Bakersfield, CA 
Hart Park - Suicide Flats Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #12
4 / 514ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Tree on right is mando



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Some Shaded Relief After Shark Tooth!

1    6/19/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: Having two courses at one location is always a bonus and Suicide Flats is a nice contrast to the grueling punishment handed out by the Shark Tooth Mountain course. The Flats course plays through large sprawling, almost totally flat green grassy park. There are just enough scattered mature trees to provide shade on those hot Bakersfield days but also to challenge your shot selection.
As others have commented, there is some water to be aware of in the form of a creek bordering 2-3 holes. And this is a great course to break out your roller disc.
I was lucky to be guided through by Scooby Dew and Andy, two locals, so navigation wasn't a problem for me. I think it would be difficult for anyone trying it on their own as many of the signs and tee pads have been redesigned and now are out of date.

I appreciated having a working water fountain near the beginning of the course (in the little round rock building) and being able to splash through the sprinklers multiple times during my round.
Cons: Course could get a little mundane with lots of long straight holes with little in the way of obstacles.
There was one large trash can overturned with trash all over the place.
Navigating this course would not be easy without local help.
I believe it's fortunate that I was able to miss the disgusting bathrooms here.
Other Thoughts: After playing Lake Piru and then the City In The Hills course, 36 holes of disc golf on a 100 degree afternoon in Bakersfield was a heavy workload. Honestly, I felt saved by the sprinklers in the lower park area and the hose on # 8 on Shark Tooth. I kept drenching myself and soaking my head and hat to keep cool. At the end feeling pretty refreshed, I ended up heading over to play one more course, Silver Creek. Thanks for having the sprinklers on! And thanks to Scooby Dew and Andy for showing me the Hart Park dirty twosome and kicking my behind on both courses!

Bakersfield has this nice range of courses stair stepping up in nice increments, from the very easy Pitch & Putt beginner course at San Laurel to the brutally hard physical challenge of Shark Tooth Mountain.

From Easy to Hard:

San Laurel Park
City In The Hills
Silver Creek Park
Kern River Park
Riverview Park
Suicide Flats
Shark Tooth Mountain

Bakersfield disc golfers have a nice variety of courses to choose from, with two easy beginner courses, one slightly harder beginner course, two intermediate courses and then two courses that will challenge anyone.

Nice park course

1    5/17/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 753  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through the grassy flat areas of the park. Mature trees are in play on most shots, with very little rough. You'll have to navigate some low ceilings off some of the tees here, and some of the holes have a little bit tighter lines to hit. You have multiple options on many shots on how you want to approach the hole.

There's great distance variety, from ace runs to some nice long shots where you get to pull out a driver. With short grass and hard flat ground, this is a great course to throw rollers especially on the longer low ceiling shots. An OB creek comes into play a couple times to add a little bit of risk.

The concrete tees are in nice shape, and the baskets show little wear. The tee signs are adequate to figure out where you're throwing. The park was very nicely maintained, and the peacocks wandering around were a fun touch.
Cons: This course is very repetitive. With no rough and mostly open fairways you have your pick of shots on almost all the holes. You could score equally well with only a hyzer (left or right handed). A bunch of the holes are in a tweener distance for a lot of players, where most won't ever reach it for 2 but there's not enough punishment or hazards that a 4 is all that likely.

Navigation is a bit tricky in some spots, the map available online or at the kiosk is helpful. I would have liked to see pin position indicators on the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very long, but not terribly frustrating. More experienced players will enjoy the chance to throw some longer drives or rollers, but the lack of punishment on an errant shot and the lack of real variety makes for a less exciting round. I do like the contrast between the two courses on site here, though I wish this one had been made a little more family friendly perhaps with longer tees for more experienced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long Distance 18 In Tranquil Setting

1    12/13/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very long distance throughout the course. Moderately wooded with great use of trees to dictate shots. Signs with photos of the hole showing flight paths, pin locations, and distances. Cement tees throughout. Multiple pin locations on many holes. Hole 4 is a 700+ft par 4. Hole 6 shoots over water (need to throw 275+ft to clear it). Water is in play on a few other holes as well. Several water fountains and garbage cans scattered throughout the course. Some benches. Overall the course is fairly challenging. Restrooms not far from holes 10 & 15. Very beautiful and quiet park. Nice course design with good use of natural and man made obstacles. Well maintained and clean course.
Cons: A few signs are missing or were vandalized. The course is pretty flat with virtually no elevation change. A lot of holes weren't all that challenging besides being long. Only one tee per hole (an amateur tee on every hole would make this course more enjoyable for less experienced disc golfers).
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to test your distance as no holes are under 300' and most are far beyond that. The course map is handy for your first time playing. Hole 9's tee is kinda tucked away down right next to the creek. Challenging due to its distance but not extremely punishing besides on the holes that play around water (don't go in the river on 15 or 16; it will carry your plastic far away!). The park seemed very peaceful to me and I enjoyed playing it very much. There were quite a few peacocks on the course as well which was pretty cool. Just seeing those beautiful birds made me smile and added to my experience. With Shark Tooth Mountain this park is a great destination for serious disc golfers. Allow 4-5 hours to play both courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Need a Canon

1    2/2/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pretty much a backwater course. An older park with some long roller holes. It tests your idea of long. Met some guys that showed us around. Good league folk.
Cons: Older park that is somewhat rundown but sets up good for discin'. The washrooms need some rebuilding.
Other Thoughts: Interesting play with lots of long get around big trees shots. It was an enjoyable afternoon.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Perfectly Named

1    5/12/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful Mature Trees Provide Some Challenge
Water Hazards on a Few Holes
Concrete Tee Pads
Huge Park
Plenty of Parking
Clean
Very Quiet
Another Course In Park (Total of 36 Holes)
Camping in Park
Cons:
Navigation Was Difficult (Even with Map)
Restrooms are Downright Disgusting
Trash Cans Were Overflowing
Many Holes are Somewhat Monotonous
Other Thoughts:
This is a fairly long course located in a huge county park. Park is home to two 18-hole courses which would make for a decent day of disc golf. While the courses seem to be well-maintained the park itself could use a lot of work. The bathrooms were disgusting and what trashcans were there were over-flowing.

The course itself lives up to its name, flat, and to be perfectly honest could drive you insane. It seems nearly every hole was the same, long, flat, and straight. There were some highlights however, hole 6 being the first. The only hole with any elevation change, it also has an awesome water hazard making it the signature hole on Suicide Flats.

While the holes were all pretty repetitive, the mature trees and the water hazards throughout make it worth the play if you are in the area. Add the second on-site course and its worth the drive out there.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Get Your Suicide On!

1    6/21/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Clean concrete pads
-Semi-reliable tee signs
-Pretty good use of the meandering stream in hole layouts. A good amount of danger on a few holes.
-Long holes with plenty of trees cutting off the high road...those with a developed roller game will thrive here.
-Lots of wildlife. In the 3 hours we spent there dog got sprayed by a skunk, the roving peacocks mocked my putting and a coyote eyeballed our more tender pieces for dinner.
-Seemed a relatively unused park when we were there. Didn't see another golfer or patron of the park.
Cons: -Navigation. Not all tees have hole maps (I think. Somehow, even with the aide of a map, we lost hole 9...no sign of either that tee or basket.:() and it is often a hike from basket to new tee.
-Topography. This course is as flat as your first girlfriend.
-Hole design is on the repetitive side. Flat and straight or with water to the left of target.
-Restrooms few and far between, as are water fountains.
Other Thoughts: Suicide Flats is a fun little course, especially for rollers. The course is longish with plenty of trees in between the shooter and most targets.
The signature hole would have to be hole six. It is maybe 240', slightly downhill on a little island across the stream. Danger in front, left and right. A pair of trees close to the tee to compound the problems this hole presents to golfers. Fun and rewarding.
Suicide Flats is a great place to practice your rollers, but, overall, the course sits on an unremarkable piece of land for a golf course.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Flat!

1    6/21/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of parking, not crowded, large concrete tee pads, new baskets, new tee signs, wildlife, water hazards , picnic tables, BBQ's, shade and best of all it's free

Cons: Trash throughout the course, tee signs lacking information or direction of the basket, navigation was challenging and restroom facilities.
Other Thoughts: This has a typical links course layout with a longer than normal walk to the next tee pad. Sometimes requiring you to cross over roads with no navigation aids(next tee signs). The course is very flat with manicureed grass throughout and no underbrush. There is some water hazards that come into play and can wreak havoc if not careful. The course is a dream for those that have a roller in their arsenal with the low ceiling and the flat manicured grass. There are mature trees throughout the course with basket placements leaving you narrow lines or low ones. Most holes are long playing upto 700ft with only a couple under 300ft. This is not your beginner course. Eventhough this is out of the way for those traveling on HWY99 or I-5 its worth the time just make sure you bring a lunch and plenty of water!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Suicide Flats

2-4    12/30/2009   1/18/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- 2 Courses in 1 Park. It's always a pro when there are two good disc golf courses in one park. I love tagging two new courses in one day. Plus, it makes for a great day of golf!
- Roller Practice. It's not too often I get to break out the old roller disc and go to town. Because this course is so long and flat, and has manicured grass, it is a great place to throw rollers. However, when you don't throw rollers all the time, it's not necessarily best for your scorecard.
- Winged Wildlife. There were so many different types of birds there it was amazing. Possibly one of the most bird filled disc golf courses I've ever played. We saw black cormorants, great blue herons, egrets, mallards, some other kind of ducks, acorn woodpeckers, wrens, finches… all types of birds. With the river, creeks and waterways, as well as grass fields, variety of trees and mountains nearby, there was something for every kind of bird.
- Lots of OB. Although a fairly open, flat, grass course, Suicide Flats has enough OB and pins positioned in proximity to OB to make it interesting. OB is usually in the form of park roads, but there are also several fairways that are flanked by water, and one hole (#6) that requires a decent drive (250') to carry the water.
Cons:
- Straight, Straight, Straight… x18. This course is appropriately named… because I wanted to commit suicide after about 6 holes; and not because it was flat, but because every hole was STRAIGHT. Sure, you could throw a hyzer, or anhyzer, or a sidearm… but it certainly wasn't the holes design that forced your shot. Not one dogleg, not one mandy designed to force you to have to shape a shot... Just grip it and rip it, and hopefully straight. After about the 6th hole it became a game to see if the next hole might offer up something new… but, it never did. Disappointing.
- Litter. This place is trashed… LITTER-ally. Diapers, food trash, soda cans, water bottles, beer cans wedged in trees (???)… And, unfortunately this trash has blown into the waterways that much of the bird wildlife rely upon. Here you are, watching a mallard swim along or watching a crane wade on the edge of the creek looking for a meal… and then an Aquafina water bottles floats past the mallard and paper plates and plastic bags line the shores with the crane. Terrible.
- Poop before You Arrive. Probably one of the worst bathrooms I've seen in my life! It's the kind of restroom where people hover when they take a shit because they'd be too scared not to, but they accidentally miss the toilet and their crap lands on the seat… and then they do nothing about it, but neither do the park maintenance personnel. The kind of bathroom where there are no doors on the stalls and the walls are 10" thick with layers of paint covering up graffiti.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall… It's great that the city decided to put two - really decent, but far from perfect - disc golf courses in one location. At Suicide Flats: the shots are decent, but in general lack variety. The long Par 4/5ish holes are great, but tee-signs are needed to tell you the actual distances and pars. And, although there are plenty of birds who call Hart Park home, the course is probably just a little too long for 95% of players to see a lot of "birds".
- My Score: 59

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Long drives and many challenges

1    8/8/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: pablocruz1
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: *Beautiful park-like setting with some water/mud hazards.
*Very long holes which can be fun but tough.
*Lots of friendly locals who were more than happy to show us around.
*Water hazards are challenging.
Cons: *Very long holes - be nice to have a birdie shot once in awhile.
*Lots of people in park and sometimes in the way.
*Some potential gang violence and police presence never helps.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Flats

1    1/20/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: Myers
Played: 94  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great alternative to the mountain course. Plays fairly long through mature trees with most holes between 300 and 400 ft. Plenty of birdie oppurtunities but shots have to be played well to get them. The course is pretty open but the tees and pins are placed in a way that you have to throw around trees many times. A controled "s" shot is a plus as well as a roller. A large creek runs thru the course and comes into play on several holes. The creek is probably 60' wide at some points. There is also a roads that come into play on several holes which I assume are played o.b. There is a fence line on holes 15-17 which makes you a little more cautious on drives.
Cons: The course is brand new. they have markers down on the ground for tees but they are hard to see and a few had been chewed up by lawn mowers. There are some longer walks between holes and you play over the creek twice and you have to walk around it to get to the pin. The shots were very cool hole #6 and #18 I believe but a couple bridges would be awesome. Even after the tees are more noticeable some signage for next tee would be beneficial.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a disc golf destination worth going to. 36 holes in one park is hard to beat and you get the best of both worlds with these courses. One mountain course with major elevation and good distance and the other your typical park course. I can only see these courses getting better over time with additions and impovements. The designers created something for every disc golfer here. I was just passing thru so I am bummed I won't get to play them again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.