Disc Golf Store
Bedford, VA 
Falling Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #3
4 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Beautiful course with a few drawbacks

2-4    5/30/2014   9/30/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 73  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course, up until Greenfield was created, was the best course anywhere near Roanoke. You'll immediately be impressed when you step onto the first tee pad and see the shot ahead of you.

The scenery is the main draw to this course. It is set in what appears to be an old pasture but has since been populated with many trees (and baskets!)

The tee pads are actually pretty nice. They're brick, which can be disastrous if done incorrectly, but these are well constructed for the most part and add value to the course.

The fairways are well maintained and as the course is almost exclusively in the open, you'll have nearly zero chance of losing a disc.

You won't have a hard time navigating as the layout is pretty intuitive and since it is so open, you'll be able to see the next hole often times from the one you're currently on.
Cons: Unfortunately, there isn't much variety out here. Other than the flip flopping of elevation changes, each hole seems too much like the last. Nearly every hole is mostly open with occasional patches of trees. Not very technical, but will allow a big arm to open up.

Don't be fooled by the mentioning of water hazards on 3 holes. It's nothing more than a small creek for each, two of which is right next to the tee pad so you literally should have zero chance of landing in it. Even if you did, the creek is small enough for a small stride across, so you could just pick your disc right out. There isn't any water that would force you to think about it, which is the main point of hydro-hazards in the first place.

There isn't a signature hole. Sure, many of the holes are picturesque, but none of them stand out on their own merit. You won't leave disappointed by the layout, but you won't be awed either.

There is only one tee pad and one pin position. This is oftentimes a drawback since it will cater to one class of player. In the case of Falling Creek, your advanced and open players will tear this course up, while your green player might feel daunted with many of shots. It's somewhere in the safe zone, but in my humble opinion that's a bad thing. It lacks a distinct identity and suffers from that.

The course doesn't force you to use very many discs. In fact, pretty much the majority of holes are straight ahead, no major dog legs to speak of. With the exception of varying distances and elevation, you'll feel like you're on repeat for most of these holes. Thankfully, most of them are still fun, it just lacks the variety of a well planned course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those tweener courses. The beauty of the place is what allows me to bump it from a 3 to a 3.5. As far as a well rounded course goes, it falls short, but the experience is excellent and will trick you into a higher rating.

It's great when you're in the area, but since it is located off the beaten path, you'll likely not drive through often unless you're a local. Likewise, I wouldn't necessarily advise a trip to the area specifically for this course, but if you're traveling between Roanoke and Lynchburg on a dg trip or for any other reason, it will definitely satisfy your itch.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great stop if you're in the area

1    7/7/2012   7/3/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and baskets. Nice assortment of shots. I had to pull out all of my tricks for this one. The locals were friendly and helpful.
Cons: When you're out of the woods it is very hot. (I played it in July) More distance on the holes would make this course even better.
Other Thoughts: I was visiting from Oregon and I was only able to get one round in, but I had a lot of fun playing this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not my Style

2-4    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Unique Beautiful Brick Tees - good grip
Signs show map, distance, and par
Great use of terrain and elevation changes
Hole placement is good - uses trees to "guard" holes
hole 18 puts you back where you started
Grass is always mowed

Cons: Buggy
Holes seem very repetitive
Can sometimes be hard to find the next tee
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, however most of the holes are the same. Just throw really straight and far and you'll do great. This is a really nice course, however it just doesn't fit my style of playing. I like more technical courses and this is really just a wide open course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedars... best tree in DG

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- The Cedars (although they might be Junipers??). Cedars have to be one of the best disc golf course trees there are. They don't allow discs to penetrate through them, usually stopping them dead in their tacks; if you're in one, or behind one, you're going to be punished; and, they stay green all year long, keeping the course looking great and playing consistently year round.
- Every Hole is there for the Taking, but None are Freely Given. The course is relatively wide open, using trees and the threat of extreme danger effectively to shape shots. If you can hit the gap or shot the course is requiring, you have a great opportunity for a birdie. However, you have to do it… you have to hit the gaps, get around the cedars, and set yourself up with birdie opportunities… which sounds like a no brainer; but, with the cedars guarding most of the pin positions, and shaping the shots on most of the fairways, it's easier said than done.
- Mowing Stylings. The grass fairways were mown as if you were on a ball golf course: tight fairways, thick rough. You definitely wanted to stay in the short grass in some areas… I found three ticks on my leg throughout the round… and, actually just found a 4th baby tick crawling on my arm while writing this review.
- Disc Eating Rough. Not only do the Cedars like to catch discs, but there were several holes that had some serious underbrush along the egde of the fairway. If you throw right on Hole 3, you might as well have thrown your disc in a lake… I love that level of demand.
Cons:
- Too Straight. The course might have been a little too straight. I don't remember the breakdown, but I'd say more than 12 of the holes were straight, and the others (sans 17) were slightly less than straight.
- Tee-Pads. Obviously the tee-pads took a lot of work to build (8x10' bricks locked together and surrounded by timbers). However, I just don't trust planting my foot on bricks -- I always worry about the some brick that's sticking up is going to grab my foot and break my ankle or tear up my knee -- it effects my drives negatively. The grass growing between the bricks, and sand used beneath the bricks seeping up through the cracks didn't help either.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. The course was on the edge of being championship caliber, with several really great, demanding, dangerous holes. However, there were other, simpler holes that weren't quite "championship" level, although they still required great shot making. The Cedar (junipers) really enhance what would otherwise be simple holes. I had a good time at Falling Creek Park and would definitely play here if passing thru Bedford again.
- My Score: -1

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2014
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful, well-maintained park complete with picnic shelters & restrooms
- Good signage at all tees w/bag hooks on signposts
- Nice variety of holes as far as distance/elevation change - evergreen trees provide obstacles on several holes but still allow for open shots
- Forgiving course allows for slight errors on drives, several "grip & rip" holes. Open layout allows for multiple options on several holes (hyzer vs. anhyzer, backhand vs. flick)
- A lot of the holes have multiple pin locations that are alternated over time, this can create a little variety
- Practice basket at entrance
Cons: - The brick tee pads look nice, but can be a nightmare if wet. Even a little morning dew can make these very slick and it can become difficult to focus on your shot.
- There aren't really any true wooded holes that you typically see on other local courses. However, there are several holes that play into or out of the woods.
Other Thoughts: Great open course that can be enjoyed by all skill levels. The overall "feel" of this course is similar to playing a ball golf course, mostly open with intermittent hazards & obstacles. Most of the holes provide birdie opportunities if you have a well-placed drive. Favorite holes are 5, 15, & 17. No real "signature" holes but overall an excellent course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very solid, mostly open course. This was a nice change of pace to the typical wooded courses I play in North Carolina.
- Very good layout. Course flows nicely through a top-notch park. Baskets have prongs painted a different color pointing you in the direction of the next hole - always a good touch. Course also has some signs to point you to hard-to-find next holes, such as trying to find the tee for #4.
- Course has good variety of holes with some good, enjoyable hole layouts. Most fairways are open, with little to no trees, allowing you to be aggressive with your tee shots. Many baskets are placed near/behind trees, slopes, forcing you to be accurate with 2nd, 3rd shots. It has the feel of a traditional golf course.
- This is the best manicured course I have ever played. It has the feel of a traditional golf course with well-defined, cut fairways. Winthrop had been the gold standard when it came to best maintained courses, but this surpasses even that. I was impressed the grass was cut around small bushes and trees that would seem to be out of the way, and in turn, could/should be ignored. Even in the back of the park, where it's disc golf only, there was no slacking off on the maintenance.
- Course has a good mix of some shorter holes (4 at 250 & less) and longer ones (5 at 400 & longer). The others (obviously) are in between, with holes averaging 320 feet.
- Two sets of tees (although the long tees are only dirt). The brick tees (for the normal layout) are great, but I suspect they get slippery real easily after it rains.
- This is a beautiful park with great amenities. Restrooms and water fountains are by the first hole. My random observation about the course: there's a walking trail that has exercise/activity stations placed throughout it. Walking from the 18th tee back to the parking lot, my buddy & I passed 3 such stations which emphasized: back stretches, ab crunches and a modified exercise bike. I guess they're telling you that walking/running on the trail isn't enough, you need to be doing exercises during your exercise time.
- Very little risk of losing a disc. Your biggest threat actually would be to have one sail into one of the big, thick evergreens, and trying to spot/retrieve it.
Cons: There weren't many major cons here. The course is pretty close to perfect in what it aims to be: a very good, but not great course.
- I wish there was more use of the hills/elevation that's seen throughout the park. There were a couple places with good elevation changes (better than any of the existing holes) that would have been fun downhill throws.
- If you don't use a map or pay attention to the painted prongs on the baskets, you could easily wind up at the wrong hole. At one point on the course you can see 3 different tee pads (holes #6, 8 & 18) as well as baskets for several other holes. Common sense, and/or a little planning (like printing out a map) will eliminate this problem rather easily.
- As mentioned above, the brick tee pads look like they can get slippery real easily. Even on a dry day, when I played, you slide a little more than you would on concrete. I think the pads look great, but they could be frustrating at times.
- The front of the course (holes #1 & 2), and the parking lot are right behind a nursing home. The two really don't affect each other, just weird that it's right there.
- This seems dumb, but if you don't like open courses, you probably won't be a fan of this one.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top "open" course I've played. The back 9 definitely has more trees, but you can still be aggressive with your tee shots on just about every hole.
- The course was solid from start to finish. It speaks well about the course that there was only one part that seemed out of place. The area around #10 basket was essentially just dirt and didn't seem too cared for. Again it says a lot about the course that this was the only area I noticed something.
- From my Charlotte perspective, this course reminded me of Mint Hill. Playing the back 9, I had an epiphany of what Mint Hill would be like if it were expanded to 18 holes.
- I didn't feel the course had a signature hole. There were a lot of A- & B+ holes, but not one that stood out above the rest.
- I hate that this course isn't close to anything. It's probably 45 minutes off the interstate, not really close to any big towns. It's definitely worth the detour. I'd play here again if/when I find an excuse to be in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling grassy hills with scattered trees

1    10/22/2009   3/16/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design
The course is in a beautiful, well manicured park with green rolling hills and scattered large trees, pines, and cedars. I enjoyed holes 8-17 the most because they were more secluded and not as wide open. When you're on these holes it's very secluded, you're surrounded by woods, and you can't see anything but nature, so you feel like you're miles from everything. Ahhh!
*With 2 sets of tees and 2 basket positions there's lots of layout variety with 14 holes having long tees and 16 holes having Alt basket positions.
*Elevation variety is also good with 2 Flat/ 8 Up/ 8 Down. Most elevation changes are moderate, but 6 holes feature bigger elevation changes. Also a number of holes have side sloping fairways and side sloping greens for extra challenge and added interest.
*There's excellent length variety, with most of the holes being on the long side, but there are also 7 holes of 270 or less. In the Regular-A layout the lengths are 1 of 180/ 8 of 200-299/ 4 of 300-399/ 3 of 400-499/ 2 < 550
* For added beauty there's a little bit of water with a small creek in play on 4 holes

Basics
*Tee pads- Regular pads are paver bricks in a wood frame and they work well.
*Navigation is easy and straightforward, especially thanks to a painted spoke on the basket pointing to the next tee.

Amenities
The course has almost all of the amenities that I look for:
*Course Map and scorecard (online) are basic but sufficient
*The bag holders on the tee sign are a nice touch
*Excellent warm up basket, good message board, and a few park benches scattered around.
*Nice, clean, new restrooms
Cons: The course is really fine as it is, but there are a few small things that could be improved to make it even better.
-Long tees: Right now they're only a white board in the ground marking the front line, and they often take some scouting to find. They could be better marked with at least a small sign with the hole length. Ideally, they could also use the brick tee pads.
-Score cards: It would be really nice to know the hole lengths from the long tees. This should include the lengths to the Alt basket positions.
-Alt baskets: they need a system to let you know if the basket is in the Regular or the Alt position.
Other Thoughts: Regular tees Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 8. Downhill fairway, over a creek to a beautiful green.

The terrain is mostly open grass with scattered trees, so the holes lack some terrain variety. (1 Grass/ 17 Mixed / 0 Woods). Being rather open the majority of holes are straight (12 St/ 3 Left/ 3 Right), and that's more straight holes than I prefer. The terrain was just a bit too open for my taste, but I might enjoy it more if I threw 350 ft instead of my typical 280 average. Even though I played on a perfect Fall day, at the peak of the changing leaves, the "Wow Factor" just wasn't that high for me. My rating reflects my personal enjoyment, but I could see how some players, especially longer throwers, might rate the course a 4.5 or above. All in all, Falling Creek is a good solid course that has very little that needs to be improved.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Teepads by Third Pig

1    7/6/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautifully maintained park. Play area for kids, exercise trail/stations for non-playing adults. Bathroom. Water available from adult, child, and dog-level drinking fountains! Scattered bamboo poles to help retrieve discs held hostage by the cedars on the back nine. :-)

Long and wide brick teepads. Very nice signs at each hole, with pegs to hang bags upon. Top-quality baskets, easy to see. Coloured spoke on basket to point you towards next tee. A few stone benches scattered about the course. Was simple to navigate - didn't even need the map my first visit.
Cons:
Single tee/basket.

Update Oct-09: Now multi-position/multi-tee (new,longer natural tee areas marked by board with blue paint one end.
Other Thoughts:
Holes 1-8 and 18 play on a very gentle sloping hill. While fairly open (#2 is wide open), these holes do have you deal with some scattered trees enroute and/or near the basket, and some small changes in elevation. Holes 4 and 7 have the tees not very deep in woods, and hole 8 has the basket in the woods, but not very deep. The grass on this part of the course is kept very low.

Holes 9-17 are also on a gentle slope, and have you playing in a "rougher" part of the park. The wild grass is allowed to grow knee-high, but very generous fairways are cut throughout. Holes become a bit longer, and rows/scattering of cedar trees increasingly come into play on most every hole. Somewhat-wooded holes at #17 - a 300' drive down a narrowing but open fairway, followed by a sharp right turn towards the basket another 125' into the woods, and #9, a 300' hole, starting and ending in trees, with a clearing in between.

Favourite hole: #16. Longest hole at 550'. Rows of cedars lining generous fairway on both sides. Basket somewhat guarded by two large hardwoods. View of hillside in background makes you feel as if you are miles from anywhere.

This is a good course for beginners who want to take it up a notch, say from nearby Peaks View, and experience a longer course. Intermediate/advanced players who are throwing well should have an ample number of birdie opportunities. Fives holes 400' or longer, average length about 325'.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.