Bedford, VA 
Falling Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #7
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 great park

2-4    11/12/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: jerrycdundan
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really,really nice park, nice brick tees,fairly easy to find, just off 460 (About 45mins. from Roanoke), amazing vistas,multiple tee positions and basket positions, fairly good use of what trees are there.
a great community of players (www.Elkcreekdgc.info )
Cons: The brick tees can be slick when wet, especially the ones by the creek (be careful) The open fairways don't make the course as technically and accuracy demanding as some player used to playing in the woods would prefer.
Other Thoughts:
This is a great course really close to Bedford Va. right off of interstate 460.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfectly groomed course, not enough diversity

2-4    9/11/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2011
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured lawns. Markings and maps everywhere. Great extras; bathrooms, water, even scattered benches. Great brick tee pads. Easy to follow, very FTF (First Time Friendly). Need a BIG arm! Great if you like to Grip and Rip.
Cons: The Brick tee pads can be slippery when moist (dew, rain ect). Not a lot of variety. All essentially grip and rip holes. Some trees scattered to cause some problems, but really just a blast off course.
Other Thoughts: With all the Pros I listed its hard to imagine why I only rate this beautiful park a 3, but the only way to sum it up is in one word.....BORING. While the park is breath taking and the layout, tees and park esthetically pleasing, the bread and butter of the course is boring. Each hole is right out in front of you (with a few exceptions, not many) with a few trees scattered around to make the throw slightly difficult. No wooded holes to really speak of, maybe two come to mind (8 & 17) and that's a stretch. Without the trees popped up around the fairway on each hole, it would resemble a Ball golf course for discs. The distance causes the most concern, as if you have any accuracy at all, working around the trees is not that challenging. Don't get me wrong, Its a gorgeous park and I wish every DGC looked this good, but after about 12 holes I realized, other then tree placement, all the holes were similar. If you love the technical aspect of the game, you'll be underwhelmed. If you love a straight forward grip it and rip it distance course, it will be one of your favorites. Just a matter of taste. Great park and sweet course depending on your preference. It plays like a longer, bigger Newport News (NN's back nine is shorter but VERY similar to FC's setup), but even NN has a great wooded portion that Falling Creek lacks.

Fav Hole: 17 The only hole there that has a basket hidden in a corridor of somewhat woods. Makes for a challenging second throw and putt.

Good Note: Other than Bryan Park in Richmond and Pharoh's Tomb in Colonial Heights, this is one of the only other DGC's I've played that paints a spoke of the basket a color to point you to the next tee! A great addition that I wish all courses would copy.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: basketcase
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee pads are beautiful, park maintained like a ball course, course layout keeps every hole flowing to the next, good for beginners and pros, multiple basket locations and pro tees.
Cons: Park is kind of hard to find-no signage until you get to park entrance.
Other Thoughts: I've only played a few courses but this one is by far the best layout and is maintained better than the others I played. The course is close to my home so I play here several times each week and still haven't gotten bored. Love this course!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Teepads by Third Pig

1    7/6/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautifully maintained park. Play area for kids, exercise trail/stations for non-playing adults. Bathroom. Water available from adult, child, and dog-level drinking fountains! Scattered bamboo poles to help retrieve discs held hostage by the cedars on the back nine. :-)

Long and wide brick teepads. Very nice signs at each hole, with pegs to hang bags upon. Top-quality baskets, easy to see. Coloured spoke on basket to point you towards next tee. A few stone benches scattered about the course. Was simple to navigate - didn't even need the map my first visit.
Cons:
Single tee/basket.

Update Oct-09: Now multi-position/multi-tee (new,longer natural tee areas marked by board with blue paint one end.
Other Thoughts:
Holes 1-8 and 18 play on a very gentle sloping hill. While fairly open (#2 is wide open), these holes do have you deal with some scattered trees enroute and/or near the basket, and some small changes in elevation. Holes 4 and 7 have the tees not very deep in woods, and hole 8 has the basket in the woods, but not very deep. The grass on this part of the course is kept very low.

Holes 9-17 are also on a gentle slope, and have you playing in a "rougher" part of the park. The wild grass is allowed to grow knee-high, but very generous fairways are cut throughout. Holes become a bit longer, and rows/scattering of cedar trees increasingly come into play on most every hole. Somewhat-wooded holes at #17 - a 300' drive down a narrowing but open fairway, followed by a sharp right turn towards the basket another 125' into the woods, and #9, a 300' hole, starting and ending in trees, with a clearing in between.

Favourite hole: #16. Longest hole at 550'. Rows of cedars lining generous fairway on both sides. Basket somewhat guarded by two large hardwoods. View of hillside in background makes you feel as if you are miles from anywhere.

This is a good course for beginners who want to take it up a notch, say from nearby Peaks View, and experience a longer course. Intermediate/advanced players who are throwing well should have an ample number of birdie opportunities. Fives holes 400' or longer, average length about 325'.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with great surroundings

1    6/11/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: Vicarious
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was the first 18 hole that I have played. I was very impressed with the layout of the course. It looked more like a golf course by the way it was set up. great obstacles. The cedar trees define the fairways very well and also become good obstacles. The brick tees are quite unique and are very well maintained. Also, if a disc gets stuck in a tree there is no need to climb because near every hole is a stick of bamboo about 10-15 feet long, so you can prod at your stuck disc. Overall there are really too many pros to name about this course.
Cons: aren't many but there aren't any bathrooms located around the course other than the start and the finish. Hole 4 didn't have a brick tee but an all natural tee with has become more of a horseshoe pit than an tee. Very little litter but there was some. The park is shared so there is also a hazard of hitting little ones and adults as well on accident.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play for amateurs and pros alike. Easily the best course that I have played thus far.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/17/2009   4/21/2009
Review By: Razor
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained in a very family oriented area. I like the cedars and other evergreens lining the fairways, makes you think before you throw. Disccatcher baskets rock. Tee pads look great. I really like how the fairways are mowed and kept clean....the whole park for that matter. Elevation change is good, a little downhill and a little uphill, a little forehand and a little backhand. like the trash cans located around the course, other area courses need to adopt this idea. and the benches are neat too.
Cons: I slipped some on the tees for the longer drives. 1 hole had a left to right uphill elevation change lined with evergreens. that was interesting. Watch for kids running and riding bicycles around in the fairways. Did not like how 9 was sooo far from parking, kinda eliminates the idea of playing just the front or back 9 if time is an issue. restrooms were locked when we were there10:30-12:00.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Only been playing since July '08 and have only played 4 other courses. I'd rank this one as one of my top 2.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course

1    2/13/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course at a very nice park. I love this course because I am a long thrower and you can really air it out on this long course. I also really like the use of space. This course has the most cedar tree I have ever seen on a course. Disc Golfers know what an obsticle these trees can be, especially if there is a 2 meter rule in effect. Great job to the designers and park for getting this course in the ground. Also great support from locals. I also like the disccatcher baskets, as I believe they are the best on the market.
Cons: The t pads can be a bit slippery as they are made of laid brick. I played this course early in the morning on a dewy day. The pads do look very awesome, but I would like to see concrete used instead of brick. But they did work fine later in the day, and I threw long without any worries.
Other Thoughts: I really did like this course and enjoyed my time there. There is a course discussion thread in the forum at ElkCreekdgc.info where you can ask if anyone is going to be out playing the course, or to let locals know you will be at the course on a certain date and time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/1/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: 21730
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/11/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of the natural terrain with minimal disturbance. A very well-maintained couse on a huge public park. The course is challlenging to all levels of players. There are long open holes, short open holes, plus some short technical holes. Most of the fairways on the techincal holes are defined by cedar trees, the most fair tree a disc golf course has ever seen.
Cons: Splitting hairs here, but the brick tees might be problematic down the road if not maintained, but they are fine as of now.
Other Thoughts: I'm about 40 minutes away, so I have a feeling I will be seeing alot of this place in the future. Watch out when it's windy out there too!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course

5+    10/2/2009   1/10/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great open course with plenty of thick cedars and pines to provide obstacles. All the teepads are brick. Practice Basket, Course map, scorecard with map on it, and bulletin board. The best part is the elevation change and challenge of the course. There is a variety of holes, and some might say that these are all grip and rip holes, but the reality is that there is a good mix. Two pin locations at every hole, with one having 3. Grass provides some obstacle, and the woods come into play on 8 holes, but no hole is completely in the woods. Wind is a factor on some holes, but usually no more than 6. Solid signs for every hole, some benches and trash cans. This course keeps you coming back to play better every time.
Cons: Benches only on 4 of 18 holes, Trash cans on 2 holes. The Brick tees get quite slippery when wet. Overhand throwers have a huge advantage, because they can throw over the trees on 16/18 holes (if they have the arm strength). That's about it. It'd be nice if they put in dual tees, and they slowly are (I think 9/18 have white tees with 4 X 4's in the ground painted white, but that's it. The land could have been used more creatively, but the park wouldn't let them cut down many trees.
Other Thoughts: From RHBH perspective: 7 straight holes (1 par 4), 4 anhyzer (3 par 4's), 1 hyzer hole, 3 straight/hyzer, 1 hyzer/anhyzer, 1 hyzer/straight/anhyzer. 1 straight/anhyzer. (based on multiple routes and pin locations).
elevation change: 4 downhill, 7 flat, 6 uphill, 1 down then up.
Awesome course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.