Kenyon, MN
Riverside Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JSL5000 Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 323ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Beginner Course

2-4    11/25/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: dsmeyer
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short Course with nice baskets. You are able to play it in a very short amount of time. This course is easy to find and a great beginner course.
Cons: This course is really pretty short and open. There a only a couple of challenging holes. There are a few holes that have 90 degree doglegs, which is just poor design. I am not sure of the upkeep as hole 1 has a missing tee sign and the basket had been bent.
Other Thoughts: This makes a good beginner course. It is always nice for a small town to have a local course. This course will help local players sharpen up on their short game. There are also a few sharp turns, which can help players practice some big turns. No opportunity for a big arm.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great

1    8/11/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! After playing the first hole I didn't expect to be going down a hill on number 2 to find an awesome open park by the river.

Most shots are straight on, but there are some holes that require you to play something different (Holes 7 and 9).

It was very easy to find on the corner of 1st and Washington.
Cons: Some of the hole set ups were a little crazy. Holes 5 and 6 cross each other so you will have to watch out for other golfers.
Wouldn't play after it rained the day before, some of the hills are a pain to walk up and down on due to slickness.
Other Thoughts: Was able to play the course pretty quick which made the experience fun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

2-4    6/14/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: jclepa
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great spot for a disc golf course. A very picturesque setting around a small river and it's surrounding bluff. Every hole is well marked with tee signs with distances, and the score card has a great routing picture on the back.

While there aren't that many different shots required, there are some interesting shots, like the steep downhill #2, the quick dogleg left #7, and the very tight and straight #8. I was surprised to find such well designed holes at a beginner course. While the other holes are pretty much straight moderate shots, these few holes really help the courses playability.

This is exactly what is needed for a beginner type course. There is just enough difficultly to push new players to help there technique while still remaining generally easy.
Cons: The routing of this course is going to be a problem. Hole 5 and 6 cross and the hyzer shot on 9 goes directly over the #6 tee box. It also has my biggest pet peeve of any course, number 9 basket is nowhere near the beginning of the course. It leaves you with quite a hike back up the bluff to get back to the first hole.

The course could really use some cement pads, because of it's location near the river the course gets very soggy in rain. Of course, it was raining all week before I played, so I can't say what just one day will do.

I don't know what happened to #2 basket, but for some reason the metal cage was mounted too high, leaving only about 1 foot of space to putt into... I'm hoping it was just a temporary problem.
Other Thoughts: As I said before this a good beginner's course. I hope that they look into fixing some of the layout problems in order to keep from throwing across other holes (It doesn't seem like it would be too difficult because all of the holes affected are in a very open section.) I would like to see some more of the bluff used, but I can't say whether it would be possible or not.

While I was visiting, they held a beginner's clinic which had nearly 40 people in attendance. Sounds like those involved with the course are really putting forth a good deal of effort to promote the sport, which is something I really appreciate.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/8/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: hoopsmg567
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very peaceful course, Easy enough yet some challenging holes.
Tees are clearly marked, with distances. Course is easy to navigate the first time through.
Cons: No holes 350+ ft. It can be quite easy to lose a disc from the river. Some holes are just straight wide open shots, others are hallway shots or on steep hills.
Other Thoughts: Great Course! Fun to play. Peaceful. Watch out for the police.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Fun Play

2-4    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a peaceful, beautiful area. There is a creek running through the park, and that was about all I heard while I was there.

Tees are clearly marked, with distances. Course was easy to navigate the first time through.

Baskets are in very good shape.

Beginner friendly course, but still has some challenging and memorable holes. Hole #2 is almost straight downhill through a tight woody fairway, #7 is a sharp dogleg right, going uphill through the woods, #8 is a hallway-ish shot through the woods and #9 is a big dogleg left where you start uphill in the woods and end down below in the open.

A pretty big creek, mature trees, tight fairways lined with thick woods/grass and pin placement provide challenges here.

Nice mix of open and more woodsy/technical holes.

Some holes might require shots you're not used to throwing.

The creek looks to be about 1-3 feet deep and clear, so it should be possible to retrieve your disc from the watery abyss.
Cons: "Natural" tees didn't give much traction after a light rain.

Some holes are repetitive and bland. 1, 4 and 5 are pretty much the same type of hole (mostly wide open and 200' - 240'), but with different obstacles.

Not much distance here.

It would be possible to lose a disc here -- in the water or thick vegetation/woods.
Other Thoughts: I played 27 holes on a beautiful Wednesday afternoon and I didn't see a single person on the course, non-DGers included. This would be a good course to work on your game.

There is a massive, flat, wide-open field where you play holes 4, 5 and 6 that would be perfect to use for working on your drives. The only thing you would have to worry about would be yanking one into the creek or the thick woods/grass.

I really enjoyed myself here - which was a pleasant surprise. It has a certain charm to it and the peaceful setting is nice. If I were a local I would be happy to have this as a decent nearby course. If you're in the area, it's definitely worth a play. That being said, I probably couldn't recommend anyone go out of their way to play here. It is a fun round, though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.