Wilbraham, MA 
Crane Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #12 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 217ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Diverse and fun

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Basshunter
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of open versus wooded, elevation change and left versus right finishing holes. Basket placements offer diversity of holes where you need to play it safe, complemented by a number of holes where you aren't afraid to go for it. Hole 14 is a gem, it may be short but you better pick the right right disc and the right line. You could easily warm up by playing a hole 1 to hole 18 loop a few times if it isn't busy. Two baskets for each hole offer a couple different layouts. Locals were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Confusing layout for those who aren't familiar with the course. Because of lack of signage, sometimes need to walk up the fairway a bit to find baskets and figure out your lines. Not always immediately clear which layout a basket is for.
Other Thoughts: I don't usually write reviews, but felt Crane Hill deserved a recent one. I really enjoyed this course. Although the lack of signage could be frustrating the first couple of times you play it, I think after a couple of rounds you'd have no problem. Install some picture signs with the alternate basket placements and better signage from basket to next tee and there would be no cons here. Definitely will go back as often as I can.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rubber Tee Pads

5+    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: maddymiata
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As of October 29, 2013 the course has alternate baskets at every hole. 36 holes total now! Nice variation of wooded and open shots. Nice use of elevation. Good flow to holes.
Cons: Lack of signs. Muddy parking late winter and early spring.
Other Thoughts: All Tee Pads are rubber now.(since fall '11) This has not been changed on the course review yet. It has improved the course quite a bit. New signs are going in this year! Nice course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pristine, natural course

5+    3/28/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Anselm
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FOR COURSE MAP AND SCORECARD:
http://www.wilbraham-ma.gov/P...portsdiscgolf

I have played 8 different courses, in Massachusetts, Connecticut, Texas, and Florida (including Cliff Stephens, home of Ken Climo), yet Crane Hill is the most beautiful course I have ever played. The designers have done a fantastic job preserving dramatic natural elements of the property and incorporating them into the course. A few examples come to mind: The old-growth oak on 8 has a huge branch that hangs low over the fairway, forcing a low flick or turnover drive from us RHBH throwers. Another, even bigger oak shades the 9th tee, which has a ring of benches around it. A stream gurgles its way down the hill next to the tee (it's a downhill drive), following the fairway its entire length, making for a beautiful spot to take a break. Here the RHBH-friendly fairway follows an old footpath, and at 350+ feet in the middle of the woods, this hole requires both power and precision. The new hole 14 (aka "The Ravine Hole") is my favorite on the course; the ravine itself leads down to Twelve Mile Brook, which forms the northern border of the course. At the 14th tee, the ravine is less than 200 feet wide; it's short but kept interesting by a narrow driving window framed by 2 tree trunks. The basket is perched just on the far edge of the ravine, so an unlucky landing may well roll to the bottom, 30 feet below the rim (oh yeah - don't fall off the tee!). Watching people drive from the bottom of the ravine reveals the genius of this hole - while the net elevation change is ~0, the fairway is 30 feet up in the trees! Finally, your round will end with a wide-open, slightly downhill 380' drive across the field to the pin, which is nestled in a stand of low (apple?) trees. It's a lot of fun to really let loose with a driver on this easy hole, especially after taking some bogies on 15 and 16 (which will probably happen as often as not).
Cons: Crane Hill is a tough course! Forget about driving the pin on most holes; shooting even par requires a proficient shot every time, and in the woods, you'd better be darn near perfect - or better yet, lucky. Some holes like 6 and 11 have no clear route to the basket, so luck will often decide between birdie, par or much worse. Other holes have only one realistic route to the basket, so it's hard to get creative, especially after an errant drive.

Many people have complained about navigation on the course. There used to be nice plywood signs, but they didn't last more than a year or two. At the beginning of my review I posted a link to the original course map, but 13 and 14 are slightly different after some recent changes.

People have also complained about the natural tee pads, but I have been told by the course designer that cement pads are in the works.
Other Thoughts: For more info about course changes and EVENTS (i.e. doubles league, monthly tourneys), check out New England Flying Disc Association: nefa.com

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: great white buffalo
Played: 55  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was a very good variety of holes here. The course was thoughtfully layed out for the land. There were a few holes that were what I would consider memorable. There was good elevation changes, and the fairways were clear enough to experience good flight. The baskets were of good quality with the exception of 13 which had no basket. Just the base and a stick sticking out of it. 15 was a super cool hole that shot over a deep gully. The course was something that would be worth the trip to anyone in the general area. I really enjoyed my playing part of the course. Notice I said "playing". I would go here again if in the area.
Cons: Since I Noted "playing" let me explain. As you have or will read in other reviews about this course, the navigation info at the course here is among the worst I have ever come across. Only one other course I have played in Oklahoma was worse. I would venture to say without a doubt I spent as much time trying to find the next hole as I did playing. It really sucks to be on a high from just sinking a birdie to really blowing your next drive because your frustrated from spending 10 minutes trying to find the next tee. After walking up and down trail after trail and not even being sure that where you are throwing from where you are supposed to be. I had even read the reviews the night before about "piss poor" navigation as one reviewer put it. So I went to the town web site and printed a map of the course. The map did help some. Don't get me wrong. It was just a very bad experience as far as navigation was concerned.
Other Thoughts: To those of you who play this course regularly, please think of us out of towners who are visiting your wonderful course, and put up some signs, flags pavers or something to aid us in experiencing what there is to offer here. Even taking a sharpie and writing on the tee signs that are old and unreadable. Playing here has made me want to rethink the navigation on my home course to see if there are any areas that need better signage.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for All Skill Levels

5+    8/19/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: kretschy
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is located in a town owned "park", but more accurately is unused land converted to a disc golf course
-Course is secluded, so you don't have to worry about throwing over roads or near pedestrians
-Fair in its layout (good shots are rewarded, beginners have a chance, and advanced still find it challenging)
-Good mix of hole types forces lots of different shots (some low ceilings, wooded, open, narrow gaps) and this variety adds to a fun round
-New course so baskets are in excellent condition
-Practice basket is convenient right at the parking lot
-Free
Cons: -Natural tee boxes are very difficult to throw on in wet conditions (roots, rocks and dirt get really slippery)
-Tee Signs have not been well maintained (some are missing, some damaged)
-Baskets can be hard to see from a distance as there are no color markers
-I was lucky enough to play my first time with someone who knows the course well, but I could see the biggest con for a first timer to Crane Hill being the navigation. It can get confusing (3 to 4, 11 to 12, and 15 to 16 especially), so you may consider trying to meet up with locals or tagging along with someone there for your first time around.
-Hole 1 and 18 were really overgrown in June, but the course has been mowed since then
Other Thoughts: The course is still going through changes (the 13th hole is transitioning to a par 4 using the current 14th basket, and the 13th basket is being repositioned for a new 14th hole) and there is talk of putting in concrete tee pads. There is enough land here for another 18 in the future. I live only about a mile away, so I like the convenience, but I would drive farther to play this course in its current condition.

Added: Message me directly if you want any navigation details. I'd be more than happy to help anyone with course navigation if you plan on playing this course for the first time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Exciting Course, nice use of natural terrain.

1    6/15/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Decent signage, fun use of terrain. Baskets are in very good shape. Pretty easy to find out where to go. Nice diversity with some longer open holes, holes with elevation change, tight short holes, and holes friendly to righties and lefties.
Cons: Tee boxes and signage need updating. Was a bit overgrown when I played it. Mowing/trimming needs to be done to show more distinct fairways.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course and I want to return to play there again. Bring bug spray in the summer and bring water when its hot since you will get baked on some holes.

 More to Come

1    6/11/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: VenV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
Pros: This relatively new course is great and has lots of potential. Practice basket is a plus. There is a field big enough to warm up the longest drives I have.
Cons: I could not find any website or person with more information about this course. I had a hard time finding #2 from #1 and played 1, 18, 17, 2-16, which worked but meant I played the longest and maybe hardest hole last then had a long walk to my car. A course map would help. Too bad some of the hole signs have been vandalized.
Other Thoughts: Where are the folks that made this course? What happened that they have not put much information here?

 Crane Hill is Great

1    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: capedcodder
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free is good. Great course with everything. Open field, woods, uphill, downhill, long open shots, short technical shots. This course has the opportunity to become one of the better ones in the area. Well designed.
Cons: Not broken in yet. Lots of brush from lack of foot traffic. First time navigating was tricky at times but once the course breaks in it should be easier.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.