are pretty open, a few more shots in the wooded areas of the property would make it a much more well rounded course.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a good time here, but it'll be a long day. There is a good amount of distance, and the wooded holes have enough brush to really punish errant shots. Inaccurate throwers will end up with long comeback shots on the big hills. More experienced players will find some fun shot placement challenges, and the wind on the open hills will really test disc choice and punish poor execution.

If you're not in great shape or have mobility problems, this course isn't for you. It's a long walk with lots of hills, and you'll often be throwing from awkward stances.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Holy elevation Batman!

1    9/30/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Offers elevation changes that you won't find anywhere else in the area if that's your cup of tea.
-One of the longer courses in the Twin Cities, you'll need your power arm on numerous holes.
-There's no denying that hole 18 is just plain and simple fun. 715' down a ski hill, it's delightful fun to empty your bag on that hole just to see how far you can throw it.
-Foliage/trees come into play more than I expected considering it's on a ski hill.
-You'll get in really good shape in no time playing this course
-Good scorecard with a map that you'll get with your $3 fee
-Nice, long concrete tee pads that are in good shape
-Signs have all the necessary information on them at each tee
Cons: -The elevation changes gets to be a bit tiresome by the end of a round
-If you're not physically fit, don't bother coming here. You will be absolutely gassed by the end of a round.
-The flow from hole to hole is questionable at best between some of the holes, despite having a map on the back of the scorecard I still had to wander around to find the next tee pad on several occasions.
-The course could be a little more compact to reduce walking between the holes, or more holes could be added as there is definitely more real estate that could be used. There is easily enough available area to make this at least a 27 holer.
-It's a little confusing on several holes on the front 9 as to where the basket is located; it might be necessary to walk a few of the holes prior to teeing off to see how to shape your shot appropriately.
Other Thoughts: First off, this course is pretty brutal to walk. Keep this in mind when preparing to come here. You'll want to wear good shoes to walk in and while you're at it you should probably pack some bug spray as well as there were some gnats that got annoying near the woods. The course seems like it would be tough because of the extreme elevation changes, but it really isn't all the difficult; you can get a decent score here. Hole #14 is pretty ridiculous, it's 545' straight uphill. That being said, it's a par 5 and is definitely a hole that you can birdie. Hole #18 is a truly epic hole; 710' straight down the ski hill. This hole is just plain fun; unload your bag (if no one is behind you) and just bomb drive after drive down the hill.
The only facilities on the course are at ski chalet where there are drinks (both alcoholic and otherwise), snacks, and a pro shop (that only has discs for sale). It really only makes sense to get to the chalet before starting and after hole #9, so keep that in mind.
By this point I probably sound like a broken record, but this course provides something that I haven't really seen on any other course in the area; extreme elevation changes. It really adds a different element to disc golf and a lot of courses don't have it. If that isn't your cup of tea I'd still at least pay a visit to this course once, it is a nice course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 WOW what a hilly course

2-4    9/6/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: frylock
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well for pros where can I start?
~The elevation use was phenominal
~All nice DGA baskets
~Not a lot of trees to punish you but they are still definitely in play!
~Staff and people playing the course were very helpful and informative
~The views on this course were SPECTACULAR
Cons: Really not too many cons:
~Skiing equipment in the way, not to a horrible extent. But not necessarily a con, more a neusance
~A lot of up, down, uuuuuppppp, dooooowwwwwnnnnn. Bring your hiking shoes.
~GNATS. Inhaled about 20 of them through out the day, bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Overall my cons weren't so much serious, just complaints. This is a very fun, and challenging course. Had my drivers out all day! So warm up that throwing arm and get yourself a couple of good 'rips' on 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A More Gentle Ski Hill Disc Golf Course!

1    7/22/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Compared to the higher, more rugged, more mountainous, disc golf courses on ski slopes that I've played in the western US, Hyland is just a touch more gentle. Granted it's still a workout but this course was groomed. I really liked that aspect. Even on # 18 here, with an errant throw, you could still par the hole. I liked the cleverly constructed benches made out of out snowboards. The scorecards are top notch. Other ski courses I've played have had rough natural pads, here you have great, extra-long, grippy concrete pads. Also the entire course here is much more groomed/mowed then other ski courses I've played. Made for a much more comfortable round.

The costs $3 per round, or $5 per day for all day or $30 for a season's pass for all three courses is a very fair deal when you consider and see all the work that is done on these three courses.
There are some great views of downtown Minneapolis from the top.

And # 18 was indeed the signature hole here for me. 710 feet downhill with the basket just sitting down there awaiting your tee off. What I wouldn't give to have a big arm here.
Cons: I didn't care much for # 14. 545' straight up a nasty steep hill is not fun and borders on tortuous to me.
Physically, this is a good workout. You're plenty tired by the end. Bring water.
I never like throwing down or over gravel roads and pathways.
I had to walk ahead on quite a few holes to determine where the basket was.
Other Thoughts: I liked Hyland OK but wasn't completely thrilled with it. It just didn't take my breath away with it's design. It's an enjoyable course but it's missing that "It" factor for me. It's a good deal with the other two courses for the Three Rivers Pass. You gotta love the effort their putting into disc golf around the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A fun Hike

5+    4/23/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 104  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation Changes (Love Hole 14 and 18)
-Part of Three Rivers DG Seasonal Pass
-Mix of shots required not just straight rips
-Always maintained crispy!
-Fun.. Even when you throw bad just because of the terrain you will get some good shots to watch, regardless if they go right or left'
-Food and snacks as well as discs available to purchase
-Nice views from many holes
Cons: -Sometimes very busy
-Not as challenging for experienced players (many easy 2's)
...Having a hard time thinking of any others...
All Three Rivers DG Pass courses are GREAT!
Other Thoughts: Lots of hiking throughout the ski area make sure to stock up on fluids and wear good shoes. Get a season pass from Three Rivers and play Bryant/Elm a few times it will be paid for. No other pay to play courses can compete!

www.facebook.com/DiscGolfMN

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2009   10/5/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Long Holes
- Nice level cement pads
- Good signs
- Multiple pin placements
- Great views
- Wind makes a huge deal
- Severe elevation changes
- You will probably not enjoy this course if your not in descent shape
- Lots of ace runs...was surprised
- Worth the cost
- Great facilities
- Well manicured and clean
Cons: - No dogs allowed :(
- Too open, only a few holes have tight fairways
- I was expecting to be challenged more
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recomend this course. It is alot of fun throwing down the hill. I do suggest you be in descent shape before playing the course. It will wear you down fast if your out of shape. Also, give yourself the time to play at a casual pace.
It is fairly open on the majority of the course. It allows you to really work the shot you want without much regard for hitting trees. The few holes through the trees have good sized fairways which require good shot shaping to score well. If you can throw 350' on flat ground you will be able to reach most of the holes in one throw. Roll-aways and huge skips are big factors.
Front 9 is a little shorter so attack it hard and get your 2s. The back 9 gets considerably longer. Hole 14 is a butt-kicker, its steep, uphill, and long. Get your 2s and 3s where you can on the back and try to take as little damage as possible on 14 and 17. Hole 18 is a blast to unload your bag if no one is waiting on you.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Ultimate Hyland!

5+    4/11/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: The Parkers
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 36.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Challenging and fun experience every time I've played.
- New Layout of hole 5, and Hole 6 is now in play for 2010!
- Not usually busy.
- Holes are marked very well for first timers.
Cons: - Seasonal
- Maybe tough for rookies.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite Westside courses (along with Bryant Lake). My friends and I have played this course 50+ times and it never gets old! A must try for DG fans looking for a challenge!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.