Asheville, NC 
The Meadows DGC Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #8 (Taken 3/2014)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not exceptional

1    3/29/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 56  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are in good shape. There are pads, but they're small and often not level. Decent mix of fairways.
Cons: No signage at all. There's a decent hike from #5 to #6 and it's annoying to have no idea where to go. Tee pads are very short and often not level. Most holes play very close to peoples apartments. #8's fairway is very overgrown. Etc.
Other Thoughts: If you live here, this would be fun to mess around on. Otherwise, not really worth your time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good, 30 minutes play.

1    10/17/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: OwRuth1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A great semi-challenging course with an easy to follow layout. No chance of losing your disc but you might hit the apartment building. However, al the people are friendly.
Cons: A short and easy but sometimes that just what your looking for.
Other Thoughts: The other reviews might say this is a private course but no one bothers you so i dont think this is an issue.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

1    4/14/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course to just have fun and hang with some friends. Baskets are good and the course is out of everyone liveing theres way for the most part. Good place to work on your short game.
Cons: Tee pads a little small and no signs (but not to hard to figgerout). A few shots were kind of close to the apartments but no one seemed to mind. Main con was if you make a bad shot on some you might can lose a disc, this could be fixed if they would cut back the brush along the course.
Other Thoughts: Would not drive real far for or go out of my way to play this one but if you know some one that lives there or even better if your looking for a place to live its nice to have a Disc Golf course right there to play with your friends on..

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Creepiní

1    11/20/2009   6/11/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*It's a beginner course so it's a good place to introduce families who live there to the game.
*Moderate elevation changes on most holes. 2 Flat/ 3 up/ 4 Down. The biggest elev differential is +18 ft.
*Online map. It's average, but essential for showing you where to look for the small tees.
*Decent fairway shape variety. 3 Straight/ 2 Left/ 4 Right
Cons:
-Navigation! There are no tee signs, so DO NOT try to play the course without the map or a guide. Without signs or scorecards the hole lengths are unknown.
-Feels creepy. Most fairways play too close to the buildings, and I felt kind of creeperish playing so close to the back side of people's apartments.
-Extremely short tees. Only 6 paver stones that are only 3' long x 2' wide.
-There's a VERY long walk from basket 9 back to your car.
-There's a very long walk from basket 5 to tee 6.
-Too short. More experienced players can reach most holes with a mid-range disc, so they'd get bored with it being short and relatively open. Most of the holes were about the same length.
-Limited terrain variety. Every hole is about the same-- grass with some scattered trees; buildings on one side and shule on the other side.
-Other than the map there are no other amenities: no scorecard, restroom, warm up basket, message board, or trash cans.
Other Thoughts:
Park by the pool that's not far from basket 3 and walk down the hill to the first tee.

I played as fast as possible because the whole time I thought that someone might kick me out. It's the kind of course that you just check it off as played and move on with no plans of returning.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

To have my reviews delivered to your Inbox join the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews" . More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are also available there in the Files section.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cool... if I lived there.

1    7/2/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- This course has the opportunity to introduce tons of kids and families to the sport of Disc Golf. I can only hope that the residence take advantage of it.
- Since it is in an apartment complex, and the prospective players are average people living there, it is good that this course is short for them to get the hang of the game.
Cons:
- I felt grimy playing next to peoples bedroom windows and balconies. I felt like I wasn't supposed to be there (which, now I know I wasn't... you have to be or be with a resident). Either way... it felt weird being so close to peoples privacy.
- The tee-pads were small... and hole 2's tee-pad is on a 45 degree angle upwards and sideways.
- It would be very possible to throw a disc into someones window, balcony or satellite dish. I imagine beginners would be hyzering into the buildings constantly.
Other Thoughts:
- If I lived here, I would be stoked. I would play a few practice holes every day. Some of the holes are well designed and not necessarily gimme birdies, good shots are required to get them... but a mediocre shot will still yield a par.
My Score: -4

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Easy Access

5+    12/15/2008   1/5/2009
Review By: theguy85
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Small, Challenging, Short 9 holes. Easy to play in 45min-1hr. Great course to dial in your 100-200ft putter shots. Top notch Discatchers.
Cons: Tee pads are not on level ground (though there ARE pads for every hole) off the fairway is NASTY with thorns. Discatchers are a bit low, may not be regulation height. it's a long walk back to the car from hole 9.
Other Thoughts: If you live on the West side of town, this is a great course to hit on the way home from work. Once you are familiar with it, it can be done in under 45 minutes. No "long bombs" on this course, but if you need help dialing in your putter shots, this is the place to do it. It has some fun technical shots.
1- uphill right fade
2- uphill hyzer
3- slight right fade
4- strait
5- right fade
6- strait (tree in fairway)
7- strait/right fade
8- uphill hyzer
9- anhyzer/right fade

I generally play it at least once per week, and I highly recomend it!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Livin' on the golf course

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 84  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice rolling grass hills. Easy walk. New 'triple-chain' Discatcher baskets. Good course design. Great if you live there as you can step into your backyard at any time & play 9 holes!
Cons: Some fairways are pretty narrow with one side having apartments/balconies that could get hit with a flying disc. People walk their dogs back here so watch out for poop. No benches, tee signs, maps. There are pavers set up for tee boxes but they are pretty small ( 3' x 3' ) & they are not on every hole.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are short & technical. Heavy sticker bushes make errant shots hurt in more ways than one. You pretty much need a local to show you the way around the 1st time. Since there was nobody else on the course we played the course backwards to give it a different feel.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.