Disc Golf Center
Bedford, VA 
Falling Creek Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: whowan Hole #13
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Falling Short

1    5/17/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a really nice park that is well mowed. It even has fairways mowed shorter than the rough like a ball golf course and this makes transitioning from hole to hole quite simple. If you like ball golf style disc golf than you'll really like it here thanks to the vast expanses of open fields, gently rolling landscape and fir trees dotting the terrain. Big arms will find it much more interesting than regular folks, not that it's terribly long. Pars seemed fairly on point and I really enjoyed how the course was laid out and minimized walks between holes.

The playground looked really cool so if you have family they can tag along and play there while you sling plastic. Not very wooded or natural so you won't be covered in bugs or anything much either.
Cons: I felt like it lacked variety, just too open. It even taunted me by pretending to go into these gorgeous woods on several holes but as soon as you cross over the creek you just blast out immediately into the field again. Not a lot of line-shaping to do out here, just a lot of straight bombs, occasional big hyzers or anhyzers.

What trees there are are view obstructing, disc stealing fir trees, probably my least favorite tree for disc golf. Hole 15 is a really bad hole along these lines. You have a small gap to hit where the fir trees break at the creek and where your disc goes after you past them is anybody's guess. Mine apparently disappeared in either the woods immediately behind the firs or in the tall grass/undergrowth that was everywhere. Then the hole takes this weird angle into the woods that is really difficult to approach with your 2nd shot.

The tees are brick and not terribly smooth. They're serviceable but when you're trying to crank out a big rip the last thing you want to think about is catching the edge of a brick sticking up.

Other Thoughts: This course seemed like a poor man's Cedarock, although it flowed better. Or a longer Catawba Meadows with (much) worse tees. Maybe I'm being too harsh due to stylistic preferences but I think I've played plenty of better open courses than this. It's a nice course for airing it out and working on your farmer's tan, I just feel like the historic farm house you drive past when you enter the park is more interesting than the actual golf course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great place!

5+    9/7/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Drivers required, many holes are long and open.
-Many various types of holes and shots.
-Brick tee pads with bag holders on the tee signs.
-Easy to navigate course.
-Upkeep with grass and such always seem good.
-Nice park and beautiful setting.
Cons: -Look out for the cedars and pines, they can snatch your disc up.
-Bring some "Off spray", been covered with ticks and chiggers here before.
Other Thoughts: Wonderful place to play and work on distance.
Fun and challenging. A must play if in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in the Area

5+    6/14/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2013
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Open fairways
- Technical holes
- Very well maintained
- Difficult for all types of players.
- Challenging distances on holes.
- Beautiful scenery
Cons: - Some holes seem redundant
- Could use some completly wooded holes
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in the Lynchburg/Bedford area. It is challenging and humbling especially when compared to peaksview park. This is a great course to hone in on your long game and still have to complete technical shots.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great stop if you're in the area

1    7/7/2012   7/3/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and baskets. Nice assortment of shots. I had to pull out all of my tricks for this one. The locals were friendly and helpful.
Cons: When you're out of the woods it is very hot. (I played it in July) More distance on the holes would make this course even better.
Other Thoughts: I was visiting from Oregon and I was only able to get one round in, but I had a lot of fun playing this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    4/7/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: brian k
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Course has it all!I have played in huntington beach and all las vegas courses and found this to be as good as any I have played
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Would definitely recommend,also there is awesome skate park for kids right down street,truly beautiful park with bathrooms

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not my Style

2-4    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Unique Beautiful Brick Tees - good grip
Signs show map, distance, and par
Great use of terrain and elevation changes
Hole placement is good - uses trees to "guard" holes
hole 18 puts you back where you started
Grass is always mowed

Cons: Buggy
Holes seem very repetitive
Can sometimes be hard to find the next tee
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, however most of the holes are the same. Just throw really straight and far and you'll do great. This is a really nice course, however it just doesn't fit my style of playing. I like more technical courses and this is really just a wide open course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedars... best tree in DG

1    6/17/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- The Cedars (although they might be Junipers??). Cedars have to be one of the best disc golf course trees there are. They don't allow discs to penetrate through them, usually stopping them dead in their tacks; if you're in one, or behind one, you're going to be punished; and, they stay green all year long, keeping the course looking great and playing consistently year round.
- Every Hole is there for the Taking, but None are Freely Given. The course is relatively wide open, using trees and the threat of extreme danger effectively to shape shots. If you can hit the gap or shot the course is requiring, you have a great opportunity for a birdie. However, you have to do it… you have to hit the gaps, get around the cedars, and set yourself up with birdie opportunities… which sounds like a no brainer; but, with the cedars guarding most of the pin positions, and shaping the shots on most of the fairways, it's easier said than done.
- Mowing Stylings. The grass fairways were mown as if you were on a ball golf course: tight fairways, thick rough. You definitely wanted to stay in the short grass in some areas… I found three ticks on my leg throughout the round… and, actually just found a 4th baby tick crawling on my arm while writing this review.
- Disc Eating Rough. Not only do the Cedars like to catch discs, but there were several holes that had some serious underbrush along the egde of the fairway. If you throw right on Hole 3, you might as well have thrown your disc in a lake… I love that level of demand.
Cons:
- Too Straight. The course might have been a little too straight. I don't remember the breakdown, but I'd say more than 12 of the holes were straight, and the others (sans 17) were slightly less than straight.
- Tee-Pads. Obviously the tee-pads took a lot of work to build (8x10' bricks locked together and surrounded by timbers). However, I just don't trust planting my foot on bricks -- I always worry about the some brick that's sticking up is going to grab my foot and break my ankle or tear up my knee -- it effects my drives negatively. The grass growing between the bricks, and sand used beneath the bricks seeping up through the cracks didn't help either.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. The course was on the edge of being championship caliber, with several really great, demanding, dangerous holes. However, there were other, simpler holes that weren't quite "championship" level, although they still required great shot making. The Cedar (junipers) really enhance what would otherwise be simple holes. I had a good time at Falling Creek Park and would definitely play here if passing thru Bedford again.
- My Score: -1

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite home course

1    5/20/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: jmitch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great for airing it out!
Wind is an added challenge.
Good use of land for course.
Little interference from other in the park.
Cons: tee pads are made of brick and can be slick.
Other Thoughts: Great overall course with very little wooded holes to play through. Holes 16, 17 and 18 are GREAT finishing holes and will make or break your round.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Open Course

1    5/15/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: vtarchiek
Played: 48  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2014
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful, well-maintained park complete with picnic shelters & restrooms
- Good signage at all tees w/bag hooks on signposts
- Nice variety of holes as far as distance/elevation change - evergreen trees provide obstacles on several holes but still allow for open shots
- Forgiving course allows for slight errors on drives, several "grip & rip" holes. Open layout allows for multiple options on several holes (hyzer vs. anhyzer, backhand vs. flick)
- A lot of the holes have multiple pin locations that are alternated over time, this can create a little variety
- Practice basket at entrance
Cons: - The brick tee pads look nice, but can be a nightmare if wet. Even a little morning dew can make these very slick and it can become difficult to focus on your shot.
- There aren't really any true wooded holes that you typically see on other local courses. However, there are several holes that play into or out of the woods.
Other Thoughts: Great open course that can be enjoyed by all skill levels. The overall "feel" of this course is similar to playing a ball golf course, mostly open with intermittent hazards & obstacles. Most of the holes provide birdie opportunities if you have a well-placed drive. Favorite holes are 5, 15, & 17. No real "signature" holes but overall an excellent course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/24/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: stoner04
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Unique brick tee pads
beautiful setting in the virginia foothills
Course flows well, easy to find each hole
variety of shots
tough on a windy day
good signage
well maintained
Cons: Only a few difficult holes
Other Thoughts: Bring an extendable pole to get discs out of trees.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.