Duluth, MN 
University of Minnesota - Duluth DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Why?!

1    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 104  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Teepads (although over-kill for this course which doesn't need 8'+ teepads for holes you can throw from a stand still and one you can jump putt off the tee at the basket its so short...)
-Well maintained school grounds with neat art thing and landscape
Cons: -Busy area during school year and kind of out of the way to get to for what the course is.
-With all the landscape and trees available the overall design of this course is horrible with nearly every single shot being a straight line to the basket and extremely short without needing to be.
-Little, to no parking
Other Thoughts: You pull up to this course and think hmm okay nice little 9er on campus lots of trees etc then you play the course and think WHY?! WHY?! WHY?! couldn't they have actually designed a few holes to force SOME type of shot or line. Cool for the students on campus I guess but I would find myself going insane playing this course more than a few times. All those beautiful trees waiting to snag your disc yet they just watch you play in the open grass between them. Reminded me of a mini-golf course without any of the quirky obstacles-- whats the point?!

FWIW 2 of us played this course in under 25 minutes throwing 2-3 drives each basically running aces at every hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quick round

5+    9/15/2011   1/14/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 80  Reviewed: 24
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for practicing your putter and midrange hucks. Baskets are nice. Right on campus so thats convienent. A lot of ace runs.
Cons: You wont even need your drivers. Beer bottles laying around. Last time I played there they were doing construction and 3 of the holes were makeshift or blocked off. I believe they had dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Good spot to shoot a quick round. If your on campus its good but I wouldnt go out of my way to play this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 UMD

5+    9/20/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: WOTI
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every hole is ace able.
Mowed area and well groomed trees.
Very little litter.
New paver tee boxes are the rumor.
Cons: No elevation changes.
People walking home cut through the course all the time and make you wait for them.
Super short both in length and playing time.
Other Thoughts: A well maintained practice course. Good for kids and beginners. Approach and putt practice for an experienced player.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Quick Course

5+    7/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: a.bergal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a quick course to play if you have some time to waste. The grounds are well maintained and is usually very clean.
Cons: Since all of the holes are shorter than 200 ft. you dont really use your entire arsenal of shots. Tee boxes can be a little muddy after rains

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and Open Course

5+    6/8/2013   5/23/2012
Review By: Smileyaili17
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Good course for a quick, casual round
--The holes are all in the open but are often constructed around/behind trees and other obstacles that require a variety of shots
--Baskets are in good condition and newer
--New tee pads made from paver bricks. Very well done.
Cons: --Most, if not all holes, require only a midrange and putter, so there is not a lot of variety in the "distance" aspect
--There are no hole diagram signs at the tees, so pars and distances are nonexistent
--Usually busy during the school year and fairly busy during the summer months
Other Thoughts: Good course for a casual game and practicing placement shots. Overall, a good course for a casual game with friends.

Grading Criteria:

Landscape quality
3/5

Baskets, Tees and Hole Diagrams
3.5/5

Variety in hole distances
1.5/5

Variety in hole types
(field/wooded holes; hill/level holes; etc)
1.5/5

Difficulty/Challenge
1.5/5

Course flow
3.5/5

Busyness
4/5

Lack of outside interference
(pedestrians; traffic noise distractions; etc)
1.5/5

Fun factor
2/5

Use of Available Land
4/5

Total: 2.6/5

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs A Mando Through The HOOP!

1    6/29/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OK first let me explain the title of this review. If you look at the pictures of this course, there is a giant, art-like sculpture that has a huge ring projected up in the air. They totally should have made a hole that plays through that thing. We are talking Caddyshack II style of Disc Golf. LOL And now, on to the review…

This is a short course with some trees, open holes, lots of OB, some slight elevation, and a couple of water holes (sort of). This is a good place to learn the game as I don't think any of the holes are over 2oo feet. The terrain was nice and the grounds were well kept. The two holes that "could" have water in play were well done. The water is not directly in play, but a wild shot left will get you wet. The tee pads were dirt/grass pads were not in too bad of shape. The baskets are in decent shape and parking was great.
Cons: The 9th hole was on the other side of the course from the 1st hole. So you basically had to walk across the entire course to start over. Some of these holes have a road, or a walking path or a fence right next to the hole. I'm not a fan of that. There were no trashcans or restroom on this course, but as short as it is, that's not really needed. Navigation was not easy for such a little course. I missed a hole (and had to go back to find it) but then I saw a group ahead of me to follow. It would have taken much longer without them to find all the tee boxes. They are not really close to the basket before them; you really need to be close to spot them (look for the dirt spots).
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was almost not there. A few of the holes were fun to fire at as far as an ace is concerned, but there were not really any challenging holes. I'm really not a fan of course where there is a good chance of hitting someone or something off course. I would come back here if that giant hoop was in play, but for now, this is one I might pass on unless I was teaching someone else the sport.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 U of MN Duluth

2-4    7/30/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 160  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quick 9 holes to play in between classes, or after playing Miller Creek.

All nine holes are between 150-200 ft, making every tee shot aceable. The first 2 holes are east of the sculpture. 3-5 are West of the sculpture, and 6-9 go counter clockwise around the softball field.
Cons: Nothing here to really test your driving length. And that's what really impresses those college chicks.
Other Thoughts: We didn't know where to start, but there were other people playing, even though school wasn't in session.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.