Bedford, VA 
Falling Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #6
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Course Definitely Has The Golf Course Vibe Going For It!

1    8/15/2016   8/27/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Falling Creek Park is a lovely, large sprawling park with wonderful rolling hills and scattered Cedar Trees. It's the most "Golf Course" feel on a disc golf course ever. But on the negative side, it also has that "you're playing disc golf on a ball course feel."

Players with bigger arms will enjoy having the chance to fire away on many holes. Because of the mostly openness of the course, many holes are fairly long and straight, not a lot of creative line shaping here. You will use EVERY DISC IN YOUR BAG at Falling Creek DGC.

The course is a little tricky to find as it is set at the back of this road past the nursing home and starts at the barn near the Parks & Recreation office. Hole # 1 starts just below the barn and past the practice basket. There is a picnic shelter here. The tee pads are well constructed brick pads and lined by timbers. There is a course map here. The tee signs are the old school fiberglass models. I think, maybe, this park is isolated enough that these signs (which are easy targets for rock throwing vandals) might live a longer life out here. Discatcher baskets with the yellow rims.

My favorite hole was # 16 just because of it's overall beauty and pretty basket placement. The hole is a 591' slight downhill, mostly straight but the basket sits under a nice sized Cedar. There is a bench placed close by.
Cons: I just kinda lost interest here with so many holes being similar, that is mostly straight off the tree ending with a little hyser or anhyser.

Cedar trees, although beautiful, are disc grabbing machines. I found myself throwing rocks up into one tree 30 times trying to dislodge my disc.

Other Thoughts: I've played maybe 15 courses that are on regular ball courses. They almost always suffer from the same common problem, that is, they are just a little too open for my tastes. This is a beautiful park. The gently rolling hills are made for disc golf. So what is the problem here? I think the course just lacked the "It Factor" for me. To me, the "It Factor" is whatever just really gets your juices flowing on a course. I personally didn't find it here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Country club DG

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: unknown2no1
Played: 126  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Incredibly well manicured, nice brick tee pads(could be slippy when wet?), decent mix of length, although some where really short.
Cons: Similar holes for the most part, very open, tee signs show wrong basket placements on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course for the most part, but it could get boring if its your home course. I would've rated it a 2 if it wasn't for how well the course has been manicured.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Perfectly groomed course, not enough diversity

2-4    9/11/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured lawns. Markings and maps everywhere. Great extras; bathrooms, water, even scattered benches. Great brick tee pads. Easy to follow, very FTF (First Time Friendly). Need a BIG arm! Great if you like to Grip and Rip.
Cons: The Brick tee pads can be slippery when moist (dew, rain ect). Not a lot of variety. All essentially grip and rip holes. Some trees scattered to cause some problems, but really just a blast off course.
Other Thoughts: With all the Pros I listed its hard to imagine why I only rate this beautiful park a 3, but the only way to sum it up is in one word.....BORING. While the park is breath taking and the layout, tees and park esthetically pleasing, the bread and butter of the course is boring. Each hole is right out in front of you (with a few exceptions, not many) with a few trees scattered around to make the throw slightly difficult. No wooded holes to really speak of, maybe two come to mind (8 & 17) and that's a stretch. Without the trees popped up around the fairway on each hole, it would resemble a Ball golf course for discs. The distance causes the most concern, as if you have any accuracy at all, working around the trees is not that challenging. Don't get me wrong, Its a gorgeous park and I wish every DGC looked this good, but after about 12 holes I realized, other then tree placement, all the holes were similar. If you love the technical aspect of the game, you'll be underwhelmed. If you love a straight forward grip it and rip it distance course, it will be one of your favorites. Just a matter of taste. Great park and sweet course depending on your preference. It plays like a longer, bigger Newport News (NN's back nine is shorter but VERY similar to FC's setup), but even NN has a great wooded portion that Falling Creek lacks.

Fav Hole: 17 The only hole there that has a basket hidden in a corridor of somewhat woods. Makes for a challenging second throw and putt.

Good Note: Other than Bryan Park in Richmond and Pharoh's Tomb in Colonial Heights, this is one of the only other DGC's I've played that paints a spoke of the basket a color to point you to the next tee! A great addition that I wish all courses would copy.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: 21730
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of the natural terrain with minimal disturbance. A very well-maintained couse on a huge public park. The course is challlenging to all levels of players. There are long open holes, short open holes, plus some short technical holes. Most of the fairways on the techincal holes are defined by cedar trees, the most fair tree a disc golf course has ever seen.
Cons: Splitting hairs here, but the brick tees might be problematic down the road if not maintained, but they are fine as of now.
Other Thoughts: I'm about 40 minutes away, so I have a feeling I will be seeing alot of this place in the future. Watch out when it's windy out there too!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.