Bakersfield, CA 
Hart Park - Suicide Flats Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #7
3 / 340ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Some Shaded Relief After Shark Tooth!

1    6/19/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
Pros: Having two courses at one location is always a bonus and Suicide Flats is a nice contrast to the grueling punishment handed out by the Shark Tooth Mountain course. The Flats course plays through large sprawling, almost totally flat green grassy park. There are just enough scattered mature trees to provide shade on those hot Bakersfield days but also to challenge your shot selection.
As others have commented, there is some water to be aware of in the form of a creek bordering 2-3 holes. And this is a great course to break out your roller disc.
I was lucky to be guided through by Scooby Dew and Andy, two locals, so navigation wasn't a problem for me. I think it would be difficult for anyone trying it on their own as many of the signs and tee pads have been redesigned and now are out of date.

I appreciated having a working water fountain near the beginning of the course (in the little round rock building) and being able to splash through the sprinklers multiple times during my round.
Cons: Course could get a little mundane with lots of long straight holes with little in the way of obstacles.
There was one large trash can overturned with trash all over the place.
Navigating this course would not be easy without local help.
I believe it's fortunate that I was able to miss the disgusting bathrooms here.
Other Thoughts: After playing Lake Piru and then the City In The Hills course, 36 holes of disc golf on a 100 degree afternoon in Bakersfield was a heavy workload. Honestly, I felt saved by the sprinklers in the lower park area and the hose on # 8 on Shark Tooth. I kept drenching myself and soaking my head and hat to keep cool. At the end feeling pretty refreshed, I ended up heading over to play one more course, Silver Creek. Thanks for having the sprinklers on! And thanks to Scooby Dew and Andy for showing me the Hart Park dirty twosome and kicking my behind on both courses!

Bakersfield has this nice range of courses stair stepping up in nice increments, from the very easy Pitch & Putt beginner course at San Laurel to the brutally hard physical challenge of Shark Tooth Mountain.

From Easy to Hard:

San Laurel Park
City In The Hills
Silver Creek Park
Kern River Park
Riverview Park
Suicide Flats
Shark Tooth Mountain

Bakersfield disc golfers have a nice variety of courses to choose from, with two easy beginner courses, one slightly harder beginner course, two intermediate courses and then two courses that will challenge anyone.


1    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has variety and is very, very scenic. There is just enough water to make you be careful but not enough to ruin your round. Some very long and challenging holes that are strategically placed among the trees makes getting a birdie fairly challenging on most of the holes. I really like when a course takes you somewhere, where it is not all open and all the baskets are visible from across the park. This course takes you all over the park like you are on a disc golf journey, wondering what is just around the corner. Nice locals. Beautiful view of the mountains. Course loops back around during the round thanks to to great course design and forethought. Last, two courses in the same park...hard to beat that! Gave this course a 4.0 due to all the great features just listed. I hope to play this course again.
Cons: A lot of straight and hyzer shots with very little need for anhyzer. I am sure this changes as there are multiple basket positions. The trees almost felt a little ridiculous after a while as I hit tree after tree after tree and then even hit the little powerline that goes across one of the holes on the back 9. Navigation challenges, a few next tee signs are needed in a couple of places and it just leaves you looking around for the tee sign, which are hard to see from a distance on 3 of the holes. The grass was a little high when I played it. Also, beware some of the trees as they are very thick and like to eat discs (unless they are blue :)
Other Thoughts: Great course in a huge park that is multiuse but not enough to really get in the way (except, I hear, on holiday's). If you are in Bakersfield, try this course and Sharktooth mountain as well! Fun, fun, fun!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice park course

1    5/17/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through the grassy flat areas of the park. Mature trees are in play on most shots, with very little rough. You'll have to navigate some low ceilings off some of the tees here, and some of the holes have a little bit tighter lines to hit. You have multiple options on many shots on how you want to approach the hole.

There's great distance variety, from ace runs to some nice long shots where you get to pull out a driver. With short grass and hard flat ground, this is a great course to throw rollers especially on the longer low ceiling shots. An OB creek comes into play a couple times to add a little bit of risk.

The concrete tees are in nice shape, and the baskets show little wear. The tee signs are adequate to figure out where you're throwing. The park was very nicely maintained, and the peacocks wandering around were a fun touch.
Cons: This course is very repetitive. With no rough and mostly open fairways you have your pick of shots on almost all the holes. You could score equally well with only a hyzer (left or right handed). A bunch of the holes are in a tweener distance for a lot of players, where most won't ever reach it for 2 but there's not enough punishment or hazards that a 4 is all that likely.

Navigation is a bit tricky in some spots, the map available online or at the kiosk is helpful. I would have liked to see pin position indicators on the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very long, but not terribly frustrating. More experienced players will enjoy the chance to throw some longer drives or rollers, but the lack of punishment on an errant shot and the lack of real variety makes for a less exciting round. I do like the contrast between the two courses on site here, though I wish this one had been made a little more family friendly perhaps with longer tees for more experienced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long Distance 18 In Tranquil Setting

1    12/13/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very long distance throughout the course. Moderately wooded with great use of trees to dictate shots. Signs with photos of the hole showing flight paths, pin locations, and distances. Cement tees throughout. Multiple pin locations on many holes. Hole 4 is a 700+ft par 4. Hole 6 shoots over water (need to throw 275+ft to clear it). Water is in play on a few other holes as well. Several water fountains and garbage cans scattered throughout the course. Some benches. Overall the course is fairly challenging. Restrooms not far from holes 10 & 15. Very beautiful and quiet park. Nice course design with good use of natural and man made obstacles. Well maintained and clean course.
Cons: A few signs are missing or were vandalized. The course is pretty flat with virtually no elevation change. A lot of holes weren't all that challenging besides being long. Only one tee per hole (an amateur tee on every hole would make this course more enjoyable for less experienced disc golfers).
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to test your distance as no holes are under 300' and most are far beyond that. The course map is handy for your first time playing. Hole 9's tee is kinda tucked away down right next to the creek. Challenging due to its distance but not extremely punishing besides on the holes that play around water (don't go in the river on 15 or 16; it will carry your plastic far away!). The park seemed very peaceful to me and I enjoyed playing it very much. There were quite a few peacocks on the course as well which was pretty cool. Just seeing those beautiful birds made me smile and added to my experience. With Shark Tooth Mountain this park is a great destination for serious disc golfers. Allow 4-5 hours to play both courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Need a Canon

1    2/2/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pretty much a backwater course. An older park with some long roller holes. It tests your idea of long. Met some guys that showed us around. Good league folk.
Cons: Older park that is somewhat rundown but sets up good for discin'. The washrooms need some rebuilding.
Other Thoughts: Interesting play with lots of long get around big trees shots. It was an enjoyable afternoon.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun compliment to neighboring course

1    11/13/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 of the longest collection of holes to be found in Southern California.
-Relatively flat terrain makes for a pleasant round with little effort.
-Park is huge and quiet, spread out enough to eliminate any stress from other golfers or park goers.
-Cats AND peacocks roaming around. How cool is that?
-Tee signs and concrete tees. Distances are marked but holes are so long that it is hard to determine which pin placement's distance we were going for.
-All grass for you dirtaphobics.
-Some unavoidable water hazards....rare for the area.
-Great for big arms and rollers.
Cons: -All shots are great for big arms and rollers.
-Most holes follow the same pattern: Navigate the spread out trees and get it far!
-First time navigation without a map will probably get confusing.
-For being a park course, it lacks 'park course amenities.' No benches, few trash cans, and the two bathrooms were pretty sketchy.
Other Thoughts: Suicide Flats is a very long, relatively flat park course in a remote area near Bakersfield, CA. While the surrounding area is predominantly brush, the course like an oasis in the area; all grass, lots of trees for shade, and a variety of water ways that meander throughout the region. Even on a weekend, we found the park to be sparsely populated, resulting in essentially a DG exclusive area for us.

While the park is mostly flat, some holes have +/- upwards of 10 feet in elevation. I know its not much, but it has not been mentioned so I thought I would. Most of these elevation changes occur nearer to the tee than the pin, often playing some role in your shot selection.

If you have a roller in your bag, you will be pretty happy out here. Make sure you are familiar with the hole though, as at least two holes hide some water hazards, one of which is a stream that is completely invisible off the tee.

Hole 6 could be their signature hole, one of their shorter ones, crossing a road and a pretty wide creek. Safety throws for par near the edge of the water are possible as well as attempts for birdie as well. A road behind the pin punishes throws that are too strong. Hole 6 would definitely be a winner if you did not have to take a 5 minute walk to get from the tee to the pin, across a distant bridge and out of sight from your plastic for the majority of the time.

Two par 4 holes are sprinkled into the course, however we did not find their length or design to be different than any of the other 16 holes on the course. In fact, they were shorter than some of the par 3's.

Navigation at this course was pretty weird. Nothing too surprising at first, but after the long walk to hole 6's basket, you find yourself finding holes in little groups. 7, 8 and 9 are all close to each other, then a long walk. Same with 10 and 11. And 12 and 13. 15 to 17 are close, and one more weird long walk gets you to hole 18. I mention this because the walks between the above mentioned holes are quite long and the direction is not obvious. Bring a map! The walk to hole 18 takes you next to this weird abandoned mill that has been taken over by random house cats that dominate the area. And peacocks.

Hole 9's tee pad is down the hill a little bit by the river. Some have had trouble finding it, but just go next to the river, and you will see it. It's location adds around 10-15 feet of uphill elevation to the hole, and makes for one of the more unique experiences on the course.

Hole 18 looks like a simple, long closer to the course, but it hides a dirty secret about 250 feet up the fairway. A relatively wide and 'deep enough to be annoying' river hides between two hills that will eat your rollers and normal throws alike, so just keep that in mind to keep your disc dry and your score low.

Aside from holes 6, 9, and 18, the course is all 'flat, grass, spread out trees, roads ob' disc golf that you can find anywhere at any course. Combined with Shark Tooth Mountain, though, this course suddenly becomes a worthy visit for any Californian looking for some variety outside of their home courses. This course is certainly the longest I have ever experienced and would not be fun for beginners purely due to its length. While long, it does not require a ton of energy to play.

A day needs to be set aside to enjoy the two courses out here, as they are just too long to 'stop by' to on a road trip. Play Shark Tooth first as it requires more elevation and is clearly the destination to the area. While overshadowed by its neighboring course, Suicide Flats is a descent park course in itself, helps absorb any crowds that may be around, and makes the two hour haul from LA justified.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Perfectly Named

1    5/12/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Beautiful Mature Trees Provide Some Challenge
Water Hazards on a Few Holes
Concrete Tee Pads
Huge Park
Plenty of Parking
Clean
Very Quiet
Another Course In Park (Total of 36 Holes)
Camping in Park
Cons:
Navigation Was Difficult (Even with Map)
Restrooms are Downright Disgusting
Trash Cans Were Overflowing
Many Holes are Somewhat Monotonous
Other Thoughts:
This is a fairly long course located in a huge county park. Park is home to two 18-hole courses which would make for a decent day of disc golf. While the courses seem to be well-maintained the park itself could use a lot of work. The bathrooms were disgusting and what trashcans were there were over-flowing.

The course itself lives up to its name, flat, and to be perfectly honest could drive you insane. It seems nearly every hole was the same, long, flat, and straight. There were some highlights however, hole 6 being the first. The only hole with any elevation change, it also has an awesome water hazard making it the signature hole on Suicide Flats.

While the holes were all pretty repetitive, the mature trees and the water hazards throughout make it worth the play if you are in the area. Add the second on-site course and its worth the drive out there.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Get Your Suicide On!

1    6/21/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Clean concrete pads
-Semi-reliable tee signs
-Pretty good use of the meandering stream in hole layouts. A good amount of danger on a few holes.
-Long holes with plenty of trees cutting off the high road...those with a developed roller game will thrive here.
-Lots of wildlife. In the 3 hours we spent there dog got sprayed by a skunk, the roving peacocks mocked my putting and a coyote eyeballed our more tender pieces for dinner.
-Seemed a relatively unused park when we were there. Didn't see another golfer or patron of the park.
Cons: -Navigation. Not all tees have hole maps (I think. Somehow, even with the aide of a map, we lost hole 9...no sign of either that tee or basket.:() and it is often a hike from basket to new tee.
-Topography. This course is as flat as your first girlfriend.
-Hole design is on the repetitive side. Flat and straight or with water to the left of target.
-Restrooms few and far between, as are water fountains.
Other Thoughts: Suicide Flats is a fun little course, especially for rollers. The course is longish with plenty of trees in between the shooter and most targets.
The signature hole would have to be hole six. It is maybe 240', slightly downhill on a little island across the stream. Danger in front, left and right. A pair of trees close to the tee to compound the problems this hole presents to golfers. Fun and rewarding.
Suicide Flats is a great place to practice your rollers, but, overall, the course sits on an unremarkable piece of land for a golf course.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Flat!

1    6/21/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of parking, not crowded, large concrete tee pads, new baskets, new tee signs, wildlife, water hazards , picnic tables, BBQ's, shade and best of all it's free

Cons: Trash throughout the course, tee signs lacking information or direction of the basket, navigation was challenging and restroom facilities.
Other Thoughts: This has a typical links course layout with a longer than normal walk to the next tee pad. Sometimes requiring you to cross over roads with no navigation aids(next tee signs). The course is very flat with manicureed grass throughout and no underbrush. There is some water hazards that come into play and can wreak havoc if not careful. The course is a dream for those that have a roller in their arsenal with the low ceiling and the flat manicured grass. There are mature trees throughout the course with basket placements leaving you narrow lines or low ones. Most holes are long playing upto 700ft with only a couple under 300ft. This is not your beginner course. Eventhough this is out of the way for those traveling on HWY99 or I-5 its worth the time just make sure you bring a lunch and plenty of water!

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Disc Golf Oasis

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We were returning to NorCal after visiting NorAZ, and looked on the map to see where we might be able to stop and play a round or two of disc golf. Bakersfield was perfect, and we arrived around 5:00 PM, just when we wanted to be off the road for a while (hwy 99 can be trafficky during rush hour).

We were amazed to find, after following Comanche Rd for about 9 miles from hwy 58 (we checked it, though the course description directions say 8 miles), a wonderful oasis full of trees, manicured grass expanses, ponds, lakes, streams, etc., unfold in front of our eyes. We found ourselves in a manicured park next to the Kern River, with great shade trees, ponds with bull frogs, dozens of peacocks, scores of cats, a handful of skunks, and even a large snake! And of course, 36 holes of disc golf.

We had hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon the previous day in blistering desert heat, so as attractive as the Shark Tooth course sounded in principle, the lack of shade and the steep topography were not nearly as attractive to us as the wonderful shade and green expanses of Suicide Flats.

The holes were a lot of fun. Some of the positions were set over 700', which made for a fun challenge to score a 3. Most other holes were in the 350-460' range, and only a few were under 300'. The creeks and ponds come into play on a few holes, giving a nice psychological challenge and a serious gut check. I watched my wife chuck her Tee-Rex right into the middle of the pond on hole 6, and we also got wet on a few of the later holes as well (although we recovered the discs).

This course requires you to hit some narrow gaps and tunnels, and there are usually several routes to choose from. For big arms and strong overhand throwers, some of the tree lines are low enough to allow over-the-top routes. The grass was a bit too grabby/sticky for rollers when we were there, but if it ever stiffens up I can imagine this would be a great roller course, which would also mitigate the risk of hitting tree branches and such.

The tees were fantastic, and all the baskets were in great shape and quality (Mach 3). There was even working water fountains near the 1st tee (in the small round rock building).
Cons: A lot of the fairways/available routes were hockey sticks, favoring RHBH/LHFH throws. I never once felt the urge or need to throw a forehand shot. I only once thought about it on number 8, but instead I hyzer-flipped my Valkyrie and parked the hole with little trouble.
Other Thoughts: There is no visible sign that you are entering "Hart Park" as such. It just kind of appears around you. I'm not sure how to describe better directions, but the 1st tees for both courses are near where the road forks in 3 different directions.

The bathrooms were a little dubious, but heck, at least they exist! I'll take almost any bathroom in a pinch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center