Kasson, MN 
Lion's Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Steve West Hole #8 (Taken 6/2013)
4 / 330ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Basket is visible through bridge.



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Small course, under construction

5+    5/5/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: nelson22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: Small course in a nice park that isnt very busy. Nice tee signs that are very clear. Baskets in great shape. New walking bridge over the creek that runs thru the side of the park.Scenic and well taken care of. Some nice mature trees, as well as some smaller younger trees.
Cons: Natural tees, can get pretty muddy on occasion. Some tee signs dont line up. 1-5 are good, but 6 and 7 have been moved since the course opened, and now the signs dont make any sense, they just mark where the tee is pretty much. Residential street runs thru the course but isnt bust at all. Holes 1-3 are close to playground equipment(especially hole 2) so throw carefully.
Other Thoughts: NOTE: there is a new Shopko being built on the east side of the park, so holes 1,2,3, & 9 are gone. The city is moving the park over to the west. They may redesign the course completely, or just add the other holes to the new area. But the way the course is set up, they would almost have to redesign it entirely. The locals only play the west side(holes4-8) anyway, as those holes are much more fun, and farther distances for the most part.

Extra Hole: The locals I played with showed me an extra hole that they throw between holes 7 & 8. after hole 7, you can throw off the big culvert that drains into the creek, and throw to hole 4's basket. Its a straight shot over the creek with a few branches that can get in the way. Then the hole 8 teepad is right next to the 4 basket.

  

1    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: TJPUTZIER
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The city really takes good care of this course. Lion's Park is a great place to take the kids. There's a lot of wide open space to work on driving the disc & a sweet playground.
Cons: The first few hole are close to the main park, so look before you let the disc fly. There's a city road in the middle of the course. Not a lot of traffic on road, a walking bridge would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course is easy to find & fun to play. I had no problem pulling my 18 month caddy around in his wagon. I'll be going back to Lion's Park in the near future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good local course in Lion's Park

1    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: dorelse
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: More challenging than it looks, tees & hole & next tee location marked on easy to read markers. Dirt tees, quiet park but *could* compete with others for use of holes 1, 2 & 9 as there is playground equipment nearby and a park shelter.

Water hazzard makes for an interesting play on many holes.

A couple reviews say you have to walk back to the road to cross, however, when we played, there is a bridge now in the milddle of the course, so no walking back to the road each time. We were also able to cross the creek directly using several larger rocks to cross without all the back tracking.
Cons: The dirt tees were muddy from a recent rainstorm, just the way it goes. My son and I enjoyed the course and will play it again next time we're in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I expected

1    8/11/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some distance holes and shots over water that will keep you excited.

It is a in a great park setting.
Cons: Holes 6-8 were designed so poorly that my view of the course was shot. You have to throw over a stream for hole 6, but you can't get across except to walk all the way back to street where you crossed before. From there hole 7 is easy, but after you finish hole 7 you must walk all the way back around to the 8th tee to throw back over the stream. Once you get to the 8th tee you must throw back over the stream you had to cross on the street. These three holes really put a damper on my experience.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, but holes 7-9 can really make you question who designed this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not as easy as it looks...

1    7/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Treewacker9
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
Pros: Good signs denoting length & par. Some longer holes along with some basic "park" holes. New baskets.
Cons: Grass/dirt tees. No walkway across the creek on #8.
Other Thoughts: At first glance it appears to be an easy course. However I was pleasantly surprised to find several holes over 250 ft; with two par 4's and a par 5 on #9. Water comes into play on several holes and can catch your disc on a bad throw. All in all, a good little course in a park setting with enough to keep a recreational player's attention.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.