Disc Golf Store
Independence, KS 
Elk City Lake State Park Share
Uploaded By: breaking the chains Hole #3 (Taken 4/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Basket case!

1    5/17/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: Cardinals
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
Pros: Good walk with the wife...
Cons: The baskets and chains are in very bad condition. The area can be underwater at times and this has damaged the equipment. 9 holes only...
Other Thoughts: Save your time and go to the Independence Community College course.


1    3/30/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: Stoney J
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: fun little course
not the best but does pose challenges and what is there is fun to play
not a road trip course but if you're in the neighborhood playing the college course its an extra
Cons: baskets are game killers
Other Thoughts: not the best but does pose challenges and what is there is fun to play

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

What could've been

1    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are cement tee pads. The fairways were mowed short, see the pics. The course flows logically starting by the bathroom and finishing south of the bathroom.
There were some trees that provide some obstacles to shoot around. One dog leg left and on deg leg right hole.
Holes are short.
Cons: The baskets! As the previous reviewer said your putts will fall out of the bottom of the basket. Saw this happen twice during our round. The chains on the basket don't do much for catching a disc either and I had a good putt go all the way through the basket. The fairways were very wet when we played. No distances or signage at all. Costs $5 for a vehicle pass and wasn't worth it in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: I guess a course is better than no course but this course is in some serious need of some attention. If you added actual baskets it would certainly help. On your way into the park you will notice some hills and heavily wooded areas and wonder why something wasn't put in this area. I would not play here again because it isn't anything that is all that special. I hate to blast a course, I don't think the $5 was justified. If you like a short course with shady catching baskets then roll the dice here. If not move on down the road and hit Independence College. You'll be glad you did.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/27/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: dekalbdiscfan
Played: 49  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate in a clockwise circle.
Concrete tees.
Lake is great for boating/skiing and campsite is nice.
Cons: This course is in rough shape and doesn't get much use.
Area is prone to flooding and at times very wet.
Pins/holes are some older style and most discs fall through gaps in the baskets.
Park usually requires a vehicle tag or fee so to avoid this you need park before the gate and walk 400 meters.
Other Thoughts: Despite all the Cons, this park could be a nice beginner course with a little TLC and basket upgrades.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.