Henderson, NV 
Anthem DGC Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #6
4 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
#6 Tee Pad looking toward Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Odd little course

1    1/24/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 755  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a small park that lies in a water runoff area. The course plays from side to side, offering baskets on the slopes on either side of the park with some rollaway potential around all the greens. The park itself is wide open, but many of the baskets are next to trees or bushes at the edge of the park offering a little more variety. The tees are nice concrete pads, and the park is generally well maintained. Navigation is easy, there are no tee signs but it's pretty obvious where to go.
Cons: Every hole plays over some combination of walking paths, sports fields and courts and picnic areas, so on a nice day this wouldn't be all that playable. Half of the holes also play very close to backyards, it would be easy for an errant shot to end up on private property. The course plays in one direction, so after your round you have to walk back the entire length of the park to get to your car. I made my own tees and played backward to make the walk back more fun. There's just not a whole lot of challenge or variety here, every single hole has a wide open drive that's not all that long to a basket on a slope.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find some challenges here, and it's a fine course for kids to try out the sport at a local park. More experienced players won't find anything all that interesting here, it's definitely not worth going out of your way to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful park, disappointing golf

1    11/21/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: barneco
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well manicured park
Nice baskets, nice pads
Easy to navigate
Nice residents
Beautiful scenery
Cons: Basket placement - every basket is on a slope
Monotonous, army golf - left, right, left..left, right, left
Short - most holes are putter/mid holes
Not very forgiving - stray discs can easily make their way into residents' fenced yard(and most have dogs).
It's an out-and-back course...have to walk the entire length of course to get back to the car.
Other Thoughts: Played this along with Paseo and Sunset on a trip to Vegas(henderson). Was nice to find a course, but really not very challenging. Of all the courses I played(paseo and sunset), however, this was the only one that actually gave me my DG fix. I'd drive the 20 minutes again to play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't feel like the desert

1    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 108  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tucked away in a big drainage basin with manicured banks, this is a breath of fresh air in the brown desert landscape. The grass is kept lush by the drainage, and the ground feels like ground does in the Midwest.

The course plays linearly down the basin, and all of the baskets are on the sides of the basin. There are virtually no obstacles in the middle of the basin, so the basket placement maximizes the available challenges. There are plenty of trees along the banks, so on many throws you'll need to shape your throws to give yourself the best shot at a birdie. And the baskets on slopes are a nice touch, providing the risk of a rollaway on a bad putt. Strangely, this course has more elevation than just about any other course in Vegas/Henderson (other than Mt. Charleston, of course).

All the tee pads are concrete, and navigation is not hard. After finishing the last hole, turn toward the middle of the basin and you should see the next tee. There are no tee signs, but they aren't really necessary.
Cons: Once you finish the 9th hole, you either have to walk the length of the course again or play it backwards. I haven't tried the latter option.

Most of the course was empty when I played it, but one hole was occupied by a couple dozen kids there for some party or something. There are basketball courts that could make finishing one or two holes difficult if they are in use.

The holes are on the shorter side, but they're not absurdly short. You can definitely play with a putter and a midrange, but birdies are hardly gimmes.

After rain (I played the day after a very heavy downpour), the grass can be soggy. I'm guessing this isn't usually the case, though.

The holes on the right side of the basin are not far from the fence, so errant throws will end up in someone's yard.
Other Thoughts: I brought my dog here and had a nice walk and a quick round. I wouldn't go out of your way to play here, but I'm glad they put in a course, and it's the only close course for Anthem residents. If you have the place to yourself, the gently rolling hills will make for a pleasant round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Afterthought ...

1    1/29/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: drickanderson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful grass. It looks like this park is really well-kept. The grass, and basketball courts were in great condition.

- Nice baskets. The baskets were multi-colored, and in fantastic condition.

- Great view. It plays downhill, so you have a wonderful view of the Las Vegas valley the entire time you're playing.
Cons: - Short holes. I played this entire course with my Zone and my Meteor. An experienced player probably wouldn't need the Meteor.

- Traffic/People. The course plays right through two basketball courts, a soccer field, and what looked like a lacrosse field. Both courts were being used, and somebody was practicing football when we played.

- Basket placement. I've played courses where there are 1 or 2 baskets on a hill, providing a unique challenge, but having every single basket on a steep hill is frustrating.

- Course layout. No matter where you park, you're going to have a lot of walking to do, as this course plays one-way down a long drainage ditch/area. You either have to park at the first hole, and walk back when you're done, or vice versa.
Other Thoughts: This whole course felt like an afterthought. It was almost as if they were told they could put a disc golf course in, but only if the baskets didn't get in the way. They were all 'hidden' on the fringes of the course.

Even if I lived in this community, I would probably just make the 10 minute drive up to Sunset, rather than play this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easy & Hot

1    8/14/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It made me feel like a better disc golfer than I probably am. Very easy, and simply zigzags down a long greenbelt. The course is well maintained and I can't imagine this place gets busy. Two cool tunnels at each end of the course. Set in a retirement community, so you can't really expect much anyways.
Cons: It can get very hot...Vegas surpise, surprise. The grass was a little longer that preferred when I played. There was also a soccer practice going on in the middle of the 3rd hole, so I had to warn them that I was about to drive. It only goes one direction, so you'll either want to play it backwards on the way back, or else you've got a decent walk back to the car.
Other Thoughts: I'm just glad it's there!!!
=================
Uniqueness: B- (not where you'd expect a DG course; still boring tho)
Difficulty: D (no trickery here; just point & shoot)
Fun factor: C- (high on heat; low on satisfaction)
Aesthetics: B (super clean; grassy; view of LV after #9)
----------------------
Overall: C

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it

1    10/10/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: Sleeping Giant
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I didn't die during play. I guess I can put that down as a pro. If you lived in the neighborhood it would be pretty cool to practice and what not. The park itself is pretty nice and well manicured.
Cons: The course is in a park, which also doubles as a flood water basin so that makes for some interesting times. The basket placement is pretty poor. They are located on the edged of the grass, always on a slope, sometimes 10-15 feet up the slope and in a bush. One of the baskets (5 I believe) was actually in a bee infested bush, that was fun getting my putter back... Like I said, it's a flood basin, so it's extremely narrow with houses on one side with rather short fences, and the park's level descends a good 100 feet or so as you play down. Also, being a neighborhood park, you have to deal with soccer fields, basketball courts, and old ladies walking their dogs that like to help you out by picking up your discs for you. Lastly, the holes go from one side of the park to the other in a direct line. So, you can either park at 9 and walk to 1. Or, you can park at 1, play 9 holes, then walk all the way back uphill to your car.

It's tons of fun.
Other Thoughts: Unless you live in Anthem, you get to drive a nice distance for about 30 minutes of sub-par play.

Overall, it's a nice course to practice mid-range approaches and set-up drives. I drove with my Gator for most of the course. It's too narrow and short for anything else.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.