Disc Golf Store
Bedford, VA 
Falling Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #6
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    1/24/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: stoner04
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Unique brick tee pads
beautiful setting in the virginia foothills
Course flows well, easy to find each hole
variety of shots
tough on a windy day
good signage
well maintained
Cons: Only a few difficult holes
Other Thoughts: Bring an extendable pole to get discs out of trees.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Hillside Course

1    8/19/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amenities, upkeep, landscape.
Other Thoughts: Falling Creek Park is a fantastic park with excellent amenities spread across some groomed and wooded hillsides just outside of town. The disc golf course plays mostly along an open hillside dotted by cedar trees, occasionally crossing the Falling Creek itself and dipping into the wooded section of the park. Like the park overall, the hallmarks of the course are its upkeep and amenities, in this case excellent signage and baskets, and firm brick teepads that are just barely long enough, or not quite long enough depending on your view or x-step. The fairways are well defined and well maintained, just about every hole plays up, down, or along a hill, making for some fun shots and a bit of exercise, and the creek and woods are incorporated into the course just enough to add a bit of variety and diverse challenge. Disc-eating cedar trees and holes that for the most part favor distance over touch may be negatives for some players.

Falling Creek is not all about open throws over a picturesque course, but that is the main impression. The upkeep is ideal, and the challenge on many holes involves throwing straight toward the basket and staying away from the cedar trees. The counterbalance, however, is adequate in my view, and provides enough balance to the course to make it one of the finest in the Old Dominion. Getting caught behind a cedar tree is not like getting caught in a stand of hardwoods; oftentimes a saving pitch-out is the only option. And while I wouldn't call Falling Creek a long course by any stretch, it does have a few long holes, including a challenging closing stretch of three legitimate par 4s. Thus, while the course features plenty of birdie opportunities for those that can throw long and straight, it also may impose more doubles upon you than you like, because if you veer off into the trees recovery can be a challenge. Finally, the course does include a few holes with either baskets protected by a wooded area, or with tees coming out of the wooded area, and the stream is in play on a couple holes. These features keep the course from being defined as a purely grip and rip experience.

Overall, Falling Creek Park is well worth a road trip. The landscape and amenities alone make the course a high-end option. Yes, there's not much need for touch off the tee here and the teepads might be a little too short for some. The scenery, fun holes along the hillside and down to the stream, and overall experience, though, well compensate for these shortcomings. What it all adds up to is one of the better disc golf courses in Virginia.

Favorite Hole - #17 - plays downhill through a gap in the trees along the streambed, then back up to a protected basket in the woods.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Morning

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Dudly
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is very well cared for! Big mowed fairways on the open holes, underbrush to a minimum around the wooded holes.
-Good basket placements even on the open field holes, might not give pro's a challenge, but a recreational player (like me) has to think about how to work around an obstacle on almost every hole, then make the throw as planned.
-only time I've ever seen brick tee pads
-Really liked holes 4 & 17...
--4 shot out of the woods, over a small creek, up a hill, and you ideally get through a grove of pine trees for a manageable par lay up.
--17 started about 150 feet up a hill, down over a creek through a break in the trees ideally leaving you near the entrance to a wooded enclave protecting the basket, which sits another 80 feet up.
Cons: -2 or 3 holes on the back 9 were flat, basically open shots at the baskets, in the 200-300 foot range. It seemed like they were crammed in just so the course would be 18 holes. That said, I liked how they helped out my score, and I want to play the course again for another couple shots at my first ace.
-played at 8 am in August, course was completely dew soaked, still was when we left at 10 am. Obviously, beyond the designers control, but players should take it into account when planning footwear.
-under above circumstances I slipped quite a few times on the brick tee pads. I was wearing fairly new Keen sandal/sneakers which I normally get good grip with on concrete but the brick was slick.
Other Thoughts: -played this course, as well as near by Sontag DGC in Rocky Mount VA, with my bro on back-to-back days. We're both recreational players that are serious about getting better so Sontag was a great challenge, but... Falling Creek was a lot more fun while still being a challenge (on most holes). If you can only play one, play Falling Creek, unless you have a dedicated group of experienced players.

-I think a mason/quarry owner in the Bedford VA area must be an avid disc golfer as well as very generous. This course not only has a the brick tee pads but most holes have benches made out of huge single slabs of rock. Very cool aesthetic touch. Really can't say enough about the upkeep of the park in general, it's awesome.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Challenge

1    5/14/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the brick paver tee pads. Played right after a rain, but the tees weren't a problem - not that slick at all. Easy to navigate -- just follow the paint on the basket to the next tee.

More open than I'm used to, but it was a good challenge for me. Keep your disc on the fairway -- otherwise you may end up stuck behind a tree with no shot to the basket at all.
Cons: The holes are VERY similar -- I have a hard time picking out a favorite, or even a signature hole for this course. I'm used to wooded courses with a lot of variation from the tee, and this was just "throw straight and long" over and over again. I also had a problem a couple of times with basket positions; I would throw where the tee sign said the basket was, but it was incorrect. Cost myself a couple strokes by throwing to the wrong place.
Other Thoughts: The grass was pretty wet when I played, and that affected how well I did. Next time, I'll bring two towels so I have a dry backup!

This course will challenge you if you don't have a decent arm off the tee. I can get it out there, but when I throw it hard, it's not always straight, so I had some problems. I had very few clear upshots, and had to just toss back into the fairway more than once.

All in all, a welcome change from what I'm used to. I'll certainly be back next time I'm in town!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Saltine17

5+    1/4/2011   1/14/2011
Review By: Saltine17
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great long, open drives from the tees. Tees are very nice brick tees. Most holes have two tees, however the second is usually natural marked by a wooden board. The most impressive aspect about the course is that it is very well kept. Even more grassy areas were removed since the last time we were there. Felt almost like playing on a real golf course. Tee signs are really nice and easy to read. Fairways are easy to spot, and for the most part, it is a very secluded course except for the first two holes. Simply put, it's a beatiful course to play and alot of fun.
Cons: Not many cons about the course. Some of the second tees can be a little hard to spot, and the course layout can get a little confusing at times, mainly between holes 11-14, but it's not that bad if you spot the paths between some of the tall grasses.
Other Thoughts: I have't been playing for very long, and I have only played about 10 courses, but this one is just so much fun and stands out so much to me for its well kept course and beatiful landscape. There's a good variety in the holes as they utilize elevation and very long, short, and medium distances. Not as many wooded holes, but there are a few. Overall and great course! Also got to mention hole number four, it is so epic as you throw from the tee, over a creek in between two huge trees! Just a lot of fun!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Falling Creek

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 58  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent signage, some really open shots that you can let em rip on. Awesome brick paver tee boxes. They were huge!! Easy to navigate and everything was super well maintained.
Cons: Pretty windy the day I went, but that's not the courses fault I guess. Not a whole lot to dislike about this course.
Other Thoughts: Possibly the nicest, most well maintained course I have played. Really set the bar in this area. Liberty may well catch up to it and quickly, but these two courses make fro a great couple rounds of dg.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very solid, mostly open course. This was a nice change of pace to the typical wooded courses I play in North Carolina.
- Very good layout. Course flows nicely through a top-notch park. Baskets have prongs painted a different color pointing you in the direction of the next hole - always a good touch. Course also has some signs to point you to hard-to-find next holes, such as trying to find the tee for #4.
- Course has good variety of holes with some good, enjoyable hole layouts. Most fairways are open, with little to no trees, allowing you to be aggressive with your tee shots. Many baskets are placed near/behind trees, slopes, forcing you to be accurate with 2nd, 3rd shots. It has the feel of a traditional golf course.
- This is the best manicured course I have ever played. It has the feel of a traditional golf course with well-defined, cut fairways. Winthrop had been the gold standard when it came to best maintained courses, but this surpasses even that. I was impressed the grass was cut around small bushes and trees that would seem to be out of the way, and in turn, could/should be ignored. Even in the back of the park, where it's disc golf only, there was no slacking off on the maintenance.
- Course has a good mix of some shorter holes (4 at 250 & less) and longer ones (5 at 400 & longer). The others (obviously) are in between, with holes averaging 320 feet.
- Two sets of tees (although the long tees are only dirt). The brick tees (for the normal layout) are great, but I suspect they get slippery real easily after it rains.
- This is a beautiful park with great amenities. Restrooms and water fountains are by the first hole. My random observation about the course: there's a walking trail that has exercise/activity stations placed throughout it. Walking from the 18th tee back to the parking lot, my buddy & I passed 3 such stations which emphasized: back stretches, ab crunches and a modified exercise bike. I guess they're telling you that walking/running on the trail isn't enough, you need to be doing exercises during your exercise time.
- Very little risk of losing a disc. Your biggest threat actually would be to have one sail into one of the big, thick evergreens, and trying to spot/retrieve it.
Cons: There weren't many major cons here. The course is pretty close to perfect in what it aims to be: a very good, but not great course.
- I wish there was more use of the hills/elevation that's seen throughout the park. There were a couple places with good elevation changes (better than any of the existing holes) that would have been fun downhill throws.
- If you don't use a map or pay attention to the painted prongs on the baskets, you could easily wind up at the wrong hole. At one point on the course you can see 3 different tee pads (holes #6, 8 & 18) as well as baskets for several other holes. Common sense, and/or a little planning (like printing out a map) will eliminate this problem rather easily.
- As mentioned above, the brick tee pads look like they can get slippery real easily. Even on a dry day, when I played, you slide a little more than you would on concrete. I think the pads look great, but they could be frustrating at times.
- The front of the course (holes #1 & 2), and the parking lot are right behind a nursing home. The two really don't affect each other, just weird that it's right there.
- This seems dumb, but if you don't like open courses, you probably won't be a fan of this one.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the top "open" course I've played. The back 9 definitely has more trees, but you can still be aggressive with your tee shots on just about every hole.
- The course was solid from start to finish. It speaks well about the course that there was only one part that seemed out of place. The area around #10 basket was essentially just dirt and didn't seem too cared for. Again it says a lot about the course that this was the only area I noticed something.
- From my Charlotte perspective, this course reminded me of Mint Hill. Playing the back 9, I had an epiphany of what Mint Hill would be like if it were expanded to 18 holes.
- I didn't feel the course had a signature hole. There were a lot of A- & B+ holes, but not one that stood out above the rest.
- I hate that this course isn't close to anything. It's probably 45 minutes off the interstate, not really close to any big towns. It's definitely worth the detour. I'd play here again if/when I find an excuse to be in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/8/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course that is well-maintained with excellent landscape.
- Great blend of open and lightly wooded holes.
- Par ratings are challenging, yet realistic, with several birdie opportunities for good tee shots.
- Course flows well and has excellent tee signs at each of the brick tee boxes.
- Very fun to play, an all-around great disc golf experience.
- Alternate basket positions for each hole; alternated each month by the local club.
Cons: - Brick tee pads can become slippery when wet, even just from morning or evening dew.
- Beware of the evergreens, they love to eat discs.
Other Thoughts: - Course will test your distance more so than your accuracy. However several holes on the back 9 still require moderate accuracy to stay out of the evergreens.

Score Breakdown:
Variety:4 Balance:5 Strategy:4 Character:5 Fun:5 Avg: 4.6

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Country club DG

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: unknown2no1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Incredibly well manicured, nice brick tee pads(could be slippy when wet?), decent mix of length, although some where really short.
Cons: Similar holes for the most part, very open, tee signs show wrong basket placements on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course for the most part, but it could get boring if its your home course. I would've rated it a 2 if it wasn't for how well the course has been manicured.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rolling grassy hills with scattered trees

1    10/22/2009   3/16/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Design
The course is in a beautiful, well manicured park with green rolling hills and scattered large trees, pines, and cedars. I enjoyed holes 8-17 the most because they were more secluded and not as wide open. When you're on these holes it's very secluded, you're surrounded by woods, and you can't see anything but nature, so you feel like you're miles from everything. Ahhh!
*With 2 sets of tees and 2 basket positions there's lots of layout variety with 14 holes having long tees and 16 holes having Alt basket positions.
*Elevation variety is also good with 2 Flat/ 8 Up/ 8 Down. Most elevation changes are moderate, but 6 holes feature bigger elevation changes. Also a number of holes have side sloping fairways and side sloping greens for extra challenge and added interest.
*There's excellent length variety, with most of the holes being on the long side, but there are also 7 holes of 270 or less. In the Regular-A layout the lengths are 1 of 180/ 8 of 200-299/ 4 of 300-399/ 3 of 400-499/ 2 < 550
* For added beauty there's a little bit of water with a small creek in play on 4 holes

Basics
*Tee pads- Regular pads are paver bricks in a wood frame and they work well.
*Navigation is easy and straightforward, especially thanks to a painted spoke on the basket pointing to the next tee.

Amenities
The course has almost all of the amenities that I look for:
*Course Map and scorecard (online) are basic but sufficient
*The bag holders on the tee sign are a nice touch
*Excellent warm up basket, good message board, and a few park benches scattered around.
*Nice, clean, new restrooms
Cons: The course is really fine as it is, but there are a few small things that could be improved to make it even better.
-Long tees: Right now they're only a white board in the ground marking the front line, and they often take some scouting to find. They could be better marked with at least a small sign with the hole length. Ideally, they could also use the brick tee pads.
-Score cards: It would be really nice to know the hole lengths from the long tees. This should include the lengths to the Alt basket positions.
-Alt baskets: they need a system to let you know if the basket is in the Regular or the Alt position.
Other Thoughts: Regular tees Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

You be the judge-
My favorite hole: 8. Downhill fairway, over a creek to a beautiful green.

The terrain is mostly open grass with scattered trees, so the holes lack some terrain variety. (1 Grass/ 17 Mixed / 0 Woods). Being rather open the majority of holes are straight (12 St/ 3 Left/ 3 Right), and that's more straight holes than I prefer. The terrain was just a bit too open for my taste, but I might enjoy it more if I threw 350 ft instead of my typical 280 average. Even though I played on a perfect Fall day, at the peak of the changing leaves, the "Wow Factor" just wasn't that high for me. My rating reflects my personal enjoyment, but I could see how some players, especially longer throwers, might rate the course a 4.5 or above. All in all, Falling Creek is a good solid course that has very little that needs to be improved.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.