Bloomington, MN 
Hyland Ski & Snowboard Area - 18 Share
Uploaded By: Jedi-D85 Hole #2 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 430ft.   3 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Country Club Living

5+    10/16/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: discgobisco
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Country Club oh how I love thee.
1- I'm a big fan of elevation change, and there is nair a hole that doesn't satisfy or provide over satisfaction. A constant variety of short ups and long downs, short downs and looooong uphills.
2- Great layout with a relatively equal amount of shots that favor RHBH and LHBH.
3-Signature holes, 18 big bomb down hill, 14 big bomb up hill
4-Everything about the course is kept in really good condition. The pins are in great condition, most pins have chips in the "green" area. A lot of the pads have benches which come in really useful after some of the uphills
5- There is never anyone here. Where the country club name comes from, it's hardly ever busy, a great place to go after work and not have to worry about getting the round in.
6- Beer at the pro-shop is reasonably priced! Say you get done throwing a round in 85 degree july heat and are looking to throw another, but are most likely a bit tired, stop in for a 3.75 anchor steam and relax for a drink or two.
Cons: 1- Through no fault of the layout, the course is relatively open. They do a great job incorporating the trees that are around, but to get the 5 ranking in my book there has to be a few more technical wooded shots for me to double-boggy.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest playing the extra hole between 6-7 in the woods on the left if it's in, which it was for most of last season. A challenging hole in the woods, which is really what this course needs.
Also, don't let your friends complain about "how 14 sucks and you just throw up hill" which is true on both statements, because as tiring and frustrating of a hole as it is, it's really unique for the region.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation is the name of game.

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Plenty of parking.
-Waste Baskets @ tees
-Benches
-Nice concrete tees.
-Mach III Baskets
-Very nice scorecards
-This course will, if nothing else, teach you how to throw on elevation
-The few wooded holes that there were, had some nice design to them.
-Hole #18 is fun if you just want to see your disc fly for a long time.
-View from top of hill is pretty.
-Not very crowded, probably because this course is more of a workout than others around it.
Cons: -Hole #14 , this hole is a pain in the butt. Throw you disc up a steep hill for 545ft with nothing technical to it, just drive, hike, drive, hike.
-Some fairways were made up of gravel roads, will tear into discs.
-Outside of elevation, there was not very much in terms of hole design. (there were a few nicely designed ones)
-Signs weren't very helpful, had to scout ahead to locate basket many times.
-Closed for skiing in winter (unavoidable but still, if you want to play year round, you couldn't)
Other Thoughts: Bring water, you're in for a hike. This course has you thowing up and down a ski slope. It has the money put into it that it should really be a better course than it is in my opinion. If you are really are looking for an elevation challenge, you're in luck, otherwise I'd look elsewhere for your disc golf fix.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ultimate Elevation Course

1    9/11/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Dual concrete tees are always a positive and especially on a course with such massive slopes. If no concrete was in the stances would be really hard to play off of.

2) Elevation changes are obviously the most important design aspect on this course. Use of the elevation is also very good (although I would like to see more technical holes instead of just the elevation), because there are holes that go straight across the slopes (be careful not to turn the disc over (or stall out) and run way down the hill), a few that go straight up the hills which certainly add 25-40% to the effective distance, and even a few holes that go down the hills especially #18. #18 is the ultimate hole including elevation . . . the basket is sitting out there way in the open and calling for you to throw it close enough for a 2. It isnt easy to judge the wind or how far the disc will go. Just try and get it close to layup for a 3.

3) The wooded holes are pretty well designed, they use the trees effectively to challege your shots. I really enjoyed #16 which is a downhiller right to left. If you do not get far enough down the hill the branches might affect your shot. I got halfway down the hill and had to basically aim it into the ground 40' short of the basket and the wind got under it and lifted it up to park my second shot. It was just a cool hole and different enough of a hole.

4) Good variety in elevation usage. Across the slopes (2,5,8,12,15)
Uphill (1,3,4,10,13,14,17)
Downhill (6,7,9,11,16,18) Obviously what goes up must come down, but they did a good job balancing the overall elevation change.

5) Awesome amenities with a snack bar, pro shop, bathrooms. It is hard to believe there were like 5-10 employees there, not sure what else happens around that place in the summer, but I did see 5 or 6 other people running in this park.

6) Course was mowed but not too tight. Some disc will catch in the longer grass, and it will also help to prevent brutal rollaways. I did 3 putt from 25 because I hit the basket twice and it bounced off and rolled back to me on the sloped fairway on #5. It could have been worse with a shorter mowed turf!

7) Awesome views, despite the fact it was a little cloudy when I was there. The lake (albeit for snow making) at the bottom, the business section of Bloomington in the near distance, and apparently downtown in the far distance (not visible when I was there because of clouds).

8) Tee signage was ok. . . I agree those DGA signs arent the greatest but they ar ebetter than nothing.
Cons: 1) A few of the holes play across and around stone and gravel paths. I know they cannot remove the roads because equipment has to get around there, but they are certain to do some damage to your discs.

2) As far as elevation goes this is probably the ultimate course, but it seems to be too heavily relied upon in the design. I would like to see some more technical holes in the woods, or even some of the hilly holes to tuck the baskets more rather than having them in the wide open.

3) Erosion is a problem on some holes including some of the gravel roads. Obviously this will be a problem on a course with this much elevation changes. Obviously the turf (or weed) is covered by compacted snow for much longer than normal grass so whatever they can do to keep any vegetation on the slopes is what they do. Erosion would be much worse if the clover hadn't taken over the hills.

4) Not necessarily a negative about the course but I found getting a good planted foot and good setup to be very difficult on this course. It is a negative only because it affected how I threw. I will not downgrade the overall score because of this because it is simply related to the elevation. It just goes hand in hand with the elevation and left me feeling less about this course (again not because of design or anything it just is to be expected on a course with these slopes).

5) Not beginner friendly, it will only frustrate. Thats ok though, what beginner discer would want to climb all those hills.

6) Brutal to walk, its tough to climb the hills and be ready to throw. It is also tough to walk across all of those slopes, I found my feet hurting after the round, but it didn't stop me from plahying one more course. It is a good workout however as well as a challenge.

7) Signage between holes could be improved. There is also a long walk from #6 to #7 as you traverse the top of the hill. It takes you around the driving range . . . and there are balls all the way at the top so look out if it is busy.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course underimpressed with the design of the holes. Most of the holes only used the elevation to create the challenege. Too many of the holes just went straight up, down, or across the hills. I know it is a skihill but they could certainly have used more trees to their advantage. I would have liked to see more baskets tucked up to woodlines or even into some openings into the woods. It was a challenging course but almost only because of the slopes and elevation changes. There were a handful of tough challenging fun holes like #3, 4, 6(although not too tough, I liked its setup), 10,15, 16 so this course does still receive a 3 or 3.5 rating from me, but I think they could have taken better advantage of the wooded areas on this course. I did have fun especially being able to thow about 600' for the first time in my life. I now know how to throw off a hill like that and had yet to figure it out. I did want to throw all the discs in my bag just to see how they reacted, but was afraid I would forget where half of them went. Obviously #18 is the signature hole on this course and it does not disappoint. My buddy even threw the disc all the way onto the platform where you would get on the skilift. He was shocked because the previous time he played there he shanked his drive and lost the disc, so he was grateful to go back and get a chance to beat that hole!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Skilaufen? Vielleicht?

5+    8/17/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: grimace
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Learn how to throw on hills. up down sideways, hyzer into hills hyzer down the hill. some short some long, one really grueling up hill trek. the trek up to the top is worth it. well groomed
Cons: not a beginner course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A physical challenge

1    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of throws testing your skills
-elevation
-concrete tees
-decent signage
-well-groomed
Cons: -Hole #14 (see below)
Other Thoughts: As the name implies, the course is located on a ski area that obviously has plenty of elevation changes. With one exception, all of the holes use the elevation well whether it's uphill, downhill or sidehill. Many different shot shapes and hole distances to test your skills. It flows from one end of the facility to the other with a couple of criss-crosses toward the end. For a pay-to-play facility, it could use better signage than the standard DGA cut and paste variety that they use. Also, if you haven't played here before, make sure to grab a score card at the chalet as the course map will come in handy when you can't find the next hole or accidentally play to the wrong basket.

Naturally, with its steep nature, it's a physically demanding course requiring a lot of walking and climbing, so beware of that.

One hole I had a problem with was #14, which according to the sign, measures 500+ feet. Mind you, this is all straight uphill. This hole requires nothing more than throwing as hard as you can straight up. Not very fun.

In all, it's a decent place to play and since it's a pay course, the place will be maintained and improved upon in the future. I thought it was well worth the $3 I spent, even though one hole was closed due to some construction on-site.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/21/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Par 72 Course Design
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenges every aspect of your game. Ski hill course, expect a physical challenge. Great big tee pads. Great pro shop with food, beer, discs and gear. Very well taken care of. Many ski hill courses have overgrown grass and hard to find disc areas, not Hyland. (except hole #18). Hole #18 is 700 ft straight down, reachable with if a putter if the wind is right. Never crowded. Great compliment to the other 2 Three Rivers Courses. $30 is far to cheap for these 3 AWESOME courses. Heck, they turn the lights on for us for league night!!!
It'll get you in shape!
Cons: It has to close for the winter season.
Scares away lazy disc golfers. (actually a pro). Not long enough, too many short holes IMO. Once they close the ball golf driving range we will be redesigning to be longer and more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play is the future of Disc golf. Too many people play now and the courses physically can't handle it. More people = more problems, vandlism, litter, loud rude folks ect.... Pay to play will eliminate majority of this making sure disc golf is here for the long haul. Hyland rocks, if you don't like it, odds are you are out of shape.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...

1    7/16/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: D.W.G.
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The exceptional views of the surrounding cities... A few nice holes...
Cons: Having to pay to play an "OK" course... The footing on many of the holes is poor at best(ruts, holes, ect.)
Other Thoughts: This isn't a course that I will play again... Nothing special, and a little too demanding for my taste...

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The elevation change is the clearest strong point here. Uphill annies, down hill bombs, 300' steep down-hillers that need to be precisely hyzered. Sometimes, you've got to hurl two bombs straight up hill, into grades that make your longest shot seem like a wussy girlie man. Suck it up, though, the down hill shots more than make up for it.
Cons: I admit that despite its high quality, the physical investment necessary keeps me away more than it should. The hills make it tough, but it's important to keep it in mind. Not only do you need to throw well, but you've got to conquer the demands Hyland puts out.
Other Thoughts: Thirty dollar pass is definitely the way to go. Especially now that the third Three Rivers course is open.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly as hell

1    6/18/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: krallbd
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The courses managers take extremely good care of this course, lots of variety of shots needed and a challenging course.
Cons: A plethora of uphill and downhill shots that will tire you out tremendously. Also, not sure if is worth the fee to play

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Hills

5+    6/9/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: widespread55
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I loved the elevation changes on this course.It also has a good mix of open and heavily wooded holes. I also like the workout you get while playing. Tees and baskets are all good and its pretty easy to find your way around.
Cons: Can be easy to lose a disc on a few holes. Watch out for poison ivy and out of control discs.
Other Thoughts: I have a season pass and will be playin this course a lot

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.