Wilbraham, MA
Crane Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: tracrat78 Hole #4 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 198ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: 198 no sign uphill to the right



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Diverse and fun

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Basshunter
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of open versus wooded, elevation change and left versus right finishing holes. Basket placements offer diversity of holes where you need to play it safe, complemented by a number of holes where you aren't afraid to go for it. Hole 14 is a gem, it may be short but you better pick the right right disc and the right line. You could easily warm up by playing a hole 1 to hole 18 loop a few times if it isn't busy. Two baskets for each hole offer a couple different layouts. Locals were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Confusing layout for those who aren't familiar with the course. Because of lack of signage, sometimes need to walk up the fairway a bit to find baskets and figure out your lines. Not always immediately clear which layout a basket is for.
Other Thoughts: I don't usually write reviews, but felt Crane Hill deserved a recent one. I really enjoyed this course. Although the lack of signage could be frustrating the first couple of times you play it, I think after a couple of rounds you'd have no problem. Install some picture signs with the alternate basket placements and better signage from basket to next tee and there would be no cons here. Definitely will go back as often as I can.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

2-4    3/19/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: DaleRox
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Open and wooded.....
Cons: Muddy driveway, No Trash Cans or picnic tables by by Tie box 1. The practice basket is in a mud pit. Some tie boxes are too short. Grass in open area's is long.

Navigating this course was very difficult being there are no markers or signs. You have to guess by following what looks to be a path or white paint on trees.

In the woods a lot of smaller trees could be cut down. It is obvious this course is not maintained very well.
Other Thoughts: About 20 volunteers, a couple of weekends, a few chain saws, a couple donated picnic tables and trash cans would make a world of difference. Not to mention the town of Wilbraham picking up the trash on the weekends would be the icing on the cake.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Local Gem

5+    3/15/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: Jbb817
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a practice basket right by the parking lot so you can warm up before your round. Well kept teepads and very few spots to lose a disc. Fairways are fair and the rough can be punishing but you very rarely feel cheated. Overall, this course provides a nice amount of challenge and makes you use a bunch of different shots to do well.

The course starts you off with an easy hole 1 to get you warmed up, open 300 or so foot shot. This is followed by a more challenging hole 2 that is still comparatively open. After you've had this chance to get warmed up, it's into the woods where you will be challenged to make good shots. Compared to other courses in New England, the fairways are not super tight, and they are definitely fair. As the course is currently laid out (see other thoughts for alternate pins), 3 is a straight shot down the tunnel, 4 is up hill about 200-250 then turning right and up the hill for another 150 or so, with plenty of rough on the sides. Hole 5 can be played with a turnover or flick down the left side of the fairway or there is a tight line down the right for a hyzer or straight shot.Hole 6 is downhill and to the right protected by some trees, both midrange hyzer and anny ficks work well. 7 brings you back uphill with an easy hyzer shot. 8 is a turnover or flick down the hill (sort of a longer, mirrored version of hole 6. Holes 9 and 10 really challenge you to hit the right line with the right disc and the right angle to get that birdie. Both are basically long shots down a narrow fairway with plenty of rough to punish you if you nail a tree. Hole 9 also has an OB stream behind the basket and down the right side of the rough. Holes 11 and 12 are shorter, both deucable, but 12 is a very tight tunnel shot that it's easiest to try and play a disc that will skip straight. 13 is an awesome and challenging shot, shooting out from the woods to the field then back into the woods, curling towards the left with a mando at the entrance back in. Then you've still got about another 150-200ft of work to do. Playing big skip shots, anny flicks, or sharp hyzers is important here. 14 is the hole everyone wants to deuce, incredibly short, but if you go long you are staring at a death putt down a huge hill. Also just enough trees to knock your disc down into the pit and you're looking at a put that is about 20 feet straight uphill. Hole 15 is just cruel, if you get into the rough, just pitch out and do not try to be a hero, it never works. 16, 17, and 18 all have you back in the open with 16 being a short placement drive then another drive to the basket (big turnover if you are playing to the long position). 17 is a turnover or flick and 18 is a great hole to finish on with a wide open slightly downhill shot about 350' away.
Cons: Bad signage, and going from hole 3 to 4 might confuse some people (hole 12 is right next to the end of 3 and many new players could easily end up skipping half the course).

Hole 15 will kick your ass. This is the only hole I really dread at this course.
Other Thoughts: There are alternate pin positions on holes 1, 3, 6, 8, 9, 16 and there were shorter positions (though I'm not sure they are used anymore) on 4, 12, 13, 15.

Random doubles league on Thursday evenings and a great community in general make this one of my favorite local courses for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/28/2012   10/29/2012
Review By: njdevilsphan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tee pads are flypads that are done well, no lumps and they are not slick, some are a little short but they are manageable.
Cons: There are NO signs at all. Only can find the next hole by followings paths and some had a rock under the basket pointing you in a general direction.
Other Thoughts: This is my first review. This course has a rating of 3.42 at the time of this review and I was like that's just way to high. The lack of signs and directions are the first thing you notice. It was hard to find the holes and if you did you did not know if you were playing them in the correct order because they aren't even numbered. Most baskets are blind and you have to walk up the fairway to see them. The OB is not marked by rope or anything you just have to guess whats OB. The fairways on a couple of holes start out fair but then like hundred feet to the basket its a crap shoot no real lines. There are a couple holes that have broken limbs and branches hanging down in the fairway. You throw a great shot the right line and boom branch hit right in the fairway they need to be trimmed up. This courses only saving grace are the tee's which are solid. A mix of open and wooded hole I like. and some I could do with out. Played 2 rounds here and they will be my last two.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/13/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: Franky4fangaz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice terrain..nice scenery...nice day of disc golf a lil of everything wood shots wide open shoots up hill and a interesting 14 th hole
Cons: Signs..almost none but I emailed the course layout out I found here to my phone and was relativly easy...and when we got a lil lost a local helped us right out and we were back on course
Other Thoughts: If you go down the road a lil to Springfield famous daves BBQ is not far and we ate there and it was excellent lunch..plus there's a lot of other places for lunch right around

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Rubber Tee Pads

5+    3/7/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: maddymiata
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 11/1/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As of October 29, 2013 the course has alternate baskets at every hole. 36 holes total now! Nice variation of wooded and open shots. Nice use of elevation. Good flow to holes.
Cons: Lack of signs. Muddy parking late winter and early spring.
Other Thoughts: All Tee Pads are rubber now.(since fall '11) This has not been changed on the course review yet. It has improved the course quite a bit. New signs are going in this year! Nice course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with experience

5+    7/6/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: hikeNdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great changes in elevation
Nice mix of open and tight holes
Great scenery
A challenge on every hole
Cons: Tee boxes need help
Navigation can be a problem
Other Thoughts: Many reviewers post that navigation is a problem, and I can see why. The signs are non existent and the little yellow arrows on the ground pointing you in the right direction are getting buried, however on Saturdays and Sundays there are usually plenty of locals who enjoy playing with new comers, myself included. Thursday nights the course hosts a random double's league. If you know where your going and aren't too picky about footing on drives, this course is a gem.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good location but a Navigation Travesty

1    5/28/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: medi0crities
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are challenging and fun, even though I was the caboose of our foursome. Nicely cut fairways, challenging inclines and declines and it's hard to lose your plastic which is a definite plus if you're a novice or intermediate frolfer.
Cons: The navigation is impossible. Faded signs at the tee's, if there are signs at all. The confusion can be very frustrating for everyone, stories of people leaving without playing the full 18 are circulating.
Other Thoughts: We went on a lovely spring day, very minimal bug issues. Also, there was only one other group out there on a Saturday, which is very nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pristine, natural course

5+    3/28/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: Anselm
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FOR COURSE MAP AND SCORECARD:
http://www.wilbraham-ma.gov/P...portsdiscgolf

I have played 8 different courses, in Massachusetts, Connecticut, Texas, and Florida (including Cliff Stephens, home of Ken Climo), yet Crane Hill is the most beautiful course I have ever played. The designers have done a fantastic job preserving dramatic natural elements of the property and incorporating them into the course. A few examples come to mind: The old-growth oak on 8 has a huge branch that hangs low over the fairway, forcing a low flick or turnover drive from us RHBH throwers. Another, even bigger oak shades the 9th tee, which has a ring of benches around it. A stream gurgles its way down the hill next to the tee (it's a downhill drive), following the fairway its entire length, making for a beautiful spot to take a break. Here the RHBH-friendly fairway follows an old footpath, and at 350+ feet in the middle of the woods, this hole requires both power and precision. The new hole 14 (aka "The Ravine Hole") is my favorite on the course; the ravine itself leads down to Twelve Mile Brook, which forms the northern border of the course. At the 14th tee, the ravine is less than 200 feet wide; it's short but kept interesting by a narrow driving window framed by 2 tree trunks. The basket is perched just on the far edge of the ravine, so an unlucky landing may well roll to the bottom, 30 feet below the rim (oh yeah - don't fall off the tee!). Watching people drive from the bottom of the ravine reveals the genius of this hole - while the net elevation change is ~0, the fairway is 30 feet up in the trees! Finally, your round will end with a wide-open, slightly downhill 380' drive across the field to the pin, which is nestled in a stand of low (apple?) trees. It's a lot of fun to really let loose with a driver on this easy hole, especially after taking some bogies on 15 and 16 (which will probably happen as often as not).
Cons: Crane Hill is a tough course! Forget about driving the pin on most holes; shooting even par requires a proficient shot every time, and in the woods, you'd better be darn near perfect - or better yet, lucky. Some holes like 6 and 11 have no clear route to the basket, so luck will often decide between birdie, par or much worse. Other holes have only one realistic route to the basket, so it's hard to get creative, especially after an errant drive.

Many people have complained about navigation on the course. There used to be nice plywood signs, but they didn't last more than a year or two. At the beginning of my review I posted a link to the original course map, but 13 and 14 are slightly different after some recent changes.

People have also complained about the natural tee pads, but I have been told by the course designer that cement pads are in the works.
Other Thoughts: For more info about course changes and EVENTS (i.e. doubles league, monthly tourneys), check out New England Flying Disc Association: nefa.com

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  INTERESTING

2-4    10/31/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: MOLDMAKER1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: DEFINETELY WELL PLANNED OUT. THE CHANGE IN ELEVATION AND THE CHANGE FROM OPEN FAIRWAYS TO WOODED FAIRWAYS IS INTERESTING. THE AREA IN WHICH THE COURSE IS SITUATED IN WILBRAHAM IS VERY NICE. ALL IN ALL A VERY PLAYABLE COURSE. I'M LOOKING FORWARD TO GOING THIS WEEKEND.
Cons: YUP NAVIGATION IS DIFFICULT AT TIMES. BUT ONCE YOU KNOW THE COURSE IT IS MORE ENJOYABLE.
Other Thoughts: I EMAILED THE PERSON THAT DESIGNED THE COURSE. HE DID EXPLAIN THAT HOLE 13 AND 14 ARE NOW COMBINED TO MAKE ONE HOLE, SO AVOID TEEING OFF ON THE 14TH TEE BOX WHICH IS STILL THERE. HOLE 14 IS NOW OVER A HUGH DITCH AND IS UNIQUE. GO AND CHECK THIS COURSE OUT, IT REALLY IS A NICE COURSE AND NICE AREA.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.