Walhalla, SC
Sertoma Field Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #15 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 187ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Short but nice

5+    9/28/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is my home course...meaning its closer than any other...my kids and I play here almost weekly.

The course is separated from other park activities. So there is no worry about walkers, hikers, bike riders or others getting in the way.

Course is very short so its a great place for my younger kids to play and not get tired.

Course offers several ace run holes...I've aced two of the holes (1 & 15) and hit metal on many others (4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 14) so buddies abound...if you keep the shots online.

The course also offers several benches, trash cans and the creek has several small waterfalls that add to the feel of the course.

The park and rec guys keep the course in great shape...cleaning up down trees and limbs immediately and keeping the grassy fairways mowed.
Cons: The course has crushed rock tees on most holes and that makes for some uneven footing. The tee signs are showing age and are hard to read on some holes.

The banks to the creek are steep in some areas and that makes retrieving an errant shot difficult on some holes.

They allow parents and patrons of other sports to park along holes 1, 2 and 3 during the spring and early summer on week nights and Saturdays. Would be frustrating if you're not from the area and came to play a course and found cars parked 'in play'. I think it shows a lack of respect for the game.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing the course and it has become my favorite course in Oconee County, SC and one of my top 5 to play. It's short enough where I can bring my three boys and they can play the full 18 without getting winded or discouraged.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Walallaha

5+    7/17/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: robbiepitzer
Played: 118  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The best course that i have ever played! Its short but still tricky. This is on of the courses that i can get under par.
Cons: I got nothing other then i would like to see some pro tees
Other Thoughts: the nicest course in the upstate

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the better courses I have played. It has everything I need to feed the addiction. You have up hill down hill shots to the left and some to the right. Then there are short holes and long holes. The first hole is really short but don't let it sway you from finishing the course.
Cons: The worst thing I can say is there were not more holes to enjoy. With that said there could be some tee pads and maybe some more trash cans.
Other Thoughts: This has to be one of my favorite places. Too bad I am 10 hours away. My bro lives in the area so he will be there often to let me know how it is going.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    6/30/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: treethacker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first time I have ever been here and I must say it was a very fun course.A good challenge for those who are still in the beginner phase and those who are better and as has been mentioned a great place to introduce someone to the world of disc golf. A couple of holes scream for an ace to be made and at the same time there are a few you can practice "ripping" your favorite disc.Challenging hills to throw up to the basket as well as some to throw down.Lots of fun to play and if I lived closer I would play fairly often.
Cons: If I were really picky I would say that a few of the holes are pretty close to a large creek,which by the way has a nice shade of rust orange to it (yecch)
Really needs more garbage cans around.
Other Thoughts: All in all a very well kept course. Fairways were mowed nice and wide and even the fairways in the woods were kept up.
nice comfortable wooden benches by a few of the holes.
Seemed to be in a nice area of town. Highly recommended.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Best course ever for beginners and Pros alike. I introduced some friends to disc golf and this is the perfect course to start off playing on. I've been playing for 6 years and i think this course is great. You have a good chance at coming out under par. The layout of the course is great. The creek that runs through the course is a great obstacle. Next-tee signs are all over the place.
Cons: Cement tee off pads would be preferred. The course could use a couple longer holes, but it does have a few long ones.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play, i highly recommend checking it out.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinDave
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course to play. Some great opportunities to get a hole in one. Grab your long distance drivers and let them fly. There are so great open holes to let them rip. Very Fun!
Cons: Be careful on 5, 6, and 7. If you go left at all your disc is in the very large creek. The creek bank is very high and the creek is deep and swift. Many discs will be lost.
Other Thoughts: This is a good, fun course. Some holes could be longer, but all and all worth the drive to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: DannyM
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great beginner friendly course in that most of the holes are shorter. Winds along a creek on many holes. Fairways are tight but fair. Good mix of elevation changes. Next tee marked very well, easy to navigate.
Cons: Although it looks great, the creek being so close to many holes could be difficult for many beginners.Pros may find it "too short", although this is a great course to improve your short game.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to play if you want to work on your accuracy, there are a few "grip it" holes so that you can work on "drives", but the majority is technical "touch shot" holes. I took my 5 year old son, and he enjoyed it due to the fact that many holes you could see the basket from the teepad.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Walhalla

2-4    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: birdmankev
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: OK. A very short course, yet still hard and very fun!. Pros plan to throw your putter alot, but still have to throw it good. Lots of very tight fairways, but also some wide open windy, hilly, and semi-long holes. It's a very pretty course, with nice pretty hilly holes as well as holes that scim the side of a very deep creek. Overall a very good course. The Wahalla Rec. people did a very good job.
Cons: Very short. But they have the room to lengthen a few of the holes, so maybe in time they will lenghten it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.