Wilbraham, MA 
Crane Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 357ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Great Potential

2-4    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: Waddly Hobbins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Scenery!
-Great condition Chainstar baskets
-Well designed, diverse course, course leans towards technical tight shots more than distance
-Good use of existing trails
-Creek nicely used as out of bounds on a few holes
-Course loops back to parking area
-Well mowed on areas that need it (grass isn't that thick anyways)
-Tee Signs are "cute"
-Natural seats and benches on hole 9
-Was not crowded when I went (Sat Afternoon during summer)
-Hills will offer a slight workout
Cons: -Natural tees are DANGEROUS/Distracting. Exposed roots and rocks are easy to trip on and avoiding them may mess up your drive. I couldn't see playing when it's wet or during winter.
-Navigation is a bit of a pain. There are vauge arrows at each basket to lead you to the next tee. It is easy to follow the wrong trail. I HIGHLY suggest trying to tag along with a local.
-"cute" signs (they have animal carvings on them) give you an idea of what the hole will be like, but I often had to scout to see where the basket really was.
-no waste baskets (there was slight litter)
-no bathrooms
-no Entrance sign to course (had to look for baskets from road while driving)
-tee sign for #4 missing
Other Thoughts: This course has amazing potential. I would have easily given it a higher scoreif it wasn't for some flaws. I was only playing this course as part of my visit to Massachusetts, so I don't know what plans are in place for this course, they may be improving it. The lack of cement tees is the biggest short coming for me. These tees really are dangerous and distracting. I found myself driving a lot shorter than I would normally just because I had to carefully approach the end of the tee area. I feel that if there were cement tees that this could quickly become a top level course. Detailed maps and more detailed signage would be great, too.

Please don't let these cons scare you away from this course! If you are careful on the tees and have sense of humor about getting lost (or can find a local to guide you,) you are going to have quite the amazing course to play. It's really beautiful and quite challenging.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crane Hill Nice Free Course

1    7/4/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Spoonie-J
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quiet, secluded course with well mowed, wide fairways. Nice baskets and partial signs.
Cons: Mostly natural tee boxes tend to be either muddy or rocky. No sign at hole 4 causes major confusion. No scorecards or maps.
Other Thoughts: A few open holes at the beginning and end but mostly in the woods. Pretty good variety but seemed like too many curved right. Not very hilly despite name(not nearly as much as Devens or Pyramids).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Crane Hill is Great

1    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: capedcodder
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free is good. Great course with everything. Open field, woods, uphill, downhill, long open shots, short technical shots. This course has the opportunity to become one of the better ones in the area. Well designed.
Cons: Not broken in yet. Lots of brush from lack of foot traffic. First time navigating was tricky at times but once the course breaks in it should be easier.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Very Nice

1    5/30/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Crazyguy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free to play
Nice mix of open and wooded, up and down, left and right holes
Clean
Fun to play
Cons: Navigation is sketchy on a few holes
Need a few hazardous putt baskets
Other Thoughts: Awesome and fun course - Love the course taking the landscape and using it well. Very natural feel to the course.
Thank you

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 very good free course

2-4    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: jkalish
Played: 116  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: free course, practice basket, mix of open and wooded holes, excellent signs show distance, elevation change, and an accurate map. NEW: yellow arrows point to next tee at each basket
Cons: hard to get birdies! Some garbage (glass and metal cans) embedded in the fairways. road to parking lot has many potholes, it hurts my seebring.
Other Thoughts: Great course! 0.5 miles south of Rt. 20 on crane hill Rd.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Free Course!

2-4    3/28/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: sumner420
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of land, elevation adds a real challenge. Lots of woody holes, fairly open fairways though. Some really big gun friendy holes on the back (in the open field) well mixed overall. Tee signs are great. Very pretty too. Free!
Cons: No map. Its tricky to navigate to the next tee with no sign to point the way. (the course does a criss-cross for a few holes.) Some of the natural tees are a bit muddy(it was spring)
Other Thoughts: Great course, nice job clearing trees out but leaving a few for flavor, the ground itself not as "groomed" as some other courses, the little stream(casual) is a nice touch along the 8th and 9th. only one hole has an OB and one Mando

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.