San Angelo, TX 
Angelo State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Bevo   (Taken 7/2009)



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/20/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.8 Years
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. Honestly, this was my favorite course in San Angelo even though it is not very difficult. They had nice DISCatcher baskets that were in great shape. The grass was freshly mowed because it is on a campus. I thought the course was a lot of fun because 80% of the holes are ace runs.
Cons: The navigation is extremely difficult. FInding the first hole took forever. So, I just started playing 13-18. On hole 17 I saw someone teeing off on 14. I asked if he knew the navigation and he had a hand drawn map that he created when he first started playing this course. I will post it in the course files. The course is located on a campus so there are people through out the area so you may have to wait a little bit on a hole or two. Also, after hole 2 you have to cross a pretty busy street. Then you cross it again after hole 11.
Other Thoughts: *The map is up I couldn't figure out how to delete it to turn it so it is not vertical. The dark thick lines are roads. The two thick lines running next to each other is a street that you will have to cross. The single black line is the walkways the students use to go to class.

I hope this helps, sorry I didn't know how to delete the file before I flipped it. Read the labeling such as library and view the map that way. If you do that in the bottom right corner by holes 17-18 I wrote in " park here" because there are parking spaces for visitors*


5+    5/9/2012   7/9/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: Nice 18 hole course set on a very nice, clean, and maintained campus. Course requires many different throws from your bag. Relatively short course.
Cons: Really the only con would the students walking on campus when your trying to play. A little bit of a walk from hole #9 to #10.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area I would recommend playing the course.

Great introductory cource

1    12/27/2012   12/28/2012
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: Very well maintained on a beautiful campus. Pleanty of trees to use as shade in the summer. Lots of friendly people around.
Cons: Dont even bother using the map you will find in the Links above. It is not even close to the currant lay out. We walked around for over 30 minutes trying to find hole #1 and just decided to play starting at the first hole we could find. Even a man who worked on the campus didn't know where hole 1 was.
Other Thoughts: I just found the updated map of the course. It can be found at the link above of the course home page. The link that says course map/scorecard needs to be removed because it is wrong.

 Do you need mid-range practice?

5+    12/20/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: texassidearm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.8 Years
Pros: Extremely well maintained and doesn't drain you physically. Mostly short pitch and putt type course with a couple longer holes. Serves as a great place for beginners and a excellent place to introduce the sport to someone. You will likely be happy with your score and walk away feeling good.
Cons: Not very challenging for advanced players due to short holes, but trees do offer some interesting obstacles. Also, there is some construction on the campus which wiped out a few holes on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Best place to play in San Angelo in my opinion. Guaranteed to never lose a disc.

  Nice Shady Course

1    8/1/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: jpref23
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Shady with many large oak trees to keep cool on a hot day. Not very long but trees make it challenging.
Cons: Trees can 'eat' a disc if you stray to high. Bring a water bottle to quench your thirst and use to retrieve your disc should you get stuck in a tree.
Other Thoughts: Well kept grounds make it a very nice course. Park off of Avenue N. near the flag poles. Hole number 1 is just through the two buildings nears the road. There was construction with one of the holes fenced in but there are openings in the fence so you can still play the hole over the fence.

 Finally, some fun at college

1    6/11/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: bayouace
Played: 39  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, short, very shady course. My wife enjoyed it and you can get some good mid-range work here. Challenging enough, lots of trees. Baskets are nice. Well-marked tee posts. A few wide-open holes and most with some trees on them. Moves you all over a very pretty campus.
Cons: Need a map available somewhere. Construction going on caused us to not find 13 and 14, but we didn't look long. Also, 9 is right up against a construction trailer so we skipped that one. The other 15 are fun.The course could get heavily walked by college students during the busy day, but we played in the evening between spring and summer classes. Mostly straight with slight hyzers or annies. Nothing real pronounced. No real blind holes.
Other Thoughts: Start on 1 on the far west side of campus and then it flows well. We started on 11 because that's the first hole we saw. You'll have to be aware of walkers. Some holes are close to sidewalks, so you can scuff up the cheaper plastic.Grass and sidewalk tees. Didn't see any fountains, but there have to be fountains and restrooms in the buildings when open. We were traveling and went to the course from the motel for a very pleasant refresher before the evening meal. I'll stop again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/16/2008   2/23/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: On a College Campus so safe and well lit. Great for nite golf and midrange practice. Ace run course. Just added another 9 holes to make it an 18 hole course.
Cons: Short. No alcohol is allowed on campus. Watch out for cars. Oops.
Other Thoughts: Fun course, better than the pole course they had.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/30/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: WD09
Played: 254  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new DisCatcher baskets. Many baskets are well-protected by trees. The grounds are very well-maintained, as can be expected from a university campus. This is a great course for beginners to learn on.
Cons: This course is exceptionally short. So much so that many of the holes are marked "Par 2." That is the only real problem. The holes that are a little longer are enjoyable. Also, I played between college semesters, but there were still some students using sidewalks who did not understand what we were doing with the discs and the baskets. I imagine that would be a real problem during semesters.
Other Thoughts: If the holes on this course were longer, it would certainly merit a high rating. I believe it is a great place to take your kids to play if they are learning. I started by rating it 1.5 because of how short it is, but I talked myself into raising the rating by thinking out the Pros.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.